Karli Rush Blog Hop

Karli Rush Blog Hop
Come support a famiy who needs our help

8/29/15

Review of Ender's Shadow by Orson Scott Card

Ender’s Shadow
by Orson Scott Card


The people of earth fear the second bugger war, as the first nearly kill them all. So the I.F.(International Fleet) created Battle School where kids go to be trained to be a commander of a fleet to stop the buggers. Bean is one of these special kids who meets all the requirements to go to Battle School. Battle School will help Bean escape his miserable years of life on the streets. Bean quickly learns the that Ender Wiggin is number one in battle school when he gets there. Later Bean helps Ender in the wars simulations to find out if Ender will become commander of the fleet to stop the war.

Ender’s Shadow is great parallel novel to Ender’s game. It a little slow at first but gets fast after a couple chapters. It allows you to revisit your favorite characters and see the book and the series from a different point of view. You will find out secrets and things you didn't know about Bean and the entire story. This book is great for anyone who loves science fiction.

I give this book a 5 star  
James R
Middle school Reviewer

Review of The Rebirth of Gershon Polokov by Mndy Littman Holland

The Rebirth of Gershon Polokov

Mindy Littman Holland

The idea of metempsychosis (the posthumous transmigration of souls into new bodies) began with
the Greeks. Currently, stories that deal with this phenomenon are categorized as paranormal.
James Joyce and Plato (both believers in metempsychosis) would enthusiastically welcome Mindy
Littman Holland’s treatment of the passage of a soul to another physical body if they were around
today.

We first meet Sophie Gordon as a three-year-old in the 1950s in a grocery store in the Bronx who
is given a gold locket in the shape of a heart by a stranger only she can see. We follow her life from
there through two marriages besides taking a sidetrip to New York in 1910 to understand how the
seeds were planted for the transmigration of two lovers' souls.
I was intrigued by Ms. Holland's choice of a simple narrative style to tell a story that deals with the
complexities of the human psyche. She doesn’t reveal the souls of her characters by overwhelming
readers with philosophical and psychological discourses. Holland’s reliance on humor to make us
laugh at family dysfunction serves the novel well. Sophie's mother, Roma Gordon, is practical to
the point of being a caricature of motherhood while her father is a doting husband and daddy who
just doesn't get it.

It's a long hard road Sophie and her beloved, Gershon, travel to find each other. I enjoyed
traveling it with them, especially with Holland’s guidance. It's a fun read on a subject matter that is
often misunderstood.  The point the story makes well is that whether you believe in
metempsychosis or not, don't think of it as irrelevant. Many great minds have given it serious
consideration.

5 Stars
One of Amazon's Best Books of 2015

Bill Snyder
http://www.amazon.com/Rebirth-Gershon-Polokov-
Novel/dp/0865348723/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1440006809&sr=8-
2&keywords=mindy+littman+holland.com
http://mindylittmanholland.com/MLHdotcom/Fiction.html
http://mindylittmanholland.com/

Review of Dressed to Die by Ann Simas

Dressed To Die
Ann Simas

Moving from Seattle to her hometown of Coburg Oregon, Grace, is to find less stress. She moved back to her hometown to help her parents who are raising their grandchildren. Grace was there 1 week when she is called to a murder. The town entrepreneur and land developer along with town icon, Yeager Clausen,  is found dead. What made his death unusual is he was found in a evening gown.

When Grace investigates the more disturbing facts come to surface and 2 other victims are found murdered. These 3 where friends and what will connect these murders will be a shocker. It comes down to 3 words - PAYBACK - RETRIBUTION AND REVENGE.

Another super sleuth is out and trying to settle in while trying to solve a murder. Grace is a character that you love and Yeager is painted as the character you would love to hate ! This book is a wonderful well written, it was alittle dark in places but all in all its a great read !

5 stars
Wende

Review for Fairly Certain by Deborah

Review for Fairly Certain by Deborah

Ann Davis

Fairly Certain is a rather delightful YA fantasy re-telling of the story of
Robin Hood with a couple of new characters and slightly different twist
and turns.

