1/31/15

Amanda Marie Day 5



Encore

     When I wrote Scandalous Endeavors I had no intention of writing anymore books in Amelia’s world. I even told my family and friends that I was moving on to a new idea. In fact I went as far as outlining Once A Lady and then began writing it! Scandalous Endeavors released on December 12, 2014 before I completed chapter One on Once A Lady. Within a week it became clear that people wanted another book. Several readers and reviewers have asked for Lady Sarah’s story. I aim to be a crowd please so I started working on Scandalous Arrangement almost right away. I plan to have Lady Sarah’s story ready for my publisher by spring. Here is an excerpt from my rough draft. 

     She glanced at Lord Shillington then accepted Lord Luvington’s arm. Her face warmed as she imagined everyone in the ballroom staring at them. He led her to the middle of the dance floor then gathered her into his arms as the quartet resumed their playing.

“Relax, my lady, ‘tis only a dance.”

Mortified, she tipped her chin. “I am relaxed.” How had he known that she fretted? Sarah took a deep breath and let it out slow as she gazed around at her peers.

     “If this is you being relaxed then I pity those exposed to you when you are not.” He smirked. “On my honor, this is only a dance.”

     “I do not believe that you have any honor and am not fool enough to believe this to be an innocent dance. You want something from me.” She peered up at him.

He grinned. “Perhaps I do.”

“You are wasting your time sir.”

“Unless, of course, this is simply a dance.”

“You just stated that you wanted something from me.” Sarah balled her hand in the fabric of her skirt. If she were less of a lady, she would smack him for toying with her.

“No, I said perhaps I wanted something. That means I could very well want nothing.” He arched one dark, brow and a chestnut lock of hair flopped onto his forehead.

Bloody hell the man was attractive. Sarah stared into his shamrock eyes. “Enough with the games. Tell me what you want with me, Lord Luvington.”

“Tonight?”

“Yes, tonight.” Sarah bit out through clenched teeth.

“Tonight I want to hold you.” He grinned.

Sarah blushed at the implication and turned her head to look out into the crowd. She had enough of talking to him. Clearly he did not plan to tell her anything of importance.

He pulled her closer and leaned in close. “Tomorrow I want to get to know you better.” He whispered. Her breath caught and she fought the urge to slap him. The waltz ended and he released her. Before she could form a thought, he walked off and left her standing there alone.
    
I hope you enjoyed reading the excerpt as much as I am enjoying writing Scandalous Arrangement.

1/30/15

Amanda marie Day 4

                                                 What I learned as a first-time author
    
     Writing and publishing my first book Scandalous Endeavors taught me many things. I learned that I cannot write a book in one, two, five, or even six months. More importantly I learned that
sometimes it is necessary to completely rewrite a manuscript. This proved to be the case with Scandalous Endeavors. I originally wrote the story in first person; which it turned out was not a good choice for my story. It is now written in third person. Bonus: I got some great deep third POV from the switch! Ultimately the main lessons in the actual writing of the manuscript proved to be that at some point I have to call it done and send it into the world. Also, I learned that I cannot always make the characters do what I wish them to. Seriously, they have wills all their own and sometimes you just have to listen.

     With my manuscript completed I embarked on the process of getting it contracted. I knew that I wanted to work with a publisher that I trusted. In the end, I sent my completed story to two publishing houses and was elated when I received contract offers from both. I choose to contract Scandalous Endeavors with Three World’s Press and couldn’t be happier with that decision.

     My experience with Three World’s has been nothing short of wonderful. My editor pushed me to make my manuscript even better and helped me a great deal with my blurbs and excerpt. She always answered my questions quickly and was available for chatting when I needed her. My experience with Three World’s Press taught me that finding the right publishing house is essential. I discovered that for me the right house is one where not only my editor is available, but so areother key team members. It is important to me as a new author to have experienced people on my side, and I got that at Three World’s. In short, they have provided me with ongoing five-star service. They also taught me a huge lesson when it came to my cover art and marketing.

     This is something that all authors need to know and learn from. Like all authors, I was excited about my cover art and waited on pins and needles to receive it. I did not have definite ideas in mind but did expect to be wowed when I saw it. At last, the day came, and I hit download on my cover with a Cheshire grin seated on my face. Then when the file opened my grin ran away. The cover was nothing like I had hoped for. Sure it was a good cover, and I could tell that the artist was very talented. In fact, I would have loved it as someone else’s cover. I would even stop to admire it if I saw it in a store. So then why was I so unhappy?

     It was not ‘my’ cover. I did not see my story in it. I had imagined something fancier and had my mind set on a split cover. As a result, I rejected the cover and asked for several changes. I wanted everything from a new model to a new layout and color scheme. Three Worlds humored me and had the cover artist create a new cover. Again I sat all excited as I downloaded, and again my excitement fell flat. I got nearly everything I wanted. Why wasn’t my cover beautiful? Here is the take away from this experience: Trust the professionals!

     You see when I looked at cover two I found myself wanting cover one back but with a small change-yes just one. I asked for a different fancier font. My request was honored, and now I have cover one with my new font and I love it. That Cheshire grin I told you about earlier-it’s back, and I am elated to share my cover and story with the world. For me, the takeaway is to only ask for the things that truly bother you. Cover artists know what they are doing, they know what sells and what wins awards, trust them.

     The best part is that Three World’s and my cover artist took the time to work through my crazy. They were patient with me and explained things to me. Because of them I have grown a great deal and l look forward to completing my next book.

     As a closing note, I want to thank everyone who has taken the time to read my ramblings. It means a lot to me that strangers, family, and friends would take time out of their day to pay attention to my words. I hope that each of you picks up a copy of Scandalous Endeavors and loves it as much as I do.

1/29/15

Amanda Marie Day 3

                                               

                                                           The story behind the story

They say that every story has another story behind it. For Scandalous Endeavors that is certainly true. In fact it has two stories behind it, and one of those stories also has a story behind it.

It all started twelve years ago when I was touched by the loss of someone very close to me. I grieved and withdrew for a bit but did not start writing. The experience touched me in a way that changed me forever. Still I had no desire to write about it or to share it. Like Amelia says in Scandalous Endeavors, “Her grief belonged to her, not the ton.” Nine years passed before writing about my experience ever came to light.

I was working on my master’s degree and enrolled in a creative writing course. One of the assignments was to write a short story. I had no idea what to write and spent a considerable amount of time trying to dream up a plot and characters. At my wits end someone told me to write what I know. I took that advice and crafted a story about my experience years before.

In the end I had a goodish new adult short story that earned me an A in the course. I liked what I had and thought about turning it into a full book. Two more years passed while the story grew crusty on my hard drive before I opened the document again. During that time I had decided that I wanted to write historical romance not new adult. It meant that 98% of my short story had to be scrapped. Maybe I would never write a book, I would just be content with teaching and editing.

With my mind made up, I quit thinking about writing until that day when I started writing Scandalous Endeavors. So what happened to get me writing you ask? Looking back on that day it is humorous but at the time I was none too pleased.

It started like any other day. I took my kids to school and went to work. After work I picked up my kids, went home, and started in on my after school tasks. Helped my kids with their home work, checked my email, cleaned up. All of my normal things I do most days. Then my husband came home from work in foul mood. After a bit we began bickering about something so stupid that I no longer remember what caused the dispute. 

After a while I was so angry that I did not want to be available to talk or be talked to. I needed to make myself busy but had nothing to do. Before I had time to think about it my laptop was resting on my legs and I was typing like mad. I opened up that old short story and deleted everything except the opening scene. By the time I felt sociable again two chapters were written and Scandalous Endeavors had been born.

