1/31/13

Review of Alaskan Fire (Guardians of the First Realm) by Sara King

Alaskan Fire


Blaze's Parents are now dead and she finds out things that she never knew,  Like that she was adopted!  Not in the usual way but found as a baby in ashes.  Her parents leave her a Feather that she has no clue as to what and why. Money also was left to her.
She decides to follow her dream and open a Lodge in the Alaskan Wilderness. That will not be as easy as she thinks. Jack has claimed this bit of Wilderness as his own and he doesn't need a freakishly tall woman who won't take the hints and just leave. Jack is hiding  many things from Blaze.  When Jacks past brings in the local Werewolves for retaliation Jack must tell Blaze about himself.  As well as help her come to terms with who she really is.



I Love Paranormal.  I have never read this Author.  I am so glad I did. The whole premise of this book was so far out there,  yet the way Ms. King wrote the storyline made it so believable and wonderful. I love different takes on the usual paranormal. This book really hit that mark and worked! This storyline draws the reader right in. You will love every minute of it. I want to go live in the Alaskan Wildernesses,  maybe I will find my soul mate I wonder what he will be.  But then again there are so many bad Others.  I mean this is their home and they will protect it.   So many have lived here far longer then many will ever know. You learn so much about the Others and want Sara king to write about them.  I look forward to more Books in this Series.  I can see this book as a Movie and what a hit it would be!


5 Stars
Patches

Don't forget the giveaway is still going on $30 in gift cards and a ebook up for grabs! Tell all your friends about Julies Book Review and have then come check us out!!

1/30/13

Interview with Suzzana C Ryan

Let’s welcome Suzzana C Ryan to Julie's Book Review. Suzzana is giving away a $5 gift card, so don't forget to check out the rafflecopter to the right of the pg.


 Welcome to Julies Book Review. Can you tell me a little about yourself?
 I’m an erotic romance writer with Rebel Ink Press. This year I have been honored to be an Elite Rebel writer and sighs trying to live up to the title. I am a New Yorker, a love child, a grandmother, a wife and an avid reader.


 What kind of books do you write?
Erotic romance contemporary, paranormal, scifi and fantasy.


 Newest release?
My next release is a contemporary erotic romance Capitve Heart, Jungle Desire and my first interracial love affair. 


 What should we expect in your book?
 I am a Drama Queen, so there will always be drama, hot sex, lust, romance and unusual twists and turns.


 How do you get ideas for your books?
 Dreams, photos, people and news stories. Anything in your stories based on real experiences? Yes, Aurora’s Ghost named after my first granddaughter and a small but of her life. Captive Heart came from a tragic event in my life, Remembrance deals with 9/11 and NYPD…sons a NYPD.


 Toughest criticism? 
A one star review, sobs. 


Best compliment? and advice for aspiring authors?
Being descriptive is a gift.  NEVER GIVE UP 


How about some fun stuff?
 Dogs or cats? 
A Cat Isabella…saucy little thing.

 1 Fav book? WHY?
Gone with the Wind Classic Romance Novel

 Favorite place to travel? 
Australia…..gonna get there yet….I am an explorer at heart
also…can you think of a better place to visit? 

 1 fav author?  Why?
  Nora Roberts  She’s a Dynamo and can write anything….she’s a woman of my own heart.


 Is this your full time job?  If yes, anything else you want to do?
Now it is. There js nothing I’d rather do than write. It’s everything I thought it would be and I have met the most wonderful people, company included Julie.

Well Thanks! Going to make me blush!
 
 Where can we find you and your books?
All Romance Ebooks, Amazon.com, Barnes and Noble, The book strand and Omni Lit. 

 http://www.amazon.com/Auroras-Ghost-ebook/dp/B00AFL467C/ref=sr_1_10?ie=UTF8&qid=1358113100&sr=8-10&keywords=suzzana+ryan

 http://www.amazon.com/The-Man-Her-Dreams-ebook/dp/B00AFKTGQY/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1358113161&sr=1-1&keywords=suzzana+ryan

 http://www.amazon.com/Suzzana-C.-Ryan/e/B008LY5XPE/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

 https://www.facebook.com/suzzana.c.ryan?ref=ts&fref=ts

 http://www.suzzanacryan.webs.com/

 http://suzzanacryanromanceauthor.blogspot.com/?zx=5ac56112153124bd

Julie thanks for having me and thank you for the reviews.
Thank you for coming on Julie's Book Review. I wish you lots of success and hope you and your families all have a Happy New year. Have a wonderful Great Year! Julie Ramsey juliesbookreview.blogspot.com

1/29/13

Interview of Nick Pollotta

Lets welcome Nick Pollotta to Julie's Book Review. Nick is giving away an autographed copy of his new Paranormal Romance, "Gentlemen Prefer Witches", so don't forget to check out the rafflecopter to the right of the pg.

Welcome to Julies Book Review. Can you tell me a little about yourself?
Sure, happy to. I'm married, live in Chicago, and write three novels a year. I've held the mandatory thousand-and-one odd jobs, everything from a ditch digger to an inorganic chemist. I love books and reading. My wife recently gave me a Kindle, and I had a ball loading it up with hundreds of favorite novels. Now, I am never without something wonderful to read. It's great carrying an entire library tucked under your arm.  


What kind of books do you write?
A little bit of everything, Science Fiction, Fantasy, YA, Horror, Action/Adventure, Romance ...but my best books are a mixture of Fantasy and Humor, such as the 'Bureau 13" series, my Steampunk novel, "That Darn Squid God!", or my Paranormal Romance, "Gentlemen Prefer Witches".

Newest release?That would be "Gentlemen Prefer Witches". So far, the reviews have been excellent...although many folks seemed surprised that a guy could write a decent romance. That pleases me greatly. I love surprising people. I'm already hard at work on the sequel.

What should we expect in your book? Action/Adventure, drama etc.?Action, humor, and sex, are always fun. But complex characters are the meat of any story. William Faulkner once said that there is truly only one plot in all of fiction, the human heart in conflict with itself. I totally agree. It's sort of like the irresistible force meeting the immovable object. Whatever the ultimate outcome, the side-effects are going to be spectacular!

How do you get ideas for your books?Mostly from life, just from wondering what happened, and what could have happened? I often watch a movie, and think to myself 'now, I would have done that scene differently'. On the way home my mind starts cooking, and soon I have another novel roughed, and ready to go. My mind never really stops working. Just can't turn the damn thing off.  
Anything in your stories based on real experiences?
Historical events, of course, but also anything true in life. When I write a romantic scene, I must 'open my veins' as they say. I must reveal my own cowardice in the hero to make his rise dramatic, and so on. I'm only the spark, the characters are the flame.

Toughest criticism?Early in my career, before the easy access to the Internet that everybody take for granted these days, I asked a friend in the military to tell me about a weapon. Smiling, he did - but everything he said was wrong. Deliberately wrong. he thought my editor would catch the goofs and I would look silly in private. Unfortunately, she didn't, the book went out, and took a lot of heat from critics for not doing my due diligence. Mia culpa!
This mistake has never happened again. I now use the same rules that journalists do, I want three, independent sources, to confirm the information, before I use it. Once burned, twice shy, as my Scottish ancestors liked to say.

Best compliment?I'm a big fan of musicals, and one critic called me the 'Gene Kelly' of fictional combat, crafting amazingly beautiful chaos. I cut it out and framed it for my office wall. Kelly is a hero of mine, to compare us, well...!

Any advice for aspiring authors?Be true to yourself. Write from the hip, so to speak. Don't try to outwit the market, or jump on a passing bandwagon. Ignore fads and trends. Just write about things you truly care about, and readers will respond.
 
How about some fun stuff?
Well, I like to have my earlobes nibbled...too much? Sorry. My wife and I watch as much live theater as we can afford, and once a week we meet with all of our friends at a local restaurant and spend the evening talking, and laughing. It is always the highlight our of our week. We're thinking about having T-shirts made with a logo.

Dogs or cats?Cats! They don't bark to go outside and disturb me while writing. Cats are quiet. That's a good thing for a working author.  
Fav book? Why?
Whew. Tough question. If pressed for an answer, I would say..."Bridge of Birds" by Barry Hughart. It is a Fantasy/Comedy set in a China-That-Never-Was, as if all of their complex mythology was 100% true, with ghost ,and demons, and gods, everywhere. It is exceptional clever, funny, wise, touching, and I nearly burst into tears at the wonderful-wonderful ending. Damn, what a book!

Favorite place to travel?Boston is nice, as is Philadelphia. But in truth...I'm a ham. I love going to conventions where I'm the GOH, signing books, talking on panels, doing dramatic readings, holding seminars for new writers. I live a quiet life...punctuated with brief bursts of wild showmanship.

