7/26/16

Sue Lloyd Day 1


A gentle but strong, brave and compassionate story that tugs at the heartstrings. Young Adult writing at it's best.


Can an adorable beagle change the lives of everyone she meets?


Hope rises like a phoenix from the ashes of shattered dreams ”" S. A. Sachs
Cassie Larimer is fourteen years old. She was diagnosed with leukaemia just one year ago and her world has since changed forever.
Hope is a five-year-old beagle. She is testing a second-generation leukaemia drug at Morton Animal Research Centre (MARC)
Alice Anders is a news anchor for NOW! She conducts a live report from MARC one day which profoundly affects many of the people who witness the virtual tour.
Cassie Larimer was one of the viewers that day as she watched from her hospital bed.
Something magical happens when Cassie sets eyes on Hope for the first time. She feels a psychic bond with this charming little dog and sets out on a mission to rescue her from certain doom.
Will Cassie be able to keep her promise?
Meet Hope. She is no ordinary dog and will touch your heart too.


7/23/16

ALYSON MCLAYNE




Synopsis:
From Golden Heart Finalist Alyson McLayne comes the first book in her new contemporary romance series set in Sizzling, Sexy, Santa Barbara.

A year after being dumped by her childhood friend-turned-lover, Sarika Dkany has decided to move on with her life. No more waiting for Rafe to come back for her. No more putting her life on hold. She wants everything he can’t give her: a home, husband, and family, and she’s going to get them—with someone else.

She’s done trying to make him love her.

But then Rafe shows up and turns her world upside down—again—and it takes every ounce of determination she has to keep her hands to herself and keep saying ‘no’…even though she’s waited half her life to hear the question.

* * *

For all of Rafael Fabrizio’s trappings of success—his old-money family, his multi-national company, his movie star good looks—he’s a man afraid to let his guard down and take what he really wants: Sarika, his grandmother’s Goddaughter and only woman to set his body—and soul—on fire.

A fire that burns so hot he feels out of control.

So when his grandmother falls ill and he has to bring Sarika back to Santa Barbara, he’s determined to keep his distance—except Sarika does the unthinkable and says she’s over him. Faced with a lifetime without her, Rafe realizes he needs her and vows to convince her he’s changed—before she finds someone else who’s not afraid to love her.

* * *

But has he really changed? Sarika doesn’t think so. To prove it, she has a plan, and if he truly wants to be with her, he’ll get on board…no matter where it takes them.

Social Media Links:

Book Links:

7/21/16

B.P.Smythe




This collection of dark, humorous and macabre tales explores the disturbing side of human nature.  
From a Poison Pen is the first book in a trilogy of collected short stories by B.P.Smythe. 
Order from amazon.co.uk. Kindle and paperback versions...
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Poison-Pen-collection-macabre-stories-ebook/dp/B01BKWT4EE
 For author info: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B006MCGVNU


www.bloodhoundbooks.com 
CONTACT: barrysmythe@hotmail.com 
Mob: 07814780856 

Just want to say many thanks to those of you that have read my book 'From a Poison Pen' by B.P.Smythe and posted a review on amazon.co.uk and amazon.com.
For those of you who have read or still reading my book 
I would be grateful if you could post your review on amazon.co.uk and amazon.com

Regards
B.P.Smythe



7/20/16

Paisleigh Aumack





About the author: 
Paisleigh Aumack was born in Red Bank, New Jersey. She grew up in a small barrier island town and has lived there all her life. She has always loved music, going as far as being a trained musician. Her tastes in music range all over the board, but currently, her heart belongs to country music.

Paisleigh is engaged to the love of her life and lives a fairly quiet, peaceful existence. When she isn’t working, she is writing or she is reading. Or singing at the top of her lungs. Paisleigh began writing a short time ago because she had a story to tell.

