12/31/15

Review of Architects of Destiny by Amy Duboff

Architects of Destiny

Cadicle, Volume 1

By

Amy DuBoff

Cristoph (Cris) Sietinen is heir to the SiNavTech dynasty, one of the six leading dynasties on

Tararia who are the joint rulers of commerce and economics throughout Tararian space. Cris,

unhappy with his role as heir, seeks to learn what it feels like to make his own decisions and

experience the world on his own terms. It doesn’t help that he has powers that he does not

understand but that are condemned by the “Priesthood” who are the political rulers of Tararian

space and dismissed by his parents as unimportant.

But Cris is in for some serious lessons in war and politics as he seeks ways to understand and

control his powers and begins to understand that politics stretch far beyond the realm of the

dynasties, and even beyond their conflict with the Priesthood. He also learns that destiny is not

controlled by the hand of those destined and stretches across the breadth time, space and wars.

Amy DuBoff has written a space opera with likeable, believable and truly confused and

conflicted characters. Cris is a rebellious teenager in the midst of people who know more about

him, his abilities and his destiny than he does and who are determined to manipulate him for

their own purposes. However, in rebelling, he is facilitating his own destiny and fulfilling the

goals of those who are manipulating him. He does eventually find supportive friends in Thom

and Scott, and eventually in Kate whose fate is tied to his.

Architect of Destiny is well written and despite a relatively slow start, picks up quickly and is

intriguing and entertaining. Fans of classic science fiction and fantasy, as well as those just

interested in a good read involving political intrigue and action should like it. I plan to read the

rest of the series, Veil of Reality and Bonds of Resolve soon.

5-Stars Clabe Polk

Review of Destiny’s Plan by Victoria Saccenti

Destiny’s Plan (5 stars)

Title of Review: Could not put this book down
I was pleasantly surprised by how beautifully written this novel was. Gripping romance set in the Vietnam War Era, I was hanging on the edge of my seat, truly invested in what was going to happen to the characters. There are many twists and turns that you will not see coming, and that’s always the best part of a novel for me. I am looking forward to reading more of Ms. Saccenti’s work and am especially thrilled that there will be a sequel to Destiny’s Plan. Highly recommend! Could not put this book down.

Read for Julie’s Book Review

I was given book in exchange for an honest review.

**I've already posted to Amazon and Goodreads.** Links below.

Best,
Lindsay M

Review of His Christmas Wish by Lorraine Nelson

His Christmas Wish
 by Lorraine Nelson

This book was given to me for an honest review. I love this short story by Lorraine! Colin is escaping for the Christmas holiday to a friends cabin in a secluded area. Guess who makes a wrong turn and ends up in a ditch knocked out cold. The love of his life who left him with no word. He rescues her and what happens in the cabin, stays in the cabin.

5 stars
posted on Goodreads & Amazon

Tanya B

Review of Her Christmas Wishes by Lorraine Nelson

Her Christmas Wishes
 by Lorraine Nelson

This book was given to me for an honest review. A cute short story with Erica and Spence being snowed in at her lodge. She needed some time alone and Spence was on his way to his brother's wedding, missed his turn and ended up in a ditch. As they get to know each other they start falling in love. Erica has been wanting a baby with no luck with invitro fertilization. This may be her chance but the storm lets up and they are plowed out. Spence leaves. 5 weeks later he's back and they have a surprise for each other. Very well written story. 



I gave this 5 stars and posted on Goodreads & Amazon

Tanya B

review of Reformed by Ashley Beery

I was very impressed by the creativity and imagination Ms. Beery put into this novel. She starts with a highly sympathetic protagonist, a well-respected family man named Mike Reese. One day, he commits the mortal sin of taking out a loan behind his wife Elizabeth's back--and comes home to find her and their sons murdered! While coping with his grief and wondering who would do such a horrific thing, he gets even worse news: he is being charged with their murders. His trial is obviously a sham, and he is convicted based on lies, dubious forensics, and conveniently missing evidence. Unfortunately, no one seems willing to stand up to Sherriff George, who seems hellbent (pun intended) on making sure he gets "punished" for a crime he didn't commit. Eventually he is convicted and sentenced to death.

