2/28/13

Review Winter in Paradise by T.C. Archer(Tarah Scott)

Winter in Paradise

Major Kelly and Byron Grayson are stationed on a frozen planet. Waiting for a battle that will decide the fate of an entire race. While waiting, they have become very close! Major Kelly dreams of the cold and of being all alone. She knows that Byron, who shares her bed, is right next to her. So when she wakes from the nightmare to find the bed empty and not in the station, she knows something has happened. They have received the signal, the battle is going to start. Byron has left the station to fire the weapon, that will save them all. But when she looks at the supplies he has taken, she knows Byron planned on making it a one way trip. She can not leave him out there to die. Will Kelly reach Byron in time and will there efforts save their race from extermination?

Great short book. Short enough to read in one sitting. As the story unfolds, you learn it is more than just a mission but also about finding the man she truly loves. Byron, thinks he has sacrificed himself for the women he has grown to love and learns that the power of love can drive us to do incredible things. AWESOME love scenes, and action all on a frozen futuristic planet! What more can you ask for in a sci-fi erotic short! Very nice read!

Winter in Paradise

Tarah Scott info/excerpt/blurb


Image of Tarah Scott
 Award winning published author Tarah Scott cut her teeth on authors such as, Georgette Heyer, Zane Grey, and Amanda Quick. She writes classical romance, suspense, horror and mainstream. She is assistant director of the advanced writer's group Paper, Candlelight and Quill, and leads Word Zone, a weekly advanced critique group, as well as participates in, Creative Heights, an intense critique group.
Tarah grew up in Texas, and currently resides in Westchester County, New York with her daughter. Her favorite book is a Tale of Two Cities, with Gone With the Wind as a close second.
Excerpt:
"Will you come to the great hall?" Elise asked Michael when they passed through the castle gates.
"Aye," he replied shortly.
"Michael," she began, but he pulled his horse to a halt beside her and dismounted.
He came around to her and helped her from the saddle. "Go on." She hesitated, and his eyes softened. "I'll be along after I have seen to the animals."
She pressed a kiss to his cheek. "You're a good man, Michael MacGregor."
He shook his head, but she could see that he was pleased. He limped off leading the horses, and Elise headed for the great hall. At the postern door, she entered and saw Marcus standing near the hearth. He broke off his conversation with the two men who stood with him and glanced over his shoulder. The drawn look on his face snapped into a dark scowl. He started forward. Elise faltered when she saw he meant to intercept her. His companions disappeared up the nearest staircase and a hum of apprehension began deep in her stomach.
Marcus rounded the table and reached the midway point when she blurted, "Good afternoon, Marcus. How are you?"
"Where have you been?" he demanded.
"I—" She fell back an unsteady step when it seemed he would ram into her. He halted three feet from her. "I have just returned from visiting Michael."
"So I was told," he replied curtly. "Winnie's warning did nothing to deter you?"
"Winnie's warnin—" Elise recalled her encounter with Winnie that morning. Good Lord, Winnie had told him she saw her leave.
Marcus's eyes narrowed. "Aye, you remember. Fortunately for you, I only just discovered your absence. Unmanageable wench," he added in a dark voice.
"You have your answers," she shot back. "Why bother asking?"
"Because I couldn't believe you were traipsing about the countryside."
"I was not traipsing about the country. Not that it's your business."
"It is my business—and I will see to it you no' do it again."
She ignored the warning bell the definite hardening of his brogue set off inside her head. and said, "You're insane if you think I'll be ordered about."
"Ye will do as you're told," he said in a quiet voice that was perversely more unsettling than a shout.
"I come and go as I please, just as everyone else at Brahan Seer."
A keen light shone in his eyes. "If you will note, the women are staying close to home." His expression hardened. "At the express command of their men."
Elise gasped, then glanced past him, gauging the distance between him and the freedom the kitchen offered. He stepped closer and her temper flared. She raised her hands to shield herself from his advance and her palms met the unexpected warmth of his chest. She gaped at her fingers splayed across tanned skin where his shirt lay open, and her senses reeled at the raw power in the heavy rise and fall of his chest.
"Lord," she whispered, and yanked her hands away.
The vague realization that strong fingers had gripped her wrists was overshadowed by the jolt she felt when Marcus forced her hands back to his chest. Her mind screamed to break free, but the sight of her palms gliding over his dark skin—the need to touch every contour, to know intimately his powerful body—held her rooted to the spot. She tore her gaze from his chest and looked into his eyes. The fire blazing there drew her—commanded her—and she leaned into him.
"There ye are, lad. I was just look—"
Elise twisted as Cameron reached the bottom of the nearest staircase. He lifted a bushy brow. She looked back at Marcus. His hold loosened and she snatched her hands away. She retreated, stumbling over her own feet. Marcus reached for her, but she dodged his hand with another unsure step backward.
"I-I must go," she stammered, and fled the room.
"Elise—bloody hell!"
Marcus's voice echoed off the stone walls as she shoved through the postern door.
Blurb:
How does a woman explain to her betrothed that she murdered her first husband?
Shipwrecked in the Scottish Highlands, American heiress Elise Kingston quietly plans revenge for the deaths of her daughter and the brother who sacrificed his life to save her.
When Marcus MacGregor, Marquess of Ashlund, returns to his Highland home to discover a stunning American woman has been taken in by his clan, his attraction is instant and he resolves to make her his--no matter what secret she's keeping.
Elise is shocked by her need for Marcus and, too late, discovers that her feelings make him a target of her enemy--a man powerful enough to destroy even a Scottish nobleman.