7/19/16

Review for The Blotted Line by Mehreen Ahmed


The Blotted Line

By

Mehreen Ahmed


ASIN: B00BNQMUIK
ISBN-10: 0979445159
ISBN-13: 978-0979445156
First Published March 1, 2013
The Story Institute

The Blotted Line is a well written series of short stories that occur in different parts of the world. All involve women and human material and emotional losses that are related to women’s place in various cultures.

The Wager is a tale of a woman being traded in payment of a blood debt; a blood debt assumed by the victim’s family, but never proven.

In Charade a game of ‘one-upmanship’ started by one of three friends to stir things up dissolves into a cascade of lies and pretention.

In Eye-Opener, a woman makes up a web of lies to tie her to her friend in a web of self-pity.

In The Black Coat an artist becomes obsessed with an ideal even when he learns the reality is nothing like his dream.

In The Anomalous Duo two life-long friends who love each other learn the stark cruelty of cultural conflicts and their traditional families learn the pain caused by sticking to their traditional values.

In Melodies Passé, a mature woman memories of living in her grandmother’s home before her greedy relatives sold it to land developers to build an apartment building play like a movie in her mind.

In Of Note, a mentally unbalanced young woman pins her life upon the promises of her manipulating employer with disastrous results.


All of these tales are well written literary works that require significant emotional investment with the characters. They would be most appealing to lovers of classical short stories and those with a special interest in the social plight of women of various cultures throughout the world. 5-Stars Clabe Polk

7/18/16

Robert Eggleton


Blurb
Lacy Dawn's father relives the Gulf War, her mother's teeth are rotting out, and her best friend is murdered by the meanest daddy on Earth. Life in The Hollow isn't great. But Lacy has one advantage -- she's been befriended by a semi-organic, semi-robot who works with her to cure her parents. He wants something in exchange, though. It's up to her to save the Universe.

To prepare Lacy for her coming task, she is being schooled daily via direct downloads into her brain. She doesn't mind saving the universe, but her own family and friends come first.

Will Lacy Dawn's predisposition, education, and magic be enough for her to save the Universe, Earth, and, most importantly, protect her own family?

Rarity from the Hollow is adult literary science fiction filled with tragedy, comedy and satire. It is a children's story for adults, not for the prudish, faint of heart, or easily offended.
 

Robert Eggleton

Robert Eggleton has served as a children's advocate in an impoverished state for over forty years. He is best known for his investigative reports about children’s programs, most of which were published by the West Virginia Supreme Court where he worked from 1982 through 1997, and which also included publication of models of serving disadvantaged and homeless children in the community instead of in large institutions, research into foster care drift involving children bouncing from one home to the next -- never finding a permanent loving family, and statistical reports on the occurrence and correlates of child abuse and delinquency. Today, he is a recently retired children's psychotherapist from the mental health center in Charleston, West Virginia, where he specialized in helping victims cope with and overcome physical and sexual abuse, and other mental health concerns. Rarity from the Hollow is his debut novel and its release followed publication of three short Lacy Dawn Adventures in magazines: Wingspan Quarterly, Beyond Centauri, and Atomjack Science Fiction. Author proceeds have been donated to a child abuse prevention program operated by Children’s Home Society of West Virginia. http://www.childhswv.org/ Robert continues to write fiction with new adventures based on a protagonist that is a composite character of children that he met when delivering group therapy services. The overall theme of his stories remains victimization to empowerment.

7/15/16

K.L. Donn





Blurb:
own /ōn/ - verb
have something as your own or possess
Him
A life made of ruthless decisions and a demanding career made Dominic Slade a cold man living in a world of gray. On a mission to eliminate a drug trafficker in Ireland, he meets his match—in an 11-year-old girl. She opens his eyes to the light in the world with her sassy mouth and lack of fear.
It’s just too bad she’s the daughter of his target.
Her
One moment in time and her life is ruined. At six years old her world is shattered, all illusions of safety tossed out the window. With her Mam gone and her Da ignoring her except to scold her, Deidre O’Connor finds a companion in the tall scary man hired to be her bodyguard.
Confusion and bitterness soon engrain themselves in her heart until she fights back and runs.
Them
On Deidre’s eighteenth birthday, she runs away in search of her place in life.
On her eighteenth birthday, Dominic is sent to find her. Never expecting the little girl he used to know to have sprouted into a gorgeous, vibrant woman.
When the sins of the past come back to haunt them, are they strong enough to fight together or will they be left in the cold...alone?

