4/30/15

Review by Corsonia by Susan Berliner

Corsonia
Susan Berliner

Loren and Tracie just graduated from high school and are about to set out for an adventure, new car, open road a camera and just two girls wanting to have FUN.

After photographing a ghost mining town in Nevada they come across another town. They make a stop at Phil's Food Mart, hoping for some water and maybe a little info about this small town. All the girls get is seeing a man in his 50's unloading water, with a stiff warning of YOU CAN NOT DRINK IT. Realizing that something is not right about the feel of this town, they head to the nearest town for a good nights sleep. Little did they know the bottle of water Loren swipes will do just that . . . . . put her to sleep.

All Loren could think about after waking up is going back. The questions they seek needed answers. Who ran this town ?? Why can't they drink the water ? When going back they friend a young boy named " boy 11" when they get no answers and more questions they deeper they get into this weird creepy little town that is in the middle of nowhere. The question remains .. . will the girls find the secret out before they plunged into the creepy towns way of life ???
 
This is a one sitting read I can guarantee you that. The first word grabbed me an I didn't let go till the last word. I admired Loren's will for adventure. The way she held out till she knew what was going on. Poor Tracie she just wanted to go to Disneyland . . . instead she is in a nightmare . ... . .

Great character and a WONDERFUL READ :) I hope to read more from this author ! ! !  !

5 mind controlling stars 
Wende

Review of UNACCEPTABLE BEHAVIOR by Jessica Strong

UNACCEPTABLE BEHAVIOR
Jessica Strong



Universe Arizona is a small mining town on the edge of the Apache Reservation. Its a little town with BIG secrets . . . . .

The story opens with 3 young teenage boys being arrested with armed robbery. One of those boys is Ray Heard, who happens to be the son of Kevin Heard. Kevin was accused of killing women. Many believed Kevin did not commit this crime. Before Kevin could have a fair trail he disappeared. Leaving behind a wife and his young son Ray. As the story unfolds of what actually happened during this robbery it leads a few to believe that maybe the other boys are using Ray as their scapegoat.

Luke Bowen is a police officer and one that would like to have answers. Not only answers with the 3 boys but for Kevin. Luke has always felt that Kevin was innocent and there is no better time to investigate then now. He calls in the help of his best friend, Peter. Ray's future is depending on dad's future. Peter decides to come home maybe lay to rest some of his ghost. Has Peter and Luke get deeper and deeper into the case of the missing girls more and more secrets come to surface. The clock is running out for Ray and they must find answers soon.

Is Kevin innocent ?? Why is the other 2 boys trying to pin the robbery on Ray? Will Kevin's past ruin Ray's future . . . . . Only the secrets within this novel will you find the answers.

I can sum this novel up in one 3 letter word - WOW !! I didn't feel I was reading a book but actually watching a movie ! The secrets this little town holds is believable. Each character brought into the story pacts a punch and leaves you wanting more !!

5 WOWSERS stars :) 
Wende

Romantic Hearts and Sweet Love Blog Tour Day 2



Stand Alone Novels from Linda L. Picl

Next Time Love Comes
Amazon Purchase Link: http://amzn.to/1rgz4bC





Sometimes marriage isn't all it's cracked up to be. Sometimes you have to take your own life in your
hands and change it for the better. Elizabeth Peters knows this and when she meets Aiden Roberts and his handicapped child she realizes she'll have a fight ahead of her if she wants this man in her life.




Excerpt:
As Aiden watched, he could see she enjoyed this immensely. How could someone deny her this
pleasure and not want to share it with her.
He couldn’t help but grin, she was so sweet with her sun kissed cheeks and bright smile. She sat there
without a care in the world. At least that was how it appeared.
Not able to resist another minute, he put his hand across the table and nodded toward the dance floor.
He had to dance with her now, to feel her in his arms if only for this one dance on this one incredible
evening.
She shook her head yelling, “No I can’t dance like that.”
The crowd was doing a country line dance. They knew every move and turn, dancing perfectly in sync with the music as if they were a professional dance troupe. He squeezed her hand, insisting she get up.
She was still protesting as he led her to the one place on the shiny hardwood dance floor where there
was room to move. Giggling, she took his hand and held on for dear life. Just as they started to do the
line dance, the band switched to a ballad.
She whispered in his ear, “Do you think they did that just for us?”
He pulled her close to him. “I hope so. It’s as perfect as you are.”
While he had her in his powerful arms, she could feel his muscles through his neat and proper dress
shirt, knowing there was nothing neat or proper about the way he made her feel. He was warm and safe and danced beautifully. Knowing all the moves, he managed to get her to master them also. As he guided her around the dance floor, all her pain disappeared. It was just the two of them and at that
moment, nothing else mattered.

Solitary Dreamer
Amazon Purchase Link: http://amzn.to/1v6g3uu


Everyone felt sorry for Carrie Lawson. She was a sweet woman who had nothing but a deadbeat
husband and a dream of a writing career. Happiness was something she had to fight for but when she
met Logan Franks, a local firefighter, her love life became a whole lot warmer until her very existence was almost snuffed out by a person she thought she’d never see again.
Logan Franks is hot, and not just in looks. Being a volunteer firefighter doesn’t just mean being on a
calendar or turning girls on…its dangerous work. Sometimes you have to go in and save everyone,
sometimes even your worst enemy. But Logan is above all that, he will save everyone he can. He and
Carrie will fight for a life together, no matter what, even if the chances are high it will all blow up in their faces.

Excerpt:
“Let me introduce you to Flash...as in Flash Gordon, you know, the super hero.” She crinkled her
nose and couldn’t control her burst of laughter. She hadn’t laughed that hard in ages...it felt good. After regaining some composure, she had to ask, “No way, really, that’s his name? You could be more original, you know?”
Her reaction amused the good-natured man and he couldn’t help but chuckle. “Your name is? Just so
you and my friend here are properly introduced.”
Carrie put her hand to her mouth trying to suppress more giggles, “Oh! I’m sorry, Flash. My name is
Carrie Lawson.”
His eyes sparkled with delight when he replied, “Well now, don’t be sorry, it’s a lovely name.” Carrie
caught his bad joke and showed him the most amazing smile he’d ever seen. Her eyes and smile lit up
the dreary room, making his entire week a whole lot happier.
“Carrie Lawson, meet Flash, the Basset hound.
This is as active as he gets. If you ask him politely, he might give you his paw. However, don’t ask him to do anything else, because that’s as much as you’ll get in one day. He exhausts easily.”
Carrie knelt down in front of the pooch and held out her hand revealing a cheap wedding band that cut straight to Logan’s heart. Damn, somebody got to her first. Logan shut his eyes briefly. Why did he automatically assume she was single and why were all the beautiful ones taken?
“Hello, Flash, it’s an honor to meet you. May I please have your paw? “Amazingly, the old canine sat
down rather graciously and held up his paw for her. Delighted by the feat, Carrie smiled, “Wow that’s a good dog. You were right he’s great and very smart.”
She ruffled his big old ears, appreciating the trick and making the hound more than happy to roll over
for her to pet his substantial belly.
Logan was too surprised to do anything but nod, “I was so...kidding. He’s never done that before! I’ve begged him for years. What gives, Flash? You have an eye for the pretty girls, don’t you? You’re a miracle worker, Carrie.”
Stepping away from the table, he held out his hand, “Oh, now I’m sorry. My name is Logan Franks. It’s a genuine pleasure to meet you, Carrie.”
“Oh, don’t be sorry. That’s a lovely name too.” She kidded back with Logan as she stood to take his
hand, almost slamming right into her mother as the woman raced over with the food and an attitude.
Carrie knew it was trouble when Sandy dropped the bag into Carrie’s hand and grabbed Logan’s
extended hand, putting it to her own evil heart. Good
Lord, Carrie thought, as she blushed. She stood frozen, watching Logan try in vain to retrieve his hand.
Having no luck, Logan realized that her mom was stronger than she looked.
Carrie’s face reddened and she felt her blood pressure rise. This was a ridiculous exhibition. Her mom was performing for him and it had to stop. Filling fast with all sorts of humiliation for the second time that day, Carried didn’t control herself any longer. “Mom, stop! What are you doing to this poor man?”
There...she’d done it. For the first time in her life, she yelled at her own mother. It was almost cathartic.
However, it was short lived as the old Carrie came racing back, making her wanting to hide in the broom closet because she knew the woman wouldn’t take this easily.


Angelea’s Dreams of Yesterday
Amazon Purchase Link:  http://amzn.to/1FMIvJX

Product DetailsNothing short of a miracle will convince Angelea she’s the person everyone claims she is. She
thought she was just waking up from a nightmare, but her nightmare is just beginning. Her doctor tells her she’s someone named Angel Bennett, someone she’s never heard of and the bruises on her body tell her something horrendous has happened to her, but what? That’s something no one can figure out.
Nate Matthews knows who Angelea really is. She’s his lover and he’d hoped his future wife. But when she awakens in the hospital after a routine surgery and she claims she’s married to a man named Alexander from a time long ago, he knows they will both be up against something no one has ever had to face before. Maybe something evil. How will he convince the love of his life she is not married to a pirate?