Fav author? Why?That would be a dead heat between Lois McMaster Bujold, and Robert B. Spencer. Both of them write exceptional complex characters that are always entertaining. Inner conflict is the fuel in their jet engines.
Lois writes about a physically weak man who must use his mind to survive, while Robert writes about a physically powerful man whose strength is often not enough, and he must reason out a proper solution. It is the classic formula of mind over muscle. Love it!
 
Is this your full time job? If yes, anything else you want to do? If no what else do you do?
Yes, writing has been my full time job for nearly 20 years. No, I'll never stop writing. My mourners will hear the keyboard clicking through the lid of my coffin.
Where can we find you and your books?My health is not great these days, so I only go to conventions in the Midwest, driving distance from Chicago. My books are available on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Books-a-Million, etc. etc. I've got a lot of fans in Australia and Russia.  http://www.nickpollotta.com/

http://www.amazon.com/Gentlemen-Prefer-Witches-ebook/dp/B007XJ6ZDC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1358096257&sr=8-1&keywords=gentlemen+prefer+witches


Thanks Nick. It has been a pleasure. I hope you are healthy and well very soon. Good luck with all you do and If you need any more reviews you are always welcome here on JBR!

Julie Ramsey
administrator of JBR

1/28/13

Interview with Sara King

Lets welcome Sara King to Julie's Book Review. Sara is giving away a $25 gift card, so don't forget to check out the rafflecopter to the right of the pg.
Welcome to Julies Book Review. Can you tell me a little about yourself?
Hi Julie!  Yes.  I eat chocolate.

(long pause)

Ohhh.  You wanted MORE about me.  Okay.  (ahem)  I'm a bestselling Alaskan writer who helped found Parasite Publications, which specializes in publishing those kinds of character novels that leave you desperate to read more about the characters, then make you wanna strangle the author for ending the book before you were ready to leave them behind.  I was born up here in the good ol' Frozen North and spend my winters tucked away in my Writing Cave (it's like a Bat Cave, but for writers!) pounding away at my keyboard for your reading pleasure.



What kind of books do you write?

All of them.

Newest release?

My next release will be the 4-book epic sci-fi series The Legend of ZERO.  If you liked Outer Bounds, you'll like this one.  After that, we'll be publishing another (2??) Guardians of the First Realm book(s).  Then I've been threatened at the wrong end of a plastic spoon to write another Outer Bounds book.  And a Terms of Mercy book.  And a Guardians book.  And an Aulds of the Spyre book.  Excuse me whilst my head explodes.

What should we expect in your book? action,adventure, drama etc.
All of it.

How do you get ideas for your books?
I pull it out of my ass.  All of it.

Anything in your stories based on real experiences?

All of it.

(long pause)

Ohhh, okay.  (nervous throat-clearing)  Yeah, pretty much all of it?  Still not enough??  Aw, jeez.  Okay.  So maybe I DON'T know any honest-to-God wereverines or Furies or telepaths or cyborgs (unless my second-grade lunch lady counted??), but I can and do speculate.  (And if you guys are out there, FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, COME MEET ME!!  I live in Alaska and I wear a funny hat!)  I have had a bunch of what you would call 'paranormal' experiences and I love to twist them into something fun for everybody to explore.


Toughest criticism? Best compliment?
Toughest criticism is someone putting my book down halfway through.  Ouch.  Best compliment?  I get a lot of them, but generally, someone gushing about Firefly and Orson Scott Card and George R. R. Martin and Start Trek and Star Wars and throwing Outer Bounds or The Legend of ZERO books in there as part of the lineup.  That's pretty awesome.

any advice for aspiring authors?
Don't give up.  Practice does not make perfect.  Practice gives you another draft and makes you better.  Even if you're a total writing genius, you're still going to end up writing about 4 books before one of them is worthy of others' eyes.  Until you have your requisite four books written, anyone who is willing to put up with your drivel in the meantime deserves cookies.  And pizza.  Possibly beer.

How about some fun stuff?

Sure!  There's this place in Anchorage on 5th Avenue where they have all these cool little devices and videos and outfits they're REALLY discreet.  You can take your guy in there and walk down the aisles and turn stuff on and...  What?  Why are you looking at me like that?

Dogs or cats?

Cats are sociopathic little cowards that need to die.  (Doesn't help that entering the same room with them give me hives so bad my skin weeps pus.)  Dogs are cool.
1 Fav book? why?(or one you can recommend)

I recommend George R. R. Martin's Game of Thrones to lovers of epic fantasy and AJ Myers' Something Witchy for those of you who like YA Paranormal Romance.  Both of them are EXTREMELY good at creating rich and entertaining characters.

Favorite place to travel?

Alaska!  It's called the Greatland for a reason!  And considering it's 1/3 the size of the U.S., I've still got a ways left to explore up here before I feel obligated to go anywhere less cool (i.e. the Lower 48).

1 fav author? Why? (or one you could recommend)
George R. R. Martin is my hero.  He is the epitome of a character writer.  If my books could someday even come close to being worthy of wiping the dirt from Mr. Martin's shoes, I will be happy.  Then I will continue to practice until I'm worthy of, oh, I dunno, shaking his hand seems too presumptuous.  Maybe holding his coat?  I promise not to sniff it.

Is this your full time job? if yes, anything else you want to do? if no what else do you do?

(Eyes go wide)  There is something other than writing??  (in a whisper)  Is that allowed?
Where can we find you and your books?(links, social groups)

Links!  You guys can find me on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/kingfiction or check out Parasite Publications and how we're busting down the doors of publishing for the little guys at http://www.facebook.com/parasitepublications
For those of you who are new to the Sara King experience, I'd suggest you start with Alaskan Fire at http://www.amazon.com/Alaskan-Guardians-First-Realm-ebook/dp/B0073WZ01C/ or Outer Bounds: Fortune's Rising at http://www.amazon.com/Outer-Bounds-Fortunes-Rising-ebook/dp/B008HYWOHI/  Fortune's Rising is an all-out favorite of just about every reader I've ever had, and even those people who hate sci-fi tell me they love this book.  Alaskan Fire is for those of you who can only stand the thought of Paranormal Romance.  :)
You can also send me emails proclaiming my awesomeness at kingnovel@gmail.com.  (No, really.  Do that.)

Thank you for coming on Julie's Book Review. I wish you lots of success and hope you and your families all have a Happy New year.
Have a wonderful Great Year!
Julie Ramsey

juliesbookreview.blogspot.com

1/27/13

Review of The Horoscope Writer by Elodie Parkes

The Horoscope Writer

Dominic, a writer by trade, has been alone for a long while. As a writer, he makes his living by writing for several magazines, articles and even the horoscopes. When he meets Cassie, his world is turned upside down. He is so drawn to her, it is scary. He doesn't understand the attraction but loves it. Cassie feels the same way and the two have a whirlwind romance, full of sex and getting to know each other. Dominic, writes his articles and craves the woman he becomes almost obsessed with. He notices that when he writes for the horoscopes, that the things he predicts are coming true. His good friend's love life comes to life and bad things happen that he had foretold in a horoscope. But what will Cassie think and will a prediction ruin the budding relationship before it really even gets started?


This was a cute story about a new set of lovers, how they meet and people over thinking things. Dominic, needs to learn how and what he truly wants. Cassie knows what she wants and is just as attracted to Dominic as he is to her. The book was cute and had a decent story line but even though it was short was a little slow. I wish more would have been tied into the Horoscope stuff too, add more paranormal aspects to it, I think that would have made the story a little more interesting. It is really a contemporary romance. The sex scenes are many and bring there attraction to a point because they do seem to be doing it like bunnies!  Over all the story was descent, the sex scenes many but not scotching hot. If you are looking for a short contemporary, this may be for you.  3 out of 5 stars

Review of : Wine And Nine Collection of Short Erotic stories

Wine And Nine
Authors:
: Doris O'Connor, Raven McAllan, Jorja Lovett, Alannah Harte, Cherie Nicholls, Arya Grey, Brenda Brakeway, Michaela Rhua, Ursula C. Williams

OK this review is a little different. The stories are really too short to got into too much. But I will give you the basics. 8 women are on a travel tour and 1 driver. Some looking to hook up with a good Scottish man, others not sure what they want. They stop at a Scottish pub. One story about each women and what they find out about themselves.  Each woman has a short story to tell and what they are doing on the tour and then there encounters. The encounters are HOT!! Talk about a scorching book. 9 short stories in all, talk about a bang for your $$. Each encounter as hot as the next. It has everything from to menage to M/M scenes. to bondage. Even though it is short, it worth the read! I am very glad Doris O'Conner sent me the book. One of the best things I liked about this book was I got to meet so many new authors. Any of you are welcome to send me anything you need reviewed. Great way to read and get a taste of some really good authors. All but one I had never read before, I am hoping to get a chance to read more from them!