Excerpt:
So much had changed since he’d last seen Dee that fateful night so long ago. He’d fallen in lust, and fallen right back out so quickly he still had whiplash. It took him a long time to realize just how big a part of his life she had played in such a short amount of time. She brought him light and happiness when he was shrouded in a world of gray.
After losing Deedee he’d tracked her down, needing to know she was in fact still alive, so he didn’t have to unleash the depths of hell on her father for no reason. When he did find her in the all-girls school she’d looked miserable but they treated all right so he’d left her alone. Not wanting to disrupt her life until necessary he took as many jobs as he could until Brooke.
Brooke had been the sister to one of his ‘new boss’s’, innocent, sweet, young. Or so he’d thought. Turns out he was a job to someone else, and she was sent to dupe him. Get him to flip on whatever faction he was working for at the time. What no one seemed to realize was that he never knew exactly who he was working for at any time. Only the job, and the pay. It was all he needed to know.
He could admit he fucked up. Brooke seduced him. Failed her mission. Disappeared.
Now here he was four years later with more baggage then he ever thought he’d have at his age.
He was ready to go home. Retire. Live out the rest of his days before he was marked.
When the door opened, he knew his plans just went out the fucking window.
When did Deedee grow the fuck up? He wondered taking in her stunning form.
“Dominic?” She whispered huskily, in surprise, throwing herself in his arms. Shit. He should not be having these feelings for her. When the hell did she become so gorgeous? Or grow into a woman?
If she kept squeezing him, she was gonna feel something completely inappropriate to their relationship. “Dee, when the fuck you grow up?”
A blush covered her chest and slowly went up to her cheeks as she pulled away shyly. Tucking some strands of hair behind her ear she ducked her head and shuffled her feet, “Why are you here?”
A deep sigh left him, knowing what he was about to tell her, she wasn’t going to like. “Can I come in and talk?”
“Oh. Sure.” She stepped back, turning to walk into her small kitchen, and he got a good look at her now woman’s body and nearly groaned in appreciation. Hourglass figure, tight, toned body only a girl of eighteen can have. Fuuuckkk! Eight-fucking-teen. His brain and heart got the message, his dick not so much. Down you horny fucker. Clearly three years of abstinence was a bad idea.
Insecurity and worry were written across her face. Knowing he was the cause didn’t bode well with him. Knowing he was about to make it worse, didn’t make him feel any better. “How you been Dee?”
“Huh?” She seemed lost. More so than he’d ever seen from her. Granted he hadn’t seen her in over seven years, but a zebra doesn’t change his stripes and she’d always had a strong personality. “Fine, I guess. Glad to be away from everything.”
“Princess…?”
Finally looking at him, she seemed to really see him for the first time, “Where did you go?” her whispered words nearly broke his heart, “Why did you let him take me away?”

Add to your TBR:

Stay In Touch with KL:

Jordan Marie‬




Their Love nearly destroyed both of them.
Can they find their way back to each other?


Beth: 
Can you love and hate the same person? 
I fell in love too fast, too young. 
I made decisions I thought would protect the ones I love. 
Now I’m hated for them. 
Skull is the love of my life. 
But our life was wrapped up in lies. 
We were captured by them, and left with nothing when they exploded. 
How much can a heart take before it breaks, and just doesn’t care anymore? 

Skull: 
Everything Beth and I had was a lie. 
I claimed her, but she left me broken. 
Letting her back in would be a mistake. 
Fool me once… but never again. Never. 
I won’t allow myself to be weak again. 
A man can only take so much. 
I’m done...or maybe not... 

