next feature logo

next feature logo

Follow by Email

Search This Blog

Loading...

2/1/15

Samantha Clark



Blurb: “How long ago did you lose your mom?”  Her voice was almost inaudible and it trembled as she spoke.
“Almost ten years ago…  I was eight…”  Samantha responded warily.  She turned to Maia, “Why?”
“Does it get easier?  You know, not having a mom…”
Samantha was quiet.  She turned away from Maia.  She had almost forgotten that Maia’s mother had been killed by the vampires that she was so vigorously hunting, “It doesn’t get easier, you just learn to deal with it better.  Time goes on, it tears at your memory and helps you find closure.  It isn’t easy though, it never will be.  But I deal with it.  You will too.”  She sighed.
 

Review of A child is torn : Innocence lost By Dawn kopman Whidden

 A child is torn : Innocence lost
By Dawn kopman Whidden

When dependable Evan Madison fails to show up for work, police are dispatched to his home. His ten-year-old son, Brad, is discovered inside, unharmed and seemingly alone. He is stoic, sitting in front of the television playing his favorite video game, Super Mario--and he's covered in blood. 

Veteran Police Officer Marty Keal is the first on the scene. With his many years of experience, he thinks he's seen it all. That is, until he discovers Brad's not really alone after all. Upstairs in their bedroom lies the brutally bludgeoned and deceased bodies of both his mother and his father. When questioned, Brad confesses to the horrific murders. 

When Brad is transferred to a local mental health institution for children, Dr. Hope Rubin is brought in to evaluate and treat the child. A preliminary investigation shows no evidence of any kind of mistreatment in his past. She must determine the disturbing truth: Is Brad telling the truth? Or is he covering for someone else? 

Detective Jean Whitely rounds out the investigative team; and she suspects there is much more to the case than what meets the eye. The happily married mother of two in unwavering in her determination to uncover the real truth about Brad. Was he abused? Or is he the product of an evil seed born to kill? 

As the layers of truth about Brad are systematically peeled away, you will be compelled to ask yourself, Which is the more dominate factor in contributing to who we are--NATURE or NURTURE?

I have no words. Just wow. This book had my head turning. Makes you think this can really happen in real not just in books. Not only that you feel sorry for little brad that he can't control what happen because of gene he carries poor thing this makes you want to just hold him close to you. What a great book.

Olivia R.
5 star's

Review of Licks by Suzzana C Ryan

Licks
Hollys Christmas Story
Suzzana C Ryan


Hollys loves Christmas. Let me rephrase, loves Santa Claus. She wants nothing more than to give back to the community. To help those people who dress and deal with the holidays as Santa Claus. She puts a plan into motion that brings a certain cheer to these Santa Claus's but she may have found more than she was looking for.
This is a dirty little Christmas tale. Cute, funny and some pretty hot little sexy scenes. Nothing to serious but a short dirty read.
4stars
Julie Ramsey

Review of Candy Cane by Andrea Bellmont




Candy Cane by Andrea Bellmont

Patsy is throwing a party. Out in the middle of nowhere in a little cabin. A perfect place for a Christmas Party and candy canes her favorite treat. Her mother and herself are both witches, aware of the world around them. When Patsy sees wolves playing at the edge of the forest, she knows they may have a problem. Not normal wolves but werewolves. Knowing danger maybe coming, they check out the wolves. They find they are going to attack the party. Patsy must find a way to save her friends but may lose her heart in the process.
Very Cute werewolf story. Patsy gets herself into a situation she never wanted but she could never have guessed what and where here adventure could take her. Very cute short read. Read in one sitting and enjoyed it from pg to the end.
5stars

Julie Ramsey

1/31/15

Amanda Marie Day 5



Encore

     When I wrote Scandalous Endeavors I had no intention of writing anymore books in Amelia’s world. I even told my family and friends that I was moving on to a new idea. In fact I went as far as outlining Once A Lady and then began writing it! Scandalous Endeavors released on December 12, 2014 before I completed chapter One on Once A Lady. Within a week it became clear that people wanted another book. Several readers and reviewers have asked for Lady Sarah’s story. I aim to be a crowd please so I started working on Scandalous Arrangement almost right away. I plan to have Lady Sarah’s story ready for my publisher by spring. Here is an excerpt from my rough draft. 

     She glanced at Lord Shillington then accepted Lord Luvington’s arm. Her face warmed as she imagined everyone in the ballroom staring at them. He led her to the middle of the dance floor then gathered her into his arms as the quartet resumed their playing.

“Relax, my lady, ‘tis only a dance.”