It kind of reminded me of Mark Twain’s, A Connecticut Yankee in King
Arthur’s Court. But, with a flair of romance… Don’t ask me why! It’s
been a long time since I read that. The humour and character
developments, though somewhat distinct are first class.
Overall, and without giving anything away, this is a very nice, easy, and
pleasant read from a very talented writer… even for someone who is
not into Romance, per se.

Four Stars!

Kevin

8/25/15

Nina Levine


ILLUSIVE
By Nina Levine

Release Day Blitz


BOOK SIX IN THE  BESTSELLING STORM MC SERIES

He’s been burnt by love.
  
Griff Hawkins keeps his pain locked away and the ghosts of his past buried even deeper. Three years ago, he chose the Storm MC as his family and accepted the ways of their violent world. These days, he lives his life with one rule – don’t get attached to anyone but his club.

She longs to be loved.

Sophia Barnes aches to know real love, and lives her life with arms wide open, ready to embrace the possibilities that come her way.

When Griff’s past is exposed and his place in the club is jeopardised, he fights for his family the only way he knows how, regardless of the consequences.  That is, until he meets the woman who brings him to his knees, giving him something to lose.

Can they teach each other to leave the sins of the past behind or will Griff's demons dictate their future?

Buy Links:
iBooks: http://apple.co/1JQZxJa
Amazon US: http://amzn.to/1Sj10ta
Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/1QzCzdK
Amazon CA: http://amzn.to/1Bex3GK
Amazon AU: http://bit.ly/1cXleJd
B&N: http://bit.ly/1Fjpmdd
KOBO: http://bit.ly/1MXJJTi
_________________________________



★★★ SASSY CHRISTMAS BY NINA LEVINE IS LIVE! ★★★

8/21/15

Andy Peloquin


Blade of the Destroyer (The Last Bucelarii: Book 1)

Tagline/Elevator Pitch:

A faceless, nameless assassin. A forgotten past.  The Hunter of Voramis--a killer devoid of morals, or something else altogether? (Blade of the Destroyer--dark fantasy with a look at the underside of human nature)

Book Blurb:
The Last Bucelarii (Book 1): Blade of the Destroyer

The Hunter of Voramis is the perfect assassin: ruthless, unrelenting, immortal. Yet he is haunted by lost memories, bonded to a cursed dagger that feeds him power yet denies him peace of mind. Within him rages an unquenchable need for blood and death.

When he accepts a contract to avenge the stolen innocence of a girl, the Hunter becomes the prey. The death of a seemingly random target sends him hurtling toward destruction, yet could his path also lead to the truth of his buried past?

Book Info:
Title: The Last Bucelarii (Book 1): Blade of the Destroyer
Author: Andy Peloquin
Official Launch Date: August 21st, 2015
Publication Date: July 11th, 2015
Paperback Price: $15.99
Digital Price: $3.99
Pages: 298
ISBN: 1515038955
Buy Links:
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/Blade-Destroyer-Last-Bucelarii-Book-ebook/dp/B012EI9M4A/
Amazon Paperback: http://www.amazon.com/Blade-Destroyer-Last-Bucelarii-Book/dp/1515038955/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25269614-blade-of-the-destroyer
=================================
The Importance of Realism in Fantasy

When I first sat down to write a fantasy novel, I decided, "I'm going to make this as far out and awesome as possible. Because I'm writing a totally unrealistic world filled with magic and weird races, there's no reason that I need to be realistic at all."

Boy was I wrong! Over the course of my (admittedly short) career as a fiction writer, I've come to a
simple realization: people want things to be as realistic as possible.

How is this possible, especially given that fantasy is so…well…fantastic? Easy: they want people they can relate to, with problems they can recognize and understand.

When I wrote the first draft of my latest novel The Last Bucelarii (Book 1): Blade of the Destroyer, the main character--the Hunter--was a bad-ass half-demon assassin with ZERO flaws. He always killed his target, and the closest he came to failure was letting someone smarter than him manipulate him.
Awesome, right? Who doesn't love a bad-ass assassin?