Conclusion of Devil's Blaze Trilogy. (Previously and tentatively titled Conquered) Breathe easy there's a HEA in there for Skull and Beth and you even catch up with Torch and Katie

Released(Book 3) by Jordan Marie Author Page is ‪#‎LIVE‬ and only ‪#‎99Cents‬ or ‪#‎FreeInKU‬. Will Skull and Beth find there way back to happiness or will they be RELEASED from the past? Grab your copy today to find out.

7/14/16

Janet A Mota




Attraction, Book 2 in the Coming Home Series

Release Date:  May 31, 2016

Shane and Anyse have been friends for years.  They know everything there is to know about each other except for one thing.  They insist on keeping their feelings for each other bottled up.  Shane is a love life kind of guy.  Anyse is a stubborn as nails kind of girl.  Together, they are a force to be reckoned with.   They love unconditionally and give their hearts freely. Fate intercedes and forces them together in a whirlwind of struggles.  There doesn’t seem to be an end in sight to all the ugliness coming their way.  Will they finally admit how they feel toward each other or will it be too late?  Will they be able to overcome the odds and live out their dreams of happiness? 

Be sure to pick up Undeniable, Book 1 in the Coming Home Series:


7/6/16

Tabitha Dye




A love-filled drama about a self-centered, arrogant actor who accidentally falls head over heels for a lesbian with an unknown dark twisted past.



Tabitha Dye


Biography

Tabitha is a new and upcoming author who just finished her first novel in The Burden of Trust series. At the age of twenty she was published in Families Like Mine, which sparked her passion for storytelling. 

Currently living in Florida, Tabitha is a graduate from University of Central Florida with a Business degree. Today she spends her time reading, traveling the state with her husband and finds herself addicted to English Tea to help with the late night writing sessions.

6/28/16

Becca Taylor



Blurb:
Alyssa Amsel is tired of promises, especially broken ones. The plan is to build a home and a life with her long-time boyfriend, Mike. With each passing day, her dreams of that future seem to slip further away. When their living arrangements grow chaotic, Alyssa makes a decision that she hopes will bring peace back into her life. What she isn’t expecting is Bentley Jacobs.
From the moment Bentley first lays his eyes on Alyssa, he wants to claim her. However, timing and luck are not on his side. When fate steps in, giving him a second chance, Bentley is determined to be her knight in shining armor. He wants to sweep her off her feet and give her the life he knows she deserves.
Will Alyssa ever look at Bentley as more than just a friend? What will it take for to her realize her missing peace is only steps away?
Excerpt:
“Aly, any guy would want you. You’re smart, fun, cook like a pro, not to mention beautiful. Not just beautiful, you’re sexy as hell.”
With my last words, her head snaps back towards me. “What did you say?”
I repeat myself. “You’re smart, fun…”
She cuts me off before I finish, “Not that, Bentley. The last thing.” And I think I may have revealed too much.
“You’re beautiful and sexy.” All of a sudden, she does what I wanted her to do since I first met her. She grabs my head, pulling my mouth to hers. I’m not talking about just a little peck on the lips either. I’m talking about the kind of kiss that has me hard as a rock in seconds.
I wrap my arms around her waist to pull her closer. At first, she just uses her lips and damn, if they aren’t the softest lips I’ve ever felt. I tease her bottom lip with my tongue. She moans and I slide in, instantly rolling her tongue with mine.

6/23/16

Interview with Rich Leder with Clabe Polk

Interview with Rich Leder

We are honored to have Rich Leder with us today. Mr. Leder is an icon in his own right among
comedy writers and his work stands by itself among the giants of comedy. In his Amazon Biography,
Mr. Leder says “I love to laugh, and I love to make other people laugh” and “I hope you'll read my
book and laugh out loud…that's why I wrote them.” Certainly, his latest book, Let There Be Linda, fits
that description and having stayed up reading it and laughing until the wee hours of the morning, I
can agree. Many thanks to Rich Leder for sharing his lifetime of writing experience with us today.

Please tell us about yourself.