Mortified, she tipped her chin. “I am relaxed.” How had he known that she fretted? Sarah took a deep breath and let it out slow as she gazed around at her peers.

     “If this is you being relaxed then I pity those exposed to you when you are not.” He smirked. “On my honor, this is only a dance.”

     “I do not believe that you have any honor and am not fool enough to believe this to be an innocent dance. You want something from me.” She peered up at him.

He grinned. “Perhaps I do.”

“You are wasting your time sir.”

“Unless, of course, this is simply a dance.”

“You just stated that you wanted something from me.” Sarah balled her hand in the fabric of her skirt. If she were less of a lady, she would smack him for toying with her.

“No, I said perhaps I wanted something. That means I could very well want nothing.” He arched one dark, brow and a chestnut lock of hair flopped onto his forehead.

Bloody hell the man was attractive. Sarah stared into his shamrock eyes. “Enough with the games. Tell me what you want with me, Lord Luvington.”

“Tonight?”

“Yes, tonight.” Sarah bit out through clenched teeth.

“Tonight I want to hold you.” He grinned.

Sarah blushed at the implication and turned her head to look out into the crowd. She had enough of talking to him. Clearly he did not plan to tell her anything of importance.

He pulled her closer and leaned in close. “Tomorrow I want to get to know you better.” He whispered. Her breath caught and she fought the urge to slap him. The waltz ended and he released her. Before she could form a thought, he walked off and left her standing there alone.
    
I hope you enjoyed reading the excerpt as much as I am enjoying writing Scandalous Arrangement.

1/30/15

Amanda marie Day 4

                                                 What I learned as a first-time author
    
     Writing and publishing my first book Scandalous Endeavors taught me many things. I learned that I cannot write a book in one, two, five, or even six months. More importantly I learned that
sometimes it is necessary to completely rewrite a manuscript. This proved to be the case with Scandalous Endeavors. I originally wrote the story in first person; which it turned out was not a good choice for my story. It is now written in third person. Bonus: I got some great deep third POV from the switch! Ultimately the main lessons in the actual writing of the manuscript proved to be that at some point I have to call it done and send it into the world. Also, I learned that I cannot always make the characters do what I wish them to. Seriously, they have wills all their own and sometimes you just have to listen.

     With my manuscript completed I embarked on the process of getting it contracted. I knew that I wanted to work with a publisher that I trusted. In the end, I sent my completed story to two publishing houses and was elated when I received contract offers from both. I choose to contract Scandalous Endeavors with Three World’s Press and couldn’t be happier with that decision.

     My experience with Three World’s has been nothing short of wonderful. My editor pushed me to make my manuscript even better and helped me a great deal with my blurbs and excerpt. She always answered my questions quickly and was available for chatting when I needed her. My experience with Three World’s Press taught me that finding the right publishing house is essential. I discovered that for me the right house is one where not only my editor is available, but so areother key team members. It is important to me as a new author to have experienced people on my side, and I got that at Three World’s. In short, they have provided me with ongoing five-star service. They also taught me a huge lesson when it came to my cover art and marketing.

     This is something that all authors need to know and learn from. Like all authors, I was excited about my cover art and waited on pins and needles to receive it. I did not have definite ideas in mind but did expect to be wowed when I saw it. At last, the day came, and I hit download on my cover with a Cheshire grin seated on my face. Then when the file opened my grin ran away. The cover was nothing like I had hoped for. Sure it was a good cover, and I could tell that the artist was very talented. In fact, I would have loved it as someone else’s cover. I would even stop to admire it if I saw it in a store. So then why was I so unhappy?

     It was not ‘my’ cover. I did not see my story in it. I had imagined something fancier and had my mind set on a split cover. As a result, I rejected the cover and asked for several changes. I wanted everything from a new model to a new layout and color scheme. Three Worlds humored me and had the cover artist create a new cover. Again I sat all excited as I downloaded, and again my excitement fell flat. I got nearly everything I wanted. Why wasn’t my cover beautiful? Here is the take away from this experience: Trust the professionals!

     You see when I looked at cover two I found myself wanting cover one back but with a small change-yes just one. I asked for a different fancier font. My request was honored, and now I have cover one with my new font and I love it. That Cheshire grin I told you about earlier-it’s back, and I am elated to share my cover and story with the world. For me, the takeaway is to only ask for the things that truly bother you. Cover artists know what they are doing, they know what sells and what wins awards, trust them.

     The best part is that Three World’s and my cover artist took the time to work through my crazy. They were patient with me and explained things to me. Because of them I have grown a great deal and l look forward to completing my next book.

