11/30/14

Review of Going the Distance (Siren Publishing Classic) by Cara Addison

Going the Distance (Siren Publishing Classic)

Cara Addison


Siren Classic: Erotic Contemporary Romance, public exhibition, HEA] When Austin Campbell travels from Toronto to sunny San Diego to showcase her newest novel at a convention, she's hoping to squeeze in some sightseeing into her business trip.  Her plans change when she meets Brett Tanner, an investment banker from New York. Their instant attraction to each other leads to a week of fun, frolicking sex. 
They learn that it may be more difficult than they realized to end their weeklong escapade when they have to leave each other at the airport to return to their individual lives.  As ambitious professionals, they work all week so that they can take turns travelling the 500 miles between New York and Toronto to find out if their budding relationship has what it takes to go the distance.
Grief, betrayal, and distance are no match for this sexy couple.  As they grow closer, Brett quickly learns that Austin is an intensely sexual lover.  It doesn't matter if they are on Canadian or American soil, they indulge in one playful encounter after another.
Brett falls in love with Austin because she is an intensely sexual lover, but also because she is determined, fearless, poised, ambitious, and fiercely loyal.  Austin not only shows her love for Brett between the sheets, but by providing her intelligent, accomplished, and handsome lover with the focused love and loyalty that he crave. ** A Siren Erotic Romance

This whole book was well-written.. I wanted to read more of story not just about sex from page one to the very end.. I don't mind few sex scene this was to much.

3star's 
Olivia

Review of Diaries of the Damned by Alex Laybourne


Diaries of the Damned
Alex Laybourne

In Norwich many will go to bed on a normal night and wake thinking its a normal day . . . .but what they soon discover is not like any book or movie they have ever read or seen.

Norwich has a bad flu epidemic, one that is a fast acting and will kill you within days. Once they die they come back. . . as ZOMBIES. What has caused these brain eating, foul smelling, creatures ?? Survivors are being transported from planes, being carried to unknown location. The author takes us a on particular plane that is carrying Paul. Paul is a journalist with a tabloid. He along with many others are survivors and ones that have lost loved ones. Paul has always dreamed of writing a fiction book. This maybe his last chance. He will befriend 7 people that will tell their stories, each with their own perspectives of the doom they encountered. Paul will take notes of each one, each having their own survival story and how they escape. When the stories end and the plane lands the story will take a twist . . . . one that will change everything and their world.
What a WONDERFUL read  ! ! ! !  I feel in LOVE with this novel. I have read alot of zombie books, but this one by far was my favorite ! Each person's story was unique and not far fetched. Each story will put more pieces into the puzzle of how and why this happened. You will soon see that no one is safe and this could happen in today's world. Laybourne's flow of writing is perfect !  Many places you wanted to cry, laugh and scream ! All these characters were survivors and did what they had to do to survive. I was left wanting to read more when I hit that last page!  IT makes you stop and think . . . . what would you do to survive ? You will have blood, gore and ZOMBIES  !! !  Sit back and buckle up its a fun ride !
5 zombie stars


Wende :)

Review of The Shroud by David Moore

The Shroud
David Moore

The Shroud of Turin; the sacred burial cloth that covered Jesus after he was crucified.

1988 in a quiet vet office, Father Joseph, Father Anthony and Father Michael have decided its time to take matters into their own hands. . . . .
With the help of a scientist they will attempt to clone Jesus.  This will be the first attempt of human cloning.  A baby will is being boy is being delivered to Mary and his name is Christian. The priest have no doubt that GOD will walk among them once more. It will be the end of wars, no crime and will be heaven on earth. GOD will right the world . . .at least that is the plan.

As Christian is growing and maturing those closest to him will see that things are not right, not natural and just plain wrong. At an early age he began playing harmful pranks, he could even over power his eye color. At the age of 25 Christian was a millionaire and very powerful. Once several suicides started popping up detective Denny Hopper started to take notice along with the three priest. There were no miracles being performed like the priest had hoped, impossible things would happen but no miracles. When the priest finally admitted they put they put GOD's will into their own hands and made him NOT GOD, they knew they needed to fix it.

Christian told people he was an angel, the kind that clean ups GOD's messes. Many believed that if they died Christian would bring them back from the dead, but Christians real plan was something totally different . . . . .

The Shroud is an awesome read. I could not put this one down once I had it started. To think there are those that really think they can play GOD. I loved all the characters and they were so well written and easy to read. There is not alot of history that weighs this story down. There is just the right amount of good verses evil in this story. The horror part to me is that there is people out there today that would do something like this. GREAT READ ! ! !

5 breathless stars


Wende :)

Review of Supernatural Enforcement Bureau, Book 1, The Dragon and The Vampire by A.K. Michaels

Supernatural Enforcement Bureau, Book 1, The Dragon and The Vampire by A.K. Michaels


This is a spin-off from The Witch, The Wolf and The Vampire.As Director of the Supernatural Enforcement Bureau, powerful Vampire Ronan, thought he had seen it all...until he discovers that Dragons actually exist.  He is ordered by his Sire to find and protect this Dragon. Little does he know that the Dragon is a she and the last of her kind. He will need all the help he can get to find her and keep her safe.
This is the 1st of this series and am waiting anxiously for book2. This book had it all fast paced, action packed, sex, and such well rounded characters. This book pulls you and will never let you go!!
I highly Recommend this Book.
5 Stars
Patches

11/28/14






Review of Witch, the Wolf and the Vampire, Book 3 by A.K. Michaels

Witch, the Wolf and the Vampire, Book 3

by A.K. Michaels

Peri has found her Witch Strength and has finally quit running. Her mates  Gabe and Josef ... her Wolf and her Vampire are ready to become a family now. But there is a bigger problem someone with more power and more demented than her father is coming for Peri and her baby.