I’ve been a working writer for more than two decades. My screen credits include 18 produced
television films for CBS, Lifetime, and Hallmark and feature films for Paramount Pictures, Tri-
Star Pictures, and Left Bank Films. I’ve written four funny novels: McCall & Company:
Workman’s Complication; McCall & Company: Swollen Identity; Juggler, Porn Star, Monkey
Wrench; and Let There Be Linda. I founded Laugh Riot Press as an imprint for my funny books
and, hopefully one day, the funny books of other indie authors. I have been the lead singer in a
Detroit rock band, a restaurateur, a Little League coach, an indie film director, a literacy tutor, a
magazine editor, a screenwriting coach, a PTA board member, a commercial real estate agent,
and a visiting artist in the University of North Carolina Wilmington Film Studies Department,
among other things, all of which, it turns out, was grist for the mill.

What kind(s) of books do you write?

I write a funny mystery series, McCall & Company, standalone, dark comic thrillers, and
romantic comedies

What inspired you to write books and when did you start writing?

After 25 years of telling stories in the strictly regimented format of screenwriting, I had the
strong desire to work a deeper, wider canvas. In a script, the writer can only access the
thoughts of the characters with action or dialogue. In a novel, the writer can explore the mind
and heart and soul of the characters at his/her leisure—discuss the characters’ actual thoughts
and feelings. Budget is a non-issue with a novel but a big concern with a movie. Sheer number
of characters can be problematic in a script but not in a book (so long as the characters are
meaningfully created). Number of locations, page count, and other considerations a movie
must make are non-existent in the world of a novel.
I wanted to experience writing without regimentation, so six years ago, I began writing novels.

Did where you grew up influence your writing?

Yes, no doubt. But I didn’t realize that until way later on. My New York/New Jersey childhood
will resonate in my work for as long as I write, of course. However, so will LA and the San
Fernando Valley, where I became a professional writer, where my children were born, where I
became, in my own eyes, an adult. An immature adult, granted, but still an adult.
What is there about your writing that especially appeals to readers?
Carefully crafted stories. Crazy-great characters. Fabulous dialogue. Hilarious writing.

Do you write books in series? If so, why?

I write a funny mystery series—McCall & Company. I’m more than halfway through the third
book. I enjoy creating characters that can live on from book to book to book. And I like writing
mysteries. And I like being funny. So a funny mystery series with characters that live on from
book to book to book seemed like a natural course of action.

Tell us about your latest book release.

Let There Be Linda, the dark comic thriller of the year, is on pre-sale now and launches July 1 on
Amazon. Here’s the blurb:

Leder's black comic thriller tells the tall tale of estranged brothers Mike and Dan
Miller—accountant and con-man talent agent respectively—up to their necks in the virtual
quicksand of LA's San Fernando Valley during the hottest summer in Southern California
history.

The root cause of their problems could be the missing seventy-five thousand dollars, or the
sadistic, loan shark dwarf and his vicious giant, or the psycho comedian cop on the case, or the
coke-snorting dentist, or the deranged zombie real estate developer. Or perhaps it’s the
poodle—the poodle is suspect, no doubt. Or maybe it's the grocery store checker who breathes
life into death. Oh yes, it could be her too.
And so to repair the head-on collision the Millers have made of their personal and professional
lives, the brothers summon their mother back from the dead to clean up the wreckage. But
what the Miller men discover is that screwing with the laws of nature is a violent, bloody,
hysterical, and hilarious idea.

Are any books coming up?

I'm more than halfway through McCall & Company: Emboozlement, the third book in the series.

As an author, what challenges you the most?

Finding readers. Marketing in general, the relentless task of keeping my books and me in the
digital marketplace.

As an author, what bring you the greatest pleasure?
Two things. One: stringing words together in such a way that they form a fabulous sentence
and elicit a laugh in the process. Two: readers telling me they had fun with my books.

What do you do when you are not writing?

I am an avid fitness guy. I hang with my wife. I read. I love movies. I adore good food. I drink
fine bourbon.