Excerpt:
His eyes searched her face for the woman he loved, but Angel didn’t meet his gaze, there was
someone else there now looking back at him. Someone he didn’t recognize, so he had to turn away. He couldn’t look at her anymore. His heart was ripped apart in his chest as if someone tore it out, stomped on it, then gave the mess back to him in a lunch bag.
“Yes, it was, it is for you.” He waited for what he knew had to come next.
“Nate, what can I say? You know we can’t possibly think about getting married now, maybe never. I’m so screwed up I can’t tell you what the future holds. Hell, I’m still stuck somewhere in the past. You seem like a great guy...but—”
“Oh no, not the Dear John speech,” he shouted. He couldn’t help it. This was so ridiculous.
“But I don’t know you. I’m sorry.” She touched his arm, trying to reassure him, but all it did was convince him something had to be done to change what was fast becoming his past too. His heart raced in his chest as he tried one more time to convince her they belonged together.
“I want you to remember us, what we shared, and the life we’ve lived for almost a decade.” He slammed his hands on the steering wheel. She turned to face him, but now he refused to look at her beautiful face. It would just make him ache more.
“I want to know you too. I really do. I want to remember something about our lives together, but it’s just not happening. All I get are these weird images of something in the past, of a different man, not the two of us. I don’t belong in this age or this place. Can you understand? I woke up the other day in the hospital and everything was different. I’m not supposed to be here, and it scares the hell out of me, Nate.”
That statement sounded strange even to her.
“Yeah, I’m starting to get it now. I was with a gorgeous, generous, lovely woman I wanted to spend the rest of my life with and woke up the next day and she doesn’t know me. Hell, she doesn’t know herself. Yeah, I’d say that’s a little scary. I’m petrified.”
Angelea saw the frustration in his eyes, she tried to catch his eye to communicate her feelings, but he
stared straight ahead at the Key West traffic in front of him.
Still trying to resign himself to her loss, he glanced at her. “Let’s head back to the apartment, maybe
after a good night’s rest things will get better tomorrow.”
She tried to see his face, but he wouldn’t even turn in her direction now.
“Sounds good, it can’t get much worse, right?” she asked, hoping he’d tell her things would get better, but he didn’t utter another word all the way back to the loft.
Later at the apartment she made up the couch, being sure she stretched the sheets as far as they’d go,
tucking them all in neatly, almost like hospital corners.
Then watching him pour himself a drink, it looked like a good idea for herself too. Maybe it would calm her nerves a little.
“What is that?”
He held the half-filled glass in the air. “My relief...want some? It’s Jack on the rocks,” he replied
sarcastically.
“Did I drink it before?” she asked, crinkling her nose at him.
“Nope, you don’t touch it. But who knows what you like now.” He grinned, trying to change the mood in air. She returned the smile. “Well, yeah, maybe I will try some.”
Pouring a second glass, he walked slowly across the room like a lover coming to take what was his.
Damn, he was a striking man. She couldn’t deny that as she watched him come to her. His dark hair was cut a tad long, just enough to be sexy. His eyes staring right through her were enough to take her breath away.
He, on the other hand, seemed afraid to get too close to her, his need for her started to become
apparent. She knew he wanted to grab her and drag her probably kicking and screaming to the bedroom and make her remember him. Force her to know how they were together, but what he wished and what was going to happen were two different things. Smiling up at him, she took the glass from his hand and melted into those deep blue eyes of his. She felt his gaze look deep into her soul. She understood now what she must have felt for him before. Could it happen again?


ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Linda L. Picl was born in 1955 and got her love of reading from spending time in a tiny library under
a police station in a small town in Illinois. From there she went on to work at many of the libraries in
suburbs all around the Chicago area which only fired up her love of romance novels.
Following her favorite authors Robyn Carr and Nora Roberts she went on to write sweet romance books and produced her first book Next Time Love Comes and then Solitary Dreamer, both second chance at love romances. Not everyone gets lucky on their first try. Those are the types of books Linda loves to write and she has more books on the way. Right now she's working on getting ready to publish a paranormal romance...no vampires or raunchy sex but a few ghosts and pirates.

Linda lives in a suburb of Milwaukee, with her husband and mini-poodle.
CONNECT WITH LINDA
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lindal.picl
Twitter: https://twitter.com/LindaLPicl
Website: http://www.beaucoupllcpublishing.com/linda-picl/

Mia Mitns Day 4


Love, Music, Amali

A Paranormal Romance

Product Details

Amali can’t stand the rockstar band Kantana. But when a member takes notice of her will Amali let her pride stand in the way of love?

Love, Music, Amali is free! 

Amazon link: http://goo.gl/luFmJl

Check out my site for all of the links:  http://mmitns.wix.com/mia-mitns#!books/cnec

If you would like to receive updates including giveaways, sign up for my mailing list:
http://goo.gl/nVQmF3

4/29/15

Romantic Hearts and Sweet Love Blog Tour Day 1




         Beau Coup Publishing Presents:

 Romantic Hearts and Sweet Love Blog Tour            
                      Featuring 
 Kathleen Ann Gallagher’s City Lights Series ~ Savannah’s Journey & Perfect For Her    
Linda L. Picl’s- Next Time Love Comes, Solitary Dreamer & Angelea’s Dreams of Yesterday
 Frank Borne’s- The Captain and the Queen & The Captain of Her Heart


City Lights Series by Kathleen Ann Gallagher

Savannah’s Journey
Amazon Purchase Link: http://amzn.to/1mHtNXz



Savannah Mason, a career minded journalist, spends long hours at work, hoping to take the spot as
anchor. She continues to fight for independence and refuses to allow her demanding father to take
control of her life, despite his wish for her to take over his surgical practice. On her darkest day twelve years prior, she agreed to give her baby up for adoption. Now, on her daughter’s birthday, a chance encounter gives Savannah an opportunity to explore a corner of her heart she thought was lost forever.

Rob Sinclair a renowned surgeon and NY Times best-selling author has a new release and needs a promo spot on the television show, The News Stop. When Savannah gets to conduct the interview, a door opens to her future. But can she walk through that door? The last thing she wants is a relationship, especially one with a divorced doctor who happens to have two small children. This man who seems all wrong for her slowly weaves his way into her heart. But before she is free to accept this love, she must face the unsettled issues in her life. Rob’s commitment to climbing the ladder of success and providing a good life for his children, keeps him on the road for days at a time. When he meets the assertive newswoman, desire and passion awaken his broken spirit. Savannah and Rob’s strong attraction is undeniable as they journey to a place where honesty and the power of forgiveness can guide them both home. Will it be enough to heal the scars of the past and allow them another chance at love?

Excerpt:
She got up and slowly moved toward him. Her chest tightened with each step. As she approached
him and admired his broad shoulders, it dawned on her he could be a candidate for People’s sexiest man alive. Control yourself.
“I’m happy here,” she admitted. “I love it when the morning light shines on the water and it mimics fine pieces of crystal.”
Rob slowly approached her. His gaze fixed on her, sent shivers from head to toe. Afraid of what might happen next, she turned away. They were too close for comfort. An electric energy surged between them. Before she could stop him, Rob reached for her and pulled her up against his chest. “You’re an amazing woman, Savannah.” His lips met hers and he cradled her head in his hands as if she was a precious jewel. It all happened so quickly, she didn’t have time to react. The warmth of his touch sent waves of heat down her stomach and in between her legs as the world stood still. When Rob’s hands moved slowly across her back, it took her to a level of arousal she never expected. She found herself spellbound by the feel of his rock hard body pressed up against her chest. All of the emotions she’d kept inside emerged when Rob held her tight. When they finally parted, she stood frozen in shock with her heart pounding and her ears ringing.
His expression made him look as if he broke the law with his eyes practically popping out of his head. He quickly took a step back. “I don’t know what to say. I’m so sorry for my rude behavior.”
“You weren’t rude. I didn’t stop you.”



Perfect For Her
Amazon Purchase Link: http://amzn.to/1CVq9BA



Energetic and motivated Angela Carnes landed her dream job in NYC as an editor for a news show
and she loves it. Her career is going much better than her love life. After a breakup with Mr. Wrong,
she’s determined to leave the past behind. Angela just didn’t expect the best man at her friend’s
wedding to be so damn hot. Dr. Eric Bradley has a body to die for, a dynamite personality and he’s
recently partnered with a medical team. What’s not to want?
Eric is determined to have it all. He graduated from medical school at the top of his class, renovated his own home and landed a spot in an established family practice. Now it’s time to get back into the dating world, IF the woman he wants sticks around when she learns about his situation at home.
Angela and Eric discover the spark between them during the wedding preparations. Their attraction is
hard to deny, Angela finds herself lost in Eric’s passionate embrace. But after the reception, everything changes. Love blossom and then…wilts. Will she be able to step aside while Eric honors his family obligations or will the lonely nights and broken promises force Angela to leave behind the man she knows is perfect for her?