This Is Book 3 in the Series and is Awesome! Fast paced and full of action, love and sex!!
I am a huge fan of this wonderful series. I recommend any of AK Micheal's Books!!
5 Stars
Patches

Review of The Witch, The Wolf and The Vampire, Book 2 by A.K. Michaels

The Witch, The Wolf and The Vampire, Book 2
by A.K. Michaels

Peri has found her Witch Strength and has finally quit running. Her mates  Gabe and Josef ... her Wolf and her Vampire are ready to become a family now. But there is a bigger problem someone with more power and more demented is coming for Peri and her baby.
This Is Book 2 in the Series and is Awesome! Fast paced and full of action, love and sex!!
I am a huge fan of this wonderful series. I recommend any of AK Micheal's Books!!
5 Stars
Patches

Review of Defender's Blood Lexi's Trials: Book 7 by A K Michaels

Defender's Blood Lexi's Trials: Book 7 Final Installment of the Defender's Series 

by A K Michaels

Lexi is pregnant, Michael is over the moon. Yet Michael felt someone in their room watching Lexi. He vows to keep an eye on that and kleep Lexi and the Twins safe.  A dark one wants Lexi and her babies, he will stop at nothing to get them.  Can Michale and the rest of the team keep them safe?
This is the last book in the series. It really delivered a action fast paced read. The characters feel as if they have become part of my family. This left me sad to see them go. This is one series I will re read again and again.
5 Stars
Patches

Review of The Lupane Legacy by Darby G. Holladay

The Lupane Legacy

Darby G. Holladay

The story starts out in Zimbabwe . . . . imagine being 5 years old,

going out to collect the daily supply of wood and seeing your entire

village being slaughtered right before your young innocent eyes.

Patrick at the young age of five lost his family and the life he once

knew.

Patrick was taken in by Contstance's family. They raised young

Patrick as their own. When he became 18 he went to college and to

begin his life. The one thing Patrick had on his mind was revenge. . .

making the one responsible to pay.

Joshua Denham is attending a concert in the park, held by Austrian

embassy where his cousin, Constance is playing. Constance is a

renowned violinst. Here is where Joshua will meet Devon Kerr, they

once met a year ago in Afghanistan. Joshua was in the Marines at

that time. The spark between them was once again lite.

Patrick who is now the Director of Archives for the Zimbabwe's

Central Intelligence Organization, recieves a package. One he has

been waiting for since that dreadful day when he was 5. What this

package holds will help him get justice for his family and formal

village members.

This is a wonderful written novel and very fast pace! Holladay

brought in the right amount of characters to make this African

political read one that is easy to understand. I was hoping to read

more of the budding romance between Joshua and Devon, but, I am

sure the next installment will bring them even closer together. I have

to say Holladay grabbed in on the first sentence and tugged my

heart, while picturing poor little Patrice watch such a horriable act of

violence. 

5 bright shiny stars

Wende :)

11/26/14

Review of Faerie Tale, Ashen By R'Lee Coffey

Faerie Tale, Ashen By R'Lee Coffey

Ashen woke up outside with parts of her memory gone, a huge bump on the back of her head and no idea how to get home or who to trust.  Knox always seems to be there and he says he wants to help, but who is he and why does Ashen have the feelings she has if he is the enemy? 

And what is with all the freaky things that are happening to her?  Who…or WHAT is she?  And who are all these people who are acting like her friends and who expect her to know things about them that she just can’t remember?  Can she trust them enough to tell about her amnesia?  How can she deal with all of the expectations that everyone has for her if she can’t remember anything important?

This was a good book.  I want to read more about all of the characters and find out what happens to them.  5 stars!


Love-N-Stuff,

-Donna-

Review of The Witch, The Wolf and The Vampire, Book 1 by A K Michaels

The Witch, The Wolf and The Vampire, Book 1

Peri has been  on the run since she was fifteen. At first using a little magic to stay fed and warm.  A lot of Magic and they will find her and kill her.  She learns to be a bounty hunter, but does all the hard work for under the table money.  While in Las Vegas after a runner, Josef, the vampire, and Gabe, the wolf see her take down a man twice her size, but he has friends. Josef and Gabe come to her rescue in more ways than one. They are very attracted to her and want only to see to her every need while keeping her safe. Liam a Witch helps Peri learn that she is a very strong  Witch while teaching her control. Soon they are all seeing that the One will do anything to anyone to get to her.
Paranormal, Witches, Vampires and Wolves, M/F/M what more could a girl ask for?!!!
This is very fast paced or was it me turning pages as fast as I could devour them to see what happens next , and oh the Sex Scenes are very very hot!!! The characters all just flow of the pages and ingrain in your soul. I am looking forward to reading the rest in this series!
I Highly Recommend this Book
5 Stars
Patches

Review of Bells On Her Toes by Diana J. Febry

Bells On Her Toes
by Diana J. Febry

DCI Peter Hatherall is called in to investigate a shooting on the Earl of Ditchburn’s country estate. The Earl’s activities have angered animal rights and environmental groups but subsequent deaths suggest Elmsgrove Racehorse Yard is the target. There is more at stake than a horse race and time is running out for Hatherall to solve the case before the culprit kills again.

Loved every minute of this book!! very well-written tons plots all wrapped into one.. This book had it all murder, mystery, revenge also greed and secrets. Loved it... I hope see more of Detective Fiona and Peter!!! 

5 star's
Olivia R.