The first chapter was shaped from that long ago written short stories first scene though the only element that remained was the raw emotion I had shared. You see that short story was based closely on my real life experience with loss. The first scene in Scandalous Endeavors is purely fictional. The heroine, Amelia, has lost her father and the book opens with her at the funeral. My father is alive, but I have experienced life shattering loss and drew on those emotions.

Scandalous Endeavors is the story that emerged when I stopped thinking about writing and just wrote. It was born of a life experience, a class assignment, and a marital dispute. Now it is a source of great pleasure. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it.

1/28/15

Amanda Marie Day 2


1. What do you do when you are not writing?
When I am not writing I can be found spending time with my family or enjoying one of my other pursuits. I spend a lot of time carting my kids to their after school activities and back. My son is involved with basket ball and attends an after school tutoring program. My daughter is in dance, cheerleading, and basket ball. In the summer we like to spend time at the beach. The rest of the year we can be found at parks, movie theaters, bowling allies, or just out enjoying nature. When I do find me time I enjoy reading, crocheting, taking pictures, playing on Photo Shop, and scrap booking. I fancy myself a photographer and can sometimes be found photographing my friends and families children. I am also a pageant mom and as a result spend a great deal of time helping my daughter prepare for pageants, shopping for pageant close, booking pageants, and traveling to and from the events. Occasionally my son also competes, but only when the prizes are really good. I also enjoy baking, crafting, and horseback riding though I rarely get the opportunity to indulge in them. When I am very lucky I get to travel. I love visiting new places especially when they have great history attached to them.

2. Do you have a day job as well?
I have two, technically three day jobs. I am a substitute teacher for my children’s school district and edit for two publishing houses. As a substitute I teach kindergarten through twelfth grade and all subjects. I love the variety and flexibility that subbing provides. As an editor I read manuscripts and determine viability. I also complete content edits and act as a liaison between the authors and the house. This job has many perks but the best one is discovering new authors and great stories. I am blessed to have three fantastic jobs.

3. When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?
Technically I have been writing since the day I learned how. As a child I wrote poems and letters to family. In college I wrote tons of papers and a few short stories. However, it wasnot until recently that I started writing with the intention of becoming published. The first chapters of Scandalous Endeavors were written almost exactly a year ago. I began working on it in December of 2013. I completed the manuscript in September then spent some time spit shining it before I submitted it for publishing in late October early November.

4. Do you ever experience writer’s block?
Oh my goodness—all the time! When I was writing Scandalous Endeavors I constantly found myself stuck without any ideas. I discovered that having someone to talk to and bounce ideas off of was a great help. For me that someone was my sister Dawn who is also an author. On the rare occasion that talking did not help, I would just write anything no matter how crazy to keep going knowing full well I would be deleting it all. I learned that the best way to get past writers block is to keep writing.

5. Do you work with an outline, or just write?
I do a combination of both. With Scandalous Endeavors I planned how many chapters I needed and then wrote a short sentence for each chapter telling me what I wanted to happen in it. I also made character notes. Ultimately I ignored the notes and the story went in its own direction. For my new WIP Once A Lady I decided just to write down my main plot points and some character notes.

6. Can you tell us about your upcoming book?
I would love to! Scandalous Endeavors is a historical romance set in Victorian London. The heroine, Amelia, finds herself in want of a husband after her father dies and her American uncle orders her to move to America. Amelia has no intentions of leaving England and devises a plan to trap an English lord in matrimony so that she will not have to. Lord Goldstone is a Scottish duke who finds himself staying at his aunt the Duchess of Abernathy’s home. The duchess has also agreed to act as Amelia’s chaperone for her remaining time in London. Lord Goldstone and Amelia find themselves at odds with one another as she continues to pursue her plans for an English husband and he continues to fumble them.

Here is an excerpt that shows there tactics in action:
Lord Roseington wrapped his arms around her and stood up, setting her on her feet. “Yes, Amelia, everything is okay now.” He reached up and removed her arms from around him, then took a step back. “We must stop winding up in these situations before we cause a scandal. ”She looked at him through hooded eyes. “‘Tis a wonder we haven’t already.” A man cleared his voice behind her. Amelia turned her head, already knowing who had caught them. “Lord Goldstone, you mustn’t trouble yourself with keeping our secret.” “What she means to say is that there is no secret to be kept. Amelia carelessly got close enough to the hearth to catch her skirts ablaze. I could not very well let her burn up.” “No, Roseington, you were obliged to help. I am glad to know that you were not taking advantage of our dear Amelia.” He glanced at her and flashed a rakish smirk. “Indeed, you are a hero. Let us go share the story while Amelia changes her charred gown.”
She tried her hardest to shoot daggers at him from her narrowed glare. His grin only deepened at the attempt, which increased her ire. “Don’t you dare tell a soul. I would most definitely perish from the embarrassment!” Amelia spat the words out with anger and annoyance. How dare he ruin everything for a second time, and then jest about sharing her humiliation. If he were not Scottish, she would trap him instead. That would teach him a lesson. “Do not worry your head over it, Lady Amelia. We will not breathe a word of this little mishap,” Lord Roseington said. “Right, Goldstone?” “Of course not. All of your secrets are safe with me.” He winked. Amelia blushed at what he had implied. “Thank you. Now that it is settled I am going to retire for the evening. Enjoy the rest of the party. Lord Roseington, Lord Goldstone.” She inclined her head to them before spinning on her heels and speeding from the room.

7. How did you come up with the title?
My original title was A Twist Of Fate but the more I wrote the less it seemed to fit. I started to think that maybe I needed a new title. Then one fateful day I ran a search for my working title and discovered that several other books already used my chosen title. Atthat point I knew I needed a different title but had no idea what it should be. I got on the phone with my sister and we started bouncing around idea. The call concluded with a list of potential titles but I liked them all and did not know how to choose just one. After pondering it for a bit I had a brain child and posted them all on my blog. I asked readers to vote on it and picked from the ones that were tied. In the end Scandalous Endeavors seemed to fit the book best.

8. What project are you working on now?
I am currently working on two projects. A Veiled Identity is a compilation with author Dawn Brower and is a contemporary romance. It is about a princess who flees her kingdom to escape an arranged marriage and finds herself working on a ranch in America. I am writing the female POV and Dawn id writing the male POV. My other project is title Once A Lady and is a medieval romance. Princess Isobel leaves her kingdom to search for her missing lady in waiting. Shortly after she sneaks away Sir Ariston discovers her in the woods. He is a freelance knight swearing loyalty to no king or lord though he is currently contracted by Isobel’s father. When she refuses to return to the castle he refuses to let her travel alone. The pair must work together to save the missing lady. While they are busy on their quest Isobel’s castle is over taken and her father poisoned. Among their budding attraction Isobel and Ariston must now save her kingdom. It is planned to be a romantic adventure full of twist.

9. Do you prefer fuzzy or tub socks?
The fuzzier the better in the winter, but tube socks in fall and spring. Once summer makes an appearance I abandon socks altogether.

10. Coke or Pepsi?
Hands down—Pepsi, but it must be cherry Pepsi.

11. Is there anything that you would like to say to your readers and fans?
Thank you! I know how many books and authors there are out there for you to choose from. I am honored that you choose me.