Don't forget to check out the giveaway going on through Saturday!

Review of Knight of Passion by Tarah Scott

Knight of Passion

Lady Riana would do anything for her sisters safety. With her husband and father dead, there is no one to protect either of them. The Duchess and Duke of Arundel take them in as wards. Riana is made to be a whore and full fill the Duchesses desires. Man after man are sent to her. Riana left with either become a whore or let her sister be taken by the Duke. She does what she has to to protect her sister. Now the Duchess wants her to poison and kill a man sent to her. The Duke and Duchess, in the quest for more power, using Riana's sister as a pawn, force Riana to do the unthinkable. So she will keep the man, and the duchess who is watching, occupied while a friend and her sister escapes. She can do it one last time to protect the one person she loves. Sir Bryant, is not who the Duchess wants dead, but keeping up the rouse to allow time for the escape, they have a night that change both of their lives.

Who doesn't love medieval knights, courage, lust, murder, quests for power, hero's and love? This book really has it all.  You have 2 women put in situations out of there control. A sister forced into a unbelievable position to save the sister she loves. Sir Bryant, just happens to be in the wrong place at the wrong time, or from Riana's point of view, the right place and the right time. One night changes both of their lives forever. AWESOME story, even with it being a little short, well worth the read! Thanks Tarah for the GREAT BOOK!


 A Knight of Passion

2/27/13

Interview with J.A. Dennam

Lets welcome J. A. Dennam to Julie's Book Review. Ms. Dennam is giving away two free digital copies of her newest novel, TRUTH AND HUMILITY, so don't forget to check out the rafflecopter to the right of the pg.
Welcome to Julies Book Review. Can you tell me a little about yourself?
What kind of books do you write? I write contemporary romantic suspense. Newest release? My newest book, TRUTH AND HUMILITY, which came out in November of 2012, is an edge of your seat kind of romance.
What should we expect in your book? Lots of action, adventure, drama, attitude, fierce rivalry and spontaneous sex.
How do you get ideas for your books? From every day experiences. I take something monotonous and build a complex romantic mystery around it. Can’t stop myself J
Anything in your stories based on real experiences? Yes, I junked and recycled a lot of factory guts one summer almost by myself. Instead of listening to music, I cultivated TRUTH AND HUMILITY in my head where it sat for over a year. How, do you ask, can one make a love story out of junking? He-he!
Toughest criticism? Best compliment? Toughest criticism would have to be my multiple POVs. I just learned from my agent and from a few reviews, you shouldn’t have more than two POVs in a story, but I like getting intimate with a few side characters as well. The best compliment is when people say they’ve lost sleep because they couldn’t put my book down. It shows a flagrant lack of discipline.
any advice for aspiring authors? Self publish then market the hell out of yourself and your book. Your chances of finding an agent or publisher are better with a high Amazon ranking than using the Query system.
How about some fun stuff?Favorite past time? The only activity that pulls me away from a great writing streak is a long motorcycle ride. My Vegas Jackpot and I have a wonderful relationship.
Dogs or cats or some other pet? We just got a new Christmas puppy. A Morkie named Rolo. He’s adorable!
1 Fav book? why?( or one you can recommend) Perfect or Paradise by Judith McNaught. It’s been a while since I’ve read them, but they are my favorite books from my favorite author. Her writing is flawless and the stories stay with you.
Favorite place to travel? My husband and I love Wyoming. The terrain is so diverse it’s like a little America all in one state.
1 fav author? Why?( or one you can recommend) Judith McNaught. Her historical and contemporary stories are equally delicious.
Is this your full time job? if yes, anything else you want to do? if no what else do you do? It is quickly becoming my full time job. I am also a full time mom and, up till recently, I was a full time artist.
Where can we find you and your books?(links) 
 My website is www.JADennam.com. You can find all of my books there along with all available purchase links. You can also read free samples.
Thank you for coming on Julie's Book Review. I wish you lots of success and hope you and your families all have a Happy New year.

Have a wonderful Great Year!

Julie Ramsey
juliesbookreview.blogspot.com

J. A. Dennam
jadennamauthor@yahoo.com
Like J. A. Dennam on Facebook
Follow J. A. Dennam on Twitter

2/26/13

Interview with Margaret Millmore

Let’s welcome Margaret Millmore to Julie's Book Review. Margaret is giving away a paper backs of books 1& 2 of The Four Series(The Begining and The Change), so don't forget to check out the rafflecopter to the right of the pg. Welcome to Julies Book Review.


Can you tell me a little about yourself? I’m a native Californian and I currently live in San Francisco with my husband. I’m also the grandniece of Irish author Benedict Kiely and the second cousin of Irish author Sharon Owens. 


What kind of books do you write? Newest release? I write fiction with a paranormal/thriller/suspense aspect. My newest book is The Change – Book II – The Four Series (published October 2012) 


What should we expect in your book? action, adventure, drama etc.: The Four Series is a story about 5 friends, 4 of which discover they are the ancestors of vampires and werewolves and due to this ancestry and genetic link; they too will become vampires and werewolves. More importantly their ancestors were great warriors who fought and won a battle against the Dark Ones. Now the Dark Ones have re-emerged and are preparing to wage war on both the human and supernatural populations. These 4 warriors must lead the fight and destroy the enemy if they are to save mankind and themselves. It’s a suspense filled thriller. Book III in The Four Series is due out in the next few months (visit my website for updates on its release).


