7/31/16

Sue Lloyd Day 5




Chapter 2 excerpt – I don’t want to go too far into the book because it may give the story away!

Chapter 2
Mallory jumped so hard onto her sister’s bed that Mystic took a tumble onto the floor. She quickly retrieved the somewhat impassive unicorn and gave it back to Cassie.
“How are you, sis?”
She planted a big wet kiss on Cassie’s nose and threw her arms around her neck. She was happy to see her little sister but the over-enthusiastic hug did nothing to quell the sea of nausea, nor the headache, which niggled away at her brain. Mallory’s lips looked shiny. Cassie quizzed her
“Mallory, do you have my angel lip gloss on?”
At nine years old, Mallory was used to taking fashion tips from her big sister and lip gloss was one of her new discoveries. It was far safer than the mascara that she poked her eye with and the gloss tasted like cherries. She looked down, guiltily licking her lips to remove the evidence. Cassie smiled as she added,
“It’s OK, sis. You can keep that one. I saw another on TV earlier. I think it’s a Little Mix one. Mom, can I buy it when I’m out of here please?”

                      
A post by me:

Sue Lloyd is officially addicted to writing!

Having relocated from the UK to Germany during the summer of 2015, I started working on a novel that I began to write over fifteen years ago.

I’m an unashamed people watcher and have a fascination with psychology. My passion for both enables me to add meat and bones to the characters who are smart enough to escape the confines of my imagination.

I love to read original fiction and enjoy the sort of book you can curl up with on a rainy day and devour. My primary aim in writing is to draw the reader into the story.

I want to take you on a journey you will remember long after you have read the last words.

What is my recipe for a good book?

Strong characters, a believable plot and an oversized dollop of humour.

Cassie’s Hope is my second novel, and my first attempt at writing in the YA genre. I thoroughly enjoyed connecting with my ‘inner teenager’ to produce this book.

Favourite Author - Mo Hayder. Scares the 'you know what' out of Sue.
Favourite Food - Anything that doesn't run off the plate. 
Favourite Movie - One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest.
Likes - Writing, Reading, Travel, Keep Fit, Jelly Beans, Eating Out, Eating In (My partner in crime is a fabulous cook), Gin, Wine, Bourbon.
Hates - Inconsiderate people, War, Tripe - NO, JUST NO!

7/30/16

Sue Lloyd



A gentle but strong, brave and compassionate story that tugs at the heartstrings. Young Adult writing at it's best.

Can an adorable beagle change the lives of everyone she meets?

Hope rises like a phoenix from the ashes of shattered dreams ”" S. A. Sachs
Cassie Larimer is fourteen years old. She was diagnosed with leukaemia just one year ago and her world has since changed forever.
Hope is a five-year-old beagle. She is testing a second-generation leukaemia drug at Morton Animal Research Centre (MARC)
Alice Anders is a news anchor for NOW! She conducts a live report from MARC one day which profoundly affects many of the people who witness the virtual tour.
Cassie Larimer was one of the viewers that day as she watched from her hospital bed.
Something magical happens when Cassie sets eyes on Hope for the first time. She feels a psychic bond with this charming little dog and sets out on a mission to rescue her from certain doom.
Will Cassie be able to keep her promise?
Meet Hope. She is no ordinary dog and will touch your heart too.

Buy your very own copy today!


Link to buy - getBook.at/CHSL

7/29/16

Sue Lloyd Day 4

Here is our JBR interview with Sue Lloyd.

First why don't you tell us a little about yourself?
There’s a lot to me so I’ll cut to the chase. I’m a mother to four wonderful children and a partner to one. I’ve been lucky enough to relocate from the UK to Germany in the summer of 2015, and it’s opened up a whole new world to me. Having worked in customer service all my life I’ve taken a career change since relocating and have been writing full time. It all started in the mid-nineties when I started to write ‘the book we all have in us.’ I never finished it but never forgot it either. Last summer I began to write again and my debut, Delsey Prodigal was born. I’ve since written two other novels, Cassie’s Hope and my latest book The Diary Of Harri Foxx.
Personal interests include writing, reading, travel, good food, nice wine, art. Oh, and I have an addiction to a certain famous brand of Jelly Beans.

Newest release?
The Diary Of Harri Foxx will be my next release. It’s edited and ready to go. Prepare yourself for the ride.