How do you make time to write? Do you have a set writing schedule?

I don’t have a set writing schedule. I wish I did. But my life spins a little too fast these days to
find the same hours every day. So I write when I can—early morning, late afternoon, middle of
the night.

Do you plan your writing and use an outline or just write as it comes? 

I’m an outliner. I’ve used the same system for close to 30 years. It’s worked through 56
screenplays and four novels. I’ve taught that system to 200 writers. It’s worked for them too.

How do you approach cover design?

I’ve been using the excellent Derek Murphy of CreativIndie . I tell him what I’m thinking, and I
turn him loose. Then we work together to fine tune and finalize.

Is social media an important marketing tool for you ? How do you use it?

Yes. It’s the most cost effective way to reach the widest net of readers. I use Facebook ads to
target readers I think would like my books. Laugh Riot Press, my publishing company, is active
on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest.

What is your most effective method for book promotion?

Facebook ads have worked well for me.

What advice do you have for other writers?

Write anyway.

What is the best advice about writing anyone has ever given you?

Write anyway.

What do you like to read?

Richard Ford, John Irving, Philip Roth, Donald Westlake, Elmore Leonard, John MacDonald,
Stephen King...it’s a long list. I’m going to stop now.

Do you write for readers of multiple genres or just one?

I write for people who like fun, smart stories with hilarious characters. I write for people who
love to laugh out loud.

Thank you for sharing some of your lifetime of writing experience with us today. We appreciate

your time and wish you all the best of luck with “Let There Be Linda.”

For additional information about Rich Leder please check his Amazon Author Page and his

Good Reads Author Page.

Dori Lavelle




‪SECRETS & LACE (FATAL HEART 1) ‬
Not for the faint of heart. 
Amazon US ➜ http://amzn.to/1XMeqQL
Amazon UK ➜ http://amzn.to/213tN9o
Amazon CA ➜ http://amzn.to/23Ny7yB
Amazon AU ➜ http://bit.ly/1MMtoWb


‪#DoriLavelle #DarkRomanceThriller‬

‪Chloe Parker has the world at her feet. Her career in magazine publishing is flourishing, and she’s about to be married to Miles Durant, a gorgeous billionaire, and the man of her dreams.‬

‪But one month before her wedding, she receives a countdown card. No sender. No return address. No message. Only a piece of lace stained with blood. As the wedding gets closer the cards keep coming to her every day without fail.‬

‪It seems, while she’s counting down to the happiest day of her life, someone is doing a countdown of their own. Chloe fears she’s in danger, but she can’t turn to the cops for help. There’s something in her past she wants to remain hidden, a dark secret that could destroy the life of her dreams. To make things worse, Miles is becoming increasingly impatient and suspicious about her past, to the point where he’s so angry he becomes a man she doesn’t recognize.‬

‪While working to keep her relationship intact, Chloe must find out who wants to hurt her before she loses everything, or ends up dead.‬

‪**WARNING: Due to sexual situations and adult content, this dark romance thriller series is not intended for readers under the age of 18, and anyone who is unable to read books containing, kidnapping, murder, rape, and extreme abuse. **‬

Search This Blog

Loading...

Julie's Book Review

Hello, all my followers, visitors, and guests. Welcome to Julies Book Review. This is a site dedicated to helping authors and readers alike. Readers to find new authors and stories and authors to find new readers. For authors please contact me if you are interested in low cost promotion at juliesbookreview@gmail.com. I accommodate where I can. Readers please go through and search the blog. We have been active here for a while. Hundreds on authors, stories and genres to choose from. We have everything from sci-fi, erotica, romance, contemporary, mystery and horror. And nothing gets on this site without a 3 out 5 star rating minimum. I have several reviewers that read different genres. If you are interested in reviewing for me and the site please contact me at the above email. I hope you enjoy the site. I look forward to meeting and talking with you all.

Julie Ramsey & Theresa Fehse
ADM of JBR
Along with many reviewers (which we could not do this without)

Amazon SearchBox