Review of The Vixen by Cule HInder

The Vixen
Cule HInder

This story brings us to a quiet little village, one named Northumbrian. It holds many secrets for such a little village. When a newcomer comes into town, they are all a buzz. What is his name and what is his story ? John Jarvis, once lived in this quiet little village, he has come back to right wrongs that was done to him. He was sent to prison for something he did not do. A innocent person that was in the wrong place at the wrong time. Now he is back . . . . . for VENGANCE
John soon meets his neighbor Elvira. Elvira is married but he is just not into Greg anymore. Greg and his friend Roger do not like John. It didn't take long for them to get all the villagers to dislike him and will start a witch hunt.

The local chief police officer Hamish has his own history and secrets where John is concerned. Secrets that no one needs to uncover. John's innocence is covered by his secrets. Hamish is willing to sit back and let the villagers along with Greg and Roger do his dirty work !  ! !

I was not sure about this story at first. It took a few pages to realize that yes, this is a good novel! There was many twist and turns thru out the novel, ones leaving you asking what and who ??. I had picture this village to be a dark and sorta creepy. The Vixen is well written and well worth the time to sit down and enjoy ! !

5 vixen stars
Wende :)

11/25/14

Review of A Sense of Duty (Dark Horse Guardians) #1 by Ava Armstrong

A  Sense of Duty (Dark Horse Guardians) #1
by  Ava Armstrong

This is a love story...and it's nothing like the other Navy SEAL books you have read. 
It's a look inside the head of the man who wore the uniform. 

Lieutenant Ben Keegan leaves the Navy after a decade of service. He's been shot, captured, tortured, blown up, taken shrapnel, and he suffers from six tours of combat. This is a touching love story about overcoming pain and learning to trust and love... 

Former Navy SEAL Lieutenant, Ben Keegan, starts teaching history at the university Lara attends. Ben starts his own contracting firm, Dark Horse Guardians. He frequently takes on black-op missions for the CIA and other foreign intelligence entities. 

Lieutenant Ben Keegan is a mystery man and Lara is immediately intrigued with him. But, more importantly Ben is strongly drawn to her. Incredibly handsome and attentive to Lara, there is one big problem: he is legally married and has a child. And, Ben is wrestling with problems from his many years in combat. 

Lara is 24 years old, brilliant, beautiful and finishing her master's degree in a small New England town, but there's one thing missing from her life – a love relationship. Lara Reagan O'Connell is constantly pursued because of her striking good looks, but Lara refuses to get involved physically with any man before marriage. And, getting involved with a married guy would be out of the question. In today's world, she is considered a dinosaur, holding out for the right guy. She also harbors a dark secret that causes her to be introverted and cautious in all dealings with men. 

Lara O'Connell is about to have a man enter her world who will alter the course of her life. 

Their love story takes the reader on a romantic, psychological, sometimes gritty, journey. Both characters remain steadfast to their values, and discover that even though they have lived completely different lives – they have more in common then they originally thought. 

I enjoyed this book.. It was very well-written. strong story line also liked how it went from ben and lara and the other characters too.  The details was way to much had skip over some of it. Love book cover!!!!

4 star's 
Olivia R.  

Review of A Silent Prayer By Samreen Ahsan

Silent Prayer By Samreen Ahsan

Samreen Ashan's A Silent Prayer gets 5 stars hands down! I had to force myself to put this book down. It started off slow, but after the first chapter I was hooked. It is captivating, a true modern day fairy tale. Rania Ahmed and Adam Gibson go against all odds and prove that love has no boundaries if it is truly meant to be. The ending has me wanting more!


-Reagan Maxwell

Review of Corrupt Skies by Alex Rodgers

Corrupt Skies
Alex Rodgers

A series of bank robberies is going down, not sure if they are gang related or if its organized crime, Harris Fox is asked to get to the bottom of it. Harris Fox is an air traffic controller, he has experience with bank robberies in the past and is ask once again to do his magic. He will be flying with different airplane crews, under cover and top secret. He must get to know the crew and find if their secrets is one that will lead him to the robberies. Harris uncovers a few secrets, ones he will want to forget and a few that may cost him his life.

One by one different crew members are checked off his list . . . . then he finds what he wants. Harris soon learns that a promise is a promise and yet sometimes that is just not enough. Flying the friendly skies takes an unexpected turn for Harris the question remains . . . . . will it ever be enough ? ? ?

This is one novel I was not sure I would like, I honestly put off reading it. Once I finally picked it up I was hooked ! It was a great read. I did honestly get alittle confused trying to keep track of the characters, but not for long. It goes to show once again their is corrupt people out there, who we think they are may not be whom they seem. . . .

5 suspenseful stars
Wende

Review of Against Her Will by Peter Martin

Against Her Will
Peter Martin

Donna is a successful Statistical Analyst, she was a hard worker and didn't let anything stand in her way. What should have been a night to remember ended up being a nightmare and one she would never forget. Leaving work late she hurries out to catch a train to meet up with her fiance, Blake. They were going out to celebrate their anniversary, while waiting she was brutally raped and attacked. This is where Donna's life starts spiraling out of control. Being unable to cope with her daily struggles, she soon moves back in with her parents. Donna did not have a easy childhood. They controlled every move she made, wanting her to model and be something she had no desire to become. Still unable to cope she feels suicide is her best escape. . .. .

As Donna struggles to cope in the hospital she become friends with a male nurse, Evan. Evan becomes the friend she needs and feels she can trust. Their friendship grows as their love for each other. While on their honeymoon Donna yet again will need to reach down in and find the courage she needs to cope once again.

Peter Martin knocked this one out of the park! This is one book that will make you cry, mad and just wanting to rip into someone. Peter takes the sensitive subject of rape and makes you understand what they go thru on a daily basis. At times I found myself upset with Donna, but I had to step back and remember she is a victim, one that changed her whole world changed  in a matter of minutes. Peter did a wonderful job with all the characters and the twist and turns was beyond awesome !  ! ! !