1/26/13

Review of Jungle Freakn Bride By Eve Langlais



Jungle Freakin' Bride

Carlie is part of a research team. they are doing their research in the middle of the jungle. So when she wakes up to find a jaguar in her face and in her tent, she knows she is in trouble. Acat & Chaob are jaguars shifters. Part of the legendary Moon Ghost Tribe and best friends, they are also cursed. In the tribes past, a women was killed in a fight between 2 men. So the gods had decided that 2 men would be to every women and they would bare only sons. So to get there brides, they had to go outside the tribe. The men were to leave a huge dowery of gold/jewels/riches to the family and steal their bride. Then they were to take her to the village and prove they were worthy to have a wife and then prove to her that they were her mates. So threesomes are the norm in their tribe. Along with tradition. So when Acat's father tells him the gods have spoken and his bride is out there, he and his best friend must go find their bride and steal her and then prove themselves worthy. Carlie, blond hair and tall, wakes with a fright and has no idea shifters exist. She is about to enter a world that could give her the best pleasure imaginable, being cherished by two men or will she run for home and to what she knows as normal. Can these 2 men, give her everything she needs and desires to keep her.

I LOVE these books. Carlie is in for a whirl win romance. She has 2 men who want nothing else than to make her happy. They get more than what they bargained for with Carlie though. She is a modern women with modern desires and needs. They win her body but but will they win her heart? The characters are very well done and you feel the conflict in the men. They want to give her everything she needs but they are also fighting tradition and the way of their tribe. Carlie is just thrown into a world she had no idea existed and of not giving a choice in the matter. Her old life is really taken from her and I believe the men have a lot of making up to do. The sex scenes are hot and Carlie gets some really hot make up sex but will it be enough?

GREAT MUST READ, if you like the series. It is a stand alone book but if you read the series you will love this book.

Last day of the giveaway!!

Review of Human and Freakin by Eve Langlais

Human and Freakin


Ruth's sister has been kidnapped. In the middle of a jungle with her research friends, 3 girls are kidnapped, by a group of men. Ruth is going to use the little bit of courage she has and she will save her older sister. Joel and Kendrick, best friends since childhood are on a mission. Find the secret jaguar shifter community (a legend) in a jungle where they are thought to have taken 3 girls. When the 2 guys cross paths with Ruth, a chunky, very tall and determined young women, the guys are shocked. Neither had every thought to find their mate in the middle of the jungle and neither had ever thought to share a women. Ruth convinces the men to let her join them on the journey, even though their instincts are screaming at them to get her out of the danger. She has to be the luckiest girl alive, all these gorgeous men surrounding her and exspecially Joel and Kendrick.  She has no idea their attraction means a lot more than she ever would have dreamed. Ruth knows there is no way either of these men can be attracted to her...could they?


This was a great book! Again very funny situations and dynamics. The characters are very endearing and relatable. Ruth, a girl who feels she is chunky and not pretty (no women ever feels like that...lol)! So her self esteem is extremely low. So when she is attracted to 2 very hot men, she just knows that they are showing her interest just because she is all that is available. Joel and Kendrick best friends, have there own baggage. Kendrick wants to get through this mission, Joel  had a neglectful father and was basically adopted by Kendricks family. The men know Ruth is human and does not know anything about the world they live in. The tension is toe curling and the sex scenes are GREAT!! I love the guys and envy Ruth!! AWESOME book!  MFM scenes!!Can't wait for the next one!

Last Day of the contest....make sure you try for the give away!

1/25/13

Review of Already Freaking Mated by Eve Langlais

Already Freakin Mated


Chris, popular handyman, saving for a home of his own, is out to check out a job. A new couple has moved into the area and wants to get a quote to make a gym in their basement. Stopping by the nice ranch style home, he knocks. When he meets the beautiful woman Jill in the door way, he can't believe she is his mate! There is one major problem, she already has a husband. Jill and her husband (Jack...hehe) don't want to socialize. Even though everyone in the area are shifters just like them, they can't risk being exposed. They are in hiding. Jack sees Chris and slams the door in his face. He sees the looks Chris and Jill are giving each other and he will not stand for it. He knows he has to keep Jill safe from herself and the monster that is chasing them. Chris never wanted a threesome and has a feeling there is more to this marriage than meets the eye. But can he convince Jill to give him a chance. And with this shifter community and Chris's family can Jack and Jill (Jiao & Sheng) keep there secret safe or will their nightmare come for them.


I have to say this Freaking series is one of my favorite series of shifter books out there. I laugh in each book. The situations and the family dynamics are amazing. The sexual tension is awesome and the sex scenes ....wow! This is a stand alone book but if you read them in order you will understand more of the family dynamics. WONDERFUL book 5 stars....Please Eve keep them coming!!

Review of Jealous and Freakn' by Eve Langlais

4 out of 5 stars. Adult situations and very intense sex scenes

Francine has been Naomi's best friend since they were both kids. No secrets between them. If you can't trust your werewolf bestie, who can you trust? Francine has been very open about Naomi's brother Mitchell being her mate for years. Just as Mitchell has been very open about not being interested for years. Here she is unable to get the one she's meant to be with to even stay in the same room with her, and her best friend is pregnant and in a wonderful menage' relationship.

Alejandro is in town to visit his brother and let some things at home settle down. One look at the fiesty Francine and he has no problems agreeing to her plan of making Mitchell by using him. He can't wait to think of more ways for her to use him and soon he realizes that this is a permanent feeling for him. She's his mate. His brother is already in a menage' relationship with her best friend so he knows it's possible to make it work, he'll do anything for Francine. Mitchell is the problem though, how far will he go?

Oh Francine!!! You poor thing! You get rejected by the man you love most of your life, you finally try to find love for yourself and there's that incident you went through in the book that I sure as heck never would have survived that forced Alejandro to leave you with Mitchell long enough to hunt someone down! How much can one girl handle?

Jamie K

1/24/13

Eve Langlais Interview on Julies Book review

Lets welcome Eve Langlais to Julie's Book Review. Eve is giving away an ebook copy of her latest release, Jungle Freakn' Bride, so don't forget to check out the rafflecopter to the right of the pg.

Welcome to Julies Book Review. Can you tell me a little about yourself? I am a boring housewife living in the Ottawa area trying to juggle 3 kids, a hubby and my job. Totally dull. But, if you ignore my real life and take a peek inside my brain, now that is a whole other story. Hidden beneath my mundane exterior are tons of stories waiting to be written, most of them involving wolves or aliens :)

What kind of books do you write? Newest release? I like to write stories that push the boundaries of what we think of as real; hot alpha men that change into animals, hunky purple skinned aliens who kidnap human women, clueless males who are part machine, you know, cool stuff lol.  I love the paranormal and science fiction, mix in some romance and I'm in heaven. For an example, check out my latest release, Jungle Freakn' Bride which features a pair of men who can shapeshift into jaguars.


I know you write shifter type books, what can readers expect? How HOT? MF,MFM, MM,FF? Action? Adventure? I write either MF or MFM romances. I'm all about a woman's pleasure when it comes to writing lol. Selfish, I know, but what can I say, I write what I like and I love it when the focus is all on her. I'm open door for sure, but not hard core. I prefer to build up to the romantic/sexy parts.

My personal favorites are the FUC series and the Freakn' series, are going to get lots more from these series? The Freakn' series is now up to 5 books -- which is about 4 more than I ever expected to write in that series. But I fell in love with the characters and the family dynamics in the first book, Delicate Freakn' Flower. I expect we'll see more Freakn' Shifters books but probably not until at least late 2013 at this point. My FUC series at 3 books is also not quite done. I see at least one more book there, more if the right idea hits. I have such a good time with the meld of animal and humor in those tales, I don't know if I'll ever be able to completely say that series is done. Not when there's so many possibilities!


Do you write more than just Paranormal romance? What and what can we expect from your other stories? I really enjoy Science Fiction romance as well. Cyborgs and aliens are hot, in my mind at least lol. I just finished up Mercenary Abduction, book 4 in my Alien Abduction series and I am already thinking about my next SFR project involving cyborgs. Gotta love those clueless machines as they try to handle their emerging human emotions.

How do you get ideas for your books? I honestly don't know. Things just kind of come to me and I write.


