6/30/13

Last day of June....Revisiting Borough Publishing Authors

Thanks you Borough Publishing for visiting with us here on JBR, This is the LAST DAY to get in on the GREAT giveaway that the authors of June along with Borough Publishing, and JBR have put together for all of you readers.

Lets revisit the Borough Publishing authors!

Reagan Walker
Image of Regan Walker
I love writing historical romance, and just now it's Regency romances. I am also an avid reader and reviewer (my blog: http://reganromancereview.blogspot.com). My prior work as a lawyer serving at high levels of government gave me a sense for the demands of "the Crown." Hence, the Agents of the Crown trilogy naturally came into being as three hunky heroes take on some difficult tasks for the Prince Regent and fall in love with some worthy heroines.
Set in London and Paris in 1816, RACING WITH THE WIND is the first in the Agents of the Crown trilogy. The next up is AGAINST THE WIND (Sir Martin Powell's story) and takes place in the Midlands of England in 1817. It will be released in March 2013. SEE THE TRAILER HERE: http://www.reganwalkerauthor.com/novels.html.
Then, comes WIND RAVEN (Nick's story), set on a schooner and in the Caribbean, also in 1817.
I have two short stories, both Regencies: For Valentine's Day/St. Patrick's Day, celebrate in Regency London with The Shamrock & The Rose, published in February 2013. For Christmas, celebrate the traditions of the season in Regency England and fall in love with a Highlander in THE HOLLY & THE THISTLE (published in November 2012). Both feature Muriel, Lady Claremont, the Dowager Countess, matchmaker supreme!
I hope you like them all!
Connect with me!

Regan's books can be found
 http://www.amazon.com/Regan-Walker/e/B008OUWC5Y/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1372594186&sr=1-1

Jami Davenport
 Image of Jami Davenport
An advocate of happy endings, Jami writes sexy romantic comedy, sports hero romances, and equestrian fiction. Jami lives on a small farm near Puget Sound with her Green Beret-turned-plumber husband, a Newfoundland cross with a tennis ball fetish, a prince disguised as an orange tabby cat, and an opinionated Hanoverian mare.
Jami works in IT for her day job and is a former high school business teacher. In her spare time, Jami rides dressage and grows roses. She's a lifetime Seahawks fan. An avid boater, Jami has spent countless hours in the San Juan Islands, a common setting in her books. In her opinion, it is the most beautiful place on earth.

Jami's book can be found
 http://www.amazon.com/Jami-Davenport/e/B002BMFT5G/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1372594317&sr=1-2-ent

Susan Mac Nicol
Image of Susan Mac Nicol
Susan Mac Nicol was born in Leeds, UK, and left for South Africa when she was eight. She returned to the UK thirty years later and now lives in Essex. Her debut novel "Cassandra by Starlight", the first in a trilogy, has recently been published by Boroughs Group Publishing in the US.
Sue has written since she was very young, and never thought she would see herself being a Romance writer, being a horror/psychological thriller reader all her life. But the Romance genre is now something very close to her heart and she intends continuing the trend. In fact, she's just branched out into writing a steamy, thrilling detective romance AND a LGBT male romance, a genre close to her heart. So watch this space..
Some of the more interesting times in her life? Being kicked out of the local Church Youth Chapter when she was just sixteen, for being 'a bad influence' (she maintains it was called freedom of speech), a bad car accident in 1986 which almost cost her her life, life in a commune in the cosmopolitan suburb of Hillbrow in Johannesburg with guys who were - well, let's say not the everyday boys next door, and being picked up by a punter as a prostitute (again in Hillbrow) when she got lost on her first day at a new job and was looking for the place she worked at by walking up and down the streets in search of the office....
What she thinks you need to be a be a writer? Imagination, tenacity (for the constant re-edits) a sense of humour and most of all, PASSION.
You can see Sue's work and thoughts on her website www.susanmacnicol.co

You can find Susan's books
 http://www.amazon.com/Susan-Mac-Nicol/e/B008YE9GGI/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1372594481&sr=1-1

Paula Millhouse
Paula Millhouse grew up in Savannah, Georgia where Spanish moss whispers tales in breezes from the Atlantic Ocean, and the Intracoastal Waterway. As a child Paula soaked in the sunshine and heritage of cobblestones, pirate lore, and stories steeped in savory mysteries of the south. She's a member of Romance Writers of America, and the Fantasy, Futuristic, & Paranormal Writers special chapter.
She lives with her husband at the base of the Blue Ridge Mountains with their pack and pride of furry babies.
In the southern tradition of storytellers, she loves sharing the lives of her characters with readers, and following her muse on the quest for happily-ever-afters in thrilling romantic fiction.
www.paulamillhouse.com
twitter/@pmillhouse
FB/Author Paula Millhouse

You can find Paula's book
 http://www.amazon.com/Paula-Millhouse/e/B006991RF8/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1372594611&sr=1-1

Sara Dailey
Image of Sara DaileySara Dailey co-authored the YA Paranormal Romance novel, SINFUL, with her good friend and co-worker Staci Weber. She has a degree in literature from U of H Clear Lake and is a graduate of The Institute of Children's Literature. Sara is a native Texan and lives with her wonderful husband and son in League City, TX where she is a middle school English teacher.

Sara's Books can be found
 http://www.amazon.com/Sara-Dailey/e/B004F7JN0M/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1372594708&sr=1-2-ent

 Jillian Leigh
 Image of Jillian LeighJillian Leigh is a writer of historical romance who has a particular fondness for the wit and elegance of the Regency period. She lives in Australia with her long-suffering husband, almost perfect son, and two cats with a terrible sense of entitlement. She enjoys Jane Austen, Georgette Heyer, chocolate, old musicals, classic screwball comedies and TV shows that feature models or designers vying for domination.

Jillian's books can be found
http://www.amazon.com/Jillian-Leigh/e/B009BWB45S/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1372594888&sr=1-2-ent

Thank You again Borough Publishing and to all of the June Authors. I hope the readers of JBR have enjoyed, added to your ever growing TBR lists, and come back to JBR to see us in July, were we will have another MEGA giveaway with over $100 in Giftcards, ebooks, swag and more. Winners for the June giveaway will be notified tomorrow via email.

Thanks 
Julie Ramsey 
ADM JBR

6/29/13

Review of One Dark Desire by Debbie

One Dark Desire
by
Debbie
 
Our main character Natalie starts off 
the story by skipping her Srprom to go 
to a concert where she meets a mysterious 
man named Tannerthat she's instantly 
attracted to.  She plans to leave with 
him butfinds him gone when she returns 
with her things.  Years later shemoves to 
New York to go to a design institute where 
she hasmiraculously gotten a scholarship 
as well as the perfect place to rent staying 
with a former super model.  While out 
sightseeing Natalie stops in a shop to check 
out some fashions & runs into Tanner again.
 
Will they pick up where they left off all 
those years ago?  Or will Tanner pull another 
disappearing act?  You'll have to read to find
out.
 
I enjoyed this book!  This is a great quick read. 
Enjoyed thecharacters & wanted to see how it turned 
out.  This is the first book I've read by this 
author, but I'd love to read more.
 
I rate this book 3 1/2 stars.
 