Excerpt:
The books she’d read on relationships preached to be mysterious, not clinging. You never knew
what worked. It really was all up to the chemistry and timing. Tonight the connection felt right.
“I’ll check my schedule at the office and be sure to put a weekend aside for a day at the beach.”
“Sounds like fun.” He’d indicated another date. Was it all too good to be true? She didn’t want to
blink and wake up if this was a dream.
“There’s nothing like NYC. I’m happy I had a business meeting here today. It was lucky for me you
wanted a muffin and a cup of coffee.” He turned to face her and smiled, the dimple in his chin more
defined.
She offered a demure grin and shook her head in agreement. “I’m happy for my cravings for sweets.”
Angela lifted her shoulders and pouted her lips, realizing it might look like she was teasing. Even though her strong physical attraction to him weakened her knees, she tried to remain poised. Then their eyes met. Eric leaned in and pulled her close. He placed one hand on the side of her face and covered her mouth with his. His after five stubble grazed her chin, and he kissed her with an unforgettable longing that took her by surprise. She parted her lips and quivered from head to toe. His lips were soft and his tongue darted in her mouth without warning. Her panties moistened. The fire in his kiss and the way his strong arms felt wrapped around her back made her lightheaded. She stood on her toes, and under the lights next to Macy’s window, Angela ran her fingers through the back of Eric’s hair and didn’t resist when he pressed his chest up against hers and nuzzled her neck. Meshed together under the spotlight, a flash of heat shot through her body. It seemed as if they were alone in the midst of the busy city streets.
A man sprinted past them and bumped into Eric and the spell was broken, but it was a memorable
moment that validated how much she wanted him even more. She took a tiny step back, still in a daze.
“You look so beautiful tonight. You’re driving me crazy,” Eric whispered, his voice hoarse and sexy.
“Let’s get going, or I’m going to sweep you up and carry you away.” His words sounded like something out of a fairy tale.
“I might like that.” She gave a tiny grin.
“Oh, you would? Come here.” He grabbed her around her waist and brought her into him. They
headed toward the parking lot.
“I’ll have to make a point to thank Rob and Savannah when they get back.”
“What for?”
“For bringing us together. If they hadn’t added me to the guest list, I would’ve never met you,” he
admitted.
“Aww. Thanks!” Angela shared the same emotions. “I guess you have a good point there. What
were the chances of an editor at a news and celebrity show hooking up with a doctor starting his career in medicine? Definitely unexpected.”
“Is that a good thing?”
“It’s a wonderful thing. Not that I’ve dated jerks or losers.” She giggled. “I meet mostly men in the
business or in an associated field, working at a television station.”
“You don’t get out much, do you?” Eric joked.
“Very funny.” She swatted his arm in a playful gesture.
“I’m only fooling with you.”
“Yeah, sure.” She laughed.
“Here we are.” Eric led the way to his car. He opened the door on the passenger side. Angela got in and took note of his attentive approach. A warm feeling of comfort filled her spirit.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Kathleen lives in New Jersey with her husband and their two dogs. She’s a registered nurse who
works in an emergency room. Writing has been her passion since she was a young girl. Contemporary and paranormal romance are her favorites. She has three adult children and three lovable grandsons.
Her favorite romantic getaway is Cape May, New Jersey. You might find Kathleen on a beach down the Jersey Shore, wearing a straw hat, sipping on an iced tea, dreaming up her next romance novel.

CONNECT WITH KATHLEEN
Blog: http://kathleensplacetoreflect.blogspot.com/
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Kathleen-Ann-
Gallagher/e/B00J7NQF9Q/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1401679924&sr=1-2-ent
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Kathleenwrites
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorKathleenAnnGallagher
Google+ : https://plus.google.com/u/0/117606070036565136137/posts

Mia Mitns Day 3

Tea Leaf: What Hides Beneath

An Urban Fantasy



















Who is watching who?

Cinnia's life is about change. Cinnia hopes it is due to a new job at Sciecor, a highly decorated scientific company.

Fate, however, has something a little different in mind.

Things are not as they appear. Secrets hide in basements. Someone or something is always watching.

Jealousy simmers to try and destruct a relationship between friends.

Will Cinnia be able to handle her new destiny?

Amazon: http://goo.gl/aHsbAW
Barnes & Noble:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/tea-leaf-mia-
mitns/1120958642?ean=2940149881727
iTunes:  https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/tea-leaf-what-hides-beneath/id980750844?mt=11
Kobo:  https://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/tea-leaf
Smashwords:  https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/505642?ref=Mmitns
CreateSpace (paperback): https://www.createspace.com/5341533

Enter the code 6PXR7TWN on CreateSpace   at checkout for $5 off until May 6th.

4/28/15

Review of The View North from Liberal Cemetery by Joel Wapnick

The View North from Liberal Cemetery

Joel Wapnick

After reading “The View North from Liberal Cemetery” I was moved to question whether there was such
a genre as elderly fiction. If there was Joel Wapnick’s novel would rank highly. This novel is laugh-out-
loud funny literary fiction that maintains a serious edge. 

The novel opens on New Years Day 2008, with Carl Anderson, an 82 year-old resident of Westmount
Manoir ruminating on the various ways to die. Anderson is a retired McGill University professor and
widower. His story is reminiscent of an older, saner Humbert Humbert with the encyclopedic memory of
an elephant. His flaw is that he can’t remember anything before he was 6.

In his journal Carl writes about falling for Shelley Randell, a 26 year-old librarian, in an attempt to escape
the boredom of Westmount Manoir and his children’s lack of attention. Shelley (Carl’s Lolita) is his
friend, although he wishes she be his lover. He enlists her to accompany him back to his childhood home
of Liberal, Kansas – the home of the Wizard of Oz Museum.  The purpose of the trip is to find out what
happened in Carl’s life before he was 6.

Carl and Shelley get to know each other’s secrets. His past includes perjury and violence. Her present is
HIV positive accompanied by cancer. In some ways their trip to Liberal Kansas is a re-enactment of
Dorothy’s trip to Oz.

Anderson’s views on religion, erectile dysfunction TV ads, philosophy and hearing Opus
Clavicembalisticum by Geoffrey Douglas Madge give you some idea of the breadth of topics covered in
the journalized novel that ends in January of 2009. There is plenty of tension throughout as Carl spars
with family, friends and strangers to find the truth about his past and to give Shelley some hope for the
future.

Throughout the novel Carl’s voice is funny and literate. According to the New York Review of Books
eBook series , NYRB Lit, a book fits into literary fiction because of its “allegiance to language.” Nothing
could be more apt to describe Joel Wapnick’s (1999 World Scrabble Champion) novel.
In writing this review I became curious about older heroes in fiction. Here’s The Guardian’s list of Top 10
Old Age stories…
http://www.theguardian.com/books/2011/feb/02/paul-bailey-top-10-stories-old-age

4 ½ Stars
Bill S

Mia Mitns Day 2


Naya's Invasion (Fallen Invasion Series, #2)

A Science Fiction Romance

#29831 a.k.a. Naya is a fierce commander of the quiet alien invasion. Her tasks were minimal.
Remain invisible. Direct the invasion. Reach the quota of humans. See how the other humans
react.

Falling for a human wasn’t part of the plan.

Will Naya be loyal to her heart or her tasks?

Second story in the “Fallen Invasion” Series
Stand Alone Story

Amazon (digital & paperback): http://goo.gl/GI4duj
Barnes & Noble (paperback): http://goo.gl/Df1zOU
CreateSpace (paperback): https://www.createspace.com/5416139

Fallen

Fallen, Book 1, is free.  Check out the links here: http://mmitns.wix.com/mia-mitns#!books/cnec

4/27/15

Mia Mitns Day 1


Interview with Mia Mitns

First why don't you tell us a little about yourself?
I’m Mia.  I’m from Texas but I have moved around to a few different places including Georgia
and California.

 Newest release?
 My newest release is Naya’s Invasion.  It is a science fiction romance about an alien who is in
charge of part of the invasion, but she falls in love with a human while trying to get things set up.

What can we expect from your stories, action, drama, romance, sex, blood and guts?
My stories have sometimes have action.  They have varying degrees of romance sometimes it is
more physical than emotional.  They all are sweet level romances.  One of my stories, Naya’s
Invasion, has some horror in the beginning, which feels a little strange because it is a romance. 
Tea Leaf also focuses some on friendship.  All of the stories have some sort of paranormal
element.  Some have sci-fi.