How do you get ideas for your books? They come in all sorts of different ways. In the case of The Four, I was spending time with some friends in the Sierra Foothills and the camaraderie and jovial atmosphere sparked the story. In other cases it might be something I see as I’m out and about, or something someone says. Honestly, I don’t know why the little things spark stories, but they do and I run with them. 


Anything in your stories based on real experiences? Yes and no. I do use people I know or have known to help build the characters and of course real life experiences help define certain aspects of the stories. But I only use ‘real life’ as basis; I don’t use actual events or experiences. 


Toughest criticism? Best compliment? My first book Doppelganger Experiment was unfortunately riddled with editing errors. I wasn’t aware of that as I thought (naively) that my editor had thoroughly vetted the book. Some of the reviews were brutal, but in the end these mistakes were my fault and I owned them. We pulled the book and re-edited it, it’s so much better now. Even though those initial reviews still hurt, I learned a great deal, and that is invaluable. I received a review on The Four Series (books 1 and 2) where the reviewer said “5 stars because I can’t give it 10” – I won’t lie, that made my day! 


Any advice for aspiring authors? Its hard work and requires a great deal of dedication. Criticism can be brutal, but take it with a grain of salt and learn from it. Most importantly don’t stop writing! 


How about some fun stuff? Favorite past time? My husband and I love to travel, whether it is just the 2 of us or with friends. We try to make several trips a year in the US and abroad. 


Dogs or cats or some other pet? 2 rambunctious, adorable, annoying, and loving 6 year old cats. 


1 Fav book? why? (or one you can recommend): I’m a voracious reader so that is a tough one. It’s not just one book… Stephen King’s Dark Tower Series is probably my favorite (but Ray Bradbury’s work is almost equal in this category). I love just about everything these guys have written, their creativity and ability to tell the stories are wonderful. 


Favorite place to travel? Ireland and England and Hawaii... (sorry can’t pick between the 3 of these, I love them all equally). 


1 fav author? Why? (or one you can recommend): That goes back to a few questions ago… Stephen King and Ray Bradbury, I cannot choose between them and I highly recommend them both.
Is this your full time job? if yes, anything else you want to do? if no what else do you do? I’m very fortunate that at the moment I can call this my ‘full time’ job. I do dabble in my old profession on a case by case basis (commercial real estate - escrow), but not too often. 


Where can we find you and your books? (links):
 www.margaretmillmore.com
http://www.amazon.com/Margaret-Millmore/e/B005ME8QTQ http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=100002915649470 http://www.linkedin.com/pub/margaret-millmore/4/a6b/6a9
Twitter: MMillmore
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5157106.Margaret_A_Millmore 


Thank you for coming on Julie's Book Review. I wish you lots of success and hope you and your families all have a  year. 

Julie Ramsey
ADM JBR

2/25/13

Interview with Tarah Scott

Lets welcome Tarah Scott  to Julie's Book Review. Tarah Scott is giving away a digital copy of My Highland Lord, so don't forget to check out the rafflecopter to the right of the pg.
    Welcome to Julies Book Review. Can you tell me a little about yourself?
Julie, thanks so much for having me! It's wonderful to be here. I’m Tarah Scott, I write Scottish historicals and, occasionally, romantic suspense. I love to read, write, and cook. I have a daughter who just turned fifteen, so I'm holding my breath as to how long I might live. She'll be fine. It's me I'm not too sure about.

    What kind of books do you write? Newest release?
Scottish historicals are my first love and have become my primary focus. I do write contemporary romantic suspense, but suspense tends to creep into most of my work one way or the other. My latest release is My Highland Love, the first book in the Highland Lords series. These books are stand alone, so while you'll get hints of the other books in any one book, you won't get lost if you happen to read them out of order. The second book in the series My Highland Lord is due for release very soon. 
 
    What should we expect in your book? action, adventure, drama etc.
Action, adventure, drama and, of course, love! The Highland Lords series are big books, with lots of action—both in and out of the bedroom. My Highland Love takes place just after the Regency period in 1825. My Highland Lord is set in the year Queen Victoria is crowned queen, 1837, so the two books vary somewhat in style and dialogue.

    How do you get ideas for your books?
ROFL. Everywhere! It's a nine ring circus here in my head.

    Anything in your stories based on real experiences?
Oh! If only that were true. I have yet to be shipwrecked in Scotland and meet a handsome, rich marquess. Maybe I need to take more cruises? 

    Toughest criticism? Best compliment?
Toughest criticism? Easy, my two critique partners, Kimberly Comeau and Evan Trevane. Everyone gets tough reviews now and again, but when the people you know best show you where you need work, well, that's hard! Best compliment. That's tougher. I think, overall, the best compliments I get are simply when readers tell me they loved the book. If I hear that any of my books go on a readers keeper list, that's about as good as it gets.


    Any advice for aspiring authors?
Read a lot and write even more. Get someone you trust to read your work, and make sure they're kind, but honest. Then write more and more and more. Read a little more too. 

