next feature logo

next feature logo

Search This Blog

Loading...

3/27/15

Jude Johnson

Walkabout Willie / Mucky Karms
 
Blurb:
Walkabout Willie / Mucky Karms is one book of two tales for children, perfect for reading at bedtime or for those who already read independently. There are blank pages to draw one's own illustrations:

Walkabout Willie recounts the Grand Adventure of a wombat who wandered farther than he ever thought he could.  Marg Brassington of Adelaide, South Australia, shares a fun tale with different animals from Down Under involved, illustrated with original drawings by Marg herself. Jude Johnson added a few here and there as well.
Mucky Karms is a fantasy Jude told her son every night at bedtime. Lorcan the Leprechaun is certain that the Witch in the deepest, darkest part o' the forest has stolen his pot o' gold. He tricks a unicorn into giving him a ride but soon learns being mean isn't the best way to accomplish a goal.
Links:
Amazon Author Page: www.amazon.com/author/judejohnson
Facebook Fan Page: www.facebook.com/JudeJohnsonAZ  Twitter: @JudeJohnsonAZ 

3/26/15

S. Jane Gari

Losing the Dollhouse
 
Author: S. Jane Gari                                                    
Title: Losing the Dollhouse
Genre: Memoir
Publisher: Touch Point Press

Synopsis:
At 19, Jane finally worked up the nerve to expose the truth about her stepfather's sexual advances, and her mother was outraged. But not at the stepfather. Her mother took his side-a betrayal that threatened to destroy the family and left Jane struggling to forge her own identity as she entered adulthood. Once marriage was on the table, Jane packed up her life and resolved to stare her demons down. Losing the Dollhouse offers a slice of dysfunctional Americana complete with divorce, step-families, eating disorders, mental illness and the search for true love.

Praise for Losing the Dollhouse:
 
"It takes tremendous courage and strength to share the most vulnerable parts of our lives with the world. I thank S. Jane Gari for giving a voice to important issues and victims that are all too often ignored." 
--Ashley Rhodes-Courter, Author of the International Bestseller, Three Little Words
 
“Gari matter-of-factly and without sentimentality shares the silenced horrors she endured from her stepfamily and a mother who allowed it. I found myself cheering for her as she navigates her way toward a voice of her own.”
--Kerry Cohen, author of Loose Girl: A Memoir of Promiscuity
 
“Gari has written a beautiful, bighearted book on family secrets, memory, and most of all, the power of love and forgiveness.”
– Mary Elizabeth Williams, Author of Gimme Shelter and Stage 5: A True Story of Love, Cancer, Science, and Survival
 

Author Bio: S. Jane Gari lives in Elgin, South Carolina with her husband and daughter. Three adapted chapters from her memoir, Losing the Dollhouse were nominated for the Pushcart Prize. Jane has also co-written Flush This Book, a collection of humorous essays.

Links:
Twitter: @sjanegari
Losing the Dollhouse trailer on You Tube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDMOaGYS9wM

3/25/15

Annie Brown

Information on Who I Be
Blurb:
When most people look into a mirror, what they see is unsatisfactory—an image tainted by
society’s dictates of how we are supposed to look. We were made in the image of God, so why do we
waste time and energy remaking ourselves to please others? Scripture has declared that we were
wonderfully and fearfully made, but we would rather conform to society’s image rather than be
transformed into the image that God wants us to be. In the process, many of us lose ourselves and
become someone we do not recognize. Who I Be is a call to action.
Full Name: Annie Clara Brown

Who I Be

Book Title: Who I Be ISBN# 978-1-4327-9513-9

Social Sites:
https://twitter/annieclara2002
www.outskirtspress.com/whoibe
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LkRxA16s61o
www.anniecbrown.com
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Annie-C-Brown-Author/148527015289050

About this author
My name is Annie Clara Brown. My skills and areas of expertise include providing emotional support and grief support to patients and their families. My professional title is Medical Social Worker at Lakeside Hospice, Inc. in Pell City Alabama, where one of my qualifications is individualized psycho-social care for each family. I received my Masters in Social Work from the University of Alabama with a Concentration in children, adolescents, and families. My interests include working with veterans who suffer from Post-Traumatic Stress Disorders (PTSD) and Traumatic Brain Injuries (TBI) as well as being an avid reader. I am passionate about serving my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and my church (Joyful Noise AOH Church of God in Sylacauga, Alabama) where I serve as a licensed minister and secretary under Bishop Johnnie L. Woods Jr. I am definitely family oriented and enjoy spending quality time with my children, grandchildren and great-grand child.  