Beery's portrayal of prison life almost makes it seem like a refuge compared to his home town, where he had become a pariah. Death-row inmates are free to move about the prison and have generous library privileges. This took me by surprise, so I contacted the author, who clarified that the murder took place in the early 80's (before 'prison reforms' essentially reduced prisoners to zoo animals). There is nothing in that prison that we hear about today--shanks, rioting, and there is no mention of Mike ever being forced to be anyone's 'kid.' On the contrary, Mike is mentored by an older, more experienced prisoner. 

After his eventual execution, Mike is condemned to Hell where instead of fire and brimstone, he is condemned to relive the murder of his family over and over for eternity, with ten-minute breaks in between. With the help of Ron, his mentor in Hell, Mike uses the opportunity to look for that one piece of evidence that would exonerate him. Mike wondered why he would be punished in the afterlife for something he didn't do. I wondered the same thing. For the justice system to make such a grave miscarriage of justice is one thing, but God? I knew Reformed would have to have one hell of an ending (again, pun intended), and trust me, I was shocked to the core when it was revealed what actually went down and what the real intended purpose of Mike's punishment is.

Highly entertaining and original. I recommend this for audiences 17+ (because of violence, profanity, and adult situations). You may be thinking "Huh?" While reading this, but give it time: the ending is worth the wait! Check it out today!

Jessica Wren

Review of Memories of Love by Jean Joachim

Memories of Love
Hollywood Hearts #3
by
Jean C Joachim
While starring in her first movie, Cara discovers she’s pregnant. When she calls Grant to tell him, she’s blown away to find out he had a quickie marriage to Evelyn. Separated by three thousand miles, Cara must struggle on alone. When she becomes incapacitated by illness, she’s forced to give up her child to Grant and Evelyn.
Cara pursues a successful screen career as a leading lady while Grant and Evelyn raise little Sarah. Desperately missing her daughter, Cara pays a private  investigator to take pictures so she can watch Sarah grow up from afar. Five years later, Fate strikes, reuniting Grant and Cara by chance but marriage vows and a jealous wife stand between Grant and Cara. Will the former lovers overcome huge obstacles and discover that true love never dies?
I absolutely loved everything about this book.  Caras strength and Grant's honest nature make u cheer for them to get back together. And Sarah is the most adorable little girl. You can't help but fall in love with her. The obstacles they have in life and their relationship keeps u turning pages wanting to read more. And the twists and turns in the plot make it a very worthwhile read. It's the ultimate second chance at love story.   I can't wait to read more by this author. This isn't the first book I've read by this author & it definitely won't be the last. 
I rate this book 5 stars


Jen
W

End of the Year!

Well here we are the last day of 2015! It has been a great year. I wish for my author friends to find new readers in this up coming 2016 and I hope you readers out there find some phenomenal authors. Be safe! Have fun! But most importantly come read with us here on Julies Book Review.

Have a Great last day and a wonderful start of 2016!

Julie Ramsey

12/23/15

Follow the Fire: Gordon's Ascension (an Executioner Prequel)

Kindra Sowder




Robin had gone toe-to-toe with Lilith, losing everything. Now she is back in the explosive final chapter of the Executioner Trilogy for revenge. After emerging from Hell, lying in her cold and dark grave, she is thrust into a world that she would’ve never thought possible; filled with creatures she never imagined. And her power is growing. Los Angeles is a ghost town, with the world following close behind. It is up to her to stop Lilith and bring humanity back from the brink of extinction.

Buy link:
http://www.amazon.com/Follow-Bloodshed-Executioner-Trilogy-3/dp/0692587594/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

12/15/15

A.M. Willard



Frosted Sweets 
A.M. Willard 

Blurb
Morgan Lewis, the owner of The Polka Dot CafĂ© & Bakery, is about to wed the man she’s spent the last four years building a life with. What she doesn’t know is, that’s all about to change. Can her life move past a wedding disaster? Can her crazy friends help her pick up the pieces? And what's in store for this sweet baker? Along with a booming business, the Christmas holiday rush, and her friends, Morgan is really sent into a spin when Jayden Rivers moves to town. 
Jayden’s focus is on his career in production, but what he wasn’t expecting was to be knocked off his feet by a woman in the park. Sparks fly, but he’s not sure if she’s truly available or taken. With a severe sweet tooth and an addiction to Morgan Lewis’s treats, he can’t seem to stay away.