    How about some fun stuff? Favorite past time?
I love to cook, bake especially. Since I love to eat what I make, I'm golden. 
    Dogs or cats or some other pet?
Not currently. We have a wonderful family pet, a jet black cat, we lost some years ago. I haven't had the heart to replace him.
    1 Fav book? why?( or one you can recommend)
A Tale of Two Cities. I adore Dickens. That book is a true masterpiece. More recent, a top favorite is Stephen King's The Green Mile. A modern masterpiece.
    Favorite place to travel?
I have yet to make it to the Florida Keyes. I know I would love it there.
 
    1 fav author? Why?( or one you can recommend)
Authors of my favorite books, Charles Dickens and Stephen King. 

    Is this your full time job? if yes, anything else you want to do? if no what else do you do?
ROFL. It is a full time job, but I have a second full time job that's 'filling in.' I drive a car for hire to the NY airports. 
    Where can we find you and your books?(links)
Website:



Facebook:



Twitter:

@TarahScott


Blog:

    Thank you for coming on Julie's Book Review. I wish you lots of success and hope you and your families all have a Happy New year.


Thank you!


    Have a wonderful Great Year!


    Julie Ramsey


2/24/13

Review of The Hunted by Virginia McKevitt

The Secret Enemy Saga

The Hunted
by Virginia McKevitt



New Orleans better watch out, there is a new threat and it isn't the weather.  The Couton have made their way to the city and are making themselves at home.  And it is up to Tegin and Kristina, along with their friends, Sissy and Jimmy, to rid the famous city of its newest members before the body count rises.


Review:  This is book 2 in The Secret Enemy Saga.  This is a fast paced, paranormal mystery, centered on the Couton and those hunting them, Tegrin and Kristina.  In this book, they are helped by Sissy and Jimmy who's story is sweet.  Jimmy is an ex marine who has seen his share of killing.  But he knows that Sissy has a soft heart and tries to protect her from  the  more graphic things along the way.  But what I enjoyed most was the continuing story of Kristina and the relationship between her and Tegrin.  I like that the author is able to keep the story going without me thinking, is this story ever going to end, but instead I cant wait to see what happens next.   it really was a good, fast paced adventure. So, if you like paranormal mystery this is certainly the book (or books) for you.


Theresa F


5 of 5 stars

Review of Fracture by Virginia McKevitt

Fracture (The Secret Enemy Saga)
by Virginia McKevitt


The Lion Clan were a fast and deadly breed.  They are known as The Guardians to the king and enforce his laws. They are greatly feared and none more than Tegrin.  He is the kings most trusted assassin.  And his new assignment is going take him out of his land into the world of humans.  His goal is to get in and make the kill and get back home before he encounters any humans.  But soon he is faced with a human that he feels some sort of bond with.  He knows that he can trust her and that their meeting was not a coincident.  They were meant to meet.  Kristina was afraid that this lion like man had something to do with her parents deaths.  But almost instantly she feels like she that she is connected to him in a way that she does not understand.  Soon she is on a journey with him that seems to bring more questions about her life so far, and the person that she is supposed to be.  She is learning more every day about her father and the abilities that he had, that she has always had and never understood.  This lion man is her protector and she has no fear when he is around.  Except for the feelings that she feels when she is with him.


Review:  This a book one of The Secret Enemy Saga.  I liked this book.  I liked that the story flowed very easily even though its between two worlds.  I like that Kristina accepts all the changes in her life with a strong attitude and a determination to find out all she can about who she really is.  This 19 year old is no wimp.  I like that Tegrin helps train her warrior side but still sees her feminine side.  I like the way the relationship between Kristina and Tegrin develops. All in all, I really liked this book and look forward to reading the other books in the saga to see what happens as Kristina's story continues.

Theresa F

5 of 5 stars

Review of End of Days by Neil Letherland, Debra Smith, Krystal Brooks

End of Days

3 short stories, all involving the end of the world as we know it situations. The first story  is us against the aliens and genetic engineering.  A soldier who has been altered to save a dying world and finds love and acceptance in a place he never suspected. The second story, a women with a small child in tow, traveling via train, when a nuclear attack puts her into the arms of two lovers. Danger, good HOT sex (menage), and love ignited, in a story that will not let you put it down. The 3rd story, genetically altered soldiers have to fight against over whelming odds to fight and bring back the salvation of the human race. Lots of action, fighting and some pretty good sex scenes.

All 3 stories are very good. Action, adventure, sex and showing the will to survive and the human plight of survival. Even in the End of Days, love is everywhere and brings hope to life and death situations. Great tastes of of some amazing authors! Would read any of these authors again. Thanks for the great read!

 End of Days

2/23/13

Review of Succubus Steam by Lila Shaw

Succubus Steam

Violet, a half human and half succubus has problems. Living in Victorian times were everything you do is looked upon, her succubus nature has to be keep hidden, if she wants to stay in this part of society. Her full blooded sisters, follow their nature and make life difficult for Violet. Violet inherits a large home from her scientist uncle. He specialized in making steam engines. Violet decides to make a steam powered automaton lover. A win win situation in her book. She gets an outlet for her urges and keeps everything quiet and can still stay in society. Her sisters, bring Lyle, an incubus, around and he wants one thing, to be with Violet. Can Violet keep her project a secret and resist Lyle's advances?