Jennifer Wadkins

Review of Her Protection By Suzzana C Ryan

Under Her Protection
By Suzzana C. Ryan
No nonsense U.S. Marshal, Gina McCarthy works for the Witness Protection Program.  Her next assignment is to protect a mobster's son who has turned State's Witness until he goes to court.  Marco G. Natalia has a reputation of a ruthless woman beater, but Gina is good at her job and she knows she can keep her urges to herself when she sees how gorgeous and charismatic Marco is...even if they have to spend the next two days alone in a motel room...even if all Marco wants to do is get Gina out of her clothes.
But all isn't as cut and dry as it seems.  Someone knows where Marco is, and wants him dead.  Gina has her work cut out for her, including keeping Marco safe and keeping her own feelings out of the situation.  Can she get him to the court in once piece and will her heart be able to let him go once everything is over?
This was a good story with lots of action and plenty of steam.  There were a few gramatical errors that could use some editing, but the scene description and story line were well thought out and kept me wanting to know what was going to happen next.

Donna

Review of Roping Love by Tamara Hoffa‏

4 out of 5 stars. Horses and hot men, what else could a woman want!

Carrie is just looking to spend a week with her wonderful nephew Tyler at the All American Quarter Horse Congress and if she's lucky she can pick up a horse or two she has been checking out for her own stock while they are there. Try as she might to push aside old memories of being young and  foolish, she can't seem to avoid the biggest reminder of all of how foolish an 18 year old in love can be.

Chance has never forgotten Carrie, and he never will. Ten years have passed and for him the and passion has only grown. While he would never try to give her excuses for his behavior in the past, he sure hopes he can get her to accept him for the man he is now. Problem is, how does he go about doing that?

I appreciated that both characters where strong and had a lot to bring to the table. I do wonder if there are more  stories out there for certain brothers though...

Interview with Jillian Leigh

Jillian Leigh Interview
The Rules of Engagement

Julie's Book Review would like to introduce Jillian Leigh. Welcome to the site. We are all excited to meet and learn more about you.

Let's start with Can you tell us a little about yourself?

Hi, everyone. I’m from Brisbane, in Australia, where I live with my husband, son and assorted pets (see below). In my working life, I’ve been a sales assistant, teacher, librarian and IT manager. When I’m not writing or doing the dreaded housework I enjoy movies, both old and new, music, dancing, sewing and watching TV shows of dubious quality (sometimes my husband just shakes his head and walks away). My celebrity crushes include Hugh Jackman, George Clooney and Tom Hiddleston. I’m barely adequate as a cook, terrible with maps, good at trivia except for questions about sport or body parts.

That is probably more than you wanted to know!

What genre's do you write? if more than one do you have a favorite?

I write historical romance set in the Regency period. That’s my first and only love J.

What can we expect from your books? Action, sex, adventure, romance?

I write the sort of books I love to read—fun, lighthearted, with characters who manage to get themselves into all sorts of trouble and then have to use their charm, wit or creativity to get out of it.

Do you have a favorite book or character of yours that is a favorite? Why?

That is like asking a parent which of their children is their favorite. All my offspring are special. Actually, though, it’s the baby I haven’t given birth to yet which is always my favorite. A story idea, before you’ve written it, is always the most brilliant, of course.

Can you tell us anything on your newest release?

THE RULES OF ENGAGEMENT features two of my favorite tropes in romance: friends-to-lovers and the faux engagement.

Are you working on anything new? When will it be out and can you give us any details....hints?

I have several irons in the fire at the moment, but one idea I’m working on is a marriage of convenience story. I love throwing together a hero and heroine who would never choose each other except under the most exceptional—and unusual—circumstances. That’s all I’m going to say!

What kind of advice would you give new authors or people who are trying to get published?

Try to analyze, and then develop whatever makes your writing special. We all have strengths and weaknesses; accentuate what you do well and minimize (or hide) the flaws. Find your own voice, your style, your individuality. Write what you love, not what you think you should write, or what will sell. Listen to constructive criticism that truly is helpful and doesn’t stifle your creativity. Ignore the rest.

Lets find out a little more ....How about some FUN stuff!!

Favorite place to travel?

Some of the best beaches in Australia are an hour’s drive away. But I’ve also been fortunate enough to visit some truly wonderful places, including Thailand and Vanuatu. Favorite place in the world: Paris.

Favorite foods?

Number 1 favorite food: chocolate. Number 2 favorite food: anything with chocolate flavoring. As you can guess, I like chocolate.

Favorite past time?

As you’d expect of a writer, I love reading. I enjoy not only Romance, but also true crime, biographies, nineteenth century literature and historical reference books.

Book (not yours but one you can recommend)

I recommend that any lover of historical romance who hasn’t already done so check out some of Georgette Heyer’s books. She virtually invented the Regency Romance, and some of her books remain my all-time favorites. However—ironically—my absolute favorite isn’t a Regency: Devil’s Cub is set in the 18th century. It has one of the hottest bad-boy rake heroes ever, and an intelligent good-girl heroine. When I think about some of the wonderful scenes in that book, I want to reread it (and I’ve read it many times already).

Author (one you can recommend)

Anyone who enjoys historical romance will have heard of Julia Quinn. She writes funny, charming and emotional Romances with characters that are flawed but lovable. Her books just make you feel good when you read them.

Any pets?

One day I’ll probably be a crazy cat lady, but at the moment I have only two. One is the friendliest, most curious and adorable creature in the world, the other is the most timid feline I’ve ever known. Most of our friends have never even seen her. I also keep and breed fish, including bettas, angelfish and mbuna (a type of freshwater fish from Lake Malawi). I am the mother (well, foster mom, anyway) of many handsome specimens.

Finally is there any special places we can find you and your books (Links please)

Please drop by and say hello. I can be found online at: Website: http://jillianleighauthor.com Publisher: http://www.BoroughsPublishingGroup.com Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JillianLeighAuthor Twitter: https://twitter.com/JillianLeigh003 Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6527307.Jillian_Leigh


THE RULES OF ENGAGEMENT is available at: Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/The-Rules-of-Engagement-ebook/dp/B00CXT6WTO/ Boroughs Publishing Group: http://www.boroughspublishinggroup.com/books/rules-engagement All Romance: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-therulesofengagement-1214498-160.html Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/318553

It has been a pleasure visiting with you. JBR wishes you great success and hopefully you will be back here again with more reviews of your future books.

Thanks for having me as a guest, Julie!

6/28/13

Review of Pack of Lies by Sara Daily

Pack of Lies (Red Ridge Pack #1)

by Sara Dailey (Goodreads Author), Staci Weber
Allison Wright a 17 yr old is convinced something is wrong with her, she  has become more aggressive 3 fights in school and now in more trouble.   Her mother in a family meeting tells her and her brother that she is a wolf and they are also.  With disbelief they watch her become a wolf.  
Now they must move to
Red Ridge, New Mexico to live with the pack.  Allison is so not happy with any of this.  But when she meets a wolf and feels a connection things start to look up.  There are many who are not happy with this connection and will stop at nothing to keep them apart.

The characters were all well rounded.  The plot was a different take on were's.  I really enjoyed this book.  I look forward to reading more of this series.

5 STARS
Patches


 

Interview for Sara Daily

Julie's Book Review would like to introduce Sara Dailey and Staci Weber. 

Welcome to the site. We are all excited to meet and learn more about you.


Let's start with Can you tell us a little about yourself?

Thanks for featuring us on your blog! We are both language arts teachers and have been teaching together for 10 years. We became friends when we taught across the hall from each other, and then when we both decided to find a job closer to home, we ended up working at the same school next door to each other. Over the years, we became good friends and bonded over our love of YA Romances. One day, Staci mentioned she had an idea for a YA paranormal Romance and wanted to try to write it together. So, we did and a year later, our first novel, Sinful, was written and then published a year after that. We have been writing ever since and now we are currently finishing up our 5th book!

What genre's do you write? if more than one do you have a favorite?

So far, we have only tried our hand at YA Paranormal Romance, but we have tons of book ideas and plan to branch out one of these days. However, we will definitely stick with Romances because it’s what we love.