5 bright shiny stars
Wende

11/24/14

Review of Am I Real by Damian Bloodstone

Am I Real 
by Damian Bloodstone
Rus is a hired hunter and very hardened. Faith grew up in a group home, and escaped. Rus saves Faith and together they become entwined in each other lives.
What they learn about each other is a beautiful and sad story.
I was captivated from the very beginning. What a story. Sci/Fi, Mystery. This story just flows.
This story is one of a kind.
 I Highly Recommend this Book.
5 Stars
Patches

Review of Phoenix Blade by Andrew Hess

Phoenix Blade
by Andrew Hess

Vengeance . . . . . That is what is on the agenda for the Benefactor. . .. .
December 21, 2006 is the day Andrew Lancaster's life will change forever. Andrew received a call from the Benefactor, wanting him to eliminate greedy corporate leaders and corrupt politicians. They will be named the Revolution, the Benefactor will be pulling all the strings and the head of the committee. The mission is simply; to make the world a better place. This was a running joke with his 2 friends from high school, Lilly and Mike, they never gave a second thought to it becoming real. Andrew, Mike and Lilly will be hired to capture and eliminate those that evade justice.
The first mission is to seek Vengeance. Andrew's mother died in a car crash when he was 15, little did he know the car was tampered with and she was murdered. The assignment he is do will hit home, but, after all these years, his mother will have the justice she deserves. One completed mission leads into another and a bigger one. Andrew soon is named the Phoenix, rising from his own asses.

This was a true thriller ! ! You, like the characters are not sure who is the good guy and who is the bad guy. The books takes off from the first sentence and does not disappoint. Each character fits in right where they are needed and very easy to follow. A great novel on how corrupt some government officials can be. There were a few times I found myself wanting to yell and a yes even a few moments to shed a tear or two! Andrew Hess did a wonderful job on this novel and can't wait to read more on the Phoenix and his band of justice seekers ! ! !
5 Shiny Stars
Wende :)

Welcome to the Winter Heat Blog Hop

Welcome to the Winter Heat Blog Hop!

We all have come together to bring new readers to unknown authors, New authors to readers and have fun doing it. We hear at Julies Book Review are dedicated to showcasing new and seasoned authors. To help promote, review and showcase great works. As a blogger I'm always looking for new and interesting ways to have fun with books. So here in this blog hop, EVERYONE participating is giving away prizes and having games. Start hopping and have some fun. At each blog there will be a link to continue to hop to the next blog or a link back to Julies Book Review where you can continue to hop. I hope you all have fun, I knew we will.

11/21/14

Susan Rae

Product DetailsProduct DetailsProduct Details

Title: DeLuca Family (includes heartbeatsICE blue and TRUE blue )
Author: Susan Rae
Description: Love makes your heart race, but passion can kill.

Three strong, captivating women.

Three intense, driven men.

One family devoted to justice.

Come journey with the DeLuca Family from the tumultuous streets of Chicago to the majestic peak of Glacier National Park in these three intriguing full-length novels loaded with passion, suspense…and danger.

…She recognized him instantly. There was no mistaking the identity of the man who stood in
the entrance to the ballroom, nametag in hand, as if he had just arrived. She stood, motionless, 
staring, unaware of the murmurs of uneasiness arising from the gathering. She watched, 
mesmerized, as his lips curved into that slow, Mona-Lisa smile of his and his chin lifted in 
acknowledgment of her awareness of him. Although quite a distance away, Elizabeth could 
easily make out the slight cleft in his chin, the sexy, firm line of his jaw—and those deep set 
eyes which she knew were the most amazing shade of midnight blue…
  Later that night
Elizabeth pushed the door open and stepped inside. The glow from the streetlights spilled in 
through the lace curtains…It caught her eye as it danced eerily with the tree shadows upon the 
ceiling. Turning her gaze to the right, down the dark hallway, she spotted a sliver of light coming 
from the bathroom.
“Julie?”
…She flicked on the light, aware of the click of the apartment door as it closed behind her…a 
quick scan of the living room revealed Julie’s evening gown draped across the sofa, the plastic 
dry-cleaning bag still covering it.
She glanced to the left where Allison’s door stood ajar. Sensing nothing there, she turned 
toward the hallway, debating whether to continue on or call the police. Now she was really being 
paranoid… Julie probably just changed her mind about attending the banquet, or—her husband 
had shown up.
She set her briefcase down, took her cell phone out of her evening bag, just in case, then 
started down the hallway. At the bathroom, she paused. Glancing around the partially opened 
door, she discovered Julie’s makeup scattered on the counter along with her own toiletries. A 
damp towel lay on the floor. She pushed the door open further, but the bathroom was clearly 
unoccupied.
She took another step toward the bedroom, then stopped as a dark spot on the beige carpet 
caught her eye. Bending down, she stretched her fingers out to touch it. The familiar texture of 
the moisture that wicked against her fingertips left her feeling somewhat dazed. She turned her 
fingers to the light, although her mind already knew what her eyes would tell her. The sticky 
substance was blood—spent blood—already drying with time.
<i>Outside the apartment—</i>
…as the officers started up the staircase, two steps at a time with Drake at their heels, Sal 
shouted over his shoulder, “Thirty-two-year-old woman—multiple stab wounds.”
Drake’s steps faltered. A cold sweat iced his back and he was sure his heart stopped, if only for 
a second…A muffled shout sounded from inside.
“In Here! Hurry!”
Elizabeth’s voice? Drake couldn’t tell… Leading with his weapon, he shoved through the door…
“In here!” the woman cried from around the next doorway. This time he was sure it was 
Elizabeth.
He paused to peer around the corner and scan the room. He nodded to the cop who raced 
passed him and checked out the closet. Finally, he allowed himself to look down toward her 
voice.
His stomach turned at the ghastly sight that met his eyes.
“Elizabeth…” he breathed.