I love these succubus stories. Always hot and sexy and this one is just as hot! Be warned ...sex with a steam powered man!!  Talk about HOT!! LOL All kidding aside, very good story. The sisters are a pain for Violet but bring along Lyle who brings even more HEAT to the story.  Very good read with some HOT sex scenes! Keep them coming Lila!

Review of Saving Gracie by Terry Lee

Title - Saving Gracie
Author - Terry Lee


Kathryn Broussard was a 59 yr old controlling momma who lived in Houston. Kathryn and her daughter, Gracie had a love/hate relationship. Gracie loved her, she just hated the know it all role that Kathryn played. Gracie valued her mother advise and was even willing to ask for it on many occasions. When Kathryn's exploratory surgery discovers that there is a malignant cluster around her heart, she learns that she will have 6 months to live. Gracie moves Kathryn in and does what any daughter would do to make her comfortable and peaceful.  Kathryn even controls when she takes her last breath!

Upon drawing her last breath, Kathryn felt an inter peace and calmness. . . . when she opened her eyes, her sister Ruth was there waiting, like she promised. Kathryn has passed over to the other side and its nothing like you would think ! Her name has been changed to a Celestial name of Quinlan. She has one thing on her mind GRACIE, she doesn't think she can survive without her.  Kathryn feels something is wrong. Her main focus is getting "back" to the other side. Seeing what Gracie is up to and how she can help or even control what she is doing ???

After the passing of her mother Gracie finds her self missing her mom and seeing her life as "boring". Gracie resorts back to listening to her alter ego's voice 1 and voice 2. Gracie receives a call from the Deaf Education Department seeking volunteers for their summer program, after some thinking she decides to embark on this need 3 week adventure. Will this be just the thing she needs to get her life on track?  During this time a deaf child by the name of Cherry latches on to her and wins Gracie's heart. Her husband Adam up and leaves for a work related business trip and his behavior is just not normal. Her daughter has hit "puberty" and discovered boys and her son Josh is away at camp and sending letters that are just "to happy." We see Grace take control of her life yep there are ups and downs but she is taking it by the horns. Does her mother try to help from the "other side"?

I laughed and cried while reading this one. The "other side" was nothing that I would have pictured it sorta
 had a twilight light twist to it. This is a for sure one sitting read!




Wende Sheets
4 stars

Review of The Dom Prize by Mina J Moore

The Dom Prize
Gia is tired of the same old same old.  The guys are all boring,  none can keep her attention in bed or out of bed. Best friend to the rescue, they go to a charity event with BDSM overtones.  Not really into all that Gia stands on the sidelines until her name is called for a 7 day vacation with a DOM.  Gia is not sure about all this but is game,since there is a return plane ticket.   Her first encounter with The Dom she loses her panties in the restaurant.   Things heat up from there to sizzling hot which brings up all sorts of unwanted feelings for Gia.
The Dom Prize is a truly erotica book.  I really enjoyed the story line and was drawn into the book from page 1. This is a BDSM book with lots of graphics for the reader.  Which got my attention and blood flowing to all the right places. To me this is what sets an Author apart from others.  I highly recommend this book, even for beginners to Erotica/BDSM.
5 STARS
Patches

2/22/13

Review of Summer Heat by Lisa Worral‏

 Summer Heat
Kade had a bad start in live.  Abused, neglected and on his own at age 13, he learned a lot about survival very quickly.  When Kade was being rousted out of his hiding place behind a dumpster one night by a very nasty vagrant, Gustav rescued him, took him home and raised him as his own son.
After Kade graduated from school, Gustav gave him his first set of lock picks, and Kade found out how Gustav "earned" his living.  Gustav taught Kade everything he knew about being a professional thief.  In the mean time, Kade took a job with an insurance company, specializing in insuring other's treasures.
Years later, Gustav had a heart attack and Kade found out he had squandered all of his money.  After a series of break ins, Kade decided to do one last heist so that Gustav would be taken care of for the rest of his life.  How could he have known that the house he had wanted to hit for some time was going to be occupied.
Mitch had been staying in his parent's vacation home for a few months, trying to get back on his feet after a very bad accident that left him weak and scarred.  One night, during a very bad thunderstorm, Kade came knocking on Mitch's door.  Kade's car had broken down in the storm and he needed a place to get warm and dry until the storm passed.  Kade saw secrets in Mitch's eyes and decided to find out what was haunting him.  Despite both of their secrets, they found they were attracted to each other. Would Kade be able to get past Mitch's defences to get him to see what an awesome artist was under all that pain, or would Mitch find out Kade's profession and end the relationship?
This was a good story.  It had a good plot line and the characters had a deep background to help understand why they were the way they were.  The sex scenes were steamy.  Lisa is a wonderful writer and great story teller.
Donna

review of Dark Side of the Moon by Ahmad Taylor

title - Dark Side of the Moon
author - Ahmad Taylor
stars - 4

This is a sci-fi mystery/thriller that is set in the "future" . "why is it so dark in here" seems to be the main phrase of the book. Government agent Derrick Thomas is looking for his father, sister and mother who he soon discovers is working on a new secret project with the Government. Everyone he questions ends up dead and he soon is fighting for his own life. Its an action packed, suspense-filled short read that kept me guessing of "why is it so dark in here  . . "

Wende Sheets

2/21/13

Review of Dare Me by Julie Leto

Dare Me
by Julie Leto

Macy learned years ago that even the people that you trust the most can easily betray you.  Since then she has proven to herself and the world that she is the best at what she does.  She has built a name for herself and is a strong and independent woman.  And now she is forced to work with the man that taught her that lesson.  Dante has  forced her into a working partnership that comes with strings.  She needs to complete this job to save the country from terrorists.  So what choice does she have but to spend time with him.  But she wont let him touch her heart.  He knows that he made a mistake in the way that he handled the incident that made her believe that he had betrayed her.   But Dante is determined to make her love him again.  