Anything in your stories based on real experiences? Um, no. Hubby is 100% human. But I love him anyway. And no, we don't have a wildly kinky sex life (to his chagrin lol).


Toughest criticism? Best compliment? Toughest criticism, is probably length. Even when I write full length novels, people clamor for more. But at the same time it's a compliment because it means my stories suck people in enough that the time flies and before they know it they're done.

Any advice for aspiring authors? Focus less on numbers and marketing and more on getting the next story written and written well. Don't shirk things like editing and telling the story in full.


How about some fun stuff


Dogs or cats?
Cats unless the dog is really teeny tiny.


Chocolate or Sex?  Um, chips (with dip).

1 Fav book? why? Damn. That's hard, but given my recent splurge I'd have to say Illona Andrews Kate Daniels series. I just love Curan.
          I love that series too....Curan is hot!!


Favorite place to travel? None yet. I'm going to take my first real trip in 2013. And I'm terrified lol.


1 fav author? Why? Laurann Dohner because I know I'll get a good story with awesome heat.


Are you a a full time writer? If no what else do you do? If yes is there anything else you would like to do? I write full time, but also still do web programming for my boss of 16 years. What can I say, I like to multi task lol.


Where can we find you and your books?and are there any social media sites we can find you on? Find me at www.EveLanglais.com My website provides links to all the online stores with my books. You can also read excerpts, check out my hot covers and much more. I'm also on Facebook for those who'd like to follow me.

Thanks everyone for taking the time to read this interview. I wish you and yours a Merry Freakn' Christmas and an awesome New Year!!!

Thank you for coming on Julie's Book Review. I wish you lots of success and hope you and your families all have a Happy Holiday.
Have a wonderful year!
Julie Ramsey
juliesbookreview.blogspot.com

Review of Delicate Freakn' Flower by Eve Langlais‏

4.5 out of 5 stars Very funny and very intense sex scenes...just the way it should be!!!

Naomi doesn't ask for much, just appreciate her for how brilliant she is and let her find a nice calm human to settle down with. She's just so tired of all of the drama and fist fights that always happened growing up with five werewolf brothers. Peace and quiet, why is that so much to ask for!!!

Ethan and Javier never stood a chance. Never mind that they are both professional athletes and that Ethan is a Were-Bear and Javier a Jaguar. To Naomi they are just dumb jocks and even if they are attentative, sexy, sensitive, AND get along with her mother. These guys have their work cut out for them, because as much as Naomi thinks she wants the princess gloves, she doesn't know how to anything without a fight. She might be the smallest, but she always wins the fight.

This book was a great read from beginning to end! I absolutely love Naomi's Mom! Makes you really want to follow around the whole family and find out what other kind of trouble they can get into because it's sure to be really good reading!

Jamie K

1/23/13

Review Death's Storm BY: Lia Davis

Death's Storm

The witch community, ran by the magic Divinities, who are fighting the demons bent on destroying, all they cherish are under attack. The Divinities all have there own special powers and gifts. In book one Khloe's twin had found her magical mate. Khloe is a head strong witch that tends to do what she wants and very impulsive. Even so, she is brilliant with computers and very strong as a witch. Which is a great asset to the Divinities as a whole. Jagger works and was raised by the goddess Hecate. He is a half demon himself and is more like a demi god, so very powerful. When they meet sparks fly. Khloe doesn't want to trust him due to his demon side. Jagger knows she is something special. His domineering ways don't settle to well with Khloe's strong personality but she is having a hard time resisting Jagger's drop dead sexy looks and knows they both are working toward a common goal...stop the demons. The demons, having a couple witches in custody and have found new ways to torture and try to get information out of them. And when they kidnapped some kids that where under the witches protection, all bets are off. Can Jagger and Khloe come together and work as a team to help save the kids and the witches they thought were lost them?

Death's Storm was  fast paced and action packed. Lots of action and some suspense. I enjoy the story line of the divinities and there demon enemies. The heat between the 2 main characters is scorching. You feel the tension from there first glance. You know if Khloe gives in just a little, she will be lost to Jagger. Jagger wants to be in charge but he must learn if he wants Khloe he needs to trust she knows what she is doing. If you enjoyed book 1 you will LOVE book 2. Lia amped it up even higher for book 2. You don't have to read book one but you will understand everything better if you do. Adult content so 18 and up.

Rafflecopter going strong!! Come check out Lia Davis's new series and Eve Langlais  starts tomoorrow! Ebooks, Gift cards, and swag up for grabs!!

1/22/13

Review of Winters Eve by Lia Davis

Winters Eve

Danica is a healer for her shifter community. She was scared in a fire and has lost some of her abilities. Depressed, she decides to live alone. Her alpha keeps an eye on her but is always worried and has his enforcers go by her home. She goes out for a run and runs across the road, and is almost hit by a car. The man in the car swerves to miss her and hits the rock wall. Nevan is not hurt but his car is totaled. He sees an animal and follows it. Leading him to a house in the woods, were he meets Danica. To him Danica is the most beautiful woman he has ever seen. He sees the few scars and doesn't care. Danica believes she is about to bring Nevan into a world he has no clue of. Nevan knows something is up. He was raised among mountain lion shifters and is no stranger to the paranormal. They both know they have meet someone special, now they just have to prove it to the rest of Danica's pack.

This novella was a great start to what I think will be a awesome series. The packs are together but have an evil group out to concur and destroy what they all will fight to protect. Danica has been hurting for so long that, when she meets Nevan, it is like a breath of fresh air. Someone that treats her like she is an equal and looks beyond the scars. I can't wait to read more of the series and see what Lia will bring. Thanks for the great read.

Rafflecopter to the right of the pg.....Swag + GC+ Ebook up for grabs!

1/21/13

Character inteveiw with Lia Davis Jan 21

                                    Interview with Nevan and Dani from Winter Eve



Hi! Lia here. I’m so happy to be here this week sharing my two latest books and the characters with you. Today I’m interviewing Nevan and Dani. 


Lia: Hi guys! Thanks so much for coming alone today.

Dani: Hi, Lia. We’re happy to be here.
Nevan: Thank you for inviting us.


Lia: My first question is for Nevan. You’re not new to the world of shapeshifters, are you?

Nevan: *chuckles* No. My father married my stepmother when I was two. She and my four stepbrothers are mountain lion shifters. Because I was so young when they married, I thought the human children were the strange ones when my parents put me in pre-K at the age of four.

Lia: Oh, boy.

Nevan: Yep. Sarah had pulled me out of school when the other kids started teasing me about being a freak. She homeschooled me up till I entered high school.
Dani: *links her fingers with his* I wish I knew him then. I bet he was cute.
Nevan: *raises an eyebrow at his mate* And I’m not cute now?
Dani: Nope. *she leans in and whispers something in his ear*

*Nevan cups Dani’s face in his hands and kisses her, hard*


Lia: *I clear my throat to remind them that they are not alone* Can we get back to the interview?
*The couple breaks the kiss and cast innocent looks my way. Laughing I move on the next question* So, Dani. What made you help Nevan the night you met?

Dani: Besides the fact that I caused him to crash his rental into the rock wall? It was an accident. The car light frightened me. I was in leopard form, and the cat was in complete control until the car crashed. When he stepped out of the car…well, I just had to know more about him.


Lia: Are you still living in the cabin, or has Keegan convinced you to move back in town?

Dani: We’re moving, but staying there until our house is built. 
Nevan: *Tucks a strand of hair behind her ear* It’s won’t be long now. The cabin will be used as an outpost for the Enforcers.

Lia: I bet Keegan is happy.

Dani: *laughs* Yeah. He never liked the fact that the cabin didn’t have a phone, but he allowed me to my space. Besides he checked in on me regularly and there was an Enforcer always lurking around the place. *she rolls her eyes*


Lia: *I stifle a giggle* So, um…How’s Jared doing?

Dani: *sighs* I knew you were going to ask. He says he’s okay. Physically he’s healed thanks to Sonia aiding me.
Nevan: *rubs circles on her back* We’re worried about how he’s doing emotionally. I sense anger in him that wasn’t there before the attack.

Lia: Anger is normal to have after something like that.

Dani: Not with Jared. He had always been in complete control of his emotions, freakishly so. I try to get him to talk to someone. I don’t expect him to talk to Nev, but at least he can talk to Keegan or Luna, or even his sister, Cameron.


Lia: I hope he does something soon. Dani, you mentioned Sonia helping you heal Jared. Is your healing magick working again.

Dani: *cheeks flush* Well, apparently I never really lost my healing ability. I lost faith in it, which made it go dormant, so to speak. Finding and loving Nev had resorted my confidence in myself and my healing powers. Plus Shay has found the right mix of herbs to help heal my scars and bring back some of the feeling in my hand.