What can we expect from your books? Action, sex, adventure, romance?

You can definitely expect Romance because a relationship is at the heart of all of our novels, but there is plenty of twists and turns, secrets and lies, and of course some suspense to keep the pages turning.

Do you have a favorite book or character of yours that is a favorite? Why?

So far our favorite character has been Aiden. His conflicts draw on his character; he learns a lot about himself. But, our attachment to a favorite seems to change with each book that we write.

Can you tell us anything on your newest release?

Our latest release is Circle of Lies, Book 2 in the Red Ridge Pack series. Here is a little teaser:

And the lies continue …
Life has always been easy for Aiden Wright. He’s smart, athletic, funny, and the ladies adore him. But when tragedy strikes, Aiden discovers the truth about who he really is, and his whole world comes crashing down around him. Aiden thought that being a teenage werewolf was going to be awesome, but it might just cost him the one girl who could make him whole again.
Since her mother’s disappearance, Teagan Rhodes’ life has been littered with her father’s empty beer cans and his hollow promises to change. Convinced that others would only let her down in the end, she keeps everyone she knows at arm’s length, but resisting Aiden’s charm is proving to be more difficult than she thought.
Throw in a psychotic werewolf hunter out to terminate the entire species and one wrong move, one wrong decision could destroy everything.

Are you working on anything new? When will it be out and can you give us any details....hints?

We wrote a novella, which is a prequel to the Red Ridge Pack Series, called Born of Lies. It’s scheduled to be released at the end of June. We had a blast writing it and are really excited to share it with Red Ridge fans. We got to travel back in time to 1994 and tell the story of how all the lies began. We are also finishing up book 3 in the Red Ridge Pack series, which is still untitled, but should be released in the late summer or early fall. You’ll get to meet a new character named Scarlett, who rolls into town with a whole lot of drama, and manages to catch the eye of Luke Stanton, the next alpha’s (will it be Cade or Aiden?) second in command. Scarlett is hiding some serious secrets, and Luke doesn’t know what he’s in for. He tries to stay away, but he can’t seem to resist her.

What kind of advice would you give new authors or people who are trying to get published?

The best advice we can give is write what you love, be patient, and never give up. Being a new author is a tough gig, and you will probably receive a whole lot of rejection before someone finally takes a chance on you. So, learn from the no’s and celebrate the yes’s!

Lets find out a little more ....How about some FUN stuff!!

Favorite place to travel?

Sara – anywhere with a beautiful beach
Staci – Old, historic cities

Favorite foods?

Sara – definitely Mexican food
Staci – Chinese, lately it’s the Szechuan beef

Favorite past time?

Sara – reading, lots and lots of mindless reading
Staci – reading small town Romance, watching my kids practice (volleyball & gymnastics)

Book (not yours but one you can recommend)

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Claire
The Future of Us by Jay Asher
Before I Die by Jenny Downham
Sorta Like a Rockstar by Matthew Quick


Author (one you can recommend)

Sarah Dessen, John Green, Jay Asher

Any pets?

Sara – Too many! Three dogs and a cat: Buddy, Pacey, Belle, and Georgie
Staci – A Rhodesian Ridgeback named Zula

Finally is there any special places we can find you and your books (Links please)

Website - http://www.saraandstaci.com Boroughs - http://boroughspublishinggroup.com/authors/sara-dailey-staci-weber
Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/pages/Sara-Dailey-and-Staci-Weber/102330932229?ref=nf https://www.facebook.com/TheRedRidgePack Twitter - https://twitter.com/Sara_Staci Amazon - http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=sara+dailey+and+staci+weber Pinterest - http://pinterest.com/weberjohnstaci/

Thanks for coming and visiting with us!

Julie Ramsey
ADM JBR

Review of His Hers and His by Jane Leopold Quinn

His Hers and His

Gwen Baily, a secretary by trade, is just doing her job. Her boss and friend has left for her honeymoon and Gwen's boyfriend and her have ended it after 6 months. No more tears, she would get over him and move on. When 2 gorgeous men walk into the office looking for her boss, she is not sure what to do. Brede and Rory have a date set up with her boss. A dating agency called sugardaddy.com has been used by her boss for a special date. So now a chance meeting has put the 3 in a place were all 3 can benefit. The guys ask Gwen out to dinner, can she go through with the date and maybe more?

This is a cute short story that doesn't disappoint. The sex scenes are pretty good. Gwen is a naive girl who hasn't had a ton of experience but not a virgin by any means. The guys each have a history and want one thing to bring pleasure to Gwen. The only problem is a one night thing becomes more and now feelings become involved. Good story with a little depth and characters I would have LOVED to know more about. It would have been great to have an epilogue that said where she was 6 months later...pregnant and living with the 2 guys!!  thanks for the great read.

Review of Tiger Magic By Jennifer Ashley

Tiger Magic

Tiger has had a life of living hell. As a pure tiger shifter, he is rare among the all the shifter. And even among the shifter, he is feared. Tiger was born and breed in captivity. For reasons unknown, forgotten and left to die. Released by a kind hearted woman, now living in the Austin shifter town, with the town alpha, he is slowly trying to adapt to living in a community.  Liam and the rest know that he could go feral at any time. He has never had a collar, which the shifters all hate but help to control the animal rage in all of the shifters. Since the shifters themselves know nothing about Tiger and his background, the collar is something they wish they could use on him. Tiger even among shifters has some amazing abilities....very fast, deadly, heals quick and from almost anything and most of all the kids LOVE him. They all trust the giant man that the adults are terrified of. A chance meeting on the road has Tiger meeting Carly. Tiger knows she is his mate. When he follows her home due to car troubles, Carly finds her boyfriend having sex with a girl on the kitchen counter. Her fiancee is more mad that she came home early than of being caught having sex. As Carly cries and gets upset, that triggers Tigers  protective mate instinct. He will kill any one that hurts his Carly. After being shot and run off, he ends up in a hospital and now under guard. The lab work only brings Tiger to the government eyes with more questions than answers and shows he is still alive. Carly doesn't understand why this man is being persecuted but knows she want to see him safe as well. And she knows the collar (the fake impostor one) around his neck will stop him from doing any realm harm, right!!?

I have been following these shifter stories from Jennifer Ashley for a while. They are awesome. I love Tiger and his whole character. He is lovable, strong, kicks ass and loved his Carley unconditionally. He shows how the shifters can be and that he can be trusted. Carley knows he is special and as she gets to know him falls in love with him. This is a wonderful addition to the Austin shifter stories. Thanks for the GREAT READ! If you love shifters, lovable characters, and a great story you can sink your teeth in, this is for you. Just remember this is a series. There are many before this but you can read it independently. You just will not know some of the other characters in the story and what makes them special as well. Great series!

review of Circle of Lies by Sara Daily

Circle of Lies (Red Ridge Pack #2)

by Sara Dailey (Goodreads Author), Staci Weber
Aiden Wright has recently learned that his mother is a wolf and they are now living with the pack.  His sister has had the change , he is still waiting.  He meets Teagan at school he knows something about her is different.  Not sure what it is he gets his sisters help in getting her to go out with him.  Then all hell breaks loose and they must fight for their lives.

This story was great.  Characters were well developed and the plot was great.  I look forward to reading more of this series!

5 STARS
Patches


6/27/13

Interview with Paula Millhouse

Julie's Book Review would like to introduce Paula Millhouse. 
Welcome to the site. We are all excited to meet and learn more about you.

Let's start with Can you tell us a little about yourself?