Genres: Detective, Romance, Suspense , Thriller, Sensual, Contemporary Romance
Romantic Elements: Yes
Sexual Elements: Yes
Heat Level: 3

What the critics are saying about Susan Rae’s books:

Heartbeats: “A terrific tale of romantic intrigue, with characters who are intelligent, skilled professionals and to whom we can easily relate.”— Marilyn Weigel, RTM

ICE blue: “With her well-developed characters, Susan keeps you glued to the pages.” —Susan Peck, My Cozie Corner

“…this romance, thriller was something that took hold of your heart as you read.” —Beth Cutwright, Beth Art From The Heart

TRUE blue 
“The writing was terrific and the plot was intriguing and suspenseful. Rae masterfully deceives the reader intothinking that she knows who-dunnit but the reader will be deliciously surprised at the end.” —Cindi, Mammasez
















Susan grew up in the suburbs of Chicago and received her Bachelor of Arts Degree from 
Columbia College, Missouri with an emphasis in creative writing.She penned her first 
melodrama in fifth grade for a Girl Scout Drama badge. Complete with hero, heroine, and 
dastardly villain, it wasn’t so very different, really, than the romantic suspense she writes now.
“I love writing romantic suspense because it allows me to combine a sexy, passionate love story 
with a gritty suspense tale—in my opinion, the best of both worlds.It also allows me to express 
my appreciation for the outdoors in the setting that I recreate on the page.”
When she is not sketching characters, you might find Susan on the golf course working on her 
handicap, or traveling around the country seeking out new settings for her novels with her 
husband and empty nest puppies, Ginger and Nikute. To read more about Susan’s novels and 
the writing life, please visit her website/blog at www.susanrae.com

11/20/14

The Light Who Shines by Lilo Abernathy

The Light Who Shines
by
Lilo Abernathy

PRIMARY CHARACTER PROFILES
Bluebell Kildare: Blue is a Supernatural Homicide Detective and a gifted
empath who has a pure spirit and a will of steel. She was orphaned at a
young age and has had a tough life so far. Yet, she continually picks
herself up by the boot straps and fights to do what is right, regardless of the
cost. Just how high will the cost be?

Jack Tanner: He's Blue's sexy boss, the head of the Supernatural Homicide
Unit in Crimson Hollow. Jack is very old and powerful Daylight Vampire
with many layers. He is driven a little crazy by his desire to protect Blue in
the face of her independence. Can he keep his cool when Blue needs him
most?

Varg: He is a great grey wolf who comes out of nowhere and decides to be
Blue's companion. He seems to have some mysterious magical abilities
and uses them to guard Blue's life. Can he keep her safe?

Maud: She is Blue's dear friend and mother figure. Maud used to visit Blue
in the orphanage and read to her as a child. She can't cook but she makes
awesome Southern beverages. What color is her hair today? Is it blue,
fuchsia, scarlet, or peach sherbet?

Alexis: She is Blue's comrade and neighbor, as well as the sassy owner of
a store called Herbal Enchantments. She is gifted in earth magic and if she
isn't busy feeding her friends, she's telling them what to do. Does she have
her hands on her hips right now, or is she waving her finger at Blue?

The Villain: Can he get any more evil? No. He is about as evil as they come

. . .
Displaying Lilo Abernathy - Photo - Web.gif
AUTHOR BIO

Lilo Abernathy is a somewhat eccentric, deep-thinking, warm-hearted
young woman of at least 43 years. She started out as a restaurant chain
hostess and worked her way up to the exciting world of global mergers and
acquisitions. She has enjoyed an on again/off again relationship with formal
education and has been affectionately referred to as information hound. In
the evenings, she fills her writing breaks by scanning the internet for
answers to provocative questions, such as: "What causes diamonds to be
formed in different colors?"
One thing that never changes is Lilo's ongoing love affair with books. A
born bibliophile, by age ten she finished all the children's books in the
house and started devouring the adult section. By age 15, she was working
her way through grocery store book aisles and libraries. Just as Picasso
had his blue period, Lilo had her own periods of readership--urban fantasy,
paranormal romance, Gothic novels, etc. Now she's planning on creating a
bookshelf for you to enjoy.

SOCIAL NETWORKS
Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/lilojabernathy

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Lilo_Abernathy
 Goodreads:https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7789942.Lilo_Abernat
hy
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/liloabernathy/
SITE AND BLOG

Website: https://sites.google.com/site/lilojabernathy/home
Blog: http://lilojabernathy.blogspot.com/


Displaying 91ncfldZDZL._SL1500_.jpg


Title: The Light Who Shines
Author: Lilo Abernathy
Genre: Urban Fantasy / Paranormal Romance / Mystery
Amazon Rating: 4.7 Stars
Amazon Reviews: 153
Regular Price: $4.99
Sale Price: $1.99
Kindle Daily Deal Date: Thursday, November 20th, 2014 (One day only)
BUY LINK
Amazon Kindle: amzn.to/11sqD5Y

BOOK BLURB
When Supernatural Investigation Bureau agent Bluebell Kildare (a.k.a.
Blue) arrives at the scene of the crime, it's obvious the grotesquely
damaged body of the deceased teenage boy was caused by far more than
a simple hit and run; and she vows to catch the killer. Using her innate sixth
sense, Blue uncovers a powerful magical artifact nearby. She soon
discovers it acts as a key to an ancient Grimoire that was instrumental in
the creation of the Vampire breed and still holds the power to unravel the
boundaries between Earth and the Plane of Fire.
Blue and her clever wolf Varg follow a trail that starts at the Cock and Bull
Tap and leads all through the town of Crimson Hollow. Between being
sidelined by a stalker who sticks to the shadows and chasing a suspect
who vanishes in thin air, the case is getting complicated. If that isn't
enough, Dark Vampire activity hits a record high, and hate crimes are
increasing. However, it's Blue’s growing feelings for Jack Tanner, her sexy
Daylight Vampire boss, that just might undo her.
While Blue searches for clues to nail the perpetrator, it seems someone
else is conducting a search of their own. Who will find whom first?
Danger lurks in every corner, and Blue needs all her focus in this
increasingly dangerous game or she risks ending up the next victim.