Do you have a favorite character in your stories? Who? and Why?
I love them all, but while I was writing Tea Leaf and Love, Music, Amali I tended to like the bad
boy character.  I liked Jes because he was open about everything.  I liked Zarion because he
seemed more interesting due to his personality.  In Naya’s Invasion, they all were interesting.  I
guess the favorite would have to be Naya because was confident but also let a softer side show.
 
Give us an interesting fun fact or a few about your book or series:
The “Fallen Invasion” series wasn’t even going to be a series.  I actually wrote Fallen, the first
story in the series, for an entry to a magazine.  I liked the story so much that I decided to keep it
for myself.  Then the idea to make a series popped up.  I wanted the series to be of short stories,
but I couldn’t stop around 30 pages for Naya’s Invasion, so technically it is a collection of
shorter stories.
I got the title “Tea Leaf” from tasseography, which is a fortune telling method where tea leaves
or coffee beans are used to tell the future.

Has there been any other authors who have inspired your work or helped you out with your
stories?
I think everything I read in some way inspires and helps me with stories.  Some authors help me
to think about developing the story and how the story unfolds.  I look to others for a way to
improve my writing and make the storytelling more interesting.

What can readers who enjoy your book do to help make it successful?
Basically spread the word.  The readers can tell others they know about the story and why they
liked it.  Online they can write reviews to help potential readers decide to buy it.

Do you have any tips for readers or advice for other writers trying to get published?
For authors trying to get published I would say consider what you want.  You can go the
traditional publishing route or do self-publishing.  Each way has its own advantages and
disadvantages.  As far as self-publishing the only thing you have to do to get published is to
write the story, put the components of the book together, and publish it.

Do you have a favorite author? If yes, what draws you to that person’s work?
I have a lot of favorites, but the person who sticks out is Toni Morrison.  I like the way she tells
her stories.  I feel like I know the characters and can relate even when I have never been in a
similar situation.

Can you remember one of the first things you wrote? What makes it memorable?
Yes.  I wrote a poem when I was nine.  The line I remember is “Snakes in a lake.”  It was
memorable because everything rhymed.  My mom also told me that it was really good and
encouraged me to write more.

Where do you gather most of the inspiration for your work?
Everywhere.  There can be situations I or others went through, news articles I read, a TV
commercial, random thoughts, a regular conversation— anything can be a spark to an idea for
me.

Do you have any other interesting hobbies, pets or stories you would like to share?
I try and play the guitar, write songs, and record.  It is a lot of fun even though I can’t sing.  I
enjoy writing lyrics.  I like to think of lyrics as highly emotional short stories.

Favorite places to travel or visit?
I haven’t traveled for fun, but when I lived in Southern California (close to Los Angeles), I loved
to go to the beaches and go hiking.  Santa Monica Beach with the Ferris wheel that lights up at
night was my favorite, but before I left I started to love Manhattan Beach more. 
Hiking was fun and I got a workout too.  When you get to the top of the hill at Runyon Canyon
Park, the view is incredible.  I love the view at the Griffith Observatory as well.
I almost forgot to mention the scenic drive on Mulholland Dr.  It is pretty scary since you drive
up the mountain and can see all of the way down, but the views of the city are also amazing. 
There are a couple of places you can stop and take pictures at the Hollywood Bowl and
Universal City overlooks. 

And now, before you go, how about a snippet from your book that is meant to intrigue and
tantalize us:( Include links to were we can find your work)
Naya, special agent #29831, held the man gently as she sat in the street.  She used her arm to
cradle his head as he lie across her legs.  Her hands felt his warmth slipping away.  Fixed and
frightened, his eyes looked towards the sun lit sky.  No, she did not hold him wishing for him to
wake up suddenly.  She didn’t rock back and forth, crying over his lifeless body.  She reveled in
the moment.  It made her feel alive.  She felt a great passion.  She was fulfilled.  Well, for the
moment.

Links for Naya’s Invasion
Amazon (digital & paperback): http://goo.gl/GI4duj
Barnes & Noble (paperback): http://goo.gl/Df1zOU
CreateSpace (paperback): https://www.createspace.com/5416139
You can also find all of  my works on my website, http://mmitns.wix.com/mia-
mitns#!books/cnec

If you would like to receive updates including giveaways, sign up for my mailing list:
http://goo.gl/nVQmF3
Thanks!

D.L. Narrol Day 5


  Arctic Quest, should hopefully be released at the end of the calendar year.  It is
the fourth book of my steampunk series.

Chapter Two:
It was Monday morning, Colin and the Neanderthal got off the train and plunged their
way through London’s hustle and bustle.  The Neanderthal followed Colin through the
crowds, unnoticed.  Colin was already dressed in his three-piece suit, ready to teach his
Monday morning lecture at the university.  He crossed the street with Neanderthal,
trailing behind him; and made his way to the university lecture hall at the Natural History
Building. 
Rosa walked by Colin.  “Colin! Hello!”  She called out, waving her arms above
her head to catch his attention. 
Colin turned his head and took a few steps toward the beautiful petite figure, as he
cut his way through the gaggle of university students.  “Grand to see ye,” he said with a
smile.
“I see you still have your fine fuzzy friend by your side.”
“Thankfully, he slept on the train ride to London.  I was finally able to order some
breakfast.  It was brilliant, so it was.”
“Colin, you’re teaching a lecture now, and you’re bringing Neanderthal with
you?”
“What else can I do?”
“You can’t bring Neanderthal to your lecture.  Colin, he’s a prehistoric prime
mate.  He needs to be placed back in his time.”
“It’s bloody-well destroyin’ me life.  It’s eatin’ me out of house and home, and it
bloody feck tried to kill me on the ship, so it did.”
She raised her hands to her mouth.  “Oh my, Colin, I’m so sorry this is happening
to you.  What can I do to help?”
“Look, it’s me own mess, so it is.  Lorelei was right in sayin’ I’m always tryin’ to
play God.  So, this is what I get for me own wrong-doin’, eh?”
Rosa lifted one eyebrow.  “Lorelei said that?”  She paused.  “How profound.”
“Why ye miffed that she said that?”
“Because she’s a whore, that’s why.”
“So?”
“Are you sleeping with her again, Colin?”
He stepped away from Rosa.  “Why should ye care?  Yer off gettin’ yerself
married to Sasha.  He’s already married.  Yer makin’ a bleedin’ mistake.”
“We’re going to get married in a Catholic church.”
“Sasha’s Catholic?”
“I don’t really know what he is, but he said it doesn’t bother him.”
“Yer marryin’ him and ye don’t even know what denomination of Christianity
he’s from?”
“So, Amoli Sharma is Hindu, whatever that is.  Something Asian, I suppose.”
The prehistoric mammal started to grunt and poke Colin in the side.
“I’ve gotta dash to me lecture, now.”
“By the way, Colin.”
Colin turned to her.  “Aye?”
“We’re getting married on Christmas day.”
Colin’s lips were parted as he stared at Rosa in silence.
“Weren’t you and Amoli to be married on Christmas day?”
Colin forced a smile and tried to nod in agreement.  The Neanderthal continued to
poke Colin in the side.  “Gotta run,” he paused.  “Cheers.”
Rosa watched Colin and Neanderthal vanish in the crowd.  She continued to stand
amongst the busy crowd, as she saw Colin and the beast no more.
Amoli passed by Rosa, giving a little un-intentional shove.
“Hello, Miss Emanuel,” Amoli said with a partial smile.
“Amoli, hello.  I was just speaking with Colin.”
“That’s nice.”
“Have you spoken to him lately?”
“I think it’s best that we don’t see each other anymore.”
“Are you sure about this?”
Amoli started to bight the ends of her book. “Are you sure you want to marry Dr.
Dimitrikov?”
“Of course I’m sure.”
“He smokes a lot of tobacco, Miss Emanuel.”
“So?”
“Now is your chance to get Colin back.”
“I don’t think I can do that, Amoli.” Rosa’s posture changed, demonstrating her
frustration.
“I always knew you wanted him back.  He’s a very nice man, you know.”
“Yes, he is.  Look, Amoli, it’s almost 1911, times are rapidly changing and
women are now allowed to do so much more than before.  If you want Colin back, then,
you have a chance to pursue him.  You see, women can now do the pursuing.”
“It was the most difficult decision that I have ever made to let go of Colin.”
“Me too.”
“You let go of Colin?  I thought he let go of you.”
“Long story,” Rosa said trying to focus on something else.
“You still love him, Miss Emanuel.”
“I just can’t live his crazy lifestyle.  He works too hard.  When would he ever be
home?  He drinks too much alcohol.  When would he ever be sober?  He’s always time
traveling.  When would he ever be living in the present?  He wears his hair too long. 
When would he ever cut his hair and look respectable?”
“I like his hair.  I think it makes him look like a God.”
“A God?”
“When he has a beard with that long hair.  Yes, I very much think he looks like a
God.”
“Interesting.”
Amoli smiled.  “Well, I suppose you have a lot of planning to do for the
wedding.”
“I already purchased my wedding dress.”
Amoli smiled.
“We’re going to marry on Christmas day.”
“I see.  Colin and I were going to do that too.”
Rosa fiddled with her poorly fitted engagement ring.   “Do you still love Colin?”
“Of course,” Amoli paused, then gazed at Rosa’s over-sized engagement ring.  
“Don’t you?”
“Of course I do.”
“So, why are you marrying Dr. Dimitrikov?  Isn’t he already married to someone
in Russia?”
Rosa shifted her eyes a bit.  “He said he doesn’t love her anymore and that he
wants me.”
“Colin thinks you’re making a mistake.”
“What does Colin know about relationships?  He just knows about those
disgusting whores on his ship.”
Amoli’s eyes dropped to the floor.  “Well, I can’t discuss Colin anymore.  I’m
feeling very saddened about our broken engagement.”
“You were the one who broke it off in the first place.”
“I don’t really like that he’s so popular with the women.  It bothers me.”
Rosa lifted one eyebrow.  “Well, um, yes, that he certainly is.”
“I bet if you made a pass at Colin, he would respond to you.  I know he always
loved you.  That also bothered me.”
Rosa’s eyes widened and she smiled.  “Do you think so?”
“You just said it yourself that women can now do the pursuing.”
Rosa fluttered her eyelashes a bit and primped her hair.  “Do you think he would
respond to me if I made a pass at him?”
Amoli’s head hung low.  “I know you want him.  So, why are you so excited
about your engagement to Dr. Dimitrikov?”
“Amoli, Colin and I are no more.  In fact, we never were.”
“I don’t believe that.  I can’t continue this conversation, it’s too painful!”  Amoli
said, turning her head away from Rosa.
“Amoli, you made the decision to end it with him.  He’s very sad about that.  He
loves you.”
“No, he loves you.  I see the way he looks at you. He always calls you love, which
makes me ill.”
“All Irish men call all women love.”
“Too many women flock around him.  I can’t stand it anymore.”
“He never encourages it, though.”
“That’s true,” Amoli paused to think about what to say next.  “He always gets
drunk and ends up sleeping with them.  “I think he encourages it.”
Rosa tried to focus on something else.  “Look, he has Neanderthal to worry about. 
I think that prehistoric creature has become a great burden on him.”
“Poor Neanderthal, nobody likes him anymore.”
“Nobody ever liked Neanderthal.  Neanderthal is mean. He’s always taking shots
at Colin.  I just saw Colin and he looked a bit banged up.  Poor man.”
Amoli’s expression appeared somewhat surprised.  “Neanderthal is misplaced and
he’s so very misunderstood, that’s all.”
“Colin is constantly in a physical confrontation with him.  It was Colin’s idea to
bring that bipedal beast to our time period because Colin was afraid for its life.”
“Colin was right.  We couldn’t have left Neanderthal in 1970.”
Rosa rolled her eyes back and folded her arms in front of her.  “Then you should
mind that beast instead of Colin.  Neanderthal always liked you best.”
“I don’t know if I can, my father wants to get me on a boat to India so I can be
married off.”
Rosa’s eyes widened.  “Don’t tell that to Colin.”
“I don’t know what to do, Miss Emanuel, Colin loves me so much. Tell me what I
should do?”
Rosa stepped back and took a breath.  She focused on anything but Amoli.  “Do
what you want.  If you want to return to India and marry your father’s choice, so be it.”