Thanks for hosting me today, Julie. I’ve been married to my hero for twenty-five years, and I work as a Family Nurse Practitioner during the day. I started writing young, encouraged by my mother, and three years ago I started writing seriously for publication. I write fiction at night, on the weekends and any second I can steal away.

What genre's do you write? If more than one do you have a favorite?

I write high heat fantasy romance, stories just shy of erotica, but with a bang for your buck, nonetheless. IMHO, story matters most. I also love writing romantic suspense, you know, thrillers laced with romantic tension.

What can we expect from your books? Action, sex, adventure, romance?

That’s a great question, Julie. Let’s go with all of the above. I love to get lost in the action and adventure of my stories, and usually that involves a hero and heroine, some pretty steamy displays of their romance and a happily ever after.

Thrillers and mysteries lack enough romance for my taste, and I always want to spice up traditional romances with fast-moving action. I love to write well-rounded stories incorporating all these delicious elements.

Hey, life and the media has enough sadness and evil to overwhelm us all, so I figure my fiction is the perfect place to remedy all that.

Do you have a favorite book or character of yours that is a favorite? Why?

Yes, Dr. Nick Franklin from my Wishes Chronicles romantic suspense series. Nick was the first hero I wrote, and he occupies a unique place in my heart.

And, then there’s Magnus, the Aurora class dragon in Dragonstone.

Can you tell us anything on your newest release?

I’d love to! Thanks for asking.
Somewhere north of Middle Earth and east of Westeros the Kingdom of Chalvaren carved out of the mysterious mountains of Drahkos, lies Castle Elias, waiting by the sea. In that castle a royal dragon egg hatchery is maintained, watched over by warrior elves, dragons, and their wizards.
In DRAGONSTONE, a mercenary with a cause fueled by elven legend, double-crosses the queen, and steals a royal dragon egg.
Elf prince Kort Elias gives chase, and follows the mercenary – his job, recover that egg. Stranded in another dimension, Kort finds the dragonlet has hatched, and his quest intensifies. If the warrior prince doesn’t find the young dragon, and return him home safely, devastation looms for his people.
Magnus, the horse-sized baby dragon leads Kort straight into an impending disaster; he’s located the lost princess of Chalvaren, Mia Ansgar, who guards an artifact of immense value to Kort’s people, the Dragonstone.
When Kort’s discovers Mia guards the priceless jewel, his plans change radically, and he realizes he must return them all to Chalvaren.
The one thing standing in his way is his princess.

Are you working on anything new? When will it be out and can you give us any details....hints?

I am currently working on the follow-up novel to Dragonstone. I hope once readers get the story in their hands, they’ll want to know what happens to Kort, Mia and Magnus next. The working title is Dragon’s Heart, we’re looking at a before Christmas publication date.

I’m also working on a romantic suspense novel showcasing the skills and emotions of my hit-man Tony Aiello who first appears in Careful What You Wish For.., and it’s follow-up novel, All Your Wishes.

What kind of advice would you give new authors or people who are trying to get published?

Keep writing. Don’t listen to everything you hear about how to write. Just follow your soul, and get the words on the page. Oh, and do yourself a favor and find a publisher you love, and cultivate a solid relationship with a professional editor.

Lets find out a little more ....How about some FUN stuff!!

Cool!

Favorite place to travel?

Anywhere that broadens my horizons, really. I have a fondness for the sea and shore. Writers thrive on new stimuli, and we owe it to ourselves to experience life in new environments.

Favorite foods?

Does dark chocolate count? I love salads with new spring greens, and the works, but really expensive, exceptional dark chocolate always gets my attention.

Favorite past time?

Writing. And reading. But mostly writing.

Book (not yours but one you can recommend)

Blood Vine, by Amber Belledene. Her vampire’s valiance still throws me to the floor every time I read that story.

Author (one you can recommend)

Can there ever be just one? I’m enjoying reading books from all the Boroughs authors, and I love Steven James, and Harlan Coben, for their thrillers. I love the pacing of their stories, and hope to someday achieve that level of storytelling.

Any pets?

I wish I owned a dragon…(and when I write in my Chalvaren Romance line, I get to play with them) but here on Earth I’ll settle for my pride of three regal pussycats, and their eternal protector Brutus, my American Bulldog.

Finally is there any special places we can find you and your books (Links please)

Yes, and thanks for asking, Julie:
Website/Blog Address: www.paulamillhouse.com Publisher’s website: http://boroughspublishinggroup.com/paula-millhouse Twitter Address: https://twitter.com/@pmillhouse Facebook Address: http://www.facebook.com/authorpaula.millhouse Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/pmillhouse/dragonstone/

BOOK BUY LINKS:
Boroughs Publishing Group Book site: http://www.boroughspublishinggroup.com/books/three-wishes
http://www.boroughspublishinggroup.com/books/dragonstone
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00CRMRWPK

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/315795

All Romance ebooks: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-dragonstone-1208608-143.html

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17915693-dragonstone---a-kingdom-of-chalvaren-romance



It has been a pleasure visiting with you. JBR wishes you great success and hopefully you will be back here again with more reviews of your future books.

Julie Ramsey
ADM JBR

Review of Dragonstone by Paula Millhouse

Dragonstone - A Kingdom of Chalvaren Romance by Paula Millhouse

Elf Prince Kort travels to a different world to find a stolen Dragon Egg.  What he finds is the egg has hatched and the baby dragon has no other dragons to train it.  Oops Dragon on the loose and eating livestock and a Vicar!  Korts finds An elf  Princess alone in this world with a town against her.  Now they must race to find the and ancient artifact and the baby dragon before the town comes with their fire and pitchforks.


This was a  good story. The Plot was fun and the erotic scenes were hot. I look forward to reading more from this author.


5 STARS
Patches


6/26/13

Interview with Susan Mac Nicol

Julie's Book Review would like to introduce Susan Mac Nicol. Welcome to the site. We are all excited to meet and learn more about you.

Let's start with Can you tell us a little about yourself?

I always get tongue tied when people ask me that question. On my last book tour I gave away so much about myself I think the public knew more about me than my own family :)

I was born in the UK and emigrated to South Africa when I was a child. I lived there for thirty years, got married, had kids then twelve years ago we decided to come back to the UK. We live just outside London.

I've been described in a variety of ways not all of them complimentary. I think the best words to describe me are - driven, feisty, obsessive, sarcastic, funny, impatient, single minded, (see the trend here?) occasionally obnoxious (some would say often), loyal, a great friend, a bad enemy. I thrive on creativity, am very open-minded, and love chocolate. I'm a savoury person overall -give me a sausage roll, and I'm happy. I know this is all a little random but hey *shrugs*. I also talk to myself all the time, driving work colleagues to distraction, especially when I do it using different accents. I find it helps me focus. I've always been a very visual person. I was lucky enough not to have study too much at school, as I retained most of what I was taught in class. But when I did revise, I lined my teddies up on the bed, got out a blackboard and a piece of chalk and pretended to teach them what I was learning. It made it so much easier for me.

What genre's do you write? if more than one do you have a favorite? -

I write contemporary romance - both male/female and male/male relationships. I'm torn here though as to the favourite. I adore Bennett and Cassie and their relationship in the Starlight series. I have a real love for both of these characters and their story. But I find I have a deep yen for writing about man love. There's just something about having two sexy, masculine souls battling it out in the love stakes. You have to remember you're talking about two men so they behave differently. Of course, writing about gay sex as a straight woman is a challenge and I love those. But I have plenty of help with gay man friends helping me out with the realism. It's a win- win situation for us both. *chuckles*

What can we expect from your books? Action, sex, adventure, romance?