E.L.R. Jones



The Norton Sisters: 
Rayna -  http://amzn.com/B00I921ZI2
B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/rayna-elr-jones/1120511701?ean=2940148985143
Amazon (CA): http://www.amazon.ca/dp/B00I921ZI2
Amazon (UK): http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00I921ZI2
Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/rayna
I-Tunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id789617750
Zoie -  http://amzn.com/B00KOQMFC6
B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/zoie-elr-
jones/1119556145?ean=2940046331158&itm=1&usri=2940046331158
Nyema – http://amzn.com/B00NHA9U4C
A Secret for Christmas: http://amzn.com/B00P74H9EY



Synopsis:
Nyema Norton is a child psychologist, a mother, a sister, a friend, amongst other things. She has always
been the type to be there to listen if you needed it or give sage advice that helped others to improve
upon their lives. She has known great loss. First, her sister, then the father of her child. As such, she has
chosen to guard her heart against anyone outside of her family and inner circle of friends. Nyema is
perceived as the one that has it all together.
James Kenyon, architect, has always been the man with no desire to have a wife and/or family of his
own. He applauds his best friend for stepping out and finding love, but he wants no parts of it. James
had decided to assist a friend with having a child. A simple act of kindness, a freak accident and one
phone call has his world spinning. What he doesn’t count on is a loss greater than one he ever thought
to endure, a woman that changes his outlook and that very same woman possibly being the missing key
to his healing. It helps that she has a precocious yet adorable kid, ta boot.
What will happen when the two meet as counselor and patient? Will James be the breath of fresh air
that she needs in order to be able to truly breathe? Will Nyema be the woman to cause him to be willing
to commit to something, someone other than his company and employees?
The Norton Sisters Series is a series about six sisters that share the same last name, but are six entirely
different women. The sisters by age ranking: Zoie, Wynter, Rayna, Nyema, Lynnia and Chyra are there
for each other, always. They follow their own little "Norton Code": "In the end, family means everything
and your sisters hold you up. No matter what may come."



11/18/14

Melissa Haag

Interview with a werewolf…
Character interview of Clay from Hope(less): Book One of the Judgement of the Six, by author MelissaHaag

A knock sounds at the door.  Melissa scrambles to tuck the latest novel she’s reading under a sofa
cushion and then runs to answer the door.  Melissa peeks out the door and finds a scruffy looking man
staring back.  The afternoon interviewee has arrived.  His longish hair partially covers his eyes, and a
beard covers his face.  Despite his dubious appearance, she opens the door with a smile.
Melissa:  Hi!  Come on in.  **steps aside and motions Clay in.**
Clay nods in greeting and enters.
Melissa:  Please have a seat.  **motions Clay to sit and takes a seat across from him in her slightly dusty
living room.**
Melissa:  I was so excited you agreed to this interview.  After finishing Hope(less), I have so many
questions for you.  Can I get you anything to drink before we start?
Clay declines with a shake of his head.
Melissa:  ** leans back into her chair and picks up a pad of paper to take notes.**  Tell me, what did you
think of Gabby when you first saw her?
Clay smiles slightly.  His whisker’s twitch.
Clay:  Pretty.
Melissa waits for a few seconds for Clay to say more, clears her throat, then moves on when he remains
quiet.
Melissa:  What exactly happened that night you brought her back to the compound?  I’m really curious
about the leaves in her hair.
Clay shifts uncomfortably and shrugs.
Clay:  Distraction.
Melissa:  **blinks at his taciturn response.**  Let’s talk about your favorite color.  Why pink?
Clay:  **grins wickedly and shrugs.**  Bikini.
Melissa:  Oh?  **leans forward anticipating more detail, but is left waiting.  Stifling a groan of
frustration, moves on to the next question.**  What made you decide to get a job from Dale?
Clay:  **gives a full grin, showing teeth.  His eyes crinkle at the corners.**  Opportunity.
Melissa:  **the sexy smile evokes memories of several scenes from Hope(less).  Melissa shakes herself,
and barely avoids sighing in a dreamy fashion.**  What did you think of Gabby’s attempts to get rid of
you?
Clay:  **a quick laugh escapes him.**  Expected.
Melissa:  **looks down at the blank note paper and scowls briefly before returning her focus to Clay.**  I
don’t want to give anything away for anyone who hasn’t read Hope(less), but tell me… how do you feel
about how the book ended?
Clay:  **the heart-melting smile returns.**  Satisfied.
Melissa:  **desperate for something to put to paper, asks a simple yes or no question.**  Have you
shaved for Gabby yet?
Clay shrugs enigmatically.
Melissa:  Do you have any insight what will happen in the next installment of the series?
Clay shakes his head.
Melissa:  Will we learn anything more about Gabby’s abilities?
Clay shrugs.
Melissa:  **tries a different approach.**  Now that Hope(less) is finished, what do you plan to do?
Clay:  Wait.
Melissa:  **makes a show of looking at her watch.**  Well, look at the time!  **Stands and extends
hand.**  I appreciate your time and your succinct answers.  **leads Clay to the door.**
Clay nods and exits.
Melissa returns to the couch, digs out her Novel where the men actually speak in complete sentences,
and escapes into another world.
Discover a riveting world of werewolves and young women with unexplained abilities, in Hope(less).
In a world filled with people, Gabby is uniquely alone. The tiny sparks she sees in her mind confirm it. A
chance encounter leads her closer to answers she's struggled to find and into a hidden society where fur
is optional. There she meets Clay. Is he her salvation or her curse?
As if he isn’t enough to deal with, problems compound when other werewolves, ones with abnormally
colored sparks, begin to stalk her.
Instead of gaining answers, her list of questions is growing. What do the other uniquely colored sparks
mean? Is she not as alone as she thought?