Lia: That is great! Wow, look at the time. Thank you so much for coming by to chat.
And thank you, Julie for having us.



Title: Winter Eve, Ashwood Falls prequel
Author: By Lia Davis Publisher: Fated Desires Publishing
Genre: Paranormal Romance 

Make sure you check out the rafflecopter to the right of this page! Two commenters will each receive a $5 Starbucks GC, handmade book thong, and a swag pack.

Lia Davis's Winter Eve Blurb/excerpt/Bio Jan 21

Blurb:
There comes a time when setting your differences aside isn’t just necessary, it’s a means of survival. After losing over half of their dens to a group rogue shifters, the wolves and leopards merged as one Pack, but living together is much more of a challenge then they expected.

Danica Welsh was born to be the leopard pack healer. An accident involving a drug induced youth left her badly burned and scared—emotionally and physically. Without the ability to heal by touch, she secludes herself to the edge of town, away from Ashwood Falls’ overly concerned citizens. All hope of mating and family become a distance dream. When she finally starts to accepts the long, lonely existence ahead of her, a stranger crashes into her life, and her heart.

After Nevan Mathews’ fiancĂ©e died three ago, he submerged himself into his work, cutting off all reminders of a life he dreamed of with the woman he loved. He lets his step-mother talk him into taking the first vacation in five years to visit for the holidays. But an accident delays his travel plans, sending him to Danica’s doorstep and raises a need he thought he would never feel again.
Can they tear down the walls around their hearts and submit to the passion before another claims Dani for his own?

Warning: Contains a shifter who's scars run deeper than skin, a human who has the heart of a shifter, and a snow storm that's sure to have them both reaching for warmth.



Buy Links: Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Winter-Eve-Ashwood-Falls-ebook/dp/B00AP97Y3C/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1355751049&sr=8-8&keywords=lia+davis

 B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/winter-eve-lia-davis/1045447813?ean=2940016105901

 ARe: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-wintereve-1026088-139.html

 Kobo: http://www.kobobooks.com/ebook/Winter-Eve/book-XdS2jHnLRkaH2UbWnSXBpw/page1.html?s=eAhL72jjSE-X9ec7a5lSaA&r=3




Excerpt:
Movement to his right caught his attention, and he narrowed his eyes for a better look. A large leopard crouched, staring at him from the roadside. With eyes that reflected the full moon's light, the creature blinked and let out a soft growl before it turned to walk up a gravel driveway.
The animal was beautiful, scary, and its eyes held a hint of humanity. Could it be a were? Sarah hadn’t said anything about others living this far up the mountain. When the beast turned to look at him, he swore it wanted him to follow. He took a step forward, and the cat started walking again.
"Oh, great, Nev. You're being lead away by a cat, like Alice and that damn rabbit," he muttered to himself. No one would ever believe him. In fact, it was probably leading him to the den to share with the rest of the pack. Shaking his head at the ridiculous thought, he walked up the driveway. The cat sped up, running ahead much too fast for him. Then it darted into the woods a few feet from a single-story log cabin nestled into the surrounding trees. Another step caused a blinding light to click on, illuminating the front of the yard and the cabin. A few moments later, the door opened, revealing the most beautiful woman he'd ever seen. She stepped out onto the large wide porch. Her straight silk-like strawberry blond hair cascaded over her shoulders and stopped at her waist. The light of the full moon cast against her pale skin made her look like a goddess.
"What can I do to help you?"
Her velvety smooth voice warmed his body and awoke a very specific part of his anatomy. It was several seconds before he found his voice and shook out of the trance she’d cast upon him. "I crashed my car and wondered if you have a phone. My cell doesn't get service up here."
"I don’t have a phone." Her gaze left him to search their surroundings and stopped as she glanced toward the dark sky as though she saw something he didn't, or couldn't, see. "But, come inside. You’ll freeze to death in the storm." She turned and walked back inside.
Storm?
A single snowflake drifted in front of his face, landing on his nose.



Author Bio

Lia Davis is a mother to two young adults and two very special kitties, a wife to her soul mate, a paranormal romance author, graphic designer, and co-owner to Fated Desires Publishing, LLC. She and her family live in Northeast Florida battling hurricanes and very humid summers. But it’s her home and she loves it!

An accounting major, Lia has always been a dreamer with a very activity imagination. The wheels in her head never stop. She ventured into the world of writing and publishing in 2008 and loves it more than she imagined. Writing and designing are stress relievers that allow her to go off in her corner of the house and enter into another world that she created, leaving real life where it belongs.

Her favorite things are spending time with family, traveling, reading, writing, chocolate, coffee, nature and hanging out with her kitties.

Check out the Rafflecopter to the right of this page!

1/20/13

Review of Shadows of GoldStar by Terrence Scott

 Shadows of GoldStar
 
 
A retired cop,Janus Owens becomes a private investigator 
or PI. He is a big guy he grew up on a planet that was 
bigger than most, so his body was accustomed to a higher 
gravity he is so big and very strong. So when the 
confederate planets calls for a human, you go. That's 
when everything started going from bad to worse. GoldStar 
was a myth to children stories. He was sent to GoldStar 
on a mission because the people of the strange isolated 
planet have isolated themselves from humanity, but they 
invited him Owens but for what reason?
 
The story is well written and easy to follow, you don't 
have to many parts that are to confusing. The author 
keeps the characters well defined. I really enjoyed the 
story line very. Entertaining to the last page.
 
Rated:4 1/2 stars
It has very little sex in it but I would still say 14 
years or older.
 
Cookie: Nathan

Review of The City at World's End by Edmond Hamiltion

Title the city at world's end.
 
Author: Edmond Hamilton
 
Time travel in a most unique way the author 
told the story. When you think about time, 
you don't know who or what changes in the 
time line can effect. Who would think of 
political problems with Time...
 
There are things that are some what explained 
but not for sure. The story is told from several 
points of view, so you get different ways to 
look at problems. Politics comes into play anytime 
people get to set. The book was a smooth read but 
I think a little to involved in politics.
Rating 4stars
I think any age could read the story
 
I would read other titles from this author in the future.
 
Cookie:  Nathan

Review of Jigsaw by Douglas Smith

Jigsaw 




Jigsaw. The story starts out in a world that
can travel to the stars. One person who loves 
puzzles, then is given a puzzle to solve. She's a 
very smart scientist. She looks at the world as 
if everything is a Jigsaw puzzle too be solved. 
There is where the story begins.
 
 
Book is easy to understand and easy to read. 
You can guess what's happening next so I found
it cute but not taxing enough a story. Good thing 
it was short, it didn't take long to read.
No rough language, YA approved.
Cookie: Nathan w

Having a great month so far! Check it out!!

I just have to Thank all of my new and old followers for a great month so far. Lots of views on the site, if we keep going the way we are it will be my best month ever!! I still have 2 more contests to start this month. Some really  really great authors have slotted to come on board. Trying to work out some really great events for the future months as well. Winners of this last giveaway are....drum roll please.....

Patricia C.- Sunburn


Travis S- Lykaia


Jennifer M- JBR swag pack


Patricia and Travis you will be contacted by the authors. If you haven't heard anything by the end of the month please let me know. Jennifer, you one my prize! If you would send me(djjramsey@hotmail.com) an email with your address  I will get your prize in the mail this wk.

Coming next 
Lia Davis New Series and Eva Langlais!!  New contest starts tomorrow with 3 new authors interviews and lots of reviews!!

Hope to see lots of entries!!
Julie Ramsey
administrator of JBR

1/19/13

Review of Wicked Wives by Gus Pelagatti

The Wicked Wives . . . . A novel based on a true story
Gus Pelagatti

This book is based on 5 women; Lillian Stoner the opium addict, Eva Russo the gambler, Joanna Napoli a gift shop owner, Rose Grady the "kiss of death widow and Sadie Lamb who runs a boarding house. What do they all have in common ?? Sex, love of money, all widows  and in love with Giorgio Disipio a local tailor. He convinces these women to kill of their husbands for insurance money. From there they start a death ring.  It took a few years and a lot of work but these women and Giorgio went down !!

This book was set in the 1930's. I fell in love from the first page. It is filled with suspense. I love reading and watching about the mob and this one was right up there ! It was different to see women doing the killing rather than the men! I think that made it more exciting! ! ! It has it all! Suspense, crime, sex, drugs and court house drama! I highly recommend this read, exceptionally if you like true crime. Its a book you want to start with early morning coffee and finish up at night with a glass of wine.