4/26/15

Aria Michaels



In the wake of unspeakable tragedy, 17 year old Liv Larson is crushed by the news that she and her brother are being sent to separate foster homes. From that moment on, she lives with a single-minded determination to get him back, even if it means shutting out the rest of the world in the process. After months of solitude and anti-social behavior, Liv’s best friend Riley drags her to a Rooftop Viewing party for Icarus, the once in a lifetime solar flare event. That night, Liv finds herself inexplicably drawn to Zander James, a mysterious boy with a crooked smile and bright copper eyes which hide his own pain. For the first time in months, Liv’s troubles feel a bit less overwhelming—that is until what should have been a small flare, erupts into a massive solar storm, forcing Liv and the others to seek shelter in the school’s basement. With no way out and no sign of rescue, the kids must find a way to survive the sweltering heat and lingering radiation, while a mysterious and deadly virus finds an ideal host among them. Fear and loss take hold and the group divides as alliances are formed and battle lines drawn. Soon, Liv and her new friends must set out on a perilous journey through the unknown to save their loved ones, find answers, and reach salvation…But, something sinister awaits in the dark—and it’s undeniably connected to Liv. Will Liv be able to keep her promise and reunite with her brother? What will she and her friends be willing to do to survive? Will bravery and determination be enough to save them all from a rogue government, a terrifying virus, and the things that go bump in the night…………Or was Icarus, indeed, the KILLSHOT? “Killshot is the action-packed, post-apocalyptic thrill ride you’ve been searching for. It’s gritty, violent, and full of enough gore and suspense to keep you on your toes. A heart-stopping journey into a dangerous new world that takes on dystopian without going zombie, Killshot blends science fiction with natural disaster and astronomically bad luck…Bursting with explosions, immense heat, and bloodshed, Killshot is a survivalist’s dream read.” – Jordan, YA Book Madness Blog “Aria writes Brilliantly…The descriptions are fabulous and you feel every trauma that they suffer.” –Claire at Bare Naked Words “Rarely do I read Young Adult literature, much less Dystopian YA. But I can honestly say, I'm SO glad that I did. Everything about this book is fantastic….Liv, Zander, Jake, Felisha, Rily, Micah...they are so multi-faceted. Their descriptions, the dialogue between them, its like you are right in the sweltering basement of the high school with them, waiting for the end.” -Author M.A. Stone




Buy Link:
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00O0B9IOE

D.L. Narrol Day 4


Books by D.L. Narrol


Product Details












Captain Limmerick lives a double life, from working class fisherman to prehistoric explorer. He stumbles onto Dr. Dimitrikov’s faulty time-travel device and travels 10,000 years into the past to find how Megaloceros giganteus came to its demise. When the time travel expedition goes bust, he then time-travels again to try and fix the mess he made, but ends up 40,000 years into the past instead where he is faced with the unthinkable. Captain Limmerick proves his bravery but also realizes he is an ill-prepared time-traveler. While all hell breaks lose he is also caught between the-tug-of-war of two aggressive women.


Product Details












This sequel to Prehistoric Journey: The First Expeditions picks up where the first expedition left off. Something tore apart the lifeboat of The Atlantic Mermaid and the crew panicked. Captain Colin Limmerick, a steam-punk version of Indiana Jones, knows that the creature that did this was from a prehistoric time. He is convinced that Dr. Sasha Dimitrikov's time-travel device widened the passage they journeyed through, allowing prehistoric mammals to slip into their time of 1910. Rosa, Limmerick's former girlfriend and archeologist, insists there is a pathway that leads to the prehistoric past.The explorers thrash through time again landing in Ireland circa 840 A.D – a time when savage Vikings pillaged their way through most of Europe. Limmerick, possessed of bulk and muscle, is pitched in bloody battles with Vikings and Celts while the travelers search for the doorway that leads home. Even with Dr. Dimitrikov's device at their disposal, they may not be able to undo what their meddling has caused and put them back in the time where they belong.Colin Limmerick knows that the responsibility for all that has gone wrong rests on his broad shoulders, and he will not stop until he has restored the natural order of things.


Product Details

The third steam punk adventure of the Prehistoric Journey series takes the four time travelers to the unexpected once again. It’s 1910, Captain Limmerick, Dr. Dimitrikov, Rosa, and Amoli mistakably time travel to 1487 England just after The War of the Roses. The queen is enchanted with Limmerick and has him knighted, where he must undergo challenging jousting tournaments, and prove his abilities as a skilled archer. He becomes entangled with the king’s rivals and finds himself in near death situations. He uses his position, as part of the king’s court, to rescue his friends from the castle dungeon, but struggles with the crown’s idea of chivalry.

During this voyage, they discover prehistoric mammals have been misplaced from when they tried to close the passage through time in Celtic Odyssey. The four time-travelers attempt to return to 1910, but another error occurs and for the first time, they travel to their future – 1970.


Product Details












This is where Beauty and the Beast meets Cinderella. Beowulf is the handsome warrior of legend from sixth century Daneland. Kyla is a twenty-first-century university student studying the tale of Beowulf in London, England. In a classic case of “be careful what you wish for” Kyla opens her dormitory door to the Viking hero, who has been misplaced in her century by a quirky witch.