DOWNLOAD IT FREE AT:
Amazon:  http://bit.ly/HopelessAm
B&N: http://bit.ly/HopelessBN
Kobo: http://bit.ly/HopelessKobo
Smashwords: http://bit.ly/HopelessSW
iTunes: http://bit.ly/HopelessiT




About the Judgement series:
For over a millennia, we thought we were alone.  Now, we’ve learned the truth.  Six women are reborn
every one thousand years to bring us a message: We are being judged.
Humans have ruled the earth by the grace of the Judgements.  Our prosperity has been the downfall for
the werewolves and urbat, and the urbat refuse to stand aside for another millennia.
The time for Judgement has come again.

Contact Links:
Website: http://melissahaag.com
Email: Melissa@melissahaag.com
Twitter: @imagine2live
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/author.MelissaHaag

Club de Fleurs: Jenna. by Rose Nickol

 

Club de Fleurs: Jenna. by Rose Nickol

 
I was given this book as an ARC for a Honest Review for my Blog on FB. Promoting Authors, Books & Reviews

Jenna is set up with Kyle on date. Talk about drop dead gorgeous he was hot!  He slowly introduces her to the BDSM scene. Jenna learns a lot about herself and Kyle their first night at the Club. Things also don't not go well with Jenna. Now she is being hunted and Kyle must do everything in his power and arsenal to keep her safe.
This was a Great Book! If you are new to BDSM this book explains a lot.  If not new just reenforces the proper rules.  The scenes were hot and the tension was awesome.
I highly recommend this book.
5 Stars
Patches

Club de Fleurs 2: Sadie by Rose Nickol

 

Club de Fleurs 2: Sadie by Rose Nickol

 
I was given this book for a Honest Review for my Blog on FB. Promoting Authors, Books & Reviews
Sadie is a submissive yet only in the Bedroom or in a Scene, not every day life. She has had a huge crush on Dave the owner of the BDSM she goes to for over a year now. They play but that is all she wants him in her everyday world.
Dave enjoys Sadie and would like to get to know her outside of club , but she has never given him a tiny sign that she wants more.  Finally Sadie ask Dave out and he says yes.  The bedroom and scenes really start to heat up. Enter  Evan also from the club and things really heat up 2 Dom.'s 1 Sub. let the fun begin.
Those that know me,  know I love M/F/M books and this book did not disappoint.  The Scenes  were hot and that is putting it mildly. I enjoyed these characters and the well played events.
I highly recommend.
5 Stars
Patches

11/11/14

Review of Catnip by J.S. Frankel

Catnip
by J.S. Frankel

Harry Goldman, teenage DNA researcher, genius, and total nerd, is thrown into jail for illegal transgenic research. Freed by the FBI on the condition he works under their aegis, Harry is taken to New York where he meets Anastasia, a cat-girl and the product of transgenic engineering. No sooner do they get acquainted then they are attacked by another creature, a bear which is more than a bear, and are forced to flee for their lives. Along the way, they encounter furries, Doug the Dog, find out that they are more into each other emotionally than they’re willing to admit, and end up in the Catskill Mountains where Harry finds out the shocking truth about how Anastasia was created...and what she was created for.

Loved every minute of this book. pulled me right in very first page.. very well-written and fast-pace read!! This book is pack full of action, mystery and keeps you trying to guess about what happen and who did it.. One thing is for sure nobody need to play god.
Harry and  Anastasia i felt bad for them all the way to very end of this book nothing or anybody cut them a break,they had to fight none stop.. they did kinda get happy ending but not at the same time... This book has it all from the mad scientist, mutants, FBI agents and good guys... I hope there is a second book coming out in the future!!!

5 star's
Olivia R.

Review of Lost Innocence Breaking Point (part 2) Simon Palmer

Lost Innocence Breaking Point (part 2)
Simon Palmer

Continuing from part 1, The Accused . . . . Micheal is still in Thailand, he is still waking up in a dirty, stinky, over crowed prison. His grandfather, Micheal is still claiming his innocence and staying out his 12 days till he is released. Michael's grandfather Nigel, was once a successful lawyer, who is enjoying retirement. After receiving a call that Stan, Michael's dad was in an accident, he has no choice but to hop a plane. Nigel is determined to get to the bottom of this nightmare. 

Nigel soon finds more than he bargains for and does not give up till he finds the one person that can help them. . . . . But will it be enough and will be to late . . . .

Simon Palmer blew me away with this novel. His writing flowed and the pages turned quickly. I laughed at Stan's unending ways of screwing up and cried as Michael sat trying to cope in those awful prison situations. Nigel by far is was my favorite character. Nigel was brave and did all he could for the love of his grandson. We sacrifice so must for those we love. . . .

Wonderful, Outstanding NOVEL ! !  I can not wait to read the sequel ! ! !  ! !