     As a closing note, I want to thank everyone who has taken the time to read my ramblings. It means a lot to me that strangers, family, and friends would take time out of their day to pay attention to my words. I hope that each of you picks up a copy of Scandalous Endeavors and loves it as much as I do.

1/29/15

Amanda Marie Day 3

                                               

                                                           The story behind the story

They say that every story has another story behind it. For Scandalous Endeavors that is certainly true. In fact it has two stories behind it, and one of those stories also has a story behind it.

It all started twelve years ago when I was touched by the loss of someone very close to me. I grieved and withdrew for a bit but did not start writing. The experience touched me in a way that changed me forever. Still I had no desire to write about it or to share it. Like Amelia says in Scandalous Endeavors, “Her grief belonged to her, not the ton.” Nine years passed before writing about my experience ever came to light.

I was working on my master’s degree and enrolled in a creative writing course. One of the assignments was to write a short story. I had no idea what to write and spent a considerable amount of time trying to dream up a plot and characters. At my wits end someone told me to write what I know. I took that advice and crafted a story about my experience years before.

In the end I had a goodish new adult short story that earned me an A in the course. I liked what I had and thought about turning it into a full book. Two more years passed while the story grew crusty on my hard drive before I opened the document again. During that time I had decided that I wanted to write historical romance not new adult. It meant that 98% of my short story had to be scrapped. Maybe I would never write a book, I would just be content with teaching and editing.

With my mind made up, I quit thinking about writing until that day when I started writing Scandalous Endeavors. So what happened to get me writing you ask? Looking back on that day it is humorous but at the time I was none too pleased.

It started like any other day. I took my kids to school and went to work. After work I picked up my kids, went home, and started in on my after school tasks. Helped my kids with their home work, checked my email, cleaned up. All of my normal things I do most days. Then my husband came home from work in foul mood. After a bit we began bickering about something so stupid that I no longer remember what caused the dispute. 

After a while I was so angry that I did not want to be available to talk or be talked to. I needed to make myself busy but had nothing to do. Before I had time to think about it my laptop was resting on my legs and I was typing like mad. I opened up that old short story and deleted everything except the opening scene. By the time I felt sociable again two chapters were written and Scandalous Endeavors had been born.

The first chapter was shaped from that long ago written short stories first scene though the only element that remained was the raw emotion I had shared. You see that short story was based closely on my real life experience with loss. The first scene in Scandalous Endeavors is purely fictional. The heroine, Amelia, has lost her father and the book opens with her at the funeral. My father is alive, but I have experienced life shattering loss and drew on those emotions.

Scandalous Endeavors is the story that emerged when I stopped thinking about writing and just wrote. It was born of a life experience, a class assignment, and a marital dispute. Now it is a source of great pleasure. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it.

1/28/15

Amanda Marie Day 2


1. What do you do when you are not writing?
When I am not writing I can be found spending time with my family or enjoying one of my other pursuits. I spend a lot of time carting my kids to their after school activities and back. My son is involved with basket ball and attends an after school tutoring program. My daughter is in dance, cheerleading, and basket ball. In the summer we like to spend time at the beach. The rest of the year we can be found at parks, movie theaters, bowling allies, or just out enjoying nature. When I do find me time I enjoy reading, crocheting, taking pictures, playing on Photo Shop, and scrap booking. I fancy myself a photographer and can sometimes be found photographing my friends and families children. I am also a pageant mom and as a result spend a great deal of time helping my daughter prepare for pageants, shopping for pageant close, booking pageants, and traveling to and from the events. Occasionally my son also competes, but only when the prizes are really good. I also enjoy baking, crafting, and horseback riding though I rarely get the opportunity to indulge in them. When I am very lucky I get to travel. I love visiting new places especially when they have great history attached to them.

2. Do you have a day job as well?
I have two, technically three day jobs. I am a substitute teacher for my children’s school district and edit for two publishing houses. As a substitute I teach kindergarten through twelfth grade and all subjects. I love the variety and flexibility that subbing provides. As an editor I read manuscripts and determine viability. I also complete content edits and act as a liaison between the authors and the house. This job has many perks but the best one is discovering new authors and great stories. I am blessed to have three fantastic jobs.

3. When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?
Technically I have been writing since the day I learned how. As a child I wrote poems and letters to family. In college I wrote tons of papers and a few short stories. However, it wasnot until recently that I started writing with the intention of becoming published. The first chapters of Scandalous Endeavors were written almost exactly a year ago. I began working on it in December of 2013. I completed the manuscript in September then spent some time spit shining it before I submitted it for publishing in late October early November.