Buy Links: 

12/12/15

Lena Bourne




27997465

***Holiday Special Limited Time Offer! Get all 7 episodes in the Not Looking for Love NA Romance Series for one very low price! Kindle Unlimited (KU) subscribers read for FREE! *** 
 Special Limited Time Offer!

#OneClick:

#SeriouslyUnlikeOthers #BlackFriday #Cybermonday
18+ only


Lena Bourne - Romance Author
E-Mail sign up: http://eepurl.com/5-Prj

12/11/15

Jeff Prebis




Sexy People is a novel about temptation. A test that a couple fails miserably. They want
to escape the monotony of their day-to-day life and end up creating a much worse problem after
accepting an invitation to a sex party. For the husband, the sex party is heaven. To the wife, it is
hell. As their relationship deteriorates, things get crazier and crazier.

BLURB:
Barbara and Bob have fallen into a rut. Every day is exactly the same. An invitation to a sex party is accepted and their lives are changed in ways they never could have imagined. Suddenly, things are a lot more interesting than they were which isn't necessarily a good thing. Bargains are made. Dreams come true. Nightmares also. They enter a world no one walks out of alive in this surreal tale of sex and death.



Black And Blue is about  an undercover cop hot on the heels of a serial killer. A lesbian
hooker and the undercover  cop develop a relationship that leaves both of them black and blue.

A sexual affair based on an untruth. Addiction. Temptation. The streets are in fear of
killer who hunts the working girls. Can he be stopped?


BIO: Jeff Prebis is the author of the novels, Sexy People, Man Without A Country,
A Trip Down Psychopath Lane, The Debacle, the novella Bloodsucker Boulevard, and several
short stories including the popular Black And Blue. He resides in Virginia. He reaches into your
soul to find out what turns you on, and what scares you to death. You're welcome to take a walk
on the wild side, but once you do, you may never return. Fourteen people have been committed
to mental institutions after reading his material, and yet, they feel better than they felt when they
were sane.


12/10/15

Debbie Zello




The Middle of my Bridge

Bestselling romance author, Grace Lilith Watts, is caught in the middle, between her past and future.  Unable to move forward and powerless to change what was, she goes from lover to lover.  
Grace fully immerses herself in her stories. When she decides her topic, she leaves her tiny New York City apartment to live and write amongst the people in the story.  She gains an insight into the lives and loves of the inhabitants. This makes her stories even more realistic and interesting. 
Grace leaves for Connecticut, and a sleepy small town, that housed a Revolutionary spirit so strong, that General Rochambeau lodged there on his march to meet General Washington in New York. There she meets the general’s fourteenth great grandson, Etienne Rochambeau, and begins her journey to cross that bridge to greet her future. 
The Middle of My Bridge is a Contemporary Romance with a historical background.  If you enjoy traveling and love stories, then this book was written for you.

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Barnes and Noble






BIO:
Debbie has always been an avid reader, but writing was not her interest. That was until an illness gave her the time and inspiration needed to begin her journey in words. After writing down a few chapters of a story that had whispered into her head, she gave it to a few friends to read. The rest became her first book, The Kiss Me Chronicles.

Debbie freely credits her stories to her muses, the characters themselves. They occupy her thoughts and dreams, presenting her with their narratives on their lives and loves. On occasion, she has tried to put her own take on their story, only to be quickly corrected by the true authors.

Debbie has traveled extensively and has a deep love of American history. Her novels are often based on historical events as well as places she has visited. She is also an amateur genealogist, having traced her own family's roots.

Debbie currently has eight published books with many more in various stages of production, including a tetralogy of 'what or where is your safe place.' She is also branching out of the romance/historical romance genre to include a teenage appropriate story based on Dorothy's (The Wizard of Oz) great-granddaughter, Dee, and her adventurous shoes.


12/9/15

Mark D. Davis




In the wilds of the Australian Outback there’s a service called Royal Flying Doctor Service. Many brave and dedicated doctors fly planes to cattle stations and residences in the Outback with medical care. Mike Barnes is one of those doctors. The year before, one of his cattle station owners died leaving his wife Jan to run his establishment. She’s now in charge of the entire station. Mike is called upon to fly out to her station to help an injured stockman. He finds he’s way too happy to see the attractive widow who is still a beautiful vivacious woman. He will also discover the secret passions of Beewa station, secrets that will have him returning again and again.