All of these things. I don't write lovey-dovey Romance. My characters go through a lot, physically and mentally; they get embroiled in situations out of the norm, get hurt, heal and get hurt again. There's a lot of suspense in my books, and I tackle social issues, sometimes controversial ones like the female on male rape scene in Cassandra by Starlight. This has been an extreme talking point in various rape survivor forums and websites and you can find out more about just how my book impacted this here: http://www.susanmacnicol.com/category/rape-posts/

There's some supernatural overtones in Together in Starlight and the third book Starlight and Promises deals with gang warfare in London and cults. I have a book 'queued' up for publication called Saving Alexandria, which deals with Third Reich cults, S and M and
kidnapping. I also have an erotic crime romance thriller called Born Human, which deals with the philosophy of the punishment fitting the crime. So all in all a pretty mixed bag.


Do you have a favorite book or character of yours that is a favorite? Why?

And this is where everyone at my publisher heaves a long suffering sigh and rolls their eyes because they know exactly who he is. My favourite character out of all the ones I've created is Bennett Saville from my Starlight series. He started this all in the first place and without Bennett, I'd be nowhere. That's a given. One of the reasons he's my favourite is not just because he's a sexy, green-eyed, auburn haired, sardonic, sarcastic and witty talented actor on the London scene, but because he's modelled on my very own (dare I say this?) 'wet dream'. Bennett was inspired by the incredibly talented Benedict Cumberbatch, a British actor who is our new 'Sherlock' and the villain John Harrison in the latest Star Trek Into Darkness film. There are definite similarities between the two characters in the book. However I have to say, I wrote Bennett as having a major Hollywood role in a remake of 'Lost Horizon' in my book before the delectable Mr. Cumberbatch got his screen role as John Harrison. I like to think life is imitating art...I am not ashamed to say I have a thing for the man and am a member of many of his fan clubs. I even got to speak about this connection between him and my books on a local radio show. You can listen to the radio interview here on my website.
http://www.susanmacnicol.com/category/news-appearances/radio-interview-tracy-cooper/

Can you tell us anything on your newest release?

My newest release will be a first for me in the genre of gay male Romance. We're still deciding on a title but it looks like Stripped Bare is a firm favourite. You can read a little bit about what it's all about below.

When lawyer Matthew Langer is called to the hospital by his boss to deal with a family emergency, he has no idea his life is going to change. While waiting to see how his best friend is recovering from a beating, he comes face to face with the irrepressible and sexy Shane Templar, Carrington Knight escort and master hacker. There is a definite attraction between the two men. Despite Matthew's reluctance to get involved with anyone again, he finds Shane difficult to resist. Shane needs to work hard to get past the barriers of Matthew's past tragedy and get close to a man who controls his own life with focused determination. Shane has also had his share of trauma in his past but he's trying to move on. The two men begin a relationship filled with steamy passion and conflict. But Shane's talents as a hacker one day opens a door Matthew had wanted to keep closed. Feeling betrayed by the man he is falling in love with, Matthew cuts himself off from his lover. Then tragedy strikes and he finds himself wishing that he could turn back the clock. The lovers are reunited, but there are still obstacles to face as their relationship develops into something lasting.
It's pretty hot, emotional and a real 'second chance' story. It has intrigue, deception, blackmail and violence and a man who has to nearly lose everything to find out what he really wants.

Are you working on anything new? When will it be out and can you give us any details....hints?

I'm working on a second male romance book, which is set in the beautiful town of Stamford in Lincolnshire. It's the story of Toby Prentiss, ex foster kid with a chequered past, who rises above his sordid past to become General Manager of a five star hotel in the town. He's proud of what he's managed to achieve. Then along comes Rain Engel, master carpenter, contracted to build a unique pub in the hotel for its owner, Simon. Rain is a definite alpha male and takes a fancy to Toby. The two begin a passionate affair but Rain has a few demons in his past of his own. He doesn't want commitment. He was hurt before and he doesn't want to face that kind of pain again. Toby has his work cut out for him to make Rain realise exactly what he means to him.

As a teaser let me leave you with these words - a farmer's field, a haystack, sexy dancing, a Gotye song, champagne being put to good albeit unorthodox use, roses and a garden hut. Oh, and a straight surfer dude called Lucas.

What kind of advice would you give new authors or people who are trying to get published?

It's a bit of a cliché actually. Just write what you want to write. If you’re lucky enough to be able to take a few creative writing courses, then I'd recommend that. I had no experience when I first started out and I've learnt the hard way 'on the job'. I have a wonderfully patient and supportive editor called Jill Limber and she's my muse. Write the story you feel, tell the tale you want to tell, and above all, enjoy doing it. Be disciplined. Don't talk about it and whine about not having the time. Make the time. At the same time you're writing your novel, start developing your author platform. Again, I had no social networking skills when I first got published and it's been a large hard slog to get where I am. I should have started earlier but I had no idea about it. Get your name out there, start developing relationships with people who can help you, and get to know them. If anyone has any questions on this I'm happy to answer them and see if I can help. They can contact me via my website.

Let's find out a little more ....How about some FUN stuff!!

Favorite place to travel?

I want to go to Russia. I want to see the Kremlin, St Peter's Square and see all those amazing buildings and scenery. I also have a yen to go to Maine in the U.S. and visit Stephen King.

Favorite foods?

I mentioned before I'm a savoury person. I enjoy sausage rolls, pies, steak and chips. I'd murder for a bacon sandwich. I love salmon but can't eat any fish with bones. If I find a bone that's it. The whole thing is spoiled.

Favorite past time?

I'm a saddo. I'm a geek. My smart phone is my best friend, my laptop is my world and my writing is my passion. I read like crazy and I'm a reviewer for a few well known sites. I love swimming but in the UK that opportunity doesn't come up often and I don't like public, indoor, warm pools. Water is meant to be cold and refreshing not tepid. I enjoy going out to the seaside and walking along our pebbled beaches then stopping for a gin and tonic at the local pub.

Book (not yours but one you can recommend)

I have so many that I truly love. It seems wrong to single out just one. If I had to pick one, it would be the first one in a series of books - 'Fatal Shadows' - the Adrien English Mysteries. I started reading this author's work and got hooked. It was an adventure into male romance that was a definite delight. I've almost completed reading everything he's written and it's all five star good.

Author (one you can recommend)

Said author of the Adrien English Mysteries, the incredible Josh Lanyon. I love his work, and his humour and the fact his characters are flawed, wonderful human beings. I'd definitely recommend this author to anyone. He writes true stories of Romance, relationships and conflict, interspersed with great sex scenes that aren't over the top like many books in this genre can be.

Any pets?

I don't have a pet but my daughter, who lives with us, does. His name is Blu, he's a border collie mix of some sort. He's black and white with one blue eye and one brown hence the name. He's incredibly intelligent and lovely natured. So I have a pet by default, I suppose.

Finally is there any special places we can find you and your books (Links please)

Personal website - www.susanmacnicol.com
Author - http://www.boroughspublishinggroup.com/authors/susan-mac-nicol
Amazon links US http://amzn.to/VyUcyC UK http://amzn.to/1514GHz
All Romance http://bit.ly/ZQgIzq
Smashwords http://bit.ly/YBghLS
Barnes and Noble http://bit.ly/1219D0m
Book trailer -Cassandra by Starlight http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ag-OQzQKhxo
Together in Starlight http://animoto.com/play/xbFwI6SAmc8lk7fARus1tA
And http://authoressentials.virtualwritersinc.com/2013/04/on-tour-cassandra-by-starlight-by-susan-mac-nicol/

It has been a pleasure visiting with you. JBR wishes you great success and hopefully you will be back here again with more reviews of your future books.