What can we expect from your stories, action, drama, romance, sex, blood and guts?
I’ve been lucky to write in a number of genres. Coming of Age, YA & Adult Contemporary Fiction. Each book has its trademark. I am an observer of life so you can expect believable characters to begin with. I promise each book I write will bring highs and lows, laughter and tears. It’s the life I know. Yes, there is drama, action, romance and sex. I’ll leave the blood and guts to the authors who I like to read.

Do you have a favorite character in your stories? Who? and Why?
I adore Baggy from my debut novel, Delsey Prodigal. He is a side character but has impacted each person who has read my book because of his simple but hilarious attitude to life. Diamond in the rough is very apt.


Give us an interesting fun fact or a few about your book or series:
My latest book, The Diary Of Harri Foxx exposes a more personal side of me than any of my other books. It was harrowing to write, and I wasn’t sure I would reach the end. I did, and I have to say the result is one of which I am proud.

Has there been any other authors who have inspired your work or helped you out with your stories?
Yes. Fiona Barton’s, The Widow, inspired me to write in the first person for The Diary Of Harri Foxx. I found it very liberating.

What can readers who enjoy your book do to help make it successful?
Please review any my books if you have enjoyed it. You have no idea how much of a difference it makes to an author. Even one line!

Do you have any tips for readers or advice for other writers trying to get published?
Yes. Absorb all the wise words your peers will offer. I’ve been fortunate to have made a number of Twitter friends who have been incredibly supportive to me. It’s not easy being a writer, but it’s so rewarding.

Do you have a favorite author? If yes, what draws you to that person’s work?
I love Mo Hayder. I was lucky enough to catch her from the outset and have read every one of her books. Mo writes about things that I could not contemplate in my wildest imagination. She’s a smart cookie, and her books are page turners.

Can you remember one of the first things you wrote? What makes it memorable?
I have to refer to starting Delsey Prodigal. The book was titled ‘Small Town Prodigal’ then. There was something remarkable about seeing my title on my ancient computer. It was the beginning of a new venture. Boy, has it stayed with me.

Where do you gather most of the inspiration for your work?
I gather inspiration from life. Being a people watcher makes inspiration flow like a waterfall. I have so many interesting characters to share in the future.

Do you have any other interesting hobbies, pets or stories you would like to share?
I love the outdoors. Living in Germany has opened up a whole new horizon for me to explore. I don’t have any pets, and you’ll find my interesting stories in my books!  Go me.

Favorite places to travel or visit?
I enjoyed Morocco very much. My senses went off the scale when visiting. I’m a spice fiend, and the souks were just incredible.

And now, before you go, how about a snippet from your book that is meant to intrigue and tantalize us: ( Include links to were we can find your work)

So, an excerpt from the beginning chapter of Cassie’s Hope where our reporter, Alice visits the Biomedical Research Lab for the first time. I’ve had some very touching feedback about the way I handled this book. It’s a tough subject that had me in tears. Yes, I have a heart.

Alice scanned the room. It was noisier than the section where the fish and rodents were. The only sound in there was the beep of machinery, the bubbling of air in the fish tank and the spinning of the wheels as the mice and rats enjoyed their daily exercise. In here there were vocals, barking in particular. The „woofs‟ appeared to offer a welcome to the strange visitors. There was also a distinctly stronger smell in here. Alice took the decision to withhold the “smellovision‟ as she addressed the camera, her wide eyes and glossy lips filling the screen.
“So here we are in the section that houses the dogs. Herb, can you tell us a little about these gorgeous creatures?”
Herb cleared his throat with a nervous cough then knelt down and leant against one of the pens.
“Well, these are our beagles.”
The emphasis was on the word „our‟ and it appeared to be a conscious attempt to sound more personal. The camera panned down to show the first dog as Herb put his fingers through the bars of the pen.
Cassie leant further forward in her bed and smiled as the dog proceeded to lick Herb’s hand. His tail was now wagging enthusiastically at the unexpected visit. Herb smiled into the camera.
“This is Archie. Say hello to the viewers, Archie.”
The dog barked and Herb chuckled then continued,
“Archie has been with us a couple of years. He’s a great character, which is in keeping with this fantastic breed of dog. The fact is we choose to work with beagles, as do many scientists, because of their gentle and passive nature. They don’t bite and are super-forgiving animals.”
Alice poked her fingers through the bars. He looked healthy enough and the cage was clean and a fair size, maybe six square meters with a slope leading to an upper platform with a chew toy dangling from a chain.
“He’s adorable.”
She turned to the camera, addressing the viewers.
“I bet every one of you is cooing over this boy.”
Cassie nodded in agreement. Archie was very cute and she didn’t like to see him locked up.
Alice questioned Herb further.
“So, for our viewers out there who know little or nothing about what goes on here at MARC, can you give us some further information, Herb?”
“Well, we have a team of dog breeders who supply us with our beagles for medical research.”
Alice interrupted.
“So the dogs‟ sole purpose for being born is to assist in medical research?”
“Yes, that’s correct.”
Cassie put her hand up to her mouth. It deeply upset her hearing that. Being in hospital on and off during the past year for treatment was hard enough. The man on the TV was suggesting that the beagles stayed there, lived there and eventually died there.
Alice stopped Cassie’s train of thought from going any further as she continued.
“I need to get my head around your last comment, Herb. So what you are saying is that you have breeders who supply the dogs, which then live all their earthly days out in a confined pen. Albeit a decent environment, it’s not exactly running in the fields chasing a ball, is it?”
Herb was calm as he stood up then moved along towards another pen.
“Our dogs are very well looked after as you can see. Each one has sufficient space in the pen, which is also equipped to offer some stimulation. Each one is assigned a carer who walks them so they get socialized and can interact with other dogs. They have exercise twice a day and are also fed a nutritious diet that covers the basic needs of a hound.”
He paused, stopping at the next dog.
“This is Sabre.”
Another pair of gentle eyes greeted them.
“Hello, old boy. Sabre is our veteran. He is eight years old, hence the George Clooney silver muzzle.”
Sabre wagged his tail at the acknowledgement.
Alice followed Herb as he carried on.
“And this is Hope.”
A large black gumdrop nose filled the TV screen then as the camera focused out; two beautiful big hazel eyes looked full on into the lens.