3/24/15

Sybrina Durant

Yarashell Abbily and Her Very Messy Room
 
Blurb:  Yarashell Abbily had a very messy room...like most little 3 year olds do. Mommy said to clean it up and so did Daddy, too. But she LIKED to mess up her room. It was quite the dilemma. Yarashell wouldn't budge until Daddy offered to play her very favorite game. Mommy loved this game, too, so who would win? Who would win the game? Would it be Mommy...or Yarashell? Enjoy meeting Yarashell and experiencing her delightful imagination as she gets herself ready to begin her day. This book will give you a glimpse of how a child sees things very differently from adults. Yarashell is sure to remind you of all the messy little ones in your life. With its sing-song verse, this book is a great family read. The accompanying song can be heard for free at sybrina.com.
 
 
 
About the author
Hi:

I am the author of the "Learn To Tie A Tie With The Rabbit and The Fox" series of instructional books for boys and girls. I also co-write, edit and publish children's books by other authors, Sandi Johnson (Children's books) and Britt Brundige (Tween graphic novel). For the older crowd, there's a little bit of romance by Historical Regency Romance author, Gina Rose.

I am also the publisher of the 4 volume set - Sybrina's Phrase Thesaurus. Check out all of these books and if you like them, please recommend them to other Good Reads members.

You can also vote on the best book for children to learn how to tie, here:
http://www.goodreads.com/list/show/30...

And the Best Writer's Thesaurus List here:http://www.goodreads.com/list/user_vo...

If you enjoy Pinterest, then you can view my boards at http://pinterest.com/sybrinad/boards/.
Happy Reading!
Sybrina

3/23/15

Henry Herz

Monster Goose Nursery Rhymes

Enter an enchanted land of mythical creatures where manticores reign and ogres roar. Little Witch Muffet is not frightened by a silly, little spider; she adds him to her stew! If you enjoy mischief and have a penchant for the morbidly hilarious, the rhymes will satisfy your mythological curiosity. The book also includes a “bestiary” with information about the book’s legendary creatures

More about the book, including blurbs from Drew Daywalt, Molly Idle, Dan Yaccarino, and other successful authors, can be seen at www.birchtreepub.com/mgnr.htm.

About this author
Henry Herz writes fantasy and science fiction for children. His debut traditionally published picture book, Monster Goose Nursery Rhymes, is from Pelican Publishing. Henry and his sons have also indie-published four children's books, including Nimpentoad (a fantasy early chapter book), which reached #1 in Kindle Best Sellers large print sci-fi & fantasy, and was featured in Young Entrepreneur, Wired GeekDad, and CNN. Henry was the editor of Beyond the Pale (a fantasy young adult anthology, editor) with short stories by award-winning and New York Times bestselling authors Saladin Ahmed, Peter S. Beagle, Heather Brewer, Jim Butcher, Rachel Caine, Kami Garcia, Nancy Holder, Gillian Philip & Jane Yolen. The book reached #2 in Amazon Science Fiction & Fantasy > Fantasy > Anthologies.

Henry is a member of the Society of Children's Book Writers & Illustrators (SCBWI), and his picture book, Little Red Cuttlefish, won Editor's Choice at an SCBWI Orange County Editor's Day. Henry is also a member of the Society of Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America. He writes articles about children's literature for TheWriteLife.com, and maintains a popular blog on KidLit, fantasy, and science fiction at www.henryherz.com. He was a guest blogger in Tara Lazar's PiBoIdMo in 2014. Henry participates in literature panels at a variety of conventions, including moderating the Science Fiction & Fantasy Literature panel at San Diego Comic-Con 2014 with New York Times bestselling author panelists David Brin, Jonathan Maberry, Jim Butcher, Rachel Caine, Jason Hough and Marie Lu. Henry created KidLit Creature Week (www.birchtreepub.com/kcw), an annual online gallery of monsters, creatures, and other imaginary beasts from children’s books. Henry reviews children's books for the San Francisco Book Review and San Diego Book Review.

Like their father, both boys are big fans of fantasy, science fiction, and the annual San Diego Comic-Con convention. They have an entrepreneurial bent too. They've started three web-based businesses selling LEGO party favors, custom cast bases for Warhammer, and painted concrete yard sculptures. Artwork by Josh appeared in the Mar/Apr and Jul/Aug 2014 issues of Cicada Magazine.

3/22/15

Crystal Clifton




 
Amazon Author page ­ http://smarturl.it/crystalclifton
Crystal CLifton is married and has 4 children and 6 grand children and her Childrens Books are
loosely based on them. She was raised in Dalhart Texas of which she still calls home and loves to
visit it as much as possible. She currently resides in Michigan with her Son his wife and their
daughter, she also has a home in Colbert,Georgia. Writing has always been a passion of Crystals
and her mom told her one day it would bring her success. Crystal has been writing since she was
about eleven years old. She wrote any where from poetry to plays and a couple of songs. She is a
people person and has been told she never leaves a place without making a new friend.