The flames of passion begin from here, where the love between them is unstoppable. Beowulf immerses himself in the modern age, but cannot escape his destiny. When he is thrust back into his time Kyla finds a way to follow him to the primitive past. She must learn to cope with sorcery and magic, and comply with the four Norse rules in order to win her warrior. Their battles never seem to end, when they are threatened by the troll Grendel, the troll-mother, and even a fire-breathing dragon.

Worlds collide, as the two lovers are torn apart and sent spinning through time and space. It will take all of Kyla’s feminine inge
 
 
 
 
 

4/25/15

Review of Allora's Valentine by Lorraine Nelson

Allora's Valentine
by Lorraine Nelson

Allora Tate had planned the perfect Valentine’s Day wedding…until her groom-to-be left her standing alone at the altar. She decides to go on her honeymoon by herself and meets Dexter Hammond, the sexy and exciting hotel manager.

Dexter sees many beautiful women pass through his hotel, but none have captivated him the way Allora has. He wasn’t keen on catching a woman on the rebound, but he couldn’t make his heart understand. Determined to catch her attention, Dexter plans a Valentine’s party for his guests with the hopes of winning her over during the evening.

This book was very fast-paced read.. very sweet read! Allora had worst day ever on top of that it was Valentine day!! A happy wedding day turned into nightmare even her groom left her at the altar. Then from there things went down hill, until she meets Dexter.  Everything goes back into place and they fall in love with each other.

Olivia R.
5 stars

Review of His Christmas Wish by Lorraine Nelson

His Christmas Wish
by Lorraine Nelson

     Colin Reyes is ready to get away from it all for a while and be alone.  So when a friend offers to let him use his cabin, he jumped 
at the chance to escape and enjoy some solitude.  What he least expected to happen was to come to the rescue of a stranded motorist 
only to discover it was the one woman his heart can't seem to escape.
   Fatima Leone was just trying to get a Christmas tree before the storm rolled in when a deer darts in front of her and in her attempt to 
avoid hitting it,  her car slid off the road, airbags exploding and darkness taking her over.
     And when she wakes and finds herself with Colin she wonders if this is punishment or fate???  Can they make it work out this time or
will she walk away again???


Review:  This was a quick, easy read.  I really enjoyed the characters and their story.  I especially love that Colin seemed to keep an open heart even though Fatima had hurt him so much in the past.  A great Christmas story.  The author reminds us that communication is key in every relationship.

4 stars
Theresa F

Review of Ridiculous By D.L. Carter

Ridiculous

By D.L. Carter

Millicent and her sisters have been taken in by Mr. North, a rich miser who treats them as servants and expects them to fulfill his every whim.  Although life with him is insufferable, at least the girls aren't living in the workhouse.  However, when the skinflint dies, the girls face a conundrum.  Without Mr. North’s support, they will be tossed into the street.

Millicent dreams up a fantastic solution.  She cuts off her hair, dons her cousin’s clothes, and becomes Mr. North.  She finds that she enjoys the freedom of living as a man, and all goes well – until she meets a charming, wealthy duke who wants to be Mr. North’s best friend.  Millicent is dying to be more than just friends with the duke, but she fears she’ll lose him forever if she reveals that she’s not a man.

Millicent’s adventures as Mr. North in London high society are absolutely entertaining.  Yes, it’s a bit absurd that not one person ever suspects that this funny-looking man is actually a passably attractive woman, but seriously, this is a romance novel and a sometimes you just have to embrace a bizarre premise with open arms in order to enjoy the happy fantasy behind it.  I absolutely loved every page of this book and I highly recommend it to anyone.

Five stars.
Yvonne H

D.L. Narrol Day 3


How about a snippet from my latest that is not yet released, Arctic Quest

Chapter Two:

It was Monday morning, Colin and the Neanderthal got off the train and plunged their

way through London’s hustle and bustle.  The Neanderthal followed Colin through the

crowds, unnoticed.  Colin was already dressed in his three-piece suit, ready to teach his

Monday morning lecture at the university.  He crossed the street with Neanderthal,

trailing behind him; and made his way to the university lecture hall at the Natural History

Building.

Rosa walked by Colin.  “Colin! Hello!”  She called out, waving her arms above

her head to catch his attention.

Colin turned his head and took a few steps toward the beautiful petite figure, as he

cut his way through the gaggle of university students.  “Grand to see ye,” he said with a

smile.

“I see you still have your fine fuzzy friend by your side.”

“Thankfully, he slept on the train ride to London.  I was finally able to order some

breakfast.  It was brilliant, so it was.”

“Colin, you’re teaching a lecture now, and you’re bringing Neanderthal with

you?”

“What else can I do?”

“You can’t bring Neanderthal to your lecture.  Colin, he’s a prehistoric prime

mate.  He needs to be placed back in his time.”

“It’s bloody-well destroyin’ me life.  It’s eatin’ me out of house and home, and it

bloody feck tried to kill me on the ship, so it did.”

She raised her hands to her mouth.  “Oh my, Colin, I’m so sorry this is happening

to you.  What can I do to help?”

“Look, it’s me own mess, so it is.  Lorelei was right in sayin’ I’m always tryin’ to

play God.  So, this is what I get for me own wrong-doin’, eh?”

Rosa lifted one eyebrow.  “Lorelei said that?”  She paused.  “How profound.”

“Why ye miffed that she said that?”

“Because she’s a whore, that’s why.”

“So?”

“Are you sleeping with her again, Colin?”

He stepped away from Rosa.  “Why should ye care?  Yer off gettin’ yerself

married to Sasha.  He’s already married.  Yer makin’ a bleedin’ mistake.”

“We’re going to get married in a Catholic church.”

“Sasha’s Catholic?”

“I don’t really know what he is, but he said it doesn’t bother him.”

“Yer marryin’ him and ye don’t even know what denomination of Christianity

he’s from?”

“So, Amoli Sharma is Hindu, whatever that is.  Something Asian, I suppose.”

The prehistoric mammal started to grunt and poke Colin in the side.

“I’ve gotta dash to me lecture, now.”

“By the way, Colin.”

Colin turned to her.  “Aye?”

“We’re getting married on Christmas day.”

Colin’s lips were parted as he stared at Rosa in silence.

“Weren’t you and Amoli to be married on Christmas day?”

Colin forced a smile and tried to nod in agreement.  The Neanderthal continued to

poke Colin in the side.  “Gotta run,” he paused.  “Cheers.”

Rosa watched Colin and Neanderthal vanish in the crowd.  She continued to stand

amongst the busy crowd, as she saw Colin and the beast no more.

Amoli passed by Rosa, giving a little un-intentional shove.

“Hello, Miss Emanuel,” Amoli said with a partial smile.

“Amoli, hello.  I was just speaking with Colin.”

“That’s nice.”

“Have you spoken to him lately?”

“I think it’s best that we don’t see each other anymore.”

“Are you sure about this?”

Amoli started to bight the ends of her book. “Are you sure you want to marry Dr.

Dimitrikov?”

“Of course I’m sure.”

“He smokes a lot of tobacco, Miss Emanuel.”

“So?”

“Now is your chance to get Colin back.”

“I don’t think I can do that, Amoli.” Rosa’s posture changed, demonstrating her

frustration.

“I always knew you wanted him back.  He’s a very nice man, you know.”

“Yes, he is.  Look, Amoli, it’s almost 1911, times are rapidly changing and

women are now allowed to do so much more than before.  If you want Colin back, then,

you have a chance to pursue him.  You see, women can now do the pursuing.”

“It was the most difficult decision that I have ever made to let go of Colin.”

“Me too.”

“You let go of Colin?  I thought he let go of you.”

“Long story,” Rosa said trying to focus on something else.

“You still love him, Miss Emanuel.”

“I just can’t live his crazy lifestyle.  He works too hard.  When would he ever be

home?  He drinks too much alcohol.  When would he ever be sober?  He’s always time

traveling.  When would he ever be living in the present?  He wears his hair too long.

When would he ever cut his hair and look respectable?”

“I like his hair.  I think it makes him look like a God.”

“A God?”

“When he has a beard with that long hair.  Yes, I very much think he looks like a

God.”

“Interesting.”

Amoli smiled.  “Well, I suppose you have a lot of planning to do for the

wedding.”

“I already purchased my wedding dress.”

Amoli smiled.

“We’re going to marry on Christmas day.”

“I see.  Colin and I were going to do that too.”

Rosa fiddled with her poorly fitted engagement ring.   “Do you still love Colin?”

“Of course,” Amoli paused, then gazed at Rosa’s over-sized engagement ring.  

“Don’t you?”

“Of course I do.”