Review:  This is a sexy suspense novella.  I enjoyed this book a lot.  The characters were fun and sexy.  The story was fast paced and exciting.  It was easy to identify with Macy's  fear to put her heart out there again and to trust someone that she believed had betrayed her.  And Dante's patience and determination to win her back without pushing was sweet and sexy at the same time.  This was a great read.  I recommend it to all.

Theresa F

5 of 5 stars

Review of Unholy Testament by Carole Gill

Title - Unholy Testament - The Beginnings
Author - Carole Gill


This is the follow up to Blackstone Moor. In book 2 we seen Louis and Rose running from one city to the next. Hiding from the "vampire hunters". They remained at Lancaster for 3 years and was happy. Then one day a letter came for Louis. We see him leaving to help another coven, one that he is somewhat tied to. Rose and the children remained hopeful that he would return. That day came when a letter with money arrived they would be boarding a ship to go and meet Louis. When boarding the ship something did not seem right to Rose, was it the fog?? She and the children would soon find out . . . . that Eco has returned . . . what does he want ??? He wants Rose to read his journal, his testament and confession that he made just for Rose. How he loved her from the first time he laid eyes on her. This is another very dark novel. . . . very well writing, so well in fact that I am pretty sure I felt the heat from hell's flames. We will hear Eco's story growing from a little boy to the man/beast he is. I have to admit I had some trouble getting Thur book 2 lots of violence and very evil writings. This book stayed with me into my dreams. .. . . .

Wende Sheets
stars - 4

2/20/13

Review of The House on Blackstone Moor by Carol Gill

Title - The House on Blackstone Moor
Author - Carole Gill


Dark . . . . very dark . . . .
This novel starts out with Rose. Rose was abused for years by her father and while away carrying for a sick aunt her father murders her mother, two sisters and a brother. The family doctor took her to a hospital and it was there she was taken under the wing of Dr. Bannion. He placed her at Marsh asylum. Here she tried to heal and even had a job of sewing, one day she was offered a job as a governess at Blackstone. Excited and hopeful of a new life Rose has no idea what lies behind the doors of Blackstone. Vampires and demons OH MY ! ! ! While reading this I pictured it to be a black and white and only when they talked about the garden at Blackstone did I even see color. The author's descriptive writing was excellent. You felt like you were there, seeing and hearing all that is going on, which will leave you a little shaken!  It was a book that I would not start late at night, due to you not wanting to put it down! There is a mystery and even a love story around every corner! ! !

Wende Sheets
stars - 4

Review of Dreamweaver by Tiffinie Helmer

Dreamweaver  (Wild Men of Alaska)
by Tiffinie Helmer


 "Lucky" Leroy Morgan's life was cut short when he was murdered.  And now he is stuck in Limbo unwilling to move on after he gets a glimpse of the future he was supposed to have with an amazing woman he hadn't met yet.  He attempts to seduce her in her dreams, using the Northern Lights as a conduit to earth.
  Gemma Star has done her best to not follow in her mothers footsteps.  She wants to keep both feet firmly planted in the reality of her life and not act like her spacey, tarot card reading mother.  But lately there is a man that keeps showing up in her nighttime dreams and her mom says that he is a Dreamweaver and that she should be careful and not let him steal her soul.  But Gemma is more concerned that Lucky has stolen her heart.

Review:  What a good book this was.  I couldn't put it down.  I thought.... how is the author going to work this out with Lucky being stuck in another realm and only being able to reach her in her dreams.  But as the book progresses, so does their ability to reach one another thanks to the Northern Lights.  The sacrifice that Lucky is willing to make because of his love for Gemma is so sweet and heartbreaking at the same time.  Great job by the author in engaging my emotions and keeping me engrossed in the story as she weaved an excellent love story.


Theresa F

5 stars

2/19/13

review of Fury by Laurann Dohner

Fury

If one wants to have a good book it's easy enough to create a bad character for the the main or good character to overcome. For a good series though, there has to be an evil that always remains just out of the reach of the good guys. In this case that evil is Mercile industries and they are responsible for the genetic and pharmaceutical enhancement and torture of the men and women. Ellie once risked her life to trying gather enough evidence to set the New Species free, and now she spends her days helping them learn to adapt to every day life as free individuals. Life doesn't always go a planned though. Not all humans are happy and open minded when they learn that they are not alone in the world. Ellie is the Den Mother for New Species females and that just makes her the target for fanatics. Unfortunately, it also brings her in close contact with the one man she whom the misfortune of taking the fall for her during her undercover work in the labs. After their explosive reunion Fury soon realizes he can't live without her and no one, least of all him, can understand why he keeps reacting to her the way he does. Their peace is short lived when their compound is attacked and Ellie sacrifices herself to save the women in her care as the Women's dorm is taken by siege. Of course, once the love of Fury and Ellie becomes public knowledge, Mercile Industries makes it known that they may be down, but they are not completely gone.