TSU ­ https://www.tsu.co/crystalc23
Google ­ https://plus.google.com/u/0/113425115278707740164/posts
Blogger ­ http://crystalsfunwithreading.blogspot.com/
Twitter ­ https://twitter.com/crystalc23
Instagram ­ https://instagram.com/crystalc423/
Goodreads ­ https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7031886.Crystal_Clifton
Facebook Author ­ https://www.facebook.com/pages/Crystal­Bozeman­Clifton-
Author/613776131972991
Facebook Personal ­ https://www.facebook.com/crystallclifton
Crystal has three books published and one releasing soon as a re­release.
Her first book is "Thimble Kisses"
released with Anchor Publishing
Illustrated by Jodie B Stone
http://smarturl.it/thimblekisses

Blurb
Andy wants to give his mom a very special gift for Christmas and after watching his favorite movie
he has decided as to what that gift will be. With the help of his Dad and a local store he
accomplishes that very thing and makes Moms Christmas extra special along with his siblings
Jenny, Suzy and Clayton.
Her second is "Jenny's Most Horribly Wonderful Birthday"
Released with Anchor Publishing
Illustrated by Jodie B Stone
Eboo ­ http://smarturl.it/jennysmhb
print ­ http://smarturl.it/jennysmhbBook

Blurb
Today is Jenny's special day. Early one Saturday morning, Jenny ran into the kitchen. "Mom, do
you remember what today is?" she asked excitedly. "No. Is it a special day or something?" Mom
answered smiling. Jenny's face fell into a sad face. "Today is my birthday, Mommy."

Her third book is "Bella's Royal Tea Party"
Released with Linkville Press
Illustrated by Angie C Johnson
Print ­ http://smarturl.it/PBRTP
Ebook ­ http://smarturl.it/pbrtp1

Bella loves her tea parties, and today is a very special one. Today’s tea party is a Royal one
because all of her favorite guests are coming. Read and find out what special guests are going to
be there.
The Fourth will be releasing very soon and she is super excited.

3/21/15

Bernard Foong

Synopsis: A Harem Boy Saga; A Memoir. Book 1 - INITIATION.
This provocative story is about a young man who was initiated into a
clandestine sexual society. He was spirited to the Middle East, from his UK
boarding school. He attended the Bahriji School (Oasis,) in The United
Arab Emirates in preparation for serving in Harems for the wealthy and
elite.
It is also a love story between the young man and his ‘Valet’ who served as
his chaperone and mentor during the boy’s Harem service.

Author’s Note:
I had a privileged and unique upbringing in Malaysia. Following in my
brothers' footsteps, I was sent to an exclusive boarding school in England.
It is there that I was inducted into a clandestine organization, E.R.O.S. The
Enlightened Royal Oracle Society. For four years, unbeknownst to my
family, I was willingly and happily part of a Harem.
My story has been kept under wraps for close to 45 years. The correct
moment has arrived for me to make known my unique education.
young@aharemboysaga.com
www.aharemboysaga.com



A Harem Boy's Saga books website, blog, and other social sites
Website:  http://haremboysaga.com
Blog:  http://bernardfoong.typepad.com in_the_harem
Facebook: 
Twitter:  @aharemboysaga
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/haremboysaga/a-harem-boys-
saga/ (contains adult contents)
Cowbird:  http://cowbird.com/bernard/stories/
Tumblr: https://www.tumblr.com/blog/trisf2013 (contains adult content)
Video trailer for all the 3 books in A Harem Boy's Saga series:
http://youtu.be/F0Lv80yhhq0 (conservative version)
You Tube (sensual versions): 
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_BP0OxcR42ZUKWiGBMDvoA/feed

3/20/15

Jude Johnson

Walkabout Willie / Mucky Karms
Blurb:
Walkabout Willie / Mucky Karms is one book of two tales for children, perfect for reading at bedtime or for those who already read independently. There are blank pages to draw one's own illustrations:

Walkabout Willie recounts the Grand Adventure of a wombat who wandered farther than he ever thought he could.  Marg Brassington of Adelaide, South Australia, shares a fun tale with different animals from Down Under involved, illustrated with original drawings by Marg herself. Jude Johnson added a few here and there as well.
Mucky Karms is a fantasy Jude told her son every night at bedtime. Lorcan the Leprechaun is certain that the Witch in the deepest, darkest part o' the forest has stolen his pot o' gold. He tricks a unicorn into giving him a ride but soon learns being mean isn't the best way to accomplish a goal.
Links:
Amazon Author Page: www.amazon.com/author/judejohnson
Facebook Fan Page: www.facebook.com/JudeJohnsonAZ  Twitter: @JudeJohnsonAZ 

3/19/15

S. Jane Gari

Losing the Dollhouse
Author: S. Jane Gari                                                    
Title: Losing the Dollhouse
Genre: Memoir
Publisher: Touch Point Press
Synopsis:

At 19, Jane finally worked up the nerve to expose the truth about her stepfather's sexual advances, and her mother was outraged. But not at the stepfather. Her mother took his side-a betrayal that threatened to destroy the family and left Jane struggling to forge her own identity as she entered adulthood. Once marriage was on the table, Jane packed up her life and resolved to stare her demons down. Losing the Dollhouse offers a slice of dysfunctional Americana complete with divorce, step-families, eating disorders, mental illness and the search for true love.