“So, why are you marrying Dr. Dimitrikov?  Isn’t he already married to someone

in Russia?”

Rosa shifted her eyes a bit.  “He said he doesn’t love her anymore and that he

wants me.”

“Colin thinks you’re making a mistake.”

“What does Colin know about relationships?  He just knows about those

disgusting whores on his ship.”

Amoli’s eyes dropped to the floor.  “Well, I can’t discuss Colin anymore.  I’m

feeling very saddened about our broken engagement.”

“You were the one who broke it off in the first place.”

“I don’t really like that he’s so popular with the women.  It bothers me.”

Rosa lifted one eyebrow.  “Well, um, yes, that he certainly is.”

“I bet if you made a pass at Colin, he would respond to you.  I know he always

loved you.  That also bothered me.”

Rosa’s eyes widened and she smiled.  “Do you think so?”

“You just said it yourself that women can now do the pursuing.”

Rosa fluttered her eyelashes a bit and primped her hair.  “Do you think he would

respond to me if I made a pass at him?”

Amoli’s head hung low.  “I know you want him.  So, why are you so excited

about your engagement to Dr. Dimitrikov?”

“Amoli, Colin and I are no more.  In fact, we never were.”

“I don’t believe that.  I can’t continue this conversation, it’s too painful!”  Amoli

said, turning her head away from Rosa.

“Amoli, you made the decision to end it with him.  He’s very sad about that.  He

loves you.”

“No, he loves you.  I see the way he looks at you. He always calls you love, which

makes me ill.”

“All Irish men call all women love.”

“Too many women flock around him.  I can’t stand it anymore.”

“He never encourages it, though.”

“That’s true,” Amoli paused to think about what to say next.  “He always gets

drunk and ends up sleeping with them.  “I think he encourages it.”

Rosa tried to focus on something else.  “Look, he has Neanderthal to worry about.

I think that prehistoric creature has become a great burden on him.”

“Poor Neanderthal, nobody likes him anymore.”

“Nobody ever liked Neanderthal.  Neanderthal is mean. He’s always taking shots

at Colin.  I just saw Colin and he looked a bit banged up.  Poor man.”

Amoli’s expression appeared somewhat surprised.  “Neanderthal is misplaced and

he’s so very misunderstood, that’s all.”

“Colin is constantly in a physical confrontation with him.  It was Colin’s idea to

bring that bipedal beast to our time period because Colin was afraid for its life.”

“Colin was right.  We couldn’t have left Neanderthal in 1970.”

Rosa rolled her eyes back and folded her arms in front of her.  “Then you should

mind that beast instead of Colin.  Neanderthal always liked you best.”

“I don’t know if I can, my father wants to get me on a boat to India so I can be

married off.”

Rosa’s eyes widened.  “Don’t tell that to Colin.”

“I don’t know what to do, Miss Emanuel, Colin loves me so much. Tell me what I

should do?”

Rosa stepped back and took a breath.  She focused on anything but Amoli.  “Do

what you want.  If you want to return to India and marry your father’s choice, so be it.”


4/24/15

Review of Armageddon and the Fourth Timeline by Don Mardak

Armageddon and the Fourth Timeline
by Don Mardak

This book was my first introduction to Christian mysticism, which was intriguing for me, as I was indoctrinated as a child in conservative Protestantism.  Most of the main character's out-of-body experiences took place within familiar Old and New Testament stories, so it was interesting to delve into the author's variations of those situations.  I enjoyed the elaborations on the personalities of Moses, Paul, and Peter, since the Bible itself never gives much detail on the human side of these famous characters.  While many of my conservative acquaintances would categorize much of this book as blasphemous, I personally view it as a good fantasy book that incorporates the author's treasured religious beliefs -- and one does not have to share those beliefs to appreciate the story.

Armageddon and the Fourth Timeline kept my attention up until the end.  It is well written and the tale continues at a fast pace.  My only problem is that it has a bit of a patriarchal tone.  For instance, the main character meets reincarnations of his wife and soul mate on his journeys through time, but she is always portrayed as a slightly inferior creature and is quick to voice skepticism of his heroic experiences.  Her purpose seems to be to follow him throughout the world and listen to his spiritual theories.  

I think the book was definitely a worth-while read, especially for fans of apocalyptic and time travel tales.  

4 stars
Yvonne H

Review of Blake - A Montana Dayton Novel by Lynn Thompson

Blake - A Montana Dayton Novel
Lynn Thompson

Montana's story opens with her driving to her new home in the mountains. She a 28 year old investor and lottery winner. Along with her she has her 6 month old bull mastiff mix puppy, Killer. Montana is longing for a vacation of peace and quiet. She has only seen her vacation home in blue prints. Her friend Rose has been over seeing the building an decorating. She can only imagine the wonderful job Rose has done.

While trying to relax, Montana seems to have creepy feelings that someone, somewhere is watching her. Feeling the need to be protected is where Max comes in. Max is willing and able to the do the job, but what he didn't expect is the feelings that comes with the job. Montana is wondering if having Max around is what she wants or is her feelings in the way ??

Great read and very fast paced and in your face. I love Montana ! She seems to be a women that knows what she wants and goes for it. The new friends that Rose brings into her life are just what she needs, but yet I don't think she realizes that right off the bat. One thing is for sure I looked over my shoulder for awhile after reading this one !

5 thrilling stars
Wende

Mary L Williams Day 5


If I Loved You (Harper Falls #1)

Blurb:
If You Only Wanted One Night Would You Take A Chance On a Man Who Wanted Forever?
Rose O'Brian wants to spice up her love life and Jack Winston seems like the answer. Sexy, funny and a killer smile, Jack is every woman's fantasy. All she wants is one night of passion, nothing more. But Jack has a secret that stops him from taking her up on her offer, stops him from having the one thing he wants more than his next breath--beautiful Rose O'Brian. Rose has her own secrets. Emotionally scared, she's never believed in happily ever afters. But for the first time she's met a man who makes her want to open her heart, to dream of love. When Rose's past rears its ugly head can she finally let go and overcome the hurt? Can Jack convince her to take a chance and embrace a future with him? Can he show her that love is there if she will only reach out and take it?

                      
About the author
Mary J. Williams was born and raised in Washington State. She attended Eastern Washington University and graduated with a degree in photography. It has always been her dream to write, but it took a while for the dream to come true. With the publication of "If I Loved You" featuring the love story of Rose O'Brian and Jack Winston, she hopes to expand on that dream and write many more. She will be revisiting Harper Falls and Rose's best friends Dani and Tyler in future books, "If Tomorrow Never Comes" and "If You Only Knew". Both books will be out later this year. Love stories were always her favorite when she was growing up, and now she's writing her own.

When not writing Mary loves to read, garden (raspberry bushes are just starting to green up) and exercise, though the last part is not a favorite activity. She loves to bake (which makes the exercising really necessary), and cookies are her favorite.

Just before she downloaded "If I Loved You" for publication her hands were shaking so badly it was hard to hit the button. But for better or worse the book is out there. All comments and reviews are welcome, even the bad ones (let's hope there aren't too many of those).

Visit Mary's website at maryjwilliams.net and sign up for her newsletter.

Like Mary on Facebook Mary J. Williams and visit for updates.

Happy reading everyone.

D.L. Narrol Interview Day 2

Interview with D.L. Narrol:  Part 2


Do you have any tips for readers or advice for other writers trying to get published?

Don’t think about writing ~ do it!

Do you have a favorite author? If yes, what draws you to that person’s work?

Conrad.  He wrote great adventures.  I love that stuff.

Can you remember one of the first things you wrote? What makes it memorable?

I started writing when I was in the fifth grade.  I knew from then, I had to continue.

Where do you gather most of the inspiration for your work? 

My travels and the people I’ve met on my travels.

Do you have any other interesting hobbies, pets or stories you would like to share?

I paint, sketch, etc.  I love

Favorite places to travel or visit?

I need to return to  Ireland, Russia, Ukraine and the South Pacific.


D.L. Narrol


http://www.dlnarrol.net




Join us tomorrow for a snippet from her latest book that is not yet released, Arctic Quest


4/23/15

D.L. Narrol Interview day 1 feature

Welcome to JBR.  Today we have D.L. Narrol with us. 

Here is the first part of our interview.

We are having a give away going on what item are you giving away? (Anyone can win
the item by going to the rafflecopter on the right hand side of the pg.)

I’m giving away my stand alone, When Beowulf Meets Kyla.  It’s a hilarious romantic fantasy.

When Beowulf Meets Kyla

First why don't you tell us a little about yourself?

I’m Canadian, for starters, born and raised in
Toronto.  I’m well travelled, and my main genre is steampunk.  The only contemporary I like is
furniture.

Newest release? 

Arctic Quest, should hopefully be released at the end of the calendar year.  It is
the fourth book of my steampunk series.