Review of Pulling Strings By Christopher Clark

Pulling Strings
By Christopher Clark

When the popular owner of the Baltimore Orioles is murdered, the repercussions reach nearby Washington D.C., where the 2016 presidential race is in full swing. 
Senator Sara Clancy must choose sides in a battle for the Democratic nomination fuelled by sabotage and dirty tricks. Trusting no one, she faces a decision that could influence the outcome of the election…and much more. 
Nothing is as it seems in this taut mystery/thriller that mixes murder, politics, baseball and sex – not necessarily in that order. 

this had everything murder,sex and mixed with baseball and politics all in one setting. had tons characters in all this. tons going on from very first page to the very end. I didn't like how some of the chapter's being very short and also believe it needed little more editing cut some of details out. but all in all book was great

Olivia R.
4 star's

Review of Twelve Days by Dahlia Donovan

Twelve Days- Dahlia Donovan

Its twelve days until ivy's Christmas party, and in those twelve days you get a different story about a member of the pack. Each day gives you a snippet of a pack members relationship or soon to be relationship.

This book seems like short stories but you can't really consider it short stories since the stories continue in the series. I liked this book because you become closer to the members of the pack, it explains their feeling and relationship or soon to be! Its hot and steamy in all the right places, keeps you guessing, and grabs your attention enough to know that you want to continue the series!!
4.5 stars

Bridgett

Review of Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Insurgent
by Veronica Roth

    Tris  Prior must face guilt, secrets and lies. Tobias, Marcus, Peter, Caleb, and Tris travel to Amity headquarter to find shelter but the Dauntless traitor finds them. Tris and Tobias go to Candor headquarters only to get arrested and put under truth serum were they will tell their deepest regrets to all of Candor.  Jeanine has a secret to keep, and does not want them out. This secret can change the fate of the factions and the world around them.   
   
    I think this book is better than the first. It’s still fast pace and keeps your attention throughout the book. It has a surprising twists.  It’s a great book for middle school kids because it’s easy to read and enjoyable. I give this a book a 5 star. Reading book 3 now. very excited to see what happens.

James Ramsey
13yr old 7th grader

1/27/15

Savannah Morgan

Secrets (Sapphire Springs #2)

Book Description:
Enter a world of danger, lust, intrigue and love. Enter the world of Sapphire Springs, Montana where the suspense will have you on the edge of your seat and the sexy romances will have your panties melting and your heart pounding. 

There is a world of Secrets out there. A world where nothing is as it seems. A world of the Italian Mafia, Eurasian Crime Organizations and Government Black Ops. Will the Mafia Ice Princess melt for the Native American Black Ops Agent? 

Tia Mitchel has lived a dual life from a young age. Now as an adult, with desires and needs of her own, she fights for her right to live the life she wants rather than the one mapped out for her since birth. 

Cole Lawson quit The Unit after being betrayed and left in enemy hands. Now he is being pulled back in for one final mission. Destroy the woman he loves and he gains his freedom forever. 

Come take a harrowing journey with Tia and Cole as they fight insurmountable odds against each other, two Mafia factions, the US Government, and the lies and secrets that have kept them apart. Will trusting one another be more deadly than the secrets they keep? 

Author's Note: Although Secrets is a standalone book, I would highly recommend you read Dreams: A Sapphire Springs Novel, book 1, first. The Sapphire Springs series is a connected series in that the characters are reoccurring and are connected through deep familial ties and friendships.

Amanda Marie Day 1


Short Blurb:
Lady Amelia’s willing to create a scandal to stay in her beloved England. A Scottish duke ignites her passion, but will she abandon her endeavor for love?

Long Blurb:
Lady Amelia has only known the comfort of life in mid-eighteenth century English aristocracy. But when first her mother and then her father die, she finds herself alone, grief stricken and….. not of age. Her appointed guardian, an American uncle, has ordered her travel to his plantation where she must remain for at least two years when she will come of age.

With the help of Lady Grace and Lady Sarah, Lady Amelia gets her uncle to agree to give her four weeks to settle her affairs and unbeknownst to him…find an English lord to marry so she can remain in her beloved England. Despite her mourning period she endeavors to trap one of London’s eligible bachelors in matrimony.

Lord Goldstone, Lady Grace’s nephew is devilishly handsome, but a Scottish Duke and so entirely unacceptable as a possible husband. After all Scotland is not her beloved London and environs. He also has a nasty habit of showing up at all the wrong moments and thwarting her carefully laid plans to ensnare a suitable husband. Sparks fly as the pair find themselves at odds with each other and drawn to each other at the same time. Can they find a way to stop arguing long enough to explore their growing passion? Is it strong enough to make Lady Amelia give up her English home after all? Or will Lady Amelia find a suitable English lord and avoid social exile in America? Time is running out.

Excerpt:
Lord Roseington wrapped his arms around her and stood up, setting her on her feet. “Yes, Amelia, everything is okay now.” He reached up and removed her arms from around him, then took a step back. “We must stop winding up in these situations before we cause a scandal.”
She looked at him through hooded eyes. “‘Tis a wonder we haven’t already.”
A man cleared his voice behind her.
Amelia turned her head, already knowing who had caught them. “Lord Goldstone, you mustn’t trouble yourself with keeping our secret.”“What she means to say is that there is no secret to be kept. Amelia carelessly got close enough to the hearth to catch her skirts ablaze. I could not very well let her burn up.”
“No, Roseington, you were obliged to help. I am glad to know that you were not taking advantage of our dear Amelia.” He glanced at her and flashed a rakish smirk. “Indeed, you are a hero. Let us go share the story while Amelia changes her charred gown.”
She tried her hardest to shoot daggers at him from her narrowed glare.
His grin only deepened at the attempt, which increased her ire.  “Don’t you dare tell a soul. I would most definitely perish from the embarrassment!” Amelia spat the words out with anger and annoyance. How dare he ruin everything for a second time, and then jest about sharing her humiliation. If he were not Scottish, she would trap him instead. That would teach him a lesson.
“Do not worry your head over it, Lady Amelia. We will not breathe a word of this little mishap,” Lord Roseington said. “Right, Goldstone?”
“Of course not. All of your secrets are safe with me.” He winked.Amelia blushed at what he had implied. “Thank you. Now that it is settled I am going to retire for the evening. Enjoy the rest of the party. Lord Roseington, Lord Goldstone.” She inclined her head to them before spinning on her heels and speeding from the room.


Author Bio
Amanda Marie dreams of days gone by when life moved at a slower pace. She enjoys taking pen to paper and exploring historical time periods through her imagination and the written word. Her hobbies include reading, writing, crocheting, traveling, photography, and spending time with her family. Some of Amanda Marie's favorite places in the continental U.S. are Harper's Ferry West Virginia and Sea Brook New Hampshire. She loves the history that surrounds them and visits them every chance she gets. Amanda Marie lives along the Lake Huron shore line in northern Michigan with her husband andtwo kids. She holds a Master of Liberal Arts Degree with a concentration in literature and has a long standing love affair with sugary junk food.

Links:
Join Amanda Marie on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/#!/AuthorAmandaMarie1Visit her blog at http://musingsbymandy.wordpress.com/Write to Amanda Marie at amandamarieauthor@gmail.comFollow her on Twitter @AmandaMarieAuthhttps://www.goodreads.com/author/show/10209362.Amanda_MarieThree Worlds Press http://www.threeworldsproductionsllc.com/?mbt_book=scandalous-endeavorAmazon Author Page http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00RKDC3CIGoodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/10209362.Amanda_Marie

Buy Links:
Amazon: http://amzn.com/B00QH0PGNSB&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/scandalous-endeavors-amanda-marie/1120894831?ean=2940149991846Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/scandalous-endeavorsGoogle: http://books.google.com/books/about/Scandalous_Endeavors.html?id=QijrBQAAQBAJ

Review of Hook By KR Thompson

HOOK

KR Thompson takes the classic story of Peter Pan and Captain Hook and puts a
unique, creative spin to this well-known story.

