Laurell K Hamilton and Anita Blake

Wanted to get on my blog talk a series I have really enjoyed. One of my favorite authors just put out another of the Anita Blake novels. Now if you have not read these books, be forewarned, they are not for the faint of heart and they are not easy reads. Blood, guts, horror, sex, mystery, vamps, were animals of every breed, zombies, witch's and even love await anyone who read this series. The series which starts with Guilty Pleasures(book1). The first of several books about Anita. You as the reader really getting to know the world as Anita does. Her job, an animator who raises the dead, and the powers she doesn't know about or even fathom. Now as each book unfolds Anita grows as character, learns new abilities and also learns more about the world around her and how she is affected by these new abilities she acquires. Each book builds upon each other so you must read them in order. The blood, guts and horror keep up and surprise you at each turn, giving you chills and nightmares along the way. With every book brings new challenges and shocking mysteries that would be a awesome horror movie. As more and more paranormal things go boo in the night, sexual tension starts to build in the series (about book 7 or 8). The tension builds and builds and eventually explodes into some pretty crazy sex scenes that will stop your heart. Far from the happily ever after story line but as Anita grows and learns about the world, Laurell K Hamilton does a good job at slowly getting you ready for more and more shocking things that make you want to read each story.

Here is the line up for the books

  • Guilty Pleasures (1993)

  • The Laughing Corpse (1994)

  • Circus of the Damned (1995)

  • The Lunatic Cafe (1996)

  • Bloody Bones (1996)

  • The Killing Dance (1997)

  • Burnt Offerings (1998)

  • Blue Moon (1998)

  • Obsidian Butterfly (2000)

  • Narcissus in Chains (2001)

  • Cerulean Sins (2003)

  • Incubus Dreams (2004)

  • Micah (2006)

  • Danse Macabre (2006)

  • The Harlequin (2007)

  • Blood Noir (2008)

  • Skin Trade (2009)

  • Flirt (2010)

  • Bullet (2010)

  • Hit List (2011)

  • Kiss the Dead (2012)

  • Affliction (2013)
  • Jason (2014)
  • Dead Ice (2015)   

  • I have several of the reviews to the series here on Julies Book Review and I'm currently reading Dead Ice and will have a review up soon. I highly recommend this series for lovers of horror and mystery but don't be squeamish about sex either (sex doesn't really get heavy until book 11 or 13).

    Happy Reading
    Julie Ramsey

    No comments:

    Post a Comment

    Search This Blog

    Julie's Book Review

    Hello, all my followers, visitors, and guests. Welcome to Julies Book Review. This is a site dedicated to helping authors and readers alike. Readers to find new authors and stories and authors to find new readers. For authors please contact me if you are interested in low cost promotion at juliesbookreview@gmail.com. I accommodate where I can. Readers please go through and search the blog. We have been active here for a while. Hundreds on authors, stories and genres to choose from. We have everything from sci-fi, erotica, romance, contemporary, mystery and horror. And nothing gets on this site without a 3 out 5 star rating minimum. I have several reviewers that read different genres. If you are interested in reviewing for me and the site please contact me at the above email. I hope you enjoy the site. I look forward to meeting and talking with you all.

    Julie Ramsey & Theresa Fehse
    ADM of JBR
    Along with many reviewers (which we could not do this without)