But when I sent that book out to real life readers, they all said one thing: "There's nothing relatable
about him. There's no reason for me to like him, and no reason for me to care what happens to him."

Intriguing thought, isn't it? So what did I do? I gave him weaknesses, flaws, and things that made him as human as a half-demon creature could be. I made him fail, as many times as necessary, because that made his eventual success even more important.

This is just a small example, but it drives the point home: to make a book GREAT, there has to be
something people can relate to.

I'll list a few of the things that make my favorite novels great:

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch -- It's all about the friendship between the two main
characters, and the shit they'll endure for each other.

The Stormlight Archives by Brandon Sanderson -- It's all about human characters doing human things in a fantasy world. The same human failures, mistakes, and desires that we can easily recognize.

The Riyria Chronicles by Michael J. Sullivan -- Once again, friendship between two unlikely characters, and the strength of that friendship.

Simple stuff, right? Each of these books is filled with magic, fantastic creatures, and elements you'd
never find in real life. But they are solidly grounded in real life--the real life of being human, making
mistakes, failing, and trying to right your wrongs.

So, my advice to you is this: go way out into left field with your creation, but make it relatable. I don't care if you're writing a story about unicorn-snatching space pirate leprechauns--give your readers something they can identify with. Make it all about the characters, and build the plot AROUND them.
That is what will bond your readers to your characters, and what will make them come back time and
again!


Andy Peloquin 
Professional Freelance Writer



8/19/15

Nina Levine





BE THE ONE (CRAVE #2) IS NOW AVAILABLE! #RockstarRomance #EveryoneNeedsaJett #NewRelease

► US AMAZON: http://amzn.to/1e5ezxl
► UK AMAZON: http://amzn.to/1Lr4UOW
► AUS AMAZON: http://bit.ly/1FCTGQ1
► CA AMAZON: http://amzn.to/1RyUbRY
------------------------------------------------------------------



ALL YOUR REASONS (CRAVE #1) BY NINA LEVINE IS FREE FOR A STRICTLY LIMITED TIME

When heartbreaker meets ballbreaker sparks will fly.

→ iBOOKS: http://bit.ly/1uvmQCi
→ GOOGLE PLAY: http://bit.ly/1MfHiLU

Rockstar, Jett Vaughn, isn't against settling down, but no woman has ever held his attention long enough for a relationship to develop. That is until he meets Presley Hart. She's confident, opinionated and headstrong. She drives him to the edge of crazy, but he can't deny how she makes him feel.

He wants her heart, but she only wants his body.

Presley's not against giving her heart to a man, but she has too many reasons why he's not the one to give it to. Jett isn't a man who will take no for an answer though. He's about to declare war on her reasons and take what he wants.

** Please note this is a novella of approximately 25000 words that introduces you to Jett & Presley. Their story is completed in BE THE ONE which has just been released; http://amzn.to/1e5ezxl ** 

CRAVE SERIES

Book One - All Your Reasons (Currently Free)
Book Two - Be The One - OUT NOW
Book Three - Van's Story - Coming 2016

8/18/15

Review of Gravitas by Lynne Murray

Gravitas
Valkyrie in the Forbidden Zone
By
Lynne Murray

Gravitas: Valkyrie in the Forbidden Zone is a quick reading science fiction/fantasy novelette that
is terrifically entertaining.  Lynne Murray has managed to weave a fine story line that includes
sex, and pheromone-based sex appeal, female-v-male dominance, male disrespect/abuse of
women, and the social pressure on modern women to adhere to an unrealistic physical image
prescribed by modern culture.

Val-Sybilla is the sworn Protector of the Mother Clan and Personal Security Officer to the
Valkyrian delegation to an interplanetary conference to negotiate slavery issues.  On the planet
Valkyrie, females are dominant as are the Valkyries of Norse mythology.  Val-Sybilla is also the
carrier of the Valkyrian Ritual Jewelry in which is stored a powerfully intoxicating Valkyrian
female sex pheromone known as Gravitas.  When Val-Sybilla runs afoul of an abusive
Roggarian delegate who accidentally becomes sexually intoxicated with her Gravitas, a chain of
events is inadvertently put in motion centered around the sale, management and safe-keeping of
the Gravitas contained in the Ritual Jewelry.  The story is complicated by issues involving ex-
husbands, infatuated male-dominant Roggarians, interplanetary warfare and armed robbery…all
carried out in the Forbidden Zone…the planet Earth.