In HOOK, Archibald Jameson eagerly leaves his boring print job to head home.
An impending storm causes Archie to alter his usual route as he seeks shelter in a
tavern. 

As a young man named Harper stumbles to read a letter, Archibald has mercy and
whispers the information to him. The next thing he knows, he wakes up on board
the Queen Anne's Revenge. He learns the cunning and crafty pirate, Smee,
drugged his ale, and he is now sailing under the command of the most notorious
pirate, Blackbeard.

Instead of trying to flee the situation he's been placed in, Archie finds himself
embracing this new adventure.

Archie proves himself to be a capable, yet honorable pirate with a taste for
tailored clothing. As the adventures continue, circumstances soon find him as
Captain of Blackbeard's acquired ship, the Jolig Roger. Archie rules with fairness
and integrity.  Although he's a pirate, he's a likeable guy.

As Archie guides the Jolig Roger out into a storm to avoid capture from the
British Navy, he notices the familiar constellations have disappeared.  His pixie
friend, Ms. Bell, helps guide them into an alternate world.

Archie and his crew find themselves in enchanted waters with a magical island.
No matter which course Archie plots, the Jolig Roger manages to return to the
mysterious island, Never Land. 

With their food and supplies dwindled to nothing, Archie finally relents and
anchors so they can hunt. He quickly realizes that his pirates make better
plunderers than hunters.  His recently acquired cargo consists of a group of 
Indians. Archie has grown fond of the beautiful female, Tiger Lily. With no port
in sight, Archie negotiates for the Indians freedom in exchange for them agreeing
to hunt and provide food for the pirates while they're stuck on the island.
Archibald and his pirates encounter the Lost Boys, a lethal mermaid, as well as
Tic-Toc, the croc, and Peter Pan. In this version of  Hook, Peter takes on a darker
side full of malice and evil.

HOOK turns out to be an engaging, five-star story with vivid, interesting
characters.  This version gives an enlightening view of how Captain Hook
emerged, as well as an explanation for the animosity between Peter and Hook.

5stars
Rebecca Trust

Review of KINDREDS, AN ALLIANCE OF BLOODS by Tani Mura

KINDREDS,  AN ALLIANCE OF BLOODS by Tani Mura

This is an excellent, well-written, and engaging story worthy of a five star rating.
The author did a fantastic job fleshing out the characters in this story, as well as
creating an elaborate, dystopian world. I would highly recommend this story to
readers who enjoyed the Hunger Games or Divergent Series.

KINDREDS revolves around three main characters, Raine, Leif, and Jem. Raine
and Jem are preparing for their Confirmation trial to become an Askari. In their
society, people are either assigned the role of Walidah, Askari, or Cultivator.
A Walidah is a breeder, responsible for populating the town.  The Askari are the
fighters. The stronger men usually pick the Askari position, whereas the weaker
men usually choose the Cultivator position, working the fields and raising the
livestock.

In the Outer Rims, there is no socioeconomic structure, no family nucleus, and the
people live simplistic lives.
Raine is the only female to ever try out to be an Askari.  She knows she doesn't
possess the physical strength as her male counterparts, but instead, she relies on
her opponent's weaknesses, as well as her speed and agility. The trials have been
made more difficult in an effort for Raine to fail.
Even when Raine is pushed into a position that completely goes against her moral
fiber, she knows she must perform the task required or she will fail.
Even though Raine succeeds in becoming the first female Askari, her problems
are far from over. Wolfe, a fellow Askari fighter, is a villain you love to hate. He's
a mean, conniving bully still smarting over Raine besting him during a challenge.
Wolfe and his three friends gang up on Raine to teach her lesson, but luckily, her
friend Jem comes to her aid in time.

Unfortunately, Wolfe and his goons are relentless. They wait for an opportunity to
pounce on Raine when Jem isn't around.
Jem has a light-hearted, charming demeanor. He's completely loyal to his friends,
Raine and Leif. When he discovers that Raine has been badly beaten and was
almost raped by Wolfe and his three friends, Jem seeks retribution.

The tension continues to escalate as Wolfe remains an adversary intent on killing
Raine and Jem.  Although Leif would love to help his friends, his frail strength
and lack of courage leave him watching helplessly as Wolfe and his friends gang
up against Jem, and beat him to a bloody pulp.

If this wasn't enough tension and drama to keep you turning the pages, the author
opens the net so much further as strange people with different colored skin and
features appear to whisk Leif, Jem, and Raine away to a world that they didn't
even know existed.

As they are escorted to this new world, Nuemri, they learn that there are four
different races: Lumenae, Eousae, Noctae, and Aspirants. 
In this world, there are portals, guns, advanced technologies. The government
controls the weather and uses the rain, mixed with chemicals, to subdue the
population. They also brainwash the soldiers by making them take potions on a
regular basis.

In Nuemri, the races must remain separate. Ironically, the king and his family
originate from mixed blood races, asserting that only royalty can unite the
kingdom because of the blood shared with all his people. Anyone else caught
interacting or having a relationship will be executed immediately. 
Raine, Jem, and Lief learn that they are from mixed blood and are referred to as
Kindreds. Raine is the only person that actually possesses all four bloods in her
system.  The group of people that saved them are known as the Resistance.
The Resistance plan on overtaking the current government and have retrieved
Raine, Jem, and Lief to help implement their plans. Instead of being happy that
they're essentially the "chosen ones", Raine and her friends are upset. They don't
like that they've been taken from the familiarity of the home they know.

Even though Raine, Jem, and Leif reluctantly agree to help, they don't feel it's
their responsibility to fight for a country that they don't really belong to, and find
themselves missing the simplicity of their former lives.
As a revolution unfolds, the author forces Raine to undergo difficult situations.
Sacrifices are made, lives are lost, and people will go to the extreme as they fight
for power and control.

This was such a great story. The author packed so much detail and information
into this story. It is full of drama and tension. I would highly recommend this
story and eagerly await the second installment of this series.

5tsars
Rebecca Trust

Review of Marine Under the Mistletoe by Heather Long

Marine Under the Mistletoe
by Heather Long


Four stars for this light, contemporary romance with likeable characters.
Sergeant Kaiden Nelson has returned home to celebrate the holiday season with
his family.  He's managed to stay away for ten years and returns to the Lake
House, a winter retreat for his coven, Blue Circle, begrudgingly.
Kaiden feels slightly awkward when his old friend, Aaron, greets him naked. He's
been away from his coven for so long that he's not accustomed to his friend's
nudity or the chaos of having a lot of people around.  


He meets Rowan when he returns home and there is an instantaneous attraction
between them. Rowan is not only beautiful, but accepts Kaiden unconditionally.
Rowan is perceptive and supportive to Kaiden's needs. She is like a balm to his
battered soul.  She helps him resolve his conflicted feelings on how he can
continue to be a dedicated Marine and still follow the laws of their religion. 
Kaiden's job as a Marine has placed him in positions where he has had to kill. To
him, he's broken the cardinal law he's been taught since birth of "an it harm none",
thus the reason he's stayed away for so many years.
As Rowan and Kaiden prepare to celebrate the pagan holiday, Yule, Rowan helps
Kaiden work through his guilt and find peace in his soul.
Although Kaiden admits that he didn't want to return home, he's grateful he
trusted his instincts; otherwise, he wouldn't have met Rowan. In a matter of a
three day span, he's managed to fall in love. 
Although Rowan knows she could fall in love with Kaiden, and wants to buy into
the fairytale, she finds herself leery of his immediate declaration of love.  Can
Kaiden prove to Rowan his sincerity? Will they be able to make a relationship
work when he has to return in ten days?