Julie Ramsey
ADM JBR

review of Summertime Adventure by Suzanne Jenkins

Alice's Summertime Adventure
by
Suzanne Jenkins
 
We meet Alice Bradshaw when she is at a 
crossroad. She’s just beatencancer and is 
suddenly unsure of what her next move 
should be. Lookingback on where she’s been 
and what the future may hold, she knows she
needs to make a big change in her life. 
Then her car dies on the highway after an 
argument with her daughter. Dave, a stranger 
on amotorcycle, pulls along side her and saves 
the day. He offers Alice achance at adventure. 
She jumps on it, much to the dismay of her
children. The adventure starts a chain of 
events that will have Aliceand her children, 
as well as Dave questioning every aspect of 
theirlives. There will be a few casualties 
along the way, a lot of anger,life changes 
and a few shocking surprises. Alice’s Summertime
Adventure is the story of an average American 
family as they strugglewith dilemmas we all have, 
and making choices that aren’t for everyone.
 
This is a good serious read with a story & 
characters that keep youreading until the very 
end. It's an emotional book with an amazing
story.  Well worth reading.  It's not my usual 
type of book but Ienjoyed it a lot.  This is 
the first book I've read by this author &
I'm interested in reading more.
 
I rate this book 4 stars
 
Jennifer Wadkins

Review of “The Dark Citadel”, by Jane Dougherty

“The Dark Citadel”, by Jane Dougherty

5 stars

Synopsis:
Ah, Providence. What a lovely word. The dictionary defines it as “The protective care of God or of nature as a spiritual power”. Sounds like a lovely place, doesn’t it?
It may have been at one time, but after the bombs were dropped and the demons unleashed from Hell, it becomes the only city still inhabited, still in existence, thanks to the crystalline dome that covers it. And it’s a real question as to which is safer—the demons swirling with the desert sand Outside, or the life of the citizenry inside.

All is grey, all is iron-ruled. Color is quenched, creativity is frowned upon. Asking questions can get the inquisitive thrown in jail, where he/she is forced to chant passages from the book that rules their lives.
Food, water, even newborns, not to mention the very air the citizens breathe, are meted out by the whims and decisions of the Elders, who have enough demons in their souls to challenge the population outside the dome.

Yet there are those who harbor hope, and hide it in the secret spaces of their ramshackle tenements. They are looked down upon, despised, yet they know of the Prophecy.
And when two young people, each on their own missions, gain entry to the secret world of the hopeful and thus to the Outside, it is apparent that the Prophecy will soon be revealed.
But at what price?


This was a terrific read. I enjoyed it cover-to-cover. Never was there a dull moment, as we follow two young people in their scrapes with the law and their flight from the city. Their destinies, if that is not too hackneyed a word, seem to take them in diverse directions, but they end up in the same place—hours or days apart. To enable the reader to see the same scene through two different sets of circumstances took a great amount of talent by the author.
It was really easy to get into the hearts and minds of the protagonists, and I wonder what will happen when they meet up again. For they did have a chance meeting at the beginning of the story, and it was not a pleasant encounter. How will time and experience change their views of each other?
This is a cliffhanger, and I am rabid about getting hold of the next one.

6/25/13

Interview with Jami Davenport


Julie's Book Review would like to introduce Jami Davenport. Welcome to the site. We are all excited to meet and learn more about you.

Let's start with Can you tell us a little about yourself? 

I’ve been writing since I was old enough to know the alphabet. I finished my first book when I was 5 or 6 about a horse named Wildfire and illustrated it myself. I guess I’ve always had the writing bug. I was born and raised in the Pacific Northwest. I’d never live anywhere else.
I write sexy romantic comedy, sports hero romances, and equestrian fiction from my small farm on the Olympic Peninsula. I share the farm with my husband, a former Green Beret turned plumber, a Newfoundland cross with a tennis ball fetish and an obsessed barker, a prince disguised as an orange tabby cat, and an opinionated Hanoverian mare. I work in IT for my day job, and I’m a former high school business teacher. An avid boater, I’ve  spent countless hours in the San Juan Islands, the setting for Forward Passes. The Islands are, in my opinion, the most beautiful place on earth.

What genre's do you write? if more than one do you have a favorite? 

Under the Jami pen name and another pen name, I’ve written historicals, menages, and erotic romance. My heart belongs to sports romance, and two years ago I decided to focus on that fast-growing genre. I’ve never looked back.

What can we expect from your books?Action, sex, adventure, romance? 

 I try to provide the reader with genuine characters with real, complex problems who have deep-seated reasons for why they do what they do. I am first and foremost a character writer. When I’m writing, I become those characters. Yes, you can expect hot sex, fun times, and I also unconsciously find myself dealing with one serious issue in each book: homelessness, teenage cancer, family angst - lots of family angst.

Do you have a favorite book or character of yours that is a favorite? Why? 

My gut says Fourth and Goal because Derek and Rachel have been in my head the longest, yet I find that each new couple becomes my favorite.  

Can you tell us anything on your newest release? 

 That would be Down by Contact. After twelve years in the league, all Zach Murphy wants is a Super Bowl ring. Not exactly Mr. Manners, he’s more about hard hits than soft smiles, but after committing one too many social blunders, his tenure with the team looks perilously short. Kelsie Carrington-Richmond's Finishing School for Real Men has a real shot, and the Seattle Lumberjacks have hired her to polish their roughest player. Except…it’s Zach. Long ago she broke his heart. Yet, getting knocked down happens, getting back up makes a contender. And they both have the hearts of champions.

Are you working on anything new? When will it be out and can you give us any details....hints? 

Oh, yeah, tons. Right now, I’m writing Backfield in Motion, the running back Bruiser’s story. After that comes Time of Possession, the backup quarterback’s story, and then I revisit the hero and heroine of Forward Passes in a novella as they work through Tyler’s aversion to weddings, especially his own.

What kind of advice would you give new authors or people who are trying to get published?  

Self-publishing is like a siren song to many unpublished writers. Please take the time to consider if it is for you. I suggest finding a very good digital press with good editing and support staff first. If you can’t sell to them perhaps you need to go back and learn your craft. Don’t self-publish just because you can. Done right, self-publishing is very expensive. You need to hire a crew of support staff, content and copy editors, formatter, cover artist, etc. As far as traditional publishing, get beyond the romantic notion of “I want to see my book on the bookshelf in a bookstore” and research whether or not that is the right step in your publishing career. Listen to other’s opinions, but don’t let them be your sole influence.

Lets find out a little more ....How about some FUN stuff!!

Favorite place to travel? 

Washington State’s San Juan Islands. I would live there if I could.

Favorite foods? 

BBQ potato chips, hands down. Also Hogue Late Harvest White Riesling.

Favorite past time? 

 Up until 2 years ago, I would have said showing my horse in dressage. A couple things happened at the same time, my show horse could no longer be ridden because of soundness issues, and I wanted to dedicate my spare time to writing. I haven’t been on a horse in about 1.5 years, which is a first since I’d been riding for about 30 years. Most of my spare time is spent writing and the rest is spent socializing.

Book (not yours but one you can recommend) 

As far as recently read books, I’d have to pick Any Given Christmas by Candis Terry.

Author (one you can recommend) 

Cassandra Carr

Any pets? 

Ty, a Newfoundland/Flatcoated Retriever cross, Jenna, a Bernese Mtn. Dog/Australian Shepherd cross, Khat, a stray orange tabby cat who moved into our house and took over, relegating us to servant status, and a 17-1 hand Hanoverian mare who thinks she’s just one of the girls.

Finally is there any special places we can find you and your books (Links please):


It has been a please visiting with you. JBR wishes you great success and hopefully you will be back here again with more reviews of your future books.