5 THRILLING Stars !
Wende :)

11/6/14

Review of Cranberry Blood (blood series) by Elizabeth Morgan

Cranberry Blood (blood series)
by Elizabeth Morgan

Killing Vampires? Easy.
Tracking someone? Simple.
Helping, and protecting a Vampire slayer . . . . Bloody hard work!

Thirteen years ago, Brendan Daniels made a deal with a psychic. In exchange for information on the whereabouts of a Rogue Werewolf, he promised to help and protect Sofia's granddaughter. Unfortunately, he had no idea what he was letting himself, or his Pack, in for.

Nothing about Heather is simple, from her weird dietary needs to her life’s mission. The girl can handle herself, but the promise to protect her soon becomes a need, and one he can't fully understand.

Vampire Slayer. 
Born Infected. 
Addicted to blood . . . but not by choice.

Heather Ryan is the current Slayer in a long family line. Like all before her, she has spent her life searching for her ancestor, Marko Pavel, the Vampire her family has sworn to kill. If that isn't complicated enough, she is also a born "Infected", and to keep her from becoming insane or giving in to her darker side, she is on a very strict diet.

Now that her Grandmother Sofia has passed, it is up to Heather to take the family legacy into her own hands. Or at least, it would have been...if her Grandmother hadn't sent a Werewolf to help her.

What is the irritating Brendan supposed to help her with? Sofia never told either of them. Luckily, it doesn't take long for Heather and Brendan to find out that the Vampires have big plans, and that the Leeches have waited a long time for them both.



OMG!!! LOVE THIS BOOK!!   Heather was amazing kickass lady loved her!!  Brendan "spoon" big bad wolf sexy and funny and powerfully!!! loved every minute of this book. This book pack full of secrets, mystery, non-stop action.. It was amazing well written and plots, tons of twists put you on edge of your sit... This book pulls you right in and hooked all the to end... I need more!!!! can't wait...

5 star's 
Olivia R.

Review of Phoenix Blade by Andrew Hess

Phoenix Blade
Andrew Hess

Vengeance . . . . . That is what is on the agenda for the Benefactor. . .. .

December 21, 2006 is the day Andrew Lancaster's life will change forever. Andrew received a call from the Benefactor, wanting him to eliminate greedy corporate leaders and corrupt politicians. They will be named the Revolution, the Benefactor will be  pulling all the strings and the head of  the committee. The mission is simply; to make the world a better place. This was a running joke with his 2 friends from high school, Lilly and Mike, they never gave a second thought to it becoming real. Andrew, Mike and Lilly will be hired to capture and eliminate those that evade justice. 

The first mission is to seek Vengeance. Andrew's mother died in a car crash when he was 15, little did he know the car was tampered with and she was murdered. The assignment he is do will hit home, but, after all these years, his mother will have the justice she deserves. One completed mission leads into another and a bigger one. Andrew soon is named the Phoenix, rising from his own asses.

This was a true thriller ! !  You, like the characters are not sure who is the good guy and who is the bad guy. The books takes off from the first sentence and does not disappoint. Each character fits in right where they are needed and very easy to follow. A great novel on how corrupt some government officials can be. There were a few times I found myself wanting to yell and a yes even a few moments to shed a tear or two! Andrew Hess did a wonderful job on this novel and can't wait to read more on the Phoenix and his band of justice seekers ! !  !

5 Shiny Stars

Wende :)

11/5/14

Review of Seduction for hire by WK Corvo

 Review of Seduction for hire by WK Corvo
 
 Michael got beat up so many times and so badly most people would have given up. But he had the perseverance of three men! Not to mention this man was very lucky in love!
 
This book started out a little slow for me but I kept reading. Let me just say I am glad I did! I got so caught up in the character that I could feel his pain and frustration!it was hard to stop reading because I had to see how things were gonna turn out.i would read this again .

Esanders 
4 stars

11/1/14

Winners of the Halloween Event and The Winter Heat Blog Hop information!


 Halloween Event

Winners of the Halloween Event Congratulations to all the winners!!

$100 Amazon Gift Card- Amanda M.
Necklace- Seanna Y- Email sent to you please send me back an address to mail the item to you
$25 Amazon GC- Sharayah C
$10 Amazon GC- Bn100
$10 Amazon GC- Kathy O.
$10 Amazon GC- Amy B.
$5 GC- Lois L
$5 GC- Patches B
$5 GC- Keysa E.
$5 GC- Donna F
$5 GC- Melanie S.


All winners have been contacted via email. If you have not please contact me juliesbookreview@gmail.com  

Coming in November!  Winter Heat Blog Hop. All are welcome to join. Requirements:
1. Must have a giveaway going at the time of the entire event (any type of giveaway you want).
2. The Hop links must be at the top of your blog or in a spot easily visible for the hoppers to have easy a time to hop from blog to blog
3. All your links and giveaway must be set up on your blog with in 2 days before the event.


So come on and sign up and join over next great event. The more links the better, so lets make another successful event!

 


Search This Blog

Julie's Book Review

Hello, all my followers, visitors, and guests. Welcome to Julies Book Review. This is a site dedicated to helping authors and readers alike. Readers to find new authors and stories and authors to find new readers. For authors please contact me if you are interested in low cost promotion at juliesbookreview@gmail.com. I accommodate where I can. Readers please go through and search the blog. We have been active here for a while. Hundreds on authors, stories and genres to choose from. We have everything from sci-fi, erotica, romance, contemporary, mystery and horror. And nothing gets on this site without a 3 out 5 star rating minimum. I have several reviewers that read different genres. If you are interested in reviewing for me and the site please contact me at the above email. I hope you enjoy the site. I look forward to meeting and talking with you all.

Julie Ramsey & Theresa Fehse
ADM of JBR
Along with many reviewers (which we could not do this without)

Amazon SearchBox