Marine Under the Mistletoe turns out to be a nice, straight-forward romance
without a lot of angst or drama and was an enjoyable read.
(The cracker crack that Rowan made in the story sounded so good, I wish there
was a recipe attached to try it out).


4Stars
Rebecca Trust

1/26/15

Review of Kissing the Devil by Shannon Eckrich

Kissing the Devil by Shannon Eckrich

Kissing the Devil is a thrilling paranormal mystery that will have you hooked after only a few pages. Eckrich creates and brings to life the dangerous tale of the New Jersey Devil, a beast who has haunted the dreams of Serenity Cantwell ever since her encounter with it when she was young. As girls around town begin to disappear, the Jersey Devil causes even more fear around the town and to Serenity.
Eckrich creates a thrilling tale full of secrets and love that will change Serenity's life forever. I highly recommend this book to lovers of paranormal stories. Romance, action, and the paranormal world all collide into this amazing book. The ending will have you dying to read more of this thrilling tale. Eckrich has done a great job with this novel and I give it a 5/5 stars.



Brianna

Review of Cleopatra's Return By Eve Langlais

Cleopatra's Return By Eve Langlais

   Cleopatra, one of the best know women of history, has a whole other story to tell. After killing her self to get away from the Romans, she goes to hell. But in Hell, she learns a few things. She pays for her sins but also continues her legacy of one of the greatest leader ever known. So much so, the devil kicks her out. A second chance at life brings back old dangers and new love to the Queen of the Nile.
This is a story you can really pull you in. Eve brings together the Cleopatra and gives her a story that is hard to put down. Vampires, werewolves, demons and more await. Action, comedy, romance and some sexy vampires bring together a great book. I am a huge fan of Eve and she never disappoints. Thanks Eve for another great story.

5stars
Julie ramsey

Review of Divergent by Veronica Roth

Divergent
by Veronica Roth

    Tris Prior also know as Beatrice has a hard time in Abnegation, one of the 5 fraction in this post-apocalyptic world. The Abnegation are selfless and just want to help others. Her father and mother are two of the leaders of the Abnegation. Caleb, Tris’s brother, has an easy time being in Abnegation.  The Abnegation are the government of all the other factions, Erudite, Candor, Amity and Dauntless. Erudite are smart. Candor are honest. Amity are peaceful and Dauntless are brave. The aptitude test decides the persons faction but when Beatrice gets her results they are dangerous, they are Divergent, compatible with many of the factions. When Beatrice choses, she goes to Dauntless, leaving Abnegation. With Tris now in Dauntless, Erudite has plans of their own. Plans that may endanger Tris and everyone she loves and cares for.

    This book is fast paced. It’s great for boys because of the action but also great for girls because the romance. It keeps your attention through the entire book and there are a few surprising events. I am 13 and had no problems reading this book. So a great YA book. I’ll give this book five stars. Remember to read the other books too. I am currently reading book 2. Review to come soon.

James Ramsey
5 stars

Rachael Slate

 
 
Delve into a world steeped in tradition and superstition…
After her parents become infected with the Red Death, Lucy Yeoh flees to Malaysia seeking answers. Everything in this closed-off section of the world is paradise—from the lush tropical climate to her sexy new neighbor, Sheng…who just might be delusional. He claims the Plague God unleashed the Red Death and only a circle of Chinese Zodiac spirit animals can cleanse the Earth. Even more, he insists she’s one of them: the Rabbit. Long furry ears and fluffy bunny tail included.
 
He’ll show her how to fight to save the world…
As the Chosen of the Tiger, the burden of restoring balance to the world has fallen onto Li Sheng’s shoulders. When he discovers that the ally he’s long awaited, the Dragon, is actually just the Rabbit, Sheng is quick to dismiss Lucy. If only she’d stay dismissed. Lucy’s Rabbit refuses to cooperate, undermining the authority of his Tiger at every turn…and seducing him to the limits of his darkest desires. He’s not supposed to want her. Not when he needs the spirit circle complete and she’s their weakest link.
 
She’ll show him a love worth fighting the world to save…
Sheng’s enemies draw closer, and not everyone wants Lucy alive. Together, they’ll have to navigate a treacherous world where a line between duty and their hearts has been drawn between them. They must either sacrifice one, or find a way to surrender to both.
 


 

1/25/15

Review of Long Road Home By Mary Jane Morgan

Long Road Home
(Crystal  Springs/Coming Home Book 1)

By Mary Jane Morgan

A young woman returns home to find her family, and her own life, in turmoil after a series of events that no one could have foreseen.  Megan's life is surrounded by lies, deceit, loss, and betrayal by the people she loves the most.  Brett is caught up in the same whirlwind of emotions when he returns home to his family's thoroughbred ranch to heal after a heartbreaking loss of his own. Megan and Brett can't deny their mutual attraction as they both try to sort out the secrets that surround the feud between their two families. Many truths come to light, and the fallout is more than anyone bargained for. 

I really enjoyed this book, and was caught up in the story line from the beginning. The author did an excellent job of developing each character and portraying the emotional journey they each took in the story.  The plot was interesting, and the story flowed as new pieces of information were revealed about each of the characters in this book.The character's lives are so intertwined, and at every turn there was a new twist that threw another emotional wringer into the mix. I was frustrated at times, and sympathetic at others, by the many obstacles that Megan and Brett faced, and how they reacted to them. This book is definitely one that I would recommend if you like a story with surprise twists and enjoy a good love story with a lot of emotion involved.

Rating:  5 stars

Enjoy!
Kim

Susan Berliner



Blurb:
Can two teenage girls save a town?

When Loren Cofton and Tracie Martinez visit the remote hills of northeastern Nevada on a cross-country drive celebrating their high school graduation, the fun vacation quickly morphs into a perilous adventure.

After photographing an abandoned gold mine, Loren swipes a bottle of water from an eerily robotic man stocking bottles in the only occupied store of an otherwise deserted shopping center. The water's effect on Loren leads the pair to investigate the strange little town of Corsonia—despite threats from the local sheriff. And when Loren and Tracie befriend a child named Boy 11, who tells them about his curious life and upcoming fate, the girls become even more determined to figure out what is going on.

As the relentless teens uncover a horrifying trail of evil, they put their own lives in dire jeopardy. Will the girls be able to rescue the people of Corsonia—or will Loren and Tracie become the town's next victims?






1/24/15

Review of Heart: A Visceral Fantasy By C.M. Bratton

Heart:  A Visceral Fantasy

By C.M. Bratton



We all know the story of Alice in Wonderland, but retold through author C.M. Bratton’s eyes, the reader
is never transported to a world of happy curiosities, but to a much darker realm of mystery, fear, sorrow
and (occasional) absurdity.
Monsters stalk the unwitting villagers of Bratton’s wonderland.  These poor folks are slaughtered by a
cannibalistic queen and hunted down by a soulless Knave.  Will the death continue on infinitely?  What
can satiate the murderous urges of this ravenous duo?
Bratton is a master storyteller.  As the plot unfolds, the thrills increase.  Despite the craven tendencies of
the two main characters, one is moved to pity and root for them.  Likewise, the reader can’t help but
grow fond of the Cheshire cat, even though he blindly ignores the devastation taking place around him. 
I absolutely loved this book.  It is my first introduction to C.M. Bratton’s work, and it’s made me a
diehard fan.  Her writing hits the reader on multiple levels.  I know that I’ll be going back to read my
copy for a second, or even a third time just to decipher some of the hidden meaning in the story that I
missed my first time through.  Although the themes in the book are serious, and at times, downright
gory, she manages to infuse a good amount of humor into the dialogue.