Julie Ramsey
ADM JBR

6/24/13

review of Claimed by Wolves (Call of the Wolf #1) by Diane Leyne

Claimed by Wolves

Samantha loves her grandmother. Even though she has known she has a werewolf blood line, she didn't know some interesting facts. So as here grandmother is in her last days, she tells her the whole truth. Only the males of the werewolves shift and the males always have the werewolf gene even if diluted. All the male siblings share one mate with the oldest being the one that marries and then they all share the female. So far in life, Sam's love life hasn't been the greatest and the thought of having multiple men makes here very nervous. But as her grandmother tells the story of her past and explains, something calls to her. She agrees with her grandmother and decides that she will go to the town of Harmony and live and learn about the people she should have grown up with, at least for one summer.

As she arrives in the town, she has decided to keep her bloodline a secret. Talking with some of the women in the town and becoming fast friends, she also meets the Macalister brothers. She is very attracted to all of them, but fighting her upbringing is a mental obstacle she is not sure if she can over come. Sharing between 2 is hard enough but 5 brothers!! She is not sure she can handle that. The men, none of which know Sam knows about werewolves, very fast fall for Sam and know she is their one! But can they persuade, what the think is a human woman, to be the woman for all of them?

This was a really good book. I love the story and can't wait for more. I can already see some of the other women in the town and how there stories may or may not come to be(hoping). I am wondering who will get Sam's Brothers?? If you love shifters and menage this is so the book for you. Characters you fall in love with and sex scenes you can swoon over! Thanks for the awesome read and please keep me in mind for the next in the series!

Review of Melody's Wolf by Mina Carter

Melody's Wolf ( 1night stand)

Melody has been all work and no play. It has been a while for her. Her brother sets her up on a 1night stand with the greatest match maker ever, Madame Eve. Melody is skeptical. But knowing her brother means well and is willing to try.  Arron is a rocker with money, women, fame, everything you could want. So why is he not happy. Just finishing a tour and getting ready for some serious time to himself, he contacts 1night stand. Madame Eve knew exactly what he needed. Can one night ever be enough for the two?

A great short story. The Werewolf aspect could be there or not. Makes it a little spicier. The sex scenes are pretty good. but the attraction between the two are extreme. Very hot and you know something special is starting between two characters who need each other desperately! Great story...would love to see the other band mates set up as well!

Review Another Night Another Planet by Jessica E. Subject

Another Night Another Planet (1night Stand)

From a Earth is the future, segregation of classes is pretty extreme. If you are born to a poor family your options are limited. Ava born to a poor family, and now works of a star ship as a housekeeper. The only way she can go off world, or afford it anyway, she has some fun but longs for something more. Arranging for a date with the 1night stand agency was expensive and she is doubting her decision. After her best friend encourages her to go with it and have fun, she agrees. Nate banned from earth do to his heritage, has money, excitement and a best friend. When he comes across a woman waiting for her 1night stand date, he decides to give it a try. He has had his share of women but as soon as they found out about where his family comes from, it ends. That was his story with all women except one from his past. One women who he knows he could have loved and kept forever and never is far from his mind. But as usual Madame Eve has more plans for the 2, more than either one can hope or imagine. Finding themselves on a pleasure planet, old past come out and new possibilities become a reality.

What a great Sci-fi book. Erotica at its best. The 1night stand series are great! 2 people who were driven apart by bigotry and brought back together by Madame Eve. If only things happened so easily.  Great sci-fi/erotic book. Wonderful stories and great characters. Thanks for the wonderful read. 

Interview with Reagan Walker

Regan’s Interview for Julie’s Book Review
juliesbookreview.blogspot.com


Julie's Book Review would like to introduce Regan Walker. Welcome to the site. We are all excited to meet and learn more about you.

Let's start with Can you tell us a little about yourself?
Well, as a child I loved to write stories, particularly about adventure-loving girls, but by the time I got to college more serious pursuits took priority. One of my professors thought I was suited to the profession of law (I’ve never been certain that was a compliment). I recall that I was thinking perhaps he was right. I’d rather be a hammer than a nail. And lawyers are hammers in our society. But after years of serving clients in private practice and several stints in high levels of government, I was ready for a change. My international travel and experience in government gave me a feel for the demands of the “Crown” on its subjects. So, when I decided to write Romance novels, it seemed natural to have heroes who were on special assignments for a demanding Prince Regent.
In addition to being an author, I am an avid historical Romance reader and reviewer with my own review blog (Regan’s Romance Reviews, http://reganromancereview.blogspot.com).

What genre's do you write? if more than one do you have a favorite?

Historical romance—it’s what I love to read and what I love to write. And, my first books are Regency Romances that take place in that thin slice of time when George IV was still the Prince Regent. I expect I will always write in the historical Romance genre, as I love the research.

What can we expect from your books? Action, sex, adventure, romance?

The idea came from my early love of mysteries and spy stories and my knowledge that all branches of government have their own agents. I like stories set in the past that offer adventure as well as love. There will always be love scenes and action, too. Generally my stories do not take place in one location. My characters move around pursuing some goal or other.

Do you have a favorite book or character of yours that is a favorite? Why?

All my heroines are strong women and the heroes stronger still. I think my favorite character might be Lord Ormond from Racing with the Wind because he tries to be so above it all but his love, Lady Mary (who becomes Lady Ormond) brings him down to earth with her misadventures. Hugh is a multifaceted man…a British lord not content to
tend his estates and up to his elbows in the politics of the time. He is also an avid horseman and he and Lady Mary have a love of horses in common.

Can you tell us anything on your newest release?

My latest release, Against the Wind, is the story of Sir Martin Powell, a spy for the Crown in France who has come home to England for one last assignment. In a fancy bordello in London, he meets Katherine, Lady Egerton never knowing who she is. He will sweep her away to the Midlands and into a fomenting rebellion against the Crown.

Are you working on anything new? When will it be out and can you give us any details....hints?

I am working on the 3rd in the Agents of the Crown trilogy, Wind Raven, which takes place on a schooner and in Bermuda and the Caribbean in 1817, and features a rakish sea captain hero and a pirate who plied the seas around Puerto Rico at the time. We’re looking at a late 2013 release date.

Then I have a few other things in the works, a novella that takes place in London in 1818 featuring redheaded rake Lord Eustace who makes a wager with Lord Ormond he can make love to a certain widow and then leave her. I also have the prequel to my trilogy, To Tame the Wind that I’ve begun thinking about. It will be set in 1783 in France and London. The hero and heroine are Claire Donet and Captain Simon Powell, the parents of Martin and Nick Powell, the heroes in the last two books of the Agents of the Crown trilogy. I promise there will be lots of action, a French pirate and ships!

What kind of advice would you give new authors or people who are trying to get published?

First, begin writing what you love to read. I think critique partners you respect who are committed to getting (or are) published can also be helpful. Then, when you have finished a novel, get a few “beta reads” (a holistic read of the story for plot, characters and whether the reader liked the story) by different folks that your critique partners. Then, having made the changes that those reviews led you to make, get it published.

These days you have many options. If you like being in the driver’s seat, and you don’t want to spend years chasing a publisher, you can self publish. Of course, you’ll need to a good editor and copyeditor/formatter. But those can be found. I’m told by the authors who use it that Create Space is a wonderful way to go. If you want to go with the big 4 publishers (I think they are down to 4 now), you might want an agent. Otherwise, I don’t think you need one.