I would rate this has a 5 star !

Wende

1/18/13

Review of The Hunted by Virginia McKevitt

Fracture
The Secret Enemy Saga

The Hunted

New Orleans better watch out, there is a new threat and it isn't the weather.  The Couton have made their way to the city and are making themselves at home.  And it is up to Tegin and Kristina, along with their friends, Sissy and Jimmy, to rid the famous city of its newest members before the body count rises.

Review:  This is book 2 in The Secret Enemy Saga.  This is a fast paced, paranormal mystery, centered on the Couton and the people who are hunting them, Tegrin and Kristina.   I had not read the first book in the saga, therefore, I felt left out of important information that might have helped in the knowledge I needed to understand the different beings and what they actually were.  Despite the confusion, it really was a good, fast paced adventure.  I was anxious to see what would happen next.  It was a good book on its own but I feel like it could have been a really good book if I had read book one. So, if you like paranormal mystery this is certainly the book (or books) for you. Just remember to read them in order!



Theresa F.

Review of The Selkie by Rosanna Leo

The Selkie by Rosanna Leo
Maggie thought she was getting a promotion she had been working hard to get.  Instead, her job has been eliminated and she's now unemployed.  She goes to her fiance's office to cry on his shoulder and finds his assistant on her knees in front of him.  Temp jobs don't last and to top off everything, Maggie starts having real feeling dreams about a very hot guy and a seal with expressive brown eyes.
When Maggie's Gran dies and leaves everything to her, Maggie travels to Scotland to sort out her effects.  She finds a note from her Gran telling her to find a seal skin she has hidden in her favorite place, and not to let it out of her sight.  Maggie has no idea where the skin is or why her Gran felt it was important.
Falling asleep on the beach by Gran's house one day, Maggie has a hot encounter with her dream man.  When she wakes up, she is surprised to find that Calan is real.  She doesn't believe his story of being a Selkie, which is a seal that can transform into a man, nor his story of how he must make himself available sexually to whoever has custody of his pelt.  They go on a quest to find the pelt together, searching all of the places Gran loved to hang out. Maggie promises Calan to give him his pelt back so he can be free. The trouble is, someone else knows about the pelt and Maggie and Calan have to be on their toes to find it before it falls into the wrong hands.
I really enjoyed this book.  It was funny and sexy with just the right amount of twists in the story to keep me reading until the end.  If you enjoy steamy, sexy shape shifter stories, this one is for you!
Love-N-Stuff,

-Donna-


Rafflecopter to the right of this post!!  Check out the giveaways!

1/17/13

Sharon van Orman Blurbs and Bio!

Bio:

A tattered copy Bulfinch's Mythology inspired a lifetime fascination with the subject. On a research tangent Sharon came across the myth of King Lykaonas who was cursed by Zeus into becoming a wolf. The very first lycanthrope.
Lykaia was written as a flash fiction piece for a writer's site. The idea took root and demanded to be expanded upon. With that bit of inspiration Sharon entered the National Novel Writers Month contest held in November of 2011. Seven weeks later the book was finished and had blossomed into not only a full length novel, but a series featuring Dr. Sophia Katsaros.
Sharon lives in Nebraska with her family and a collection of animals including ones that were chosen and others that did the choosing. After the birth of her third child she left her job as a commercial risk manager to be a full time mom. In between soccer games, hosting the neighborhood children and taking in stray animals she finds the time to write.

Blurb:

"We are the terrors that hunt the night. And we have never been human."
In Greek mythology there's a story of King Lykaonas of Arcadia and his 50 sons, who were cursed by the father of the gods, Zeus, to become wolves. The very first Lycanthropes.
Forensic pathologist, Sophia Katsaros, receives a cryptic phone call from Greece, telling her that her brothers are missing, and leaves to search for them. With the help of Illyanna, her brother's girlfriend, Sophia examines the evidence but cannot accept a bizarre possibility: Has one or both of her brothers been transformed during the Lykaia, the ceremony where man is said to become wolf?
Who is Marcus, a dark stranger that both repels and excites her? And what is the real story behind the 5000 year old curse of King Lykaonas?

 

1/16/13

Interview with Sharon Van Orman

Lets welcome Sharon Van Orman to Julie's Book Review. Sharon is giving away an e-book of Lykaia, so don't forget to check out the rafflecopter to the right of the pg. 


Welcome to Julies Book Review. Can you tell me a little about yourself?

Hello! Thanks for having me, Julie. I’m just a humble writer trying to get my thoughts onto paper so that the ruckus in my head dampens a bit. 



What kind of books do you write? Newest release?

I started off writing Historical Fiction. Lykaia, my current release, is fantasy, specifically, paranormal thrillers.

My next release is called Season of the Dead. I co-wrote it with 3 other writers. It is a zombie apocalypse novel. It is in the horror genre and is due out in March of 2013 by Spore Press.



What should we expect in your book? How HOT? Action? Adventure?

Well, Lykaia, is a mystery with a lot of twists and turns. There is magic, and betrayal and blood. Loads of action and adventure, but nothing steamy. 



How do you get ideas for your books?

Oh, there are ideas for books everywhere. I’m constantly getting ides for new characters and storylines just from day to day life. Lykaia came about when I found the myth of Lykaonas. The rest just followed along. 



Anything in your stories based on real experiences?’

Not yet….



Toughest criticism? Best compliment?

I had a guy early on tell me that no one wanted to hear about all the ‘kingly crap’ and that I should just focus on Sophia and her brothers. Best? That they enjoyed it. 




Any advice for aspiring authors?

Don’t give up. This is a hard road, but don’t give up. They are your stories, and no one can write them better than you.




How about some fun stuff?

Dogs or cats?

Oh… that’s tough.. I have both. Cats. 



1 Fav book? why?

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. I just love it. I can’t explain it more than that. 



Favorite place to travel?

Oh, I want to go to the Maldives. 



1 fav author? Why?

I have loads and it would be hard to chose. But I’ll stick with Diana Gabaldon. 



Is this your full time job? if yes, anything else you want to do? if no what else do you do?

Yes it is. I wanted to be an interior designer, and an Egyptologist and a Volcanologist. I’ll have to write about some characters that do those things. 



Where can we find you and your books?

Facebook:

Follow me: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Sharon-Van-Orman/104637372952495
Friend me: http://www.facebook.com/sharon.vanorman

On Amazon:
Audio book: http://www.amazon.com/Lykaia-Sophia-Katsaros-Book-1/dp/B00ARE8OJI/ref=la_B009NKB0DO_1_1_title_0_main?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1356209748&sr=1-1

Print: http://www.amazon.com/Lykaia-1-Sharon-Van-Orman/dp/0988192349/ref=sr_1_1_title_0_main?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1356210844&sr=1-1

e-book: http://www.amazon.com/Lykaia-SOPHIA-KATSAROS-ebook/dp/B0094GCQFS/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1356210844&sr=1-2 

Thanks for coming to Julies Book Review. I hope you have continued success and you get some new readers form here on Julies Book Review!

Julie Ramsey

1/15/13

SUNBURN BY ROSANNA LEO Blurbs and Excerpt

SUNBURN BY ROSANNA LEO


Sunburn blurb:

Patience O’Conner is a travel blogger who lives for her work. Her dedication to her readers brings her to the famed Helios Resort in Mexico, a locale that stuns her with its beauty but at which she suffers from some very strange accidents. Luckily, hunky resort bartender Apollo Delos is always there in the nick of time, a malcontent guardian angel. Apollo stuns Patience again and again with his life-saving abilities, to say nothing of his smoldering looks and apparent desire to keep her alive. Before long, Patience wonders if there is more to the sexy bartender than mixed cocktails and insane first-aid skills. Something strange is happening at Helios and Apollo doesn’t want to talk about it. Can Patience open herself up to this enigmatic man, even though she is terrified to be vulnerable again? And can Apollo recover from an eternity of hurt and learn to trust once more? They must both decide before Death comes calling.