All of the Valkyrian characters are likeable.  The Roggarian diplomat, Gelbrave, is not very
likeable but he is a product of his culture and eventually begins a transformation into a more
likeable character.  One is never sure whether to trust Feeney, and it is never revealed just what
Feeney is doing on Earth.

The text is fairly free of editing errors, although I did note three or four minor issues.  On the
whole, Gravitas: Valkyrie in the Forbidden Zone is an entertaining quick paced read for science
fiction/fantasy fans; one that I thoroughly enjoyed reading.

5-STARS, Clabe Polk

Review for Fairly Certain by Deborah Ann Davis

Review for Fairly Certain by Deborah Ann Davis

Fairly Certain is a rather delightful YA fantasy re-telling of the story of
Robin Hood with a couple of new characters and slightly different twist
and turns.

It kind of reminded me of Mark Twain’s, A Connecticut Yankee in King
Arthur’s Court. But, with a flair of romance… Don’t ask me why! It’s
been a long time since I read that. The humour and character
developments, though somewhat distinct are first class.
Overall, and without giving anything away, this is a very nice, easy, and
pleasant read from a very talented writer… even for someone who is
not into Romance, per se.

Four Stars!
Kevin

Review of Leaving Eva by Jennifer Sivec

 Leaving Eva

4 stars, rated 16+ (Warning: this book depicts graphic scenes of child abuse)

I found it difficult to put down this dark slice-of-life story, not for the train wreck effect but because Sivec created truly sympathetic characters. The protagonist, named Eva at birth, was born to an immature teenage mother who later abandoned her on the side of the road. She was then unfortunately adopted by a sadistic alcoholic and his passive, needy wife. To deal with feelings of abandonment and betrayal, Eva (named Brynn by her adoptive mother) turns to self-harm. As an adult, Brynn is married to a devoted husband, owns a successful restaurant, and is generally respected by the community. But the demons inside threaten her livelihood, her marriage, and her sanity. She must face them head-on to get her life back on track. A long-buried secret gives her a long-awaited feeling of freedom and vindication.

Leaving Eva is told vignette-style and in almost childlike narration, reminiscent of The House on Mango Street. The author has created believe able, sympathetic characters. Even Brynn's brutal adoptive father is shown as battling his own demons. I believe that Sivec could probably benefit from dialing down the sappy, maudlin tone a notch or two, but overall I love how she created a female character who beats the odds and discovers she is entitled to happiness with people who love her and freedom from her abusers. A recommended read.

Jessica Wren

8/16/15

R.L. Merrill


 Teacher: The Final Act

At the end of Teacher: Act Two, we left our lovers on a dark precipice. Jesse’s doubts and the chaos of Danny’s life threatened to tear them apart. Instead, they are now closer than ever and ready to take that next step. But nothing will ever be easy for our teacher and her rock god, including planning the perfect wedding. A jilted colleague from Danny’s past, a desperate ex, a potentially fatal tragedy, a remodel, a parent-teacher conference, illness, a drag queen, and many many more obstacles are piled in their path. Will Jesse and Danny ever find their happily ever after or will they be forever doomed as lovers?



R.L. Merrill started writing five years ago to deal with some not-so-pleasant life situations and to escape from the icky parts of being a responsible adult. It's turned into a very fulfilling way to spend her minuscule amount of free time and has mostly kept her sane. Her stories involve real life struggles and the romance that gets us through. Her novels are influenced and inspired by her own experiences as well as those of folks around her that she admires and respects for their strength and perseverance. She's lived in the Bay Area her whole life, with the exception of the four very good years she spent in rural Iowa during college. She's been an educator for twenty years as both a teacher and school counselor, and has spent time working closely with police and non-profit agencies as a Domestic Violence Victim Advocate. She is a wife, mother, daughter, sister, tattoo collector, Metal fan, movie geek and book nerd, and she currently presides over a horde of animals consisting of two cats, a dog, a Jackson's Chameleon, various fish varieties, and a rat. You can find her on Facebook at facebook.com/rowritesrocknromance.