I got lucky with Boroughs Publishing Group, an ePublishing house. I like having a good editor, flexibility in designing my cover and the fact my publisher has chosen to keep the names I suggested for my novels. They provide marketing and publicity, but realistically, we have to do our own publicity and social media, too; that is going to be required no
matter what you do. Best to have an author website and Facebook account ready for when your first book rolls out.


Lets find out a little more ....How about some FUN stuff!!

Favorite place to travel?

Ah, that would probably be Scotland and England and France. I love the Highlands and I like the south of France. For a big city, I love Paris better than London. It’s so romantic and they have wonderful pastries. Also, I speak just enough tourist French to get by. I’ve wanted to go to Ireland for some time. I visited Dublin once and want to go back.

Favorite foods?

It depends on the meal, of course. I eat a lot of healthy salads for lunch, and look for restaurants that serve interesting ones. For dinner, I like fish in a delicate sauce, but I also like Italian pasta with a good Caesar salad. And, for dessert, something light with lemon or chocolate. Creamy cheesecake is a weakness.

Favorite past time?

Traveling, reading and researching my novels.

Book (not yours but one you can recommend)

Oh, I have so many. On my blog and Amazon, I have ten “best lists.” I also have a “top 20” list of keepers. So you see, it’s hard to recommend just one. However, the one I read recently I fell in love with is Bride of the MacHugh, a classic by Jan Cox Speas. You can only buy it used right now but her family is bringing her books to eBooks so it may be more readily available in future. You can read my review here: http://reganromancereview.blogspot.com/2013/04/new-review-jan-cox-speass-bride-of.html.

Author (one you can recommend)

On my blog I have a long list. I can recommend many classic authors and some new ones. A classic favorite is Virginia Henley. Her Plantagenet series is amazing. A new favorite is Ellen O’Connell, who writes Western historical romances.

Any pets?

Oh, yes. I have a very sweet older Golden Retriever named “Link” who everyone loves.

Finally is there any special places we can find you and your books (Links please)

Lots of links!
Publisher website: http://www.BoroughsPublishingGroup.com/regan-walker Author’s Amazon page: http://www.amazon.com/Regan-Walker/e/B008OUWC5Y Author website URL: http://www.reganwalkerauthor.com/ Regan’s Romance Reviews blog: http://reganromancereview.blogspot.com/ Twitter: @RegansReview (https://twitter.com/RegansReview) Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/regan.walker.104 Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6450403.Regan_Walker


It has been a pleasure visiting with you. JBR wishes you great success and hopefully you will be back here again with more reviews of your future books.

Thanks, Julie, for the chance to be on your blog and for the good wishes!

Julie Ramsey
ADM JBR

Review of Against the Wind by Reagan Walker

Against The Wind By Regan Walker 5 stars
 
This story is about Martin a top notch spy w
ho is trying to retire and move on with his 
life from a career that cost him everything 
and Kit a beautiful young woman running away 
from the only life she's ever known. Both are 
trying to start over, start fresh. Will they 
be able to, will there love be enough or will 
the demons of there pasts rear there ugly heads 
and stop them before they begin. I am not normally 
one for this genre of book but I have to say this 
book was really good. What I loved was the way the 
author sucks you in and makes you feel like you 
are part of the story. That you are right there 
within the pages of the book, side by side with 
these amazing characters. This was a story of two 
people who fight there past and present to have a 
future together. It was a wonderful story full of 
love and intrigue. I couldn't put it down, a 
definite must read! 
 
 
Adriana D'Apolito
 
 
Adriana/Ana

6/23/13

Review of A Mating Dance (book 2 of Ashwood Falls) by Lia Davis

A Mating Dance

Cameron and Blaine have known each other for most of their lives. Blaine has known Cam is his mate and Cam recognizes Blaine as well. So why can't the finish the bond? For some reason Cameron's jaguar will not fully accept Blaine. Something is missing in the relationship. In book 1 we meet Graham and his ex-lovers children. These kids know Graham and Graham loves them like his own. He will do anything to keep them safe. The Onyx pack did the worse thing you can to a shifter,  gave them no touch or contact. The children are touch starved and have some pretty big mental issues to over come. Graham has the patience and the love for these kids to get them through it. But when Graham meets both Cam and Blaine, he knows he belongs with them. How can he come in between 2 people who have been lovers and mates for years? And why have they not finished the bond? Can they work together to find out what the Onyx pack is up to? Grahams ex lover would never just leave his children, so where is he? The 3 could make something magical or it could be there undoing!

I really enjoy the Ashwood Falls series. The characters are love able, the action intense and the connection between the characters is magical. Cam and Blaine are a couple but Blaine doesn't understand why Cam's cat has not bonded with him. He doesn't understand until Graham enters the picture.  Graham throws a wrench into there lives. He doesn't mean too and will walk away if it causes issues with the kids. I really LOVE Graham. He loves those kids like his own and would die to protect them. What a wonderful series! Thanks for the great read and I can't wait for the next one!

 

More with Lia Davis

 Image of Lia Davis
Lia Davis is a mother to two young adults and two very special kitties, a wife to her soul mate, a paranormal romance author, graphic designer, and co-owner to Fated Desires Publishing, LLC. She and her family live in Northeast Florida battling hurricanes and very humid summers. But it's her home and she loves it!
An accounting major, Lia has always been a dreamer with a very activity imagination. The wheels in her head never stop. She ventured into the world of writing and publishing in 2008 and loves it more than she imagined. Writing and designing are stress relievers that allow her to go off in her corner of the house and enter into another world that she created, leaving real life where it belongs.
Her favorite things are spending time with family, traveling, reading, writing, chocolate, coffee, nature and hanging out with her kitties.
Website: www.authorliadavis.com

 Product Details

Writer's Name: Lia Davis
Title: A Mating Dance
Publisher: Fated Desires Publishing
Genre: Paranormal Romance

Short Blurb:
Senior enforcer, Cameron Nickels has found her perfect mate. Blaine Andrews, leopard Pack Marshal, is strong, dominate, loyal, and passionate. He knows all her strengths and weaknesses—not to mention her pleasure points. Cam’s known Blaine most her life, but she’s always felt like something was missing and her jaguar refuses to fully accept him. Yet, she can’t walk away from him. When architect and sexy mountain lion shifter, Graham Griffin, comes to town to design the new den nursery and school, Cameron finds herself in a mating dance that throws her and her jaguar into flight mode while Blaine must decide if he can not only share his mate, but welcome another.
After his lover walked out on him a year ago, Graham has no intentions of entering another relationship any time soon. But he realizes that the fates have other plans for him when he meets Blaine and Cameron. When his ex-lover’s children are chased into Ashwood territory by a group of rogues, he discovers the male he shared a life with had died freeing the kids from the Onyx Pack. Graham must work side-by-side with the two enforcers to uncover lies from the past while his heart opens to his true mates.

More by Lia Davis:


Product DetailsProduct DetailsProduct DetailsProduct DetailsProduct Details

Search This Blog

Julie's Book Review

Hello, all my followers, visitors, and guests. Welcome to Julies Book Review. This is a site dedicated to helping authors and readers alike. Readers to find new authors and stories and authors to find new readers. For authors please contact me if you are interested in low cost promotion at juliesbookreview@gmail.com. I accommodate where I can. Readers please go through and search the blog. We have been active here for a while. Hundreds on authors, stories and genres to choose from. We have everything from sci-fi, erotica, romance, contemporary, mystery and horror. And nothing gets on this site without a 3 out 5 star rating minimum. I have several reviewers that read different genres. If you are interested in reviewing for me and the site please contact me at the above email. I hope you enjoy the site. I look forward to meeting and talking with you all.

Julie Ramsey & Theresa Fehse
ADM of JBR
Along with many reviewers (which we could not do this without)

Amazon SearchBox