This is a very adult series and not just containing wonderful sex scenes. The is a very intense torture scene in the beginning of the book and there is mention of rape. Four out of five stars.

Jamie K

Review of Deep Screams by G.R. Holton

TITLE  - DEEP SCREAMS
AUTHOR - G.R. HOLTON


The year is 2146 .. . . We are currently looking for other planets to live on. The last war has damaged earth so bad that it can barely sustain lives on it, this is where the Earth Coalition group comes in. A crew of 20 will boarding the Omega for a 20 year mission looking for a planet. The question remains will they find one ???

The Omega is a nice deck out ship with living quarters for each crew member, a bar, kitchen, halo deck all to make life easy for the next 20 years. For the first 5 years all but 2 crew members will be in a deep sleep. After the 5 years they are waken and we learn about the crew members aboard and how they survive day to day. We even see a historical marriage between 2 crew members.  6 years and 6 weeks  they encounter a large mass headed towards them. Once they pass thru it things change along with the communication back to earth. With out knowing why or what happened the Earth Coalition decide to send a  new crew to inspect the Omega. With a smaller crew aboard the Argo, this high speed hyper cruiser will reach deep space quicker and get answers. These crew members will only sleep 9 months. Once all is awake they will seek till they find the Omega and what they find is shocking . . . . .

Sci-Fi is not one of my favorite genres BUT this one has that thriller/horror twist that made the story very interesting. You are hooked and eager to want more . .. . . .

WENDE SHEETS
STARS  - 4



2/18/13

Review of Hot On Her Trail By Sable Hunter

Hot On Her Trail (Hell Yeah II)
        by Sable Hunter
 
  Jacob has been feeling like he is ready for a change in his life.  Ready to settle down and have a wife and 
family.  But the women he has dated don't seem to fit what he wants.  Until he walks into his barn and finds
the most beautiful woman he has ever seen.  He wants nothing more than to make her, his.  Forever.  If he 
could just convince her  Jessie's hope is that this man is kind and will not try to force her to have an abortion or try to take her baby from her.  And she knows that what she has to tell him will be a lot to take in.  It's a complicated thing to explain  because 1. They have never met and 2. Jessie is a virgin and 3. She is pregnant with his child.

Review:   This is a great book.  I really enjoy the author.  I have read other books by her and am never disappointed. This was a great story with a lot of feeling and excitement within and outside the sexy scenes.  And there was plenty of sexy scenes.  There was suspense and drama that made me not want to put the book down.  This is book 2 of an erotic romance series about the McCoy Brothers.  And in this book the author gives us a glimpse of the other brothers and some of the women in their lives without taking away from the story of Jessie and Jacob.  And even though it is part of a series, the book can be read without feeling like you missed something in the first book.  I loved it and recommend it
to one and all.

Theresa F

5 of 5 stars


  

Review of The Spice of Life by Jennifer Jennings

TITLE - THE SPICE OF LIFE
AUTHOR - JENNIFER L. JENNINGS

Vanessa Roth is a 39 year old who lives in Hanover New Hampshire with her husband, James, of 8 years. She is the CEO of her own advertising company. Many would say she is obsessed with money, her company and her reputation. She is cold, materialistic and power hunger with no friends.

On a night that Vanessa was flying high from closing a big deal with a major company, James is telling Vanessa he is wanting a divorce. What or where does she turn ? Her niece Anna steps in and surprises her with Burlesque lessons for her birthday. A distraction and a way to help Vanessa to let go of things she can not control. Vanessa's personal assistant, Corey Burns, was giving a challenge by Vanessa to spy on James and see who the other women is. Corey and Vanessa find they have alot more in common and along with Frankie, Corey's roommate a friendship is being formed. We see Vanessa transform into a different women. This book was wonderful. It had the right amount of "spice" it needed! Its a story of letting go and moving on.

WENDE SHEETS
STARS - 5 +++

2/16/13

Alexandra Anthony and Karli Rush

Alexandra Anthony loves all things vampire and enjoys writing romantic/erotic stories combining vampires and the paranormal, the idea of good happily ever after story and the possibility that there could be a supernatural Prince Charming lurking out there.
Alexandra lives in the Midwest with her husband and daughter. She is currently writing the The Vampire Destiny Series in which Josephine Anderson, a Psychic Empath, meets the undead man of her dreams. She is also working on her newest series, The Dark Hart Chronicles. In this series, we meet Savannah Wood and up and coming rock star Nick Hart.
Alexandra's books are for adults only. They contain sexy vampires, graphic language, romantic/erotic content and situations that aren't for the faint of heart. Consider yourself warned.
Learn more at www.alexandra-anthony.com

 Image of Alexandra AnthonyProduct Details
Product DetailsProduct DetailsProduct Details    


http://www.amazon.com/Alexandra-Anthony/e/B0086EI9PK/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1360994591&sr=8-2-ent



 http://www.amazon.com/Karli-Rush/e/B007DJNOMW/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1360994801&sr=1-2-ent     


Karli has always blazed her own trail, whether popular or not. She has three wonderful sons and is contently married to a supportive husband. Her passion outside of writing is photography and all things natural. She is an Autism advocate and enjoys hiking, bike riding and family.
Karli was born deep in Cherokee Nation Indian Territory where she grew up loving everything paranormal and has even, first hand, witnessed a womanly spirit. The sighting, as it is referred to, occurred in Eureka Springs, Arkansas one of the top ten most haunted hotels, The Crescent Hotel. This experience captured Karli in ways that have expanded her beliefs about the possibilities of other realms.
As a teen, Karli was an avid reader, she sought out solitude for her passion in nearby Indian Graveyards. Although writing was something that has pulled at her most of her life, it wasn't until a recent visit to a Shaman, who saw her spirit's need for creativity, that she truly began down the path.
The Crescent Bound series is her first work which will consist of five books in all. She is simply thrilled to be able to share all the adventures of Alyssa Worthington with you.
Karli's ideal world would be one of open-minded kindness from everyone.