Isobelle Cate



Be Mine Isobelle Cate


Gracie Sinclair just wants life to return to normal.

Now a widow and picking up the pieces after the death of her husband, she delves into her work, seeking a new normal, until she bumps into a handsome stranger who derails her orderly life, completely.

Luke can’t wait for the week to be over. Having built an engineering company into a multi-million pound enterprise in record time, he feels...empty. Nothing satisfies him anymore, not even having weekenders in his bed. But when he bumps into a woman—literally—on his way out of a bar, realizing she is his last meeting before he goes on holiday, his plan of staying away from relationships takes a nose dive. He wants Gracie Sinclair.

Gracie learned a long time ago how insincere love can be, so when Luke decides to become part of her life, she tosses up every obstacle to dissuade him until he breaks down her walls and makes her realize that her life can only be complete with Luke by her side.

However, something sinister from Luke’s past threatens the happiness they have struggled to find. If he concedes, he will become criminally liable and lose everything.

If he refuses, he loses Gracie’s heart…

Excerpt
Minutes later sunshine replaced the grey clouds, a precursor for better things to come. Gracie and Noreen had just put the finishing touches to their table when cars started coming inside the manor's grounds. Children waited inside the cars before parents and grandparents opened their doors to let them out. Colourful jackets, coats, and parkas made for a rainbow that decided to take a break from arcing over the skies. Smells of sausages and grilled hamburgers with a pinch of strong coffee soon wafted through the fare. People queued for food. Others perused the items on sale, from pottery and glass jewellery to different cheeses made in several parts of the country. Tasting trays of small breads and crackers with dollops of jam or cheese made their way on food stall tables for people to sample. Some crowded a few booths while other booths waited for people to gather around them. By noon, the swell of chatting groups and shouts of butchers selling fresh slabs of meat mixed with the shrieks, laughter, and whining of children.
"Thank you." Gracie smiled at a buyer, while Noreen handed over the change for another purchase.
"Oh my God, Gracie, can you believe it?" Noreen's face had a happy smile. "The fair isn't closing for a few hours yet and we're down to just one crate."
"And I should say well done, you." Gracie enveloped her friend in a warm hug.
"Girl, they didn't just buy my stuff. They also bought yours." The lilt in Noreen's voice belied her serious face. "Well done, apprentice."
Gracie laughed. "Thank you. I have a wonderful teacher."
A dusky blush coloured Noreen's caramel skin. She was the epitome of elegance no matter even if she was in dungarees. Her braided hair was tied with a piece of cloth at the nape of her neck, where several necklaces with tiny ceramic beads clicked against each other whenever she moved. Her softly kohl rimmed eyes sparkled with excitement and could be liberally laced with mischief, but not this time. Pure joy radiated through her in the way her mouth lifted in the biggest of smiles and the way she engaged potential buyers in conversation. Her enthusiasm, contagious.
Noreen waved her hand dismissively at Gracie's compliment. "We will start trading compliments very soon."
Gracie grinned, shaking her head. She bent down to get more ceramic bowls from the crate, gently taking them out from the bed of bubble wrap, unmindful of the quiet behind her. "We'll need to take out this blue and grey set of salad bowls, Noreen." She straightened up, turning towards her friend. "Where should I put..." Surprise slammed into her like a freight train. "these..."
"Hello, Gracie." Whatever chill she felt abated in the banked fire in his blue eyes.
"What are you doing here?"
His eyes gleamed with amusement. "It is the weekend fair. People come to enjoy it."
Colour flooded her cheeks. Dumb, Gracie. Just dumb. "Yes. Right. Well...enjoy the day then." She turned to Noreen, who watched the exchange with curiosity. "I'm going to get coffee. Do you want anything?"
"I'll get it," Luke interjected. Noreen had just opened her mouth to speak and kept it open as she turned to Luke before she pursed her lips.
"It's not necessary," Gracie said.
"Gracie, please let me."
"Why don't you both go and get me coffee," Noreen retorted wryly. "Better yet get me the huge cafetière because seriously I feel like I'm watching a table tennis match."
Gracie scowled. Luke chuckled.
"Good idea," he said. "Gracie?"
Not wanting to belabour the point, Gracie turned to get her small purse and slung it diagonally across her chest. She refused to acknowledge of the sudden loud thudding of her heart and the turmoil that seemed to be usurping the calm inside her belly. She could also feel Noreen's gaze on her, but she refused to look at her friend, opting to make her way out of their stall to join Luke.
"Luke! Baby!"
The strong cloud of perfume arrived first before a woman flung herself at Luke, capturing his mouth in a kiss that had a few passers-by gawk, glance with surprise, and snicker. Gracie stopped mid-stride, sighing and shaking her head.
She gave Noreen a curt smile. "I'll be back with the coffee."
"Gracie!"
She continued walking, her wellies splashing over puddles that hadn't been dried by the sun. The warmth she felt at the sight of Luke became colder than the fall weather. She ground her teeth at his girlfriend's shrill laughter.
She was such a fool. She felt used. Degraded.
Betrayed.
She swallowed against the lump lodged in her throat. She wasn't going back to the stall. Noreen would understand her need for silence. For solace. Knowing Luke's penchant for following her, Gracie allowed herself to be lost in the crowd, choosing to weave her way through the thickest group of people. Not even the obnoxious dressed for the Ascot races man sputtering his importance at a group of rowdy teenagers made her stop. She stole a glance back. Luke was nowhere in sight. Relieved, she made her way to the stall from where the aroma of rich, strong coffee came from. She groaned in frustration. A lot of people seemed to have the same idea as the queue formed a straight line perpendicular to the stall. If she went to the end of the waiting line, Luke would no doubt see her and that was the last thing she wanted. She nearly stomped her foot in annoyance.
"Bloody nuisance," she gritted before she abandoned her mission and opted to leave the fair for the quieter part of the manor grounds. Fishing out her mobile, she typed a quick text to Noreen.
Just needed to get away. Will be back in half an hour.
A few minutes later, her phone vibrated. Okay, but you owe me an explanation. And who the hell is the woman nearly clinging around your guy like a boa constrictor?
Gracie's thumbs flew over the QWERTY board. He's not my guy!
Noreen texted back. Uh huh.
Gracie huffed, not bothering to reply.