Five Stars

Yvonne

Review of Imperfect Mate By Lia Davis

Imperfect Mate
By Lia Davis

For tiger-shifter, Samira Anderson, leaving home for the first time to attend Harmony University should unnerve her. She’s never submitted to the fear of a challenge and doesn’t plan to start now. Meeting her dorm mates and touring the campus excites her and her cat. Although when she meets Gavin Stone, she’s not only nervous around him but fears she might lose the tight control she has over her tiger. 

After a bad break up with his high school sweetheart, Gavin has no intentions of repeating past mistakes. Or so he thought until he sees the beautiful, smart, Samira at the dorm welcome party. Drawn to her like no other, he can’t stay away or shake the feeling Sam isn’t telling him everything. 

When he discovers her secrets, a whole new world opens to him, filled with danger, unknown possibilities, and a passion so intense it could last many lifetimes. 

Great book. Fast easy read. Well written. Great character's you can fall in love with. Samaria was very strong dominate female. I read few books with dominate female's this is first one I loved with female in charge. Gavin is awesome and trying to play the dominante male roll for male human had no clue at first Samaria is. And taking really good that his girlfriend is tiger. Loved it and thank you awesome read.

Olivia R.
5 star's

Danica Avet Day 5

New Release

Now Available



Imperial Princess En'Daria Hanu has the entire galaxy at her feet. Heir to the Endiki throne, she spent her entire life preparing to rule, but her future is forever altered when she's kidnapped. Sold to an auction house, she escapes on her own but soon realizes she'll need help to return home. Daria's only hope is the Skarskordian fighter Croe'ix Shael, who makes her feel more like a female and less like a royal. 

Banished from his home world and denied the heritage of his blood, Croe has fought all his life but never really had anything worth fighting for. Then Daria walks into his life and a shift occurs inside him. She awakens the Skarskordian warrior he's long forgotten and, in exchange for the pleasure of her body, he will protect her with his life. When danger stalks their every step and he discovers who Daria really is, Croe knows he's found someone to fight for and he'll do everything in his power to keep her safe. Everything--even if it means bringing another male into the equation. 

Note: This is the first in a four-part serial sci-fi erotic romance with strong sexual content. It is intended for readers 18 and older.




Caressed by Starlight: Adding Tyn

Part 2 in 4 March 17, 2015

Caressed by Starlight: Taming Hels
 
Part 3 in 4 May 19, 2015

Caressed by Starlight: The Wizard of Azra
 
Part 4 in 4 July 21, 2015


1/23/15

Review of Tea Leaf: What Hides Beneath By Mia Mitns

Tea Leaf:  What Hides Beneath

By Mia Mitns

3 out of 5 Stars

What do aliens, soul food, and a group of fun-loving singles have in common?  The fate of all mankind!
Tea Leaf:  What Hides Beneath is Mia Mitns debut novel.  Mitns has a great imagination, sense of drama,
and talent to create loveable characters.  This book was both incredibly amusing and creepy. 
Normally, incessant grammar and punctuation issues bother me, but honestly, the storytelling was so
good in this novel that I was able to ignore most of them.  The seriousness of the plot line was constantly
offset by the wacky flirtations and joking of Cinnia, the main character, and her tightly-knit group of best
friends, who have a penchant for finding alien love interests.  In fact, my favorite quote in the book was

“”We’re always falling for aliens, what is this?”

I certainly cannot leave out the “Iron Chef” soul food battle.  The chapter had me laughing out loud at 2
a.m., waking up everyone else in the house.  And it definitely incited some baked macaroni and cheese
cravings.
The book concludes with an epic final battle among alien races and the humans.  Cinnia finds herself at
the center as all inform her that she is the key to peace.  Does she have what it takes to stop the
violence and restore harmony to our planet?

Yvonne

Review of Supernatural Assassin Black Velvet by Vina Kent

Supernatural Assassin Black Velvet
Vina Kent

Mira and brother Brian had a close relationship, while watching the sunrise over the lake her brother dies. Mira is devastated at the loss of her brother and on top of that she was blamed for his death. Her mother never treated Mira right, she never felt wanted or love. Her mother banished her from her home, the only place she has known. Mira was sent to live with her uncles..

Mira's uncles would raise her like their own and in a world of assassins. Mira is known to be a "killing machine", even worst by some. Putting down mythological creatures quietly is her specialty.  Mira's new job is Hawke Fisher. The deeper she gets into her new assignment the more secrets she discovers about herself. Secrets that could change her life. . . . . . the question is will she survive before learning them all ??
This was a great novel, one that had several turns and twists along the way. I feel in love with Mira and my heart broke for her. I loved taking this journey with her as she learns more about herself. I have to say when I started reading this one I was not expecting what was to come. It was nice to read something that was not just vampires and werewolves ! 
5 stars
Wende

Ann Grech

 
 
BLURB:

     Jos Farris was on top of the world, leading the Daytona 500 until a simple mistake ended his race and possibly his career.  Cassie Lane’s day had gone to hell; on national television her star whistle-blower backed out of the story that would have made her career, making Cassie look utterly incompetent.
     But Jos’ day suddenly looks up when the red-headed beauty sits down next to him in a biker bar in Daytona Beach, Florida.  Cassie can’t resist the chemistry between the two of them.  And she’s not the only one.  The sparks sizzle as soon as they touch, but is their love affair fated to a one-night stand or will destiny bring them together again?

I've uploaded a YouTube video for the book at: http://youtu.be/QJyrRvWutEs
Here is the link to the book: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00SJOMFKM 

Danica Avet Day 4

We are having a give away going on for 1 week. What item are you giving away? $25.00 Amazon
Gift Card (Anyone can win the item by going to the rafflecopter on the right hand side of the pg.)

First why don't you tell us a little about yourself?

Hi, I’m Danica and I’m a bookaholic. Sorry, had to do it.
I was born and raised in south Louisiana where I still reside. I adore reading and writing romance. 
I like to say I write erotic romance with a touch of Cajun spice, but really, I just love spicy stories filled with love, lust and tough heroines.  

Newest release?

My newest release is a scifi erotic romance. Caressed by Starlight: Meeting Croe is the first installment in a four-part serial following the adventures of Princess En’Daria Hanu as she 
attempts to return to her home after being kidnapped and brought to an outlaw space port. 

What can we expect from your stories, action, drama, romance,sex, blood and guts?

Well I can definitely promise on the romance and sex. Meeting Croe is filled with a lot of the sexy LOL As the story progresses though, there’ll be more action and drama and a whole bunch of romance. Just a little hint, by the time this serial is complete, En’Daria will have the protection of four strong males. ;)

Do you have a favorite character in your stories? Who? and Why?

I try not to have favorites, but most of the time my favorite characters end up being the secondary characters.  As soon as they appear in a scene, giving the story a bit of humor or drama, I immediately want to know who they are. That’s how I always end up with more books in a series. 

Give us an interesting fun fact or a few about your book or series:

Caressed by Starlight is based on a whacked out dream I had back in April 2014. I was just drifting off to sleep when I suddenly had the idea of a woman far away from home that tries to get back and falls in love, not with just one man, but with four. There was no way I could have fit this entire story into one book without making my head explode, hence the serial. 

Has there been any other authors who have inspired your work or helped you out with your stories?

 I’m inspired by a lot of different authors, but there is a group of authors who are always willing to hear my crazy ideas and give me a hand with my blurbs and plotting when I ask. Lea Barrymire is actually a critique partner and she usually talks me down when I come up with something really messed up. A.M. Griffin, Amy Ruttan and Anya Richards are also a great help, letting me talk at 
them about my ideas and blurbs. I love them girls!