12/8/15

Ethan Radcliff



Book Two of Death Riders; BAD 
Danny’s a hard man; large and brawny with desires most would shy away from. Not Xavier. She embraces his needs. Danny had all but given up on women. He sought professionals whenever he could. Xavier’s acceptance of him surprised him. He never expected her to relish a BDSM lifestyle. 
As they travel together toward California, they’re dodging a tail that’s been put on them, by Xavier’s sister’s husband. They’ve already helped her sister and Conrad, Danny’s best friend leave Georgia and who are now heading toward Canada. 
On his friend, Conrad’s recommendation, Danny plans to join the California chapter of the motor cycle club, Death Riders, a club that prides itself on staying below the radar and the police. But will Danny’s decision destroy his newly formed bond with Xavier? Or will they both find what they are looking for. 
The series continues. 

http://www.amazon.com/Ethan-Radcliff/e/B00KYP7P8G/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1449331923&sr=1-2-ent
http://ethanradcliffauthor.blogspot.com/











12/7/15

Suzzana C Ryan




Blurb:
Vanity Bishop came from an ancient clan of vampires where the female was the superior warrior. When the mating ritual was over the males were led out into sun to their death.
It’s the twenty-first century and old clans are prompted to ceased their ancient rituals. In a show of faith, Vanity is chosen to be inducted into an elite sect of vampires, ones who fight evil and are superior and deadly warriors. When her training begins, she meets a human warrior an ex-navy seal who’d been seriously wounded protecting her world and his. Her attraction to the fallen warrior could be lethal. Vanity learns he’s more than what he appears to be.
Will age-old customs come back to destroy her future?
Can both creatures withstand the one power, stronger than anything they’ve ever experienced, a power called love? Or will they fall prey to the faults and indecisions, which comes with that power? Only time will tell.




Bitten Press

Welcome to Bitten Press LLC Publishers.
This week we will be highlighting a few of their authors.




Bitten Press LLC was founded in 2013 by Scruples Mitchell and Andrea Bellmont . They put all their ideas, hopes , dreams and talents in creating a small publishing house to showcase their work and along the way signed an amazing  band of authors and poets. Who are not afraid to cross lines of genres to create some of the best steamy titles for today readers.

https://www.facebook.com/Bitten-Press-LLC-284267745044260/?fref=ts
http://windym65.wix.com/bitten-press-llc

12/5/15

Review of Speaking in Tungs by Karla Jay

Review of Speaking in Tungs
Karla Jay

The title is not mis-spelled. It’s an example of the author’s playfulness and
understanding when it comes to words. Tungs is the shortened form of
Tungston, the setting for the story. The novel is like a film-within-a-film. It is
written from the narrative POV of a speech therapist. Words are the
cornerstone of the story and words are the foundation of all novels. In that
way “Speaking in Tungs” can be thought of as a film-within-a-film. It helps
that the author is herself a speech therapist whose love of words and word
games is evident throughout.
Being engaged in a story being told by a speech therapist, both fictional
and real, seemed unlikely at first but engagement did happen for me.
Initially it is quite apparent that Karla Jay has a way with words. Her
sentences are well-crafted.
The main character of the novel, Marleigh Benning, is more than engaging.
We find out early on, that the primary reason she comes to Tungston is to
find out about her biological parents. Her adopted parents die in an airport
accident without ever telling her that she is adopted. She learns she’s
adopted cleaning out papers she finds in a safe.
A genealogist tells her her biological parents lived in Tungston. So off she
goes to find out who she really is. The cast of characters she meets as the
Therapist on Wheels in Tungston is funny, soulful, abused, aged, young
and deceitful, not to mention hunky.
During her search for identity she is physically abused. Therein lies a
mystery. Who is the abuser? There are several possibilities. We are
engaged to read and find the answer. Puzzles abound in this novel. Some
are word puzzles and some are people puzzles.
If you like solving puzzles this is an excellent read.

