1/30/14

Review of Out of the Past by Dana Roquet

Out of the Past
by Dana Roquet

 Torie Mills is beautiful, successful and a New York Times best-selling historical romance author. Determined to find some solace from her fast paced and demanding life, she decides to move to Mahaska County, Iowa--a mile outside of the tiny town of Fremont and into her great-great-grandparent's old homestead. Her plan is to restore the property to its 1870 glory days. She hires handsome, renovation expert Dave Cameron to do the work and together they bring the old Victorian house back to life. When Torie moves in, she discovers that restoring the house has opened a portal into the past. Time traveling each night to the Fremont of old, becomes her wonderful escape and her secret obsession as she learns about family, loss and to cherish the moments, from her long lost loved ones. When she and Dave become lovers, he gets swept into the travels as well--until they both realize, much too late, that there was evil in the past that would have been better left alone.


 time travel with a different twist. She dreams of her past family, and each time she is a different relative in the dream. She is at times her great great grandmother, cousin, sister. and many other people in her family.. very new to me i read other time travel's i have to say i found this book very amazing.. it was funny and crazy all wrap in one.. loved how torie and dave slow got together getting know each other over the months... putting history and timelines all that was great....


5 at out 5 stars
Olivia R.

Review of Into The Future by Dana Roquet

Into The Future
by Dana Roquet

When author Torie Mills moved to tiny Fremont, Iowa, she found the love of her life and the place where she finally felt she belonged. Five generations of Dave Cameron's family had inhabited the large idyllic Victorian house he and Torie now called home. They settled in, started a family and seemed to be living the perfect fairytale ending. Fast forward two years into the future. The Cameron family, including little one-year-old Rose, have been chased from their home by the time travels they believed they had left behind. Quiet Mahaska County has become a Mecca for fans of the psychological thriller Where Evil Lived, which Torie wrote concerning the 1959 mass murder of her Mills cousins. It was just meant to be a way to help Dave heal and put it behind him for good. Now it had taken on a life of its own. While Torie searches desperately for the answers that will fix her fractured family and allow them the happily ever after they deserve, Dave struggles to hold on to his sanity and keep a secret from her that will test him to the limits of his endurance as he comes to terms with the time travel gift that neither he, Torie nor their child will be able to resist or control.


Things started of pretty slow but start to pick up a little after half way through the book.  I thought the book was ok..  sad about all time travels full of bad.. now their 1 year old is doing it too...  you do need to read the first book before you read part 2... cant wait for book 3 to come out see what happens.... 


4 out of 5 star's
Olivia R.

Review of Acceptance The Edge Erotica Series By Starla Kaye

Acceptance
The Edge Erotica Series
By Starla Kaye
**** stars

This was the story of Chase CEO of his company and a workaholic and Rico also a hard worker and very driven to please his family. Chase has no time for a social life and has a string of lackluster relationships accompanied by lackluster breakups until he meets Rico. Rico is always striving to please his family and that has been enough for him until he meets and falls head over heels with Chase. Can the two men falling deeply in love figure out to make it work before Rico goes home? Will they be able to carry on this relationship overseas or is it doomed before it starts?
What I liked about this book was the relationship between the two men. It showed two men so into there families and careers that they barely have time to breath. Yet they find time love. It was beautiful.  A definite must read.

Reviewed by: Adriana

Review of Three Rules by Marie Drake

Three Rules
Marie Drake 

“I have learned three rules in my life: 1.) The most dangerous people in the world are not always strangers. 2.) The scariest things imaginable are not those that can kill you, but those you can live through. And probably the most prominent: 3.) The most horrible possibility is not what could happen to you, but what you could become – I became a killer.” ~Hope Wellman

Hope Wellman has been haunted for years by her years of abusive. Abuse that was at the hands of her step-fathers brother, Lucas Wellerman.
The moment the funeral is over Hope needs to get on with her life. She needs to put the past behind her, but how?? She is plagued by nightmares and daily reminders, then another victim comes into the picture. Does Hope tell what happened to her or keep it a secret ?

When her childhood friend comes clean and tells everyone she is pregnant with Lucas's baby, Hope is extremely worried and troubled. With everyday that passes after Lucas death more things come about. Now some family members are looking for stolen money, they seem to think kidnapping and blackmailing Hope will bring it to light. . . . . . Will Hope tell what really happened to her ??

This is a true page turner at its best ! Drake keep me guessing till the end. I felt so bad for Hope, she seemed trapped in her nightmares with no one to help her. Great read with this little warning, don't start reading it late at night! Why ? because you will have to finish it before you can put it down ! ! Its full of family secrets and some scary skeletons in the closet.

5 suspenseful stars ! 
Wende

Review of The Rage Within by Ralph Jones

The Rage Within
Ralph Jones

Jacob Rekowski, aka Jake was the youngest of 5 children. His father was abusive, an alcoholic and in and out of prison.  Jake's mom, Stella, just wanted the best for her children. She did what she needed to provide for them, where their father fell short.

Jake was caught stealing apples from a local farmer. The farmer didn't call the police but instead gave him a job. This is where he meets Fran the framer's daughter. Jake had his first crush on a older women. When Fran goes away to school Jake must accept and adjust.