 Image of Karli RushProduct DetailsProduct DetailsProduct DetailsProduct Details          


Make sure you check out these Great authors! AWESOME books to be added to any ones TBR list! Don't forget it is the LAST day of their giveaway. Rafflecopter is to the right of this post!

2/15/13

Blurbs from Crescent Bound with Karli Rush

Please note this series is for mature 18+ audiences due to language and sexual content. 


Crescent Bound Blurb:


Alyssa Worthington is the daughter and sole heir to the most prestigious coven in the witch world. Her childhood has been spent in the mundane human world learning to blend in and hide who she truly is, and it is here, during her last year that she meets a striking ex-high school quarterback from a small town in Montana who will turn her world upside down. Alyssa holds the element of fire, unlike her best friends Lisa and Megan, who are both air elementals. It is the elemental powers that reside inside which require positive thoughts and positive actions in order to maintain this magickal connection. What would happen to a witch that let this get out of control? How can evil become the driving force behind revenge and death? Dark secrets, dark magick and a desperate desire for revenge will bring Alyssa to the brink of destruction. She is being chased, but this pursuit is a silent one and her chaser has but one goal, Alyssa’s complete and total destruction. Will she overcome this dark threat and begin to live out her destiny? Will she survive and if so, will she lose herself as part of the price for being alive? Or, will her destiny rest on being crescent bound? With all these dark forces creeping around silently in Alyssa’s life, her coven pushes for answers, some of the answers about an eighth and missing coven, in the witch world, lie with her new interest. Marcus may be the key to unlocking the mystery of the silent darkness threatening the seven remaining covens.

Link to buy on Amazon
http://www.amazon.com/Crescent-Bound-Book-1-ebook/dp/B007E5OD2U/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1360931575&sr=8-1&keywords=karli+rush

make sure you check out the rafflecopter to the right of this page!

2/14/13

Review of A Piece of the Princess by R.E. Butler


A Piece for the Princess 
Daeton Stalking Horse steps into a realm that is full of unique creatures and danger she never knew existed in the safety of her were-bear den. Having been around magical beings for her 18 yrs does not prepare for what she will find while on the run from a Wizard that wants to sacrifce her.  She must trust the 2 men who will give their lives to protet her. Her dreams continue to haunt her of 2 sets of hands bringing her pleasure.  She will find love in unlikey places and with beings that she never knew exsited.
This book was Awesome.  I felt like I was right there with Daeton as she  journeys through another realm. 
The author was so descriptive that is took no imagination to picture the sights and sounds of Daeton journey.
M/F/M and Hottttttt!!! I loved this story line! What fantastic story telling!  This realm that Daeton is in right out of some of the best magical paranormal  reads I have ever read. I wish R.E. Butler would write more of this realm. The story was to short!! I want  No I need more of this this realm!
5 STARS
Patchess

Review of A Flash of Fang by R.E. Butler

A Flash of Fang (Wiccan-Were-Bear, #2)
by R.E. Butler

A Flash of Fang is the follow up novella to A Curve of Claw and joins Elizabeth, Ash, and Axe several months into their married life.  Bad dreams plague Elizabeth being a wiccan she knows that one of two things could be causing this. She does not ant to tell her mates yet they can feel that she is not telling them all of the truth. So they take matters into their own hands.  They love their wife and will protect her with their lives.


This book is hot M/F/M with a fantastic plot.  Page turning, hot book!  I really enjoyed this book and seeing how the 3 of them work on their marriage and all  the paranormal that is in their lives.  These 3 are such great characters that you really wish to get to know them, this book brings it all to the reader.  You can't help but want to read book 3 at the cliff hanger this book leaves you with.  Wonderful story telling, this Author is a Must Read.

5 STARS
Patches

Search This Blog

Julie's Book Review

Hello, all my followers, visitors, and guests. Welcome to Julies Book Review. This is a site dedicated to helping authors and readers alike. Readers to find new authors and stories and authors to find new readers. For authors please contact me if you are interested in low cost promotion at juliesbookreview@gmail.com. I accommodate where I can. Readers please go through and search the blog. We have been active here for a while. Hundreds on authors, stories and genres to choose from. We have everything from sci-fi, erotica, romance, contemporary, mystery and horror. And nothing gets on this site without a 3 out 5 star rating minimum. I have several reviewers that read different genres. If you are interested in reviewing for me and the site please contact me at the above email. I hope you enjoy the site. I look forward to meeting and talking with you all.

Julie Ramsey & Theresa Fehse
ADM of JBR
Along with many reviewers (which we could not do this without)

Amazon SearchBox