What can readers who enjoy your book do to help make it successful?

Tell your friends about the great books you read! As a reader, I rarely read reviews unless there’s 
a book I’m really on the fence about. Most of the time, I find new books by exploring and seeing 
what my friends are reading. However, as a writer, we need reviews LOL

Do you have any tips for readers or advice for other writers trying to get published?

Never give up, never surrender. Rejection is a part of the process. I won’t even go into how many rejections I’ve had from agents and publishing houses, but with each rejection, I took what those industry professionals told me and learned from it by applying it to the next book. It’s a growing process, but you can’t give up at the first sign of adversity. 

Do you have a favorite author? If yes, what draws you to that person’s work?

I have too many favorite authors! I love Kresley Cole and Shelly Laurenston/G.A. Aiken because 
of their humor (and Kresley Cole’s really hot love scenes). I adore J.R. Ward’s world building, 
love Jenika Snow and Sam Crescent’s cast of characters…get where I’m going? There’s something 
to love about nearly every author I’ve read and am addicted to 

Can you remember one of the first things you wrote? What makes it memorable?

 The first thing I ever wrote was an autobiography I started when I was 7. It was memorable 
because I distinctly remember the sentence, “Ever since I was young, I always wanted to be in showbiz.” Mostly because I was still a kid and also because I had no idea what I was writing, no concept that an autobiography required some sort of truth to it. LOL I don’t have the story anymore unfortunately, but let’s just say my mom wasn’t surprised when I started writing.

Where do you gather most of the inspiration for your work?

Music helps me a lot, but sometimes things just pop in my head. I don’t think I’ve ever sat and 
stared at something, or done anything that instantly made me come up with a story idea. My characters tend to start talking before they tell me their stories, so I’ll usually hear them speaking while I’m taking a shower or something silly like that. They have no sense of boundaries!

Do you have any other interesting hobbies, pets or stories you would like to share?

As I mentioned before, I’m an avid reader. I also have a cat and a dog, having just lost my old 
kitty who passed at 17 years old. I spend a lot of time with my family, cackling with my friends and watching Investigation Discovery because you can never learn too many ways to be a criminal. 
For research purposes of course ;)

Favorite places to travel or visit?

I love going anywhere really LOL. The one place I’d love to go back to would be England. I went there years ago, but didn’t have nearly enough time to do all the exploring I wanted at the time 

 And now, before you go, how about a snippet from your book that is meant to intrigue and tantalize us: (Include links to were we can find your work)

“My name is Daria,” she said in that husky, low voice that stroked against his skin like fur. “I was kidnapped 
from my home.” Shadows shifted behind her eyes, but she never looked away, proving her strength in the face of his silence. “They were supposed to kill me. Instead my kidnappers tried to sell me to a pleasure house, but the owner killed them and saved himself some tolars. I ran away from him before he could put me up for auction.” Finally, emotion bled into her voice, into her face as she took a small step forward. “You’re 
Skarskordian. Your people and mine are similar in traditions and customs. I ask for your protection and aid, 
Croe’ix Shael, in getting me back to Federation territories.” Hands linking together, she regained control over her emotions. “I can pay you handsomely.”
Croe stroked his upper lip, studying her carefully. Yes, Skarskordians were similar to the Endiki, and under 
normal circumstances the two races would back each other every single time. However, Croe wasn’t a full-
blooded Skarskordian and he no longer cared about their rules and customs. He wasn’t bound by them. Yet he still felt compelled to aid Daria. He tested the name in his mind and liked the feel and sound. His cock twitched again.
It seemed like a simple enough request. Help a female get away from Odus Keri and a slave trader, get her 
back to Federation space and get paid for it. But something felt off about the situation. This wasn’t a peasant Endiki female. While he hadn’t seen the rest of her, Croe had heard enough Universal speak to know when one of the nobility used it and it dripped from every word she spoke: wealth and good breeding. She could probably pay whatever exorbitant fee he could come up with, but what he wanted couldn’t be spent.
What the purpose of her death would serve was anyone’s guess and Croe didn’t let it concern him. If he helped her, placed her under his protection, he had no fears that he would fail to keep her safe. He wasn’t the most celebrated pit fighter in the port for nothing. He’d had to fight, steal and kill when he and his mother were banished from Skarska. He could keep this female safe from all. 
Something that felt strangely like possession crept over him at the thought of Daria under his protection. His for however long the job took. 
“What will you pay me?” he asked into the thick quiet that fell between them.
Her eyes flashed with fiery hope. “One million tolars,” she said immediately.
Internally raising his eyebrows at the possibility of Daria having that much money, he shook his head. “Could 
get that selling my seed to the breeding facilities.” If he jerked off for five months straight. “That trip in one 
direction will take close to six weeks unless you have a military-grade shuttle handy. I’ll lose a lot of money not fighting for nearly three months.”
Croe knew what he wanted, he was just waiting for her to realize it. And while he knew his childhood friend and fellow scrapper, Tyn-Hy had such a vessel that could make the trip in half the time, Croe planned to make sure they took the scenic route. 
A soft tint of color crested the tops of her cheeks as her eyes sparked in frustration and a touch of 
embarrassment. “Two million tolars.”
Double. She really was desperate to go home, not that he could blame her. She was a lone female in a space port full of criminals who would take advantage or hurt her in a nanosecond. The idea was enough to make him want to slaughter everyone in Odus Keri, that possessiveness nearly wiping out all reason.
It also made his voice unnecessarily harsh when he spoke again. “I don’t want money.” Her eyes widened, 
surprise filling her entire face before a glow of hope began to take its place, a hope Croe immediately dashed in case she thought he was doing this for nothing. “I want you.”

1/22/15

Review of Skylar Robbins: The Mystery of the Hidden Jewels by Carrie Cross

Skylar Robbins: The Mystery of the Hidden Jewels
Carrie Cross

Our favorite 13 yr super sleuth is back and better than ever ! ! !

After a fun, intriguing summer, Skylar is back and yet again more changes have come into her life. Her dad was lucky enough to sell his non-alcoholic cough syrup, while in Paris over the summer. This means a move to a bigger house ! ! !  Skylar just wants to a house still close to her bff, Alexis and in the same school district. I mean really, what 13 yr old wants to start middle school in a new school ???

House hunting becomes a bore, UNTIL they reach a mansion sitting on a steep hillside, dark storm clouds are looming over this deserted, abandoned home. The windows are cracked, screens torn, shingles missing and birds have made the inside their home. Yet, this place calls to Skylar. . . . there of course is a mystery behind it. The owner, Xandra Collins, disappeared without a trace three years ago. Xandra has hidden jewels buried somewhere on her estate. Her heirs have searched and no luck. NOW, its Skylar's turn, she is excited and soon starts turning over clues. . . . . But, the question is will she find them before someone else does ???

I can not express enough how much I love the Skylar Robbin books  ! ! ! Carrie hits the mark on excitement and laying the story out. Its an easy read for any teen, I am sure they will be sucked in as quick as us adults are.  Thank you for another great novel and I look forward to the next book ! ! 

5 super sleuth stars
Wende

Review of Alexander's Story by AJ Storm

Alexander's Story by AJ Storm

Is a love story between vampires. Alexander and Bradi met and fall in love, Alexander's boss Carl wants to destroy all shape shifters and become a powerful rogue vampire. Alexander and Bradi come up with a plan along with other vampires and shape shifters to bring Carl down so that can all live in peace.

This book is written perfectly! It has the right amount of action, romance, and the perfect touch of BDSM!!!! AJ Storm is a brilliant writer and I will be following from now on. I can't wait to see where this series goes!!!
I give it the perfect 5 stars (I would give it more if I could!)