                                                                                        *****

Links to book getBook.at/CHSL

Readers’ Favorite – Five star review - https://readersfavorite.com/book-review/cassies-hope


Author webpage – AuthorSueLloyd.com

7/28/16

Sue Lloyd Day 3






SUE LLOYD NOVELS

Delsey Prodigal - Awarded five stars - https://readersfavorite.com/book-review/delsey-prodigal

Cassie's Hope - Awarded five stars - https://readersfavorite.com/book-review/cassies-hope

Follow me on Twitter @AuthorSLloyd1

July 2016 Update

I've just finished writing The Diary of Harri Foxx. The novel is based in my hometown of Manchester and will be released summer 2016.

"SOME PEOPLE ARE JUST OUT OF REACH"

Harri Foxx had everything she could wish for in her simple, but perfect world. 
Growing up in Manchester and settling with the love of her life was bliss.
However, life isn’t always kind, is it?
An untimely death and an ‘unspeakable event’ tipped Harri over the edge.
Her mind is now a tangle of mental torture.
Outside just isn’t safe anymore.
It wasn’t always like that.
Can Harri find her way to freedom?
She wants to tell her story in the form of a Diary.
It’s honest, raw, and heartbreaking.
Prepare yourself.

7/27/16

Sue Lloyd Day 2



About the author:
I'm officially addicted to writing! 

Having relocated from the UK to Germany during the summer of 2015, I started working on a novel that I began to write over fifteen years ago.

I'm an unashamed people watcher and have a fascination with psychology. My passion for both enables me to add meat and bones to the characters who are smart enough to escape the confines of my imagination.

I love to read original fiction and enjoy the sort of book you can curl up with on a rainy day and devour. My primary aim in writing is to draw the reader into the story. I want to take you on a journey you will remember long after you have read the last words.

My recipe for a good book?

Strong characters, a believable plot and an oversized dollop of humour.

Favourite Author - Mo Hayder. Scares the 'you know what' out of me.
Favourite Food - Anything that doesn't run off the plate. 
Favourite Movie - One Flew Over The Cuckoos Nest.
Likes - Writing, Reading, Travel, Keep Fit, Jelly Beans, Eating Out, Eating In (my partner in crime is a fabulous cook), Gin, Wine, Bourbon.
Hates - Inconsiderate people, War, Tripe - NO, JUST NO!

MY NOVELS

Delsey Prodigal - Awarded five stars - https://readersfavorite.com/book-review/delsey-prodigal

Cassie's Hope - Awarded five stars - https://readersfavorite.com/book-review/cassies-hope

Follow me on Twitter @AuthorSLloyd1

July 2016 Update

I've just finished writing The Diary of Harri Foxx. The novel is based in my hometown of Manchester and will be released summer 2016.