What can we expect from your stories, action, drama, romance, sex, blood and guts?

My books are always packed with action, the romance is on-going, and the battle scenes usually
contain some blood and guts.

Do you have a favorite character in your stories? Who? and Why?

All my readers marvel over Dr. Sasha Dimitrikov because he’s the comic relief of the series. 
However, my favorite is definitely Captain Limmerick.  He’s my protagonist.  He’s gorgeous, bright,
and a genuine good man.  However, what I love about him is that he’s not a super hero.  This man
has definite issues. He’s just striking to look at, but unfortunately, he drinks a  little too much, where
it often gets him into trouble.

Give us an interesting fun fact or a few about your book or series:

The series is mainly about Captain Colin Limmerick, the brawny, working class researcher who is
interested in time travel:  Dr. Sasha Dimtirikov, the eccentric Russian scientist who develops the
time travel device and later the time machine; Rosa Emanuel, the most intelligent character in the
series and Amoli Sharma the spoiled, little girl from India.  It’s the early 1900s and these four
people are very different from one another and yet they travel through time together.  They don’t
particularly like each other, where there are constant arguments, and mud slinging amongst them  -
- however, they are time travel partners through thick and thin.

Has there been any other authors who have inspired your work or helped you out with your
stories?

Diana Gabaldon, Kurt Vonnegut, Joseph Conrad:  I’m attracted to adventure, that’s where Conrad
comes in, I love humor mixed with drama, that’s where Vonnegut comes in, and I enthralled with
time travel, and that’s where Gabaldon comes in.

What can readers who enjoy your book do to help make it successful? 

They can tell their family members and friends.  My readers love my series.  Most of them read the
first book, Prehistoric Journey:  The First Expeditions and then they were hooked into reading the
other books in the series. 


Join us tomorrow for more of the interview with D.L. Narrol

Wilde Mountain Time by Siobhan MacKenzie

Wilde Mountain Time
by
Siobhan MacKenzie

Thom Mitchell is 53 and a famous singer. Thom is wanting a long vacation before he starts his new tour, which is manager, Malcom is happy to assist with.

Malcom has been Thom's close friend and manager for 25 years. When Thom ask for a get way, Malcom is happy to assist. Thom's favorite get way spot is Mount Washington Hotel, which is also the home for Wilde Mountain. A mountain that is well known for claiming a few hikers. Once there Thom finds himself wrapped up into doing a benefit for abused children. Doing a good deed also finds him very interested in the very attractive Joanna Hayes. Joanna is a lawyer and there to help raise money for a worthy cause.

Thom and Joanne have a rough start but things soon start to smooth out. One conversation leads to another . . . . .
While Thom is wrapped up with Joanne, he fails to see the obvious going on around him. Someone is out to get Thom. They want revenge and Thom will be the bargaining chip to make things right. Will Thom figure things out before its to late or will Wilde Mountain claim yet another life ???

This was an awesome read :) The author did good at keeping you on the edge of your seat. Going into the story you know Thom is a target but WHY ?? The story unfolds and just gets better with each page :) Love story .. . maybe. . thriller ... for sure :)

5 thrilling stars
Wende

Mary J Williams Day 4


If I Loved You (Harper Falls #1)

Here's a brief hello from the hero of my book, Jack Weston.
 
Hi everyone.  I'd like to introduce myself.  My name is Jack Winton.  "If I Loved You" is my story, mine and Rose O'Brian's.  I knew the moment I met Rose that she was going to change my like forever.  Convincing her of that was harder than I expected.  Rose is independent and can't see herself with a happily ever after ending.  Her emotional scars run deep.  It hurts me to see this smart, funny woman cut herself off from happiness.  I grew up in a big, loving family so I know if she would just give us a chance we could have something special, beyond just the mind-blowing sex.  Which, by the way, is amazing.  I hope you'll come on the journey with Rose and myself.  At times, it's difficult, even gut-wrenching.  But I'm determined to make her mine.  Oh, and my dog Edgar is completely in love with Rose.  I don't think he would ever forgive me if I let her get away.

Join us in Harper Falls, a town full of secrets, lies, sex and more than a few happily ever afters.
 
 
 Here's a link to my website:http://www.maryjwilliams.net/

4/22/15

Mary J williams Day 3


If I Loved You (Harper Falls #1)

When I sit down to write I have to admit that most of the time I have no idea where I'm going.  I really admire other writers who lay out their stories, with long outlines and have a beginning, a middle and an ending before they ever put the first words to paper, or in my case word processor.  But for me, it only works if I let the characters dictate the flow of the story.  Yes, I'm fairly certain who is going to end up with whom, I do write romances, after all.  But nothing about how they get to their HEA is structured.  What you are about to read is a perfect example.  I thought I knew where this scene was going, and how it would end.  Unfortunately, or fortunately for my heroine, my hero had other ideas. 

The kiss was pure improvisation.  Bad idea, his brain screamed, but he had to have a kiss, one brief kiss.  But the moment she made that little moaning sound and opened her mouth to his questing tongue, he knew he was a goner.  Kissing Rose could never be brief, he planned on devoting hours to this one task.  
Eventually, he’d be able to write a thesis on her taste alone.  It turned out kissing Rose was the best bad idea he’d ever had.
Rose was drowning in pleasure like she’d never known, just from a kiss.  Jack wasn’t touching her any place but on the lips and yet she could feel it on every inch of her body.  Long, sure strokes of his tongue made her ache for him to explore the rest of her with equal thoroughness.  She needed to touch him, why wasn’t she touching him?  She reached out, not caring where she started just determined to start.  But Jack had other ideas.  Before she could do more than skim her hands up his chest, he stopped her, trapping them in one of his and raising them over her head.  She was at his mercy and loving every moment.
“I want you, Rose.”
Even his voice was an erotic jolt to her already overheated system.  She had gone from nervous to ready to explode in mere seconds.  Jack’s warm breath bathed her ear with every whispered word.  Had her ear always been so sensitive?  She couldn’t remember, at the moment she couldn’t think of anything past the small patch of skin on the side of her neck that he was slowly caressing with the side of his finger.
“Can you feel that, Rose?”
“Yes,” she sighed.  More, give me more.
“Close your eyes.  Think of nothing but my touch.  Is that enough?”
Rose moaned.  Enough?  God, no.  She needed his touch; she needed everything.
“One finger giving you so much pleasure.”  He slowly moved the tormenting caress down her neck and to the top her spine.  All her senses were zeroed in on that feather light touch as it made its way down the exposed skin of her back.
“Imagine, Rose, just imagine.  If just one finger can set your heart racing what could the other nine do?”


Jack took things farther than I had planned, and there was nothing I could do to stop him.  Not that Rose had any complaints, she was on board with him going a lot farther.  Luckily for my story I was able to put a stop to my wayward hero's rogue behavior, at least for the next few chapters.  Jack Winston likes to be in charge, even when someone else is writing the story.

I'm currently trying to control an new set of characters, Rose's friends Dani is in the middle of her own love story.  I'm finding the hero of "If Tomorrow Never Comes" to be just as alpha male controlling as Jack.  But he will get there, and I'm certain love will prevail.

The second and third books in the Harper Falls saga will be out this summer.  If you'd like to find out more please sign up for my newsletter.  I'll be having contests and giveaways with the release of every book.

And exclusive to the newsletter is what I'm calling Thoughts From Lila.  It will be a monthly bonus section giving a little more detail into the goings on in Harper Falls.  The first issue has Lila filling in some details on the night she meets Rose.  Rose has a particularly bad date, let's just say a pair of gorgeous Prada pumps are ruined by her dates untimely loss of his dinner.  Lila takes the time to flesh out the scene in her diary.  I hope it's just a fun way to get to know a minor character and her perspective on the town.  Here's a link if you would like to sign up.  http://www.maryjwilliams.net/contact.html

Thank you for taking the time to get to know me and my characters.  I hope you all enjoy "If I Loved You", it was a labor of love.

Search This Blog

Julie's Book Review

Hello, all my followers, visitors, and guests. Welcome to Julies Book Review. This is a site dedicated to helping authors and readers alike. Readers to find new authors and stories and authors to find new readers. For authors please contact me if you are interested in low cost promotion at juliesbookreview@gmail.com. I accommodate where I can. Readers please go through and search the blog. We have been active here for a while. Hundreds on authors, stories and genres to choose from. We have everything from sci-fi, erotica, romance, contemporary, mystery and horror. And nothing gets on this site without a 3 out 5 star rating minimum. I have several reviewers that read different genres. If you are interested in reviewing for me and the site please contact me at the above email. I hope you enjoy the site. I look forward to meeting and talking with you all.

Julie Ramsey & Theresa Fehse
ADM of JBR
Along with many reviewers (which we could not do this without)

Amazon SearchBox