4. Do you ever experience writer’s block?
Oh my goodness—all the time! When I was writing Scandalous Endeavors I constantly found myself stuck without any ideas. I discovered that having someone to talk to and bounce ideas off of was a great help. For me that someone was my sister Dawn who is also an author. On the rare occasion that talking did not help, I would just write anything no matter how crazy to keep going knowing full well I would be deleting it all. I learned that the best way to get past writers block is to keep writing.

5. Do you work with an outline, or just write?
I do a combination of both. With Scandalous Endeavors I planned how many chapters I needed and then wrote a short sentence for each chapter telling me what I wanted to happen in it. I also made character notes. Ultimately I ignored the notes and the story went in its own direction. For my new WIP Once A Lady I decided just to write down my main plot points and some character notes.

6. Can you tell us about your upcoming book?
I would love to! Scandalous Endeavors is a historical romance set in Victorian London. The heroine, Amelia, finds herself in want of a husband after her father dies and her American uncle orders her to move to America. Amelia has no intentions of leaving England and devises a plan to trap an English lord in matrimony so that she will not have to. Lord Goldstone is a Scottish duke who finds himself staying at his aunt the Duchess of Abernathy’s home. The duchess has also agreed to act as Amelia’s chaperone for her remaining time in London. Lord Goldstone and Amelia find themselves at odds with one another as she continues to pursue her plans for an English husband and he continues to fumble them.

Here is an excerpt that shows there tactics in action:
Lord Roseington wrapped his arms around her and stood up, setting her on her feet. “Yes, Amelia, everything is okay now.” He reached up and removed her arms from around him, then took a step back. “We must stop winding up in these situations before we cause a scandal. ”She looked at him through hooded eyes. “‘Tis a wonder we haven’t already.” A man cleared his voice behind her. Amelia turned her head, already knowing who had caught them. “Lord Goldstone, you mustn’t trouble yourself with keeping our secret.” “What she means to say is that there is no secret to be kept. Amelia carelessly got close enough to the hearth to catch her skirts ablaze. I could not very well let her burn up.” “No, Roseington, you were obliged to help. I am glad to know that you were not taking advantage of our dear Amelia.” He glanced at her and flashed a rakish smirk. “Indeed, you are a hero. Let us go share the story while Amelia changes her charred gown.”
She tried her hardest to shoot daggers at him from her narrowed glare. His grin only deepened at the attempt, which increased her ire. “Don’t you dare tell a soul. I would most definitely perish from the embarrassment!” Amelia spat the words out with anger and annoyance. How dare he ruin everything for a second time, and then jest about sharing her humiliation. If he were not Scottish, she would trap him instead. That would teach him a lesson. “Do not worry your head over it, Lady Amelia. We will not breathe a word of this little mishap,” Lord Roseington said. “Right, Goldstone?” “Of course not. All of your secrets are safe with me.” He winked. Amelia blushed at what he had implied. “Thank you. Now that it is settled I am going to retire for the evening. Enjoy the rest of the party. Lord Roseington, Lord Goldstone.” She inclined her head to them before spinning on her heels and speeding from the room.

7. How did you come up with the title?
My original title was A Twist Of Fate but the more I wrote the less it seemed to fit. I started to think that maybe I needed a new title. Then one fateful day I ran a search for my working title and discovered that several other books already used my chosen title. Atthat point I knew I needed a different title but had no idea what it should be. I got on the phone with my sister and we started bouncing around idea. The call concluded with a list of potential titles but I liked them all and did not know how to choose just one. After pondering it for a bit I had a brain child and posted them all on my blog. I asked readers to vote on it and picked from the ones that were tied. In the end Scandalous Endeavors seemed to fit the book best.

8. What project are you working on now?
I am currently working on two projects. A Veiled Identity is a compilation with author Dawn Brower and is a contemporary romance. It is about a princess who flees her kingdom to escape an arranged marriage and finds herself working on a ranch in America. I am writing the female POV and Dawn id writing the male POV. My other project is title Once A Lady and is a medieval romance. Princess Isobel leaves her kingdom to search for her missing lady in waiting. Shortly after she sneaks away Sir Ariston discovers her in the woods. He is a freelance knight swearing loyalty to no king or lord though he is currently contracted by Isobel’s father. When she refuses to return to the castle he refuses to let her travel alone. The pair must work together to save the missing lady. While they are busy on their quest Isobel’s castle is over taken and her father poisoned. Among their budding attraction Isobel and Ariston must now save her kingdom. It is planned to be a romantic adventure full of twist.