Sunburn Excerpt:

She approached the booth, only to find the blond bartender manning it. Her eyes almost popped and she blurted, “You!”
He grinned, but there was still a tightness around his eyes, as if he were sizing her up. “Hello, Patience.” His strained expression said volumes about what he considered to be the unsuitability of her name.
She tried to ignore the sucker punch in her gut, the one that hit her as soon as his deep, velvety voice caressed her eardrums. “Aren’t you supposed to be at the bar?”
His smile grew wider, showing off his perfect white teeth. “I’m everywhere.”
“Clearly.” She forced herself to look away from his gorgeous face, feeling light-headed because of the suns dancing in her eyes, the suns that seemed to come from him. To distract herself, she touched a few of the painted bowls on display. Not that it snuffed out those blasted suns.
He stepped closer. “Do you see anything you like?”
She choked on her saliva and coughed like a victim of the Black Death. He rushed to calm her, putting his hand on her back, massaging. She recovered upon feeling his touch and was hit by the bizarre, fleeting notion his touch made her recover. As if he’d healed her.
Utter nonsense. Yet as much as it was nonsense, her head swam with the bizarre possibility.
“Better?” he asked quietly, his face serious now.
She stared into the man’s eyes. They were blue, so very blue. “Uh, yeah, thanks.” Curiosity got the better of her and the question poured out. “What’s your name anyway?”
He breathed in. “Apollo Delos.”
“Oh, wow,” she said, breaking into a grin. “Just like Apolo Anton Ohno! I loved him on Dancing with the Stars!”
He got a curious look and let out a strange laugh. “Yeah. Just like him.” Sunburn is available at http://www.lsbooks.com/sunburn-p743.php




BIO:

Rosanna Leo is a multi-published, erotic romance author with Liquid Silver Books. Her books include For the Love of a God, Up In Flames, Sweet Hell, The Selkie and her newest, Sunburn. When not writing, she can be found haunting dusty library stacks or planning her next star-crossed love affair.

Review of Sunburn by Rosanna Leo

Sunburn

Apollo has opened a resort(Helios). His sister Artemis is there to check it out. Apollo is nervous because he is expecting the Travel Chic (a blogger on resorts) to arrive at anytime. He is also troubled that his visions have been of a young woman who has her heart riped out of her chest. He never sees her face but because he can't see visions of people close to him he is worried. Patience (the Travel Chic), has arrived at Helios with her two best friends. They trying to get her mind of a ex-lover and some R&R in the sun. When they arrive a bartender approaches and offers a drink. Patience sees the hunky bartender and fights any attraction she has to him. She has no idea he is the owner let alone the god of the sun and healing.

Rosanna, this one made me cry. I love Apollo! Patience tried my patience a little. She has been through a lot but she gives Apollo a run for his money. Their story is very touching and loving. You really get sucked into their story.  Loved the story and even though it was short was well worth the read. Adults only, some extremely HOT scenes!!

1/14/13

Interview Rosanna Leo

Lets welcome Rosanna Leo to Julie's Book Review. Rosanna is giving away a copy of her new paranormal romance Sunburn, so don't forget to check out the rafflecopter to the right of the pg.


Welcome to Julies Book Review. Can you tell me a little about yourself?
I'm a married mom of two boys who's been writing about 10 years or so. The last year of my life has been extremely exciting as my publisher Liquid Silver Books picked up 5 of my books: For the Love of a God, Up In Flames, Sweet Hell, The Selkie and my newest Sunburn. I'm from Toronto, Canada and still live nearby. Nutella is my obsession, and I've been known to wax poetic about the stuff for hours.


What kind of books do you write? Newest release?
I write primarily about paranormal creatures finding love with normal, often geeky, women, and enjoy the fireworks that occur in those situations. Sunburn, my newest, is my take on the Greek god of the sun, music and healing, Apollo. I just knew I had to write a tale with Apollo as my hero. With that brawn, that heat and that fabulous head of blond hair, how could I resist?


What should we expect in your book? How HOT? Action? Adventure?
Well, my editor believes it's a romantic comedy, and I do insert many comedic elements into my books. However, it's a paranormal, so there are dark sides and life-threatening situations. I'm told it's pretty hot! LOL. If you read one of my books, you will find explicit descriptions of sex. I tend to call it like I see it! And hey, after 20 odd years of happy marriage to the same man, it's fun to write sex scenes! 


How do you get ideas for your books?
Many of my books have been based of stories from various mythologies. For the Love of a God, Sweet Hell and Sunburn are based on Greek myth, and all my heroes in those cases are Greek gods. And why not? Is there any man so perfect as a Greek god?? I think not. The Selkie, however, is based on Scottish selkie lore, which is just as sexy. However, sometimes my ideas come from real life. My firefighter romance Up In Flames was sparked by conversations with a friend who adored firemen. It made me wonder if I could write a story about a woman who did NOT want firefighters in her life, because of past betrayals. You never know where plot bunnies will attack you!


Anything in your stories based on real experiences?
Well, Sunburn, although the story of Greek god Apollo, is actually set on a fictional Mexican resort. I've made Apollo the resort owner there. And the resort in the book is based on a lovely Mexican resort I once visited. It was so gorgeous, I had to include it in a book. Other than that, little kernels from my life sometimes pop into the books, but they're not blatantly based on anyone I know. My heroines, of course, all have a little bit of geeky me in them! LOL


Toughest criticism? Best compliment?
The toughest criticism I ever had was from another author who didn't like how I ended one novel, but in my mind, it could only end that way. Sometimes you have to agree to disagree, and remember to write the story you want, rather than what you think others want. The best compliment I ever got was from a co-worker who read For the Love of a God, and who said it not only turned her on, but her husband too!


Any advice for aspiring authors?
Stay true to yourself, but open to new ideas. Even after 5 books, I learn new things every day, and suspect there's even more to learn.
 

How about some fun stuff?
Dogs or cats?
Love 'em both, but I have a cat. So, cats!


1 Fav book? why?
Diana Gabaldon's Outlander, because of its sweeping, epic story and time-traveling romance. Plus, Jamie Fraser is so hot.


Favorite place to travel?
London, England. I'm a total nerdy Anglophile.


1 fav author? Why?
So hard to choose. I picked Diana Gabaldon's book, so I'll choose another author. Syrie James blew me away with her Nocturne.


Is this your full time job? if yes, anything else you want to do? if no what else do you do?
Nope. Until writing supports me fully, I have to work as well. I have a lovely job at my local library, where I get to frown at people who have late fees! LOL


Where can we find you and your books?
All my books are available at my publisher Liquid Silver's site: www.lsbooks.com
I am also on Amazon, ARE, and Barnes and Noble.
My blog is www.rosannaleo.blogspot.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/rleoauthor1
Twitter: www.twitter.com/LeoRosanna
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5826852.Rosanna_Leo
Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/rosannaleo/

Thanks for coming to Julies Book Review. Don't forget to do the rafflecopter giveaway to the right of this post!  I hope yeah have even more success in the future!!

Julie Ramsey
Adminstrator of Julie Book Review 

1/13/13

Review of Moon Wreck by Author : Raymond l. Well

 Moon Wreck 

The story is about a  lander sent to the moon and crashes. The two astronauts have to overcome many obstacles in their fight to survive. It has a surprising way of looking at their problems, that you must read to figure out.

  It's a good little story about the resourceful human spirit. With puzzles that can't be solved, humans don't give up. What if you were stuck in a box, could you get out? The story, is written so any age can read it. Evan with limited science background, it is well written and worth getting a hold of. Great sci-fi read!

Rated: 4 1/5 stars

 Cookie/ Nathan

1/12/13

review Malevolent Gateway (S.P.I.R.I.T. Series, Volume 2) Dawn Gray‏

Malevolent Gateway

Burke Flats in the Green Mountains of Vermont has secrets that it is willing to kill to keep. Between the Evil Spirits and Secrets of Men Long ago, more and more people are dying on a road next to a marsh.  Anna and Blake have grown up in this town both have Gifts that are sometimes a bit scary.
S.P.I.R.I.T. Team is called in when the deaths reach a high in just a few months. They are trained in dealing with Ghost , Spirits, Demons.  But this is beyond anything they have ever seen or not seen.  The evil that is surrounding the Marsh and all the dead and living doesn't want to go anywhere. It will take everything anyone could have imagined and than some to fight this and stay alive.


This book was sent to me for an honest review. I have never read this Author before. WELL I WILL BE IN THE FUTURE!! The writing style is awesome. The visualization writing was Fantastic. I felt drawn into the scenes not as if I was just reading them, this say's a lot about this Authors writing style.
I was so drawn into this book I felt like I was right there throughout this whole book.  This whole premise seems real as if it all really happened. I really liked that. I am not to much into reading this type of book tho I do watch those Guys on Sci/Fi lololol!!
I highly Recommend this book. I can not wait to read more from this Author and will be telling everyone I know about her! 