4 1/2 Stars
Bill Snyder

Review of A Dog and His Boy by T.F. Pruden

A Dog and His Boy
By
T. F. Pruden

When Will Parker returned from World War II emotionally scarred by the war and by the
pressure of his father’s upbringing, a hopeless alcoholic. Joe, fourteen years younger, was a
confirmed bachelor, alcoholic, cowboy and lady’s man.  Joe, a much more restless individual
than Will, loved the freedom of working the ranch.  Joe would never be the marrying kind, and
when Will married and later bitterly separated from his wife, Joe swallowed a huge ‘I told you
so’ and became Will’s partner to purchase their grandfather’s ranch near Hodgson, Manitoba a
little more than a hundred miles north of Winnipeg.  Will’s ex-wife, also succumbed to alcohol
leaving their two son’s to the mercy of child welfare and the streets of Winnipeg. Eventually,
Will and Joe’s sister brought Tommy, aged twelve, and Davey, somewhat younger, to live with
Will and Joe on the ranch. Having the boys on the ranch changed Will and Joe in profound ways,
except the most important one; periodic binges with women and alcohol. When Will and Joe
party, the boys were left to fend for themselves. Eventually and predictably, the alcohol fuels a
This book is written in a way that, to me, makes it seem much more biographical than
fictional.  The author is a master at detailed description and is able to describe the minutiae of
life on a primitive remote ranch in the exceedingly sharp accurate detail of a man who has seen it
with his own eyes.  The exploration of the emotional states of Will, Joe, Tommy, Davey and
even the dogs are exhaustive, detailed and repetitive leading the reader to feel like he has
received the same information over and over again. Although the author demonstrates his
excellent vocabulary by using it in diverse and detailed descriptions, the sentence structure is
often awkward. I believe this book would benefit from professional editing as I lost patience
felling it was much longer than it needed to be to tell the story in appropriate detail.
This is an excellent and very sad story on many levels. It should appeal to readers interested
in living conditions in remote locations, in stories about animals, particularly dogs; and those
with an interest in human psychology.  Because of excessive repetition resulting in excessive
length and often awkward sentence structure I could not give it as high a rating as the story itself
and the author’s descriptive skill deserved.

 3 1/2-Stars
Clabe Polk

Review of Need You For Always by Marina Adair

Need You For Always
(A Heroes Of St.Helena Novel)
by Marina Adair

Cover blurb: 
Emerson “Emi” Blake dropped out of culinary school to care for her ailing mother, but she has bigger dreams than running St. Helena’s most popular pita cart. First on the menu: upgrade to a gourmet food truck. A new part-time job as a personal chef will definitely provide the funds, but it also forces her into close contact with her one and only one-night stand, Dax Baudouin, who’s daring her to try a second taste.
Former army Ranger Dax has a clear mission: come home, get healed, and get gone. Yet Emi’s tough-girl exterior and hidden soft side are even harder to resist than her mouthwatering baklava. After years of battles, he knows better than to try and rescue anyone—not that she’ll let him get close enough to try. Truth is, Dax is starting to think that Emi’s the one person who can save him…if he can just persuade her to give him another shot.

Review:  
This was a really good read for me.  It had a good story flow and I loved the main and secondary characters.  Emi's dad and sister bring both tension and humor throughout the book and I found that I often wanted to spank or hug one or both of them.  The author gave us a strong heroine that was also vulnerable without being whiny or wimpy (I hate when the heroine is weak and needy).  And I just love Dax. His personality was so fun to read.   He was funny, strong and sweet.   This was a new to me author and I can easily recommend her to you all as an easy fun read.  Enjoy  :)

Theresa F
5 of 5 stars

Search This Blog

Julie's Book Review

Hello, all my followers, visitors, and guests. Welcome to Julies Book Review. This is a site dedicated to helping authors and readers alike. Readers to find new authors and stories and authors to find new readers. For authors please contact me if you are interested in low cost promotion at juliesbookreview@gmail.com. I accommodate where I can. Readers please go through and search the blog. We have been active here for a while. Hundreds on authors, stories and genres to choose from. We have everything from sci-fi, erotica, romance, contemporary, mystery and horror. And nothing gets on this site without a 3 out 5 star rating minimum. I have several reviewers that read different genres. If you are interested in reviewing for me and the site please contact me at the above email. I hope you enjoy the site. I look forward to meeting and talking with you all.

Julie Ramsey & Theresa Fehse
ADM of JBR
Along with many reviewers (which we could not do this without)

Amazon SearchBox