9. Do you prefer fuzzy or tub socks?
The fuzzier the better in the winter, but tube socks in fall and spring. Once summer makes an appearance I abandon socks altogether.

10. Coke or Pepsi?
Hands down—Pepsi, but it must be cherry Pepsi.

11. Is there anything that you would like to say to your readers and fans?
Thank you! I know how many books and authors there are out there for you to choose from. I am honored that you choose me.

Review of Pulling Strings By Christopher Clark

Pulling Strings
By Christopher Clark

When the popular owner of the Baltimore Orioles is murdered, the repercussions reach nearby Washington D.C., where the 2016 presidential race is in full swing. 
Senator Sara Clancy must choose sides in a battle for the Democratic nomination fuelled by sabotage and dirty tricks. Trusting no one, she faces a decision that could influence the outcome of the election…and much more. 
Nothing is as it seems in this taut mystery/thriller that mixes murder, politics, baseball and sex – not necessarily in that order. 

this had everything murder,sex and mixed with baseball and politics all in one setting. had tons characters in all this. tons going on from very first page to the very end. I didn't like how some of the chapter's being very short and also believe it needed little more editing cut some of details out. but all in all book was great

Olivia R.
4 star's

Review of Twelve Days by Dahlia Donovan

Twelve Days- Dahlia Donovan

Its twelve days until ivy's Christmas party, and in those twelve days you get a different story about a member of the pack. Each day gives you a snippet of a pack members relationship or soon to be relationship.

This book seems like short stories but you can't really consider it short stories since the stories continue in the series. I liked this book because you become closer to the members of the pack, it explains their feeling and relationship or soon to be! Its hot and steamy in all the right places, keeps you guessing, and grabs your attention enough to know that you want to continue the series!!
4.5 stars

Bridgett

Review of Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Insurgent
by Veronica Roth

    Tris  Prior must face guilt, secrets and lies. Tobias, Marcus, Peter, Caleb, and Tris travel to Amity headquarter to find shelter but the Dauntless traitor finds them. Tris and Tobias go to Candor headquarters only to get arrested and put under truth serum were they will tell their deepest regrets to all of Candor.  Jeanine has a secret to keep, and does not want them out. This secret can change the fate of the factions and the world around them.   
   
    I think this book is better than the first. It’s still fast pace and keeps your attention throughout the book. It has a surprising twists.  It’s a great book for middle school kids because it’s easy to read and enjoyable. I give this a book a 5 star. Reading book 3 now. very excited to see what happens.

James Ramsey
13yr old 7th grader

1/27/15

Savannah Morgan

Secrets (Sapphire Springs #2)

Book Description:
Enter a world of danger, lust, intrigue and love. Enter the world of Sapphire Springs, Montana where the suspense will have you on the edge of your seat and the sexy romances will have your panties melting and your heart pounding. 

There is a world of Secrets out there. A world where nothing is as it seems. A world of the Italian Mafia, Eurasian Crime Organizations and Government Black Ops. Will the Mafia Ice Princess melt for the Native American Black Ops Agent? 

Tia Mitchel has lived a dual life from a young age. Now as an adult, with desires and needs of her own, she fights for her right to live the life she wants rather than the one mapped out for her since birth. 

Cole Lawson quit The Unit after being betrayed and left in enemy hands. Now he is being pulled back in for one final mission. Destroy the woman he loves and he gains his freedom forever. 

Come take a harrowing journey with Tia and Cole as they fight insurmountable odds against each other, two Mafia factions, the US Government, and the lies and secrets that have kept them apart. Will trusting one another be more deadly than the secrets they keep? 

Author's Note: Although Secrets is a standalone book, I would highly recommend you read Dreams: A Sapphire Springs Novel, book 1, first. The Sapphire Springs series is a connected series in that the characters are reoccurring and are connected through deep familial ties and friendships.

Julie's Book Review

Hello, all my followers, visitors, and guests. Welcome to Julies Book Review. This is a site dedicated to helping authors and readers alike. Readers to find new authors and stories and authors to find new readers. For authors please contact me if you are interested in low cost promotion at juliesbookreview@gmail.com. I accommodate where I can. Readers please go through and search the blog. We have been active here for a while. Hundreds on authors, stories and genres to choose from. We have everything from sci-fi, erotica, romance, contemporary, mystery and horror. And nothing gets on this site without a 3 out 5 star rating minimum. I have several reviewers that read different genres. If you are interested in reviewing for me and the site please contact me at the above email. I hope you enjoy the site. I look forward to meeting and talking with you all.

Julie Ramsey & Theresa Fehse
ADM of JBR
Along with many reviewers (which we could not do this without)

Amazon SearchBox