Bio

Isobelle Cate is a woman who wears different masks. Mother-writer, wife-professional, scholar-novelist. Currently living in Manchester, she has been drawn to the little known, the secret stories, about the people and the nations: the English, the Irish, the Scots, the Welsh, and those who are now part of these nations whatever their origins. Her vision and passion are fuelled by her interest and background in history and paradoxically, shaped by growing up in a clan steeped in lore, loyalty, and legend.

Isobelle is intrigued by forces that simmer beneath the surface of these cultures, the hidden passions, unsaid desires, and yearnings unfulfilled.

Beau Coup Publishing
Facebook
Twitter
Google+

Search This Blog

Loading...

Julie's Book Review

Hello, all my followers, visitors, and guests. Welcome to Julies Book Review. This is a site dedicated to helping authors and readers alike. Readers to find new authors and stories and authors to find new readers. For authors please contact me if you are interested in low cost promotion at juliesbookreview@gmail.com. I accommodate where I can. Readers please go through and search the blog. We have been active here for a while. Hundreds on authors, stories and genres to choose from. We have everything from sci-fi, erotica, romance, contemporary, mystery and horror. And nothing gets on this site without a 3 out 5 star rating minimum. I have several reviewers that read different genres. If you are interested in reviewing for me and the site please contact me at the above email. I hope you enjoy the site. I look forward to meeting and talking with you all.

Julie Ramsey & Theresa Fehse
ADM of JBR
Along with many reviewers (which we could not do this without)

Amazon SearchBox