Bridgett

Danica Avet Day 3

                                                         Tough Guys

I’m a sucker for tough guys who have that secret gentle side. If they’re bad, tough guys? Even
better. Why is that? In this day and age, we women should be all about the men who understand
us, who listen to what we want and don’t order us around. But I think many of us secret like that
Alpha male who does things his way because he wants to save us from everything. Isn’t that the
biggest appeal? Some sexy, tough man who sees everything as a threat that’d take us away from
him?

Well, that’s pretty much how Croe’ix Shael is. When I made up this story knowing I would have
four heroes to my one heroine, I wanted my princess, En’Daria Hanu, to have a wide spectrum of
partners. If that makes sense. Croe’ix is the bad boy tough guy. He’s a pit fighter on an outlaw
spaceport, a champion with several total kills and he doesn’t think about anyone but himself.
He’s a selfish guy because he never had anything to call his own.

That starts changing when he meets En’Daria. He finally meets someone who needs him. Needs
his help. Of course he isn’t going to just do it for free. He’s a selfish tough guy after all, so he
makes a deal with the lost princess that entails her giving him her body, whenever, however, he
wants. Doesn’t that just send a shiver down your spine? It does for En’Daria. But what I love
about these tough heroes is that their need to control always leads to their downfalls.

In Croe’s case, taking complete control over En’Daria, guiding her on a sensual journey,
protecting her from her enemies, being the man she needs… Well, it spins him for a loop.
Suddenly he’ll do anything for her, to protect her. It’s for her own good so he’s still doing his
Alpha tough guy thing, but now it’s them against the odds. He isn’t alone anymore, isn’t battling
for nothing. He’s fighting for her, for them.

And that, my friends, is what makes tough guys so appealing. At least I think so. What are your
thoughts?

Blurb:
Imperial Princess En'Daria Hanu has the entire galaxy at her feet. Heir to the Endiki throne, she
spent her entire life preparing to rule, but her future is forever altered when she's kidnapped. Sold
to an auction house, she escapes on her own but soon realizes she'll need help to return home.
Daria's only hope is the Skarskordian fighter Croe'ix Shael, who makes her feel more like a
female and less like a royal.

Banished from his home world and denied the heritage of his blood, Croe has fought all his life
but never really had anything worth fighting for. Then Daria walks into his life and a shift occurs
inside him. She awakens the Skarskordian warrior he's long forgotten and, in exchange for the
pleasure of her body, he will protect her with his life. When danger stalks their every step and he
discovers who Daria really is, Croe knows he's found someone to fight for and he'll do
everything in his power to keep her safe. Everything--even if it means bringing another male into
the equation.

Buy links:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Caressed-Starlight-Meeting-Danica-Avet-
ebook/dp/B00RCD7ATM/ref=pd_rhf_gw_p_img_1
ARe: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-caressedbystarlightmeetingcroe-1713814-
340.html
B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/caressed-by-starlight-danica-
avet/1120961308?ean=2940046477146
Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/caressed-by-starlight-meeting-croe

1/21/15

Danica Avet Day 2

                                                            Sexy Sounds

When I write, I listen to music. Hell, I’ll be honest. I listen to music almost non-stop. When I’m
driving, working, writing, sleeping, yes I listen to it at all times. So is it any wonder I need to set
the right mood when I’m writing?
Around mid-2014 I was introduced to a band called +++ or Crosses. It’s the lead singer from the
Deftones and the music is moody and melodic. Perfect for writing a good love scene. Let’s face
it, just like in real life, you just aren’t in the mood. If my dog is at my feet snoring and my cat
crawling all over my desk, I’m not exactly thinking “Sexy times!” I’m annoyed and/or distracted.
If I’m lucky, my characters will take care of business without much help from me, but sometimes
I need to set the mood.
That’s where the music comes in. There are a few songs that stand out to me when I think about
writing a good love scene and each book has a different one, weirdly enough, because I only add
songs to my playlists. No, I’m not one of those authors who have a set playlist for every book. It
would take too much time because there are just too many songs I enjoy.
One of those songs is by Crosses. I swear, when I first heard this song while driving in my car, I
may have gotten a little turned on. Something about the singer crooning the lyrics, the slow, easy
pace… *shivers* It just worked for me and really worked for the first love scene between Croe
and Daria.

Now I don’t normally do this, but here are the lyrics to the song, “Bitches Brew”. I know, the
title is a little off-putting, but trust me, this song really worked for that scene LOL

As the moon ascends
The wolves come out to see the end
They hide from view and wait
To watch the ghost inside you come awake
And when the shots go off, you hear them call
My heart is racing just to see it all
To watch you crawl out of your changing shape
Take all your breath and watch it come awake
From the flames of the fire,
I feel you crawling to my bed
Throwing shapes at the sky,
I watch you crying to me.
With your knees open
I display you, taunt the beast again
’Cause when you move and shake
That thing inside you comes awake
As you dance against the breathing wall
My claws are out, I want to feel it all
Feel it crawl inside you, changing shape
Take out your breath and feel you come awake.
From the flames of the fire,
I feel you crawling to my bed
Throwing shapes at the sky,
I watch you crying to me.
Say something, pray for something
Say something, pray for something
Say something, pray for something
Say…
From the flames of the fire,
I feel you crawling to my bed
Throwing shapes at the sky,
I watch you crying to me.
If you want to give the song a listen, this is the Youtube video. What can I say? It just worked

LOL

http://youtu.be/QBN-1Q0_Fiw

What are some songs that get you in the mood just by hearing the first few lines?

Blurb:

Imperial Princess En'Daria Hanu has the entire galaxy at her feet. Heir to the Endiki throne, she
spent her entire life preparing to rule, but her future is forever altered when she's kidnapped. Sold
to an auction house, she escapes on her own but soon realizes she'll need help to return home.
Daria's only hope is the Skarskordian fighter Croe'ix Shael, who makes her feel more like a
female and less like a royal.
Banished from his home world and denied the heritage of his blood, Croe has fought all his life
but never really had anything worth fighting for. Then Daria walks into his life and a shift occurs
inside him. She awakens the Skarskordian warrior he's long forgotten and, in exchange for the
pleasure of her body, he will protect her with his life. When danger stalks their every step and he
discovers who Daria really is, Croe knows he's found someone to fight for and he'll do
everything in his power to keep her safe. Everything--even if it means bringing another male into
the equation.

Buy links:
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Caressed-Starlight-Meeting-Danica-Avet-
ebook/dp/B00RCD7ATM/ref=pd_rhf_gw_p_img_1
ARe: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-caressedbystarlightmeetingcroe-1713814-
340.html
B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/caressed-by-starlight-danica-
avet/1120961308?ean=2940046477146
Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/caressed-by-starlight-meeting-croe

Search This Blog

Julie's Book Review

Hello, all my followers, visitors, and guests. Welcome to Julies Book Review. This is a site dedicated to helping authors and readers alike. Readers to find new authors and stories and authors to find new readers. For authors please contact me if you are interested in low cost promotion at juliesbookreview@gmail.com. I accommodate where I can. Readers please go through and search the blog. We have been active here for a while. Hundreds on authors, stories and genres to choose from. We have everything from sci-fi, erotica, romance, contemporary, mystery and horror. And nothing gets on this site without a 3 out 5 star rating minimum. I have several reviewers that read different genres. If you are interested in reviewing for me and the site please contact me at the above email. I hope you enjoy the site. I look forward to meeting and talking with you all.

Julie Ramsey & Theresa Fehse
ADM of JBR
Along with many reviewers (which we could not do this without)

Amazon SearchBox