Praise for Losing the Dollhouse:
"It takes tremendous courage and strength to share the most vulnerable parts of our lives with the world. I thank S. Jane Gari for giving a voice to important issues and victims that are all too often ignored." 
--Ashley Rhodes-Courter, Author of the International Bestseller, Three Little Words
“Gari matter-of-factly and without sentimentality shares the silenced horrors she endured from her stepfamily and a mother who allowed it. I found myself cheering for her as she navigates her way toward a voice of her own.”
--Kerry Cohen, author of Loose Girl: A Memoir of Promiscuity
“Gari has written a beautiful, bighearted book on family secrets, memory, and most of all, the power of love and forgiveness.”
– Mary Elizabeth Williams, Author of Gimme Shelter and Stage 5: A True Story of Love, Cancer, Science, and Survival

Author Bio: S. Jane Gari lives in Elgin, South Carolina with her husband and daughter. Three adapted chapters from her memoir, Losing the Dollhouse were nominated for the Pushcart Prize. Jane has also co-written Flush This Book, a collection of humorous essays.

Links:
Twitter: @sjanegari
Losing the Dollhouse trailer on You Tube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDMOaGYS9wM

3/18/15

Annie Brown


Blurb: When most people look into a mirror, what they see is unsatisfactory—an image tainted by
society’s dictates of how we are supposed to look. We were made in the image of God, so why do we
waste time and energy remaking ourselves to please others? Scripture has declared that we were
wonderfully and fearfully made, but we would rather conform to society’s image rather than be
transformed into the image that God wants us to be. In the process, many of us lose ourselves and
become someone we do not recognize. Who I Be is a call to action.
Full Name: Annie Clara Brown

Who I Be


Social Sites:
https://twitter/annieclara2002
www.outskirtspress.com/whoibe
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LkRxA16s61o
www.anniecbrown.com
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Annie-C-Brown-Author/148527015289050

3/17/15

Sybrina Duran

Yarashell Abbily and Her Very Messy Room
Blurb:  Yarashell Abbily had a very messy room...like most little 3 year olds do. Mommy said to clean it up and so did Daddy, too. But she LIKED to mess up her room. It was quite the dilemma. Yarashell wouldn't budge until Daddy offered to play her very favorite game. Mommy loved this game, too, so who would win? Who would win the game? Would it be Mommy...or Yarashell? Enjoy meeting Yarashell and experiencing her delightful imagination as she gets herself ready to begin her day. This book will give you a glimpse of how a child sees things very differently from adults. Yarashell is sure to remind you of all the messy little ones in your life. With its sing-song verse, this book is a great family read. The accompanying song can be heard for free at sybrina.com.

3/16/15

Henry L. Herz


Monster Goose Nursery Rhymes























by

Enter an enchanted land of mythical creatures where manticores reign and ogres roar. Little Witch Muffet is not frightened by a silly, little spider; she adds him to her stew! If you enjoy mischief and have a penchant for the morbidly hilarious, the rhymes will satisfy your mythological curiosity. The book also includes a “bestiary” with information about the book’s legendary creatures.

More about the book, including blurbs from Drew Daywalt, Molly Idle, Dan Yaccarino, and other successful authors, can be seen at www.birchtreepub.com/mgnr.htm.

Julie's Book Review

Hello, all my followers, visitors, and guests. Welcome to Julies Book Review. This is a site dedicated to helping authors and readers alike. Readers to find new authors and stories and authors to find new readers. For authors please contact me if you are interested in low cost promotion at juliesbookreview@gmail.com. I accommodate where I can. Readers please go through and search the blog. We have been active here for a while. Hundreds on authors, stories and genres to choose from. We have everything from sci-fi, erotica, romance, contemporary, mystery and horror. And nothing gets on this site without a 3 out 5 star rating minimum. I have several reviewers that read different genres. If you are interested in reviewing for me and the site please contact me at the above email. I hope you enjoy the site. I look forward to meeting and talking with you all.

Julie Ramsey & Theresa Fehse
ADM of JBR
Along with many reviewers (which we could not do this without)

Amazon SearchBox