Thru the years Jake learned to adjust to his life an new job. He soon become a money collector for many businesses in town. Jake's life is just beginning. We see how Jake learns to deal with life throws at him and revenge when they throw him lemons !

At some point Jake's life has to change for the better ! After a stint in prison and near death car accident, he knows he must change. The next chapter will be a heart wrenching lesson for Jake but one he earned.

This was a great book ! I feel in love with Jake and his adventure in life. I found myself crying more than laughing. This is one that is filled with blackmail, love, deceit, revenge and yep you got it, MURDER. Grab a blanket and make your self comfy its going to be a wild long ride.

5 stars
Wende :)


Review of Oddly Chilling by DG Sutter

Oddly Chilling
DG Sutter

Oddly Chilling was just that ! Oddly Chilling ! !  It has a 17 super creepy stories packed inside between the creepy cover ! You read alittle of everything from under water creatures to a super creepy Kangaroo! ! ! I enjoyed reading each and every story ! The story titled Penny for a popping was one of my favorites !  ! This story is just as its titled and extremely funny ! ! ! Make sure to watch out for gents that carry a ivory cane. These stories remind me of the Twilight Zone with an extra helping of creepy and bone chilling :) Make sure you keep the light on while reading this one !  !

5 creepy stars
Wende :)

1/26/14

review of Hexed & Vexed by Rebecca Royce

Hexed & Vexed
by
Rebecca Royce

Olive White has had a terrible six months. It's not bad enough that years earlier she earned the nickname "Worst Witch In Witching School," she is now being forced to watch the love of her life, Campbell Bane, marry her sister Cindy. And she’s being asked to do so in a pink, puke-colored bridesmaid’s dress. Vexed doesn’t begin to describe how she feels.

Her powers pick the wedding as the perfect moment to turn on, zapping both her ex and her to a magical island not found on any map. Someone is bound to find them, but perhaps Olive can get some answers, once and for all.

When Campbell falls ill, she uses her considerable skills to save his life, but can she believe him when he tells her he still loves her and always has? Was he hexed, or is it all a flimsy excuse for breaking her heart?

I loved this book!  Once you start it, you can't put it down til you're finished.  This is an amazing quick read.  It had me turning pages til the very end.  The storyline was exciting & the characters easy to love.  The ending was amazing. This is the first book I've read by this author, but I'd love to read more

I rate this book 5 stars
Jennifer

Review - Redemption by Dana Delamar


Review - Redemption by Dana Delamar


Antonio Legato grew up in the Mafi and has risen up in the organization. He is not proud of all the things he has done. The main one was falling in love with Bianca Lucchesi and allowing her to hurt him.
The two come back together in a series of events. Yet both are hiding secrets that could destroy each other.  Bianca must get Antonio to fall for her again, so that her brothers can take over the family business, if she doesn't a very precious life will be destroyed. 

This series is awesome!!! If this series was ever made into a movie it would put the Godfather to shame! I am always pulled into the lives that Dana creates in her books.  Heart beating so fast it is like I am part of the story line!!! If you are looking for fantastic writing style and being pulled into a story this is it!!
I VERY HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK.
I WANT TO GIVE IT MORE THAN 5 STARS
Patches

Review of Surrender to Fate by Jacelyn Rye

Title:  Surrender to Fate

Ages: 17 +

Rating:4

The story starts with 2 loving families, close friends. The 2 oldest children, Will and Sarah, are close growing up and grow closer as they reach adulthood. Fate tears them apart though.  Will love survive the trials of new surroundings that Sarah's family have to face?

This book was great, It was well written and had me feeling sorry for both families and everyone in them. It was a little slow to progress at times, but I still enjoyed it. I recommend it and I look forward to reading the 2nd book also.
 
Margaret N.

Review- Charmed by Cate Masters


Review- Charmed /Cate Masters


This is the continuation of "Cursed" The Vitruvian Man.    Bruno DiCesare and Melina Weaver find themselves waiting for a concoction made by a Sorceress that has alternative motives.  Will this concoction be a saver or the death of Bruno?  Melina has found magic books that were hidden and starts to translate them she may be in way over her head.  Who is friend and who is foe?  What do they really want?

I very much enjoyed Book 2- "Charmed".  All the magical stirrings between Bruno and Melina were very heartfelt, I could feel the love these two have for one another.  The mix of who is who was enjoyable.
I really recommend this series a bit of ole lore and set up in today's society , really makes this story ( series) wonderful!!
5 Stars
Patches

1/24/14

Dark Wolf by Christine Feehan

Dark Wolf


Dimitri has been captured by the werewolves he had been helping. Now trapped, being tortured in a way that prevents all communication. All communication including his life mate Skylar. He must keep her safe at all costs, even if it costs him his life. Skylar has known her life mate since she was 16 yrs old. Dimitri could have forced his claim and taken what was to be his but he wanted to give her time to grow and to try to heal from a horrendous past. Having a father who is feared by the vampires they hunt and has said she is not to be claimed until she is 25, would not have stopped Dimitri if he