5 Stars
Patches

Review of the Hollow Curse by Stephan B Pearl

The Hollow Curse

Ben and Alysia are the current incarnations of soul mates cursed in a previous life. Their curse was that they were to be separated by a gulf of years and social norms until they fully accept their love, share a lifetime, and raise a child together.
This book follows them through some of their incarnations and shows how the spirit that now inhabits Dorry, Alysia's college girlfriend, who was the originator of the curse in a previous incarnation, has hounded them through life after life.  The story plays out in the current day with the characters experiencing their past lives starting at the beginning of the curse as Albert, Bernidine and Darius in the fifteen hundreds.
Duke Darius forces Bernidine, a woman half his age who is already pledged to wed her true love, Sir Albert, to marry him. When Albert infiltrates Darius' court, and has an affair with his beloved Bernadine, Darius forces a reluctant witch to cast the curse that he feels will keep the young lovers apart forever. Unable to directly oppose Darius, because of what he will do to her coven mates if she does, the witch works a clause into the spell that if Albert and Bernadine live a life and raise a child together, the curse will be broken. 
This story had me intrigued from the beginning. I loved the story & how each character became the next. Most of the characters are easy to love. The story-line kept me fascinated til the very end, even if it wasn't a "quick read".  Well worth reading..Can't wait to read more by this author

I rate this book 4 stars

Jennifer Wadkins


Review of His to Control by Sam Cresent

His to Control


The town of Cape Falls, is a little backwards. Women have a place in the kitchen and men went to college and brought in money. Along with these old school values they also turn there heads with abuse and are in a up roar to anything out of the norm. SO when William shows up and opens a BDSM club, he is not the most loved man. Daisy has just found out she is the result of a affair between one of the Steer brothers dad's and her mom. Her mom is abusive to Daisy and the town, being how it is turns there head. Daisy is at a breaking point. She is broken and feels she has no control. So when she gets drunk at Williams new club, he sees a girl on the brink. Daisy is beautiful and William knows she just needs some TLC. Will Daisy be able to handle what William has to offer? More importantly can William help heal a trouble young woman?

I personally am not into BDSM(like to read it though) but I can see how it works for Daisy. She needed something and William provides it. The feelings that grow from it are just beneficial to the two main characters. It was nice to revisit the character I have read about in previous books. The series is one I would love to follow. I am really looking forward to Peters story and seeing what unfolds with Laura and Dean. Very good love story with some major twists and turns. Not really a read alone book. You can read it alone but you will understand the town and personal dynamics of everything much better if you read these in order!

Review of Mine to Keep by Sam Cresent

Mine to Keep

Amy, mid twenties, a beautiful little boy and girl and a husband who physically and mentally abuses. Gabriel sees the danger Amy is in. He sees the bruises and burn marks she tries to hide and knows her husband is going to kill her or try at some point. Over the wks Gabriel becomes closer with the kids and waits. When he gets a phone call from the little boy, he comes running and gets there just in time to save Amy. He was going to kill her and had already beaten her to with in a inch of her life. With the husband  in jail, Amy trying to heal physically and emotionally, the little town of Cape Falls doesn't help Amy at all. The rumors of Amy, how could she do that to her husband, and he was such a good guy and now the rumors of her and Gabriel the town sheriff. Gabriel, doesn't care what the town thinks her just want to protect and cherish this beautiful woman that has been so hurt. He already loves her two little ones. But can he convince Amy to risk her heart?

Very touching love story. Gabriel is truly the white night in shining armor! He is the guy we all dream of and hope to find. Amy is in the worst situation. A loveless marriage with a guy who beats the crap out of her. As the story unfolds and wounds heal, it heats up between Gabriel and Amy. It is pretty intense and very touching. Great story but not for people with abuse issues!

1/11/13

Wendy Ely 2nd wk in Jan Special Chew the Fat!! Blog Post

                                                               Writing a Series…




I’m currently in the middle of books 3 and 4 of my Desert Secrets Series has recently been released. Books 1 and 2 have already been released.
When I started the first book (Confessions) in the series I had no idea that I would have four books planned out within a month of the contract for Confessions being offered. Actually, I never wanted to do a series at all, so how did this all come about?
I started writing Confessions with only one sentence of an idea. The characters in the book seemed to bloom rapidly and I became absorbed in every part of the story. I had recently moved to Arizona when I had started writing Confessions so everything was so new and wonderful. I had decided that Confessions needed to take place in a small town for it to ring true and then came the fictional town Wilson, Arizona. I had a blast researching the small desert towns around here and even more fun making up the shops in Wilson. I was hooked on the location from the start. I’v recently found an actual town that reminds me of what I picture Wilson being like, which excited me to no end.
Anyway, back to the series… While writing Confessions, Chelsea’s sister ended up being such a strong character that I had a hard time keeping her in the background while Chelsea was living out her story. As soon as I started editing Confessions, I knew Allison had to have her own book. Instead of doing only a sequel, I decided at that point that I wanted to base a series around Wilson, Arizona. Readers would have the chance to watch the lives unfold of the beloved characters around the town.
I knew that Allison’s story would be next and Miguel made a wonderful hero for her. His confidence provided an excellent balance to her self-doubt. I had a great time mixing Allison’s larger-than-life attitude with Miguel’s respectful personality. The combination made for some steamy scenes and awesome chemistry between the couple.
The next two books planned in the series is Lost and Found with the best friend, Lisa Palmer. The series wraps up with the Montgomery sister’s enemy, Bailey Roan.

Books in the series:

Confessions
Midnight Secrets
Lost and Found (watch for a future release date)
Untitled


Confession blurb:

Can Chelsea and Jordan find their child, and rediscover each other? When Chelsea Montgomery vanished eleven years ago, her hometown thought she’d been abducted. In truth, she'd given up the daughter she'd secretly had with Jordan Case.
Now he confronts her to help find the child. With a little girl's fate hanging in the balance, will the uneasy partnership -- stained by the past -- transform into something else?


Find Wendy here: Amazon author page: http://amzn.com/e/B008SA6TJK
Twitter: @wendyelyauthor Facebook author page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Wendy-Ely/159969607422152?ref=hl

Rafflecopter to the rt of the page!!  Good Luck!!

1/10/13

Review of Death Angel by Heather Killough-Walden‏

Since the beginning of time, the archangels have longed to know true love. When four female angels were created for the four archangels, Michael, Gabriel, Uriel, and Azrael, ,However before they could claim their mates (Archesses)  they were scattered to the wind beyond their realm and out of their reach. The THE FOUR FAVOURED Archangels made the choice to leave their realm  and journey to earth in search. They were not the only ones looking tho. The stuff of Legends started here bad and good.

Azrael was one of The 4 who went to earth,  he was The Death Angel,  yet when he was being coming to earth he changed into A Vampire. The first of his kind and no one could help guide him.  He felt even more distance from his brothers due to this fact.   He wonders if there really is an Archesses out there for him.  For 2,000 years he has searched.  The air is changing and more and more stuff of legends are crawling out of their holes and bringing so much death and destruction with them.  He and his Made Vampires as well as his Brothers are fighting for more then their own lives.

Sophie  has had a horrendous childhood and still has mental scars to prove it.  Her Best Friend Juliette is getting married  in Scotland and she is the Maid of Honor.  But first Juliette has somethings to tell Sophie.  Juliette is 1 of the 4 Archesses. Talk about blown out of the water and thrown for a loop.  With all the wings and healing abilities  etc...   She is coming to terms with all this when she sees Azrael.

He is the Lead Singer for the band VALLEY OF THE SHADOW.  She has had a crush on him forever and the daydreams are very x-rated.
He recognizes Sophie as his Archesses.  Azrael reads her mind somewhat and realizes that he must take this whole thing slow.   Until he must do what he needs to do or lose her forever.

I loved the Love Story that this book gives out.  The fight scenes are awesome! The scenes were so well written that I could picture everything as if I was a bystander in the book.  I was so drawn to this story line it was the most awesome feel.

I will never look at a  Sand Dollar the same way again!

Q-Who is the woman that Juliette and Sophie are chatting with??

I Highly recommend this book.

Patches
5 Stars

Search This Blog

Julie's Book Review

Hello, all my followers, visitors, and guests. Welcome to Julies Book Review. This is a site dedicated to helping authors and readers alike. Readers to find new authors and stories and authors to find new readers. For authors please contact me if you are interested in low cost promotion at juliesbookreview@gmail.com. I accommodate where I can. Readers please go through and search the blog. We have been active here for a while. Hundreds on authors, stories and genres to choose from. We have everything from sci-fi, erotica, romance, contemporary, mystery and horror. And nothing gets on this site without a 3 out 5 star rating minimum. I have several reviewers that read different genres. If you are interested in reviewing for me and the site please contact me at the above email. I hope you enjoy the site. I look forward to meeting and talking with you all.

Julie Ramsey & Theresa Fehse
ADM of JBR
Along with many reviewers (which we could not do this without)

Amazon SearchBox