"SOME PEOPLE ARE JUST OUT OF REACH"

Harri Foxx had everything she could wish for in her simple, but perfect world. 
Growing up in Manchester and settling with the love of her life was bliss.
However, life isn’t always kind, is it?
An untimely death and an ‘unspeakable event’ tipped Harri over the edge.
Her mind is now a tangle of mental torture.
Outside just isn’t safe anymore.
It wasn’t always like that.
Can Harri find her way to freedom?
She wants to tell her story in the form of a Diary.
It’s honest, raw, and heartbreaking.
Prepare yourself.

7/26/16

Sue Lloyd Day 1


A gentle but strong, brave and compassionate story that tugs at the heartstrings. Young Adult writing at it's best.


Can an adorable beagle change the lives of everyone she meets?


Hope rises like a phoenix from the ashes of shattered dreams ”" S. A. Sachs
Cassie Larimer is fourteen years old. She was diagnosed with leukaemia just one year ago and her world has since changed forever.
Hope is a five-year-old beagle. She is testing a second-generation leukaemia drug at Morton Animal Research Centre (MARC)
Alice Anders is a news anchor for NOW! She conducts a live report from MARC one day which profoundly affects many of the people who witness the virtual tour.
Cassie Larimer was one of the viewers that day as she watched from her hospital bed.
Something magical happens when Cassie sets eyes on Hope for the first time. She feels a psychic bond with this charming little dog and sets out on a mission to rescue her from certain doom.
Will Cassie be able to keep her promise?
Meet Hope. She is no ordinary dog and will touch your heart too.


7/23/16

ALYSON MCLAYNE




Synopsis:
From Golden Heart Finalist Alyson McLayne comes the first book in her new contemporary romance series set in Sizzling, Sexy, Santa Barbara.

A year after being dumped by her childhood friend-turned-lover, Sarika Dkany has decided to move on with her life. No more waiting for Rafe to come back for her. No more putting her life on hold. She wants everything he can’t give her: a home, husband, and family, and she’s going to get them—with someone else.

She’s done trying to make him love her.

But then Rafe shows up and turns her world upside down—again—and it takes every ounce of determination she has to keep her hands to herself and keep saying ‘no’…even though she’s waited half her life to hear the question.

* * *

For all of Rafael Fabrizio’s trappings of success—his old-money family, his multi-national company, his movie star good looks—he’s a man afraid to let his guard down and take what he really wants: Sarika, his grandmother’s Goddaughter and only woman to set his body—and soul—on fire.

A fire that burns so hot he feels out of control.

So when his grandmother falls ill and he has to bring Sarika back to Santa Barbara, he’s determined to keep his distance—except Sarika does the unthinkable and says she’s over him. Faced with a lifetime without her, Rafe realizes he needs her and vows to convince her he’s changed—before she finds someone else who’s not afraid to love her.

* * *

But has he really changed? Sarika doesn’t think so. To prove it, she has a plan, and if he truly wants to be with her, he’ll get on board…no matter where it takes them.

Social Media Links:

Book Links:

7/21/16

B.P.Smythe




This collection of dark, humorous and macabre tales explores the disturbing side of human nature.  
From a Poison Pen is the first book in a trilogy of collected short stories by B.P.Smythe. 
Order from amazon.co.uk. Kindle and paperback versions...
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Poison-Pen-collection-macabre-stories-ebook/dp/B01BKWT4EE
 For author info: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B006MCGVNU


www.bloodhoundbooks.com 
CONTACT: barrysmythe@hotmail.com 
Mob: 07814780856 

Just want to say many thanks to those of you that have read my book 'From a Poison Pen' by B.P.Smythe and posted a review on amazon.co.uk and amazon.com.
For those of you who have read or still reading my book 
I would be grateful if you could post your review on amazon.co.uk and amazon.com

Regards
B.P.Smythe



Search This Blog

Julie's Book Review

Hello, all my followers, visitors, and guests. Welcome to Julies Book Review. This is a site dedicated to helping authors and readers alike. Readers to find new authors and stories and authors to find new readers. For authors please contact me if you are interested in low cost promotion at juliesbookreview@gmail.com. I accommodate where I can. Readers please go through and search the blog. We have been active here for a while. Hundreds on authors, stories and genres to choose from. We have everything from sci-fi, erotica, romance, contemporary, mystery and horror. And nothing gets on this site without a 3 out 5 star rating minimum. I have several reviewers that read different genres. If you are interested in reviewing for me and the site please contact me at the above email. I hope you enjoy the site. I look forward to meeting and talking with you all.

Julie Ramsey & Theresa Fehse
ADM of JBR
Along with many reviewers (which we could not do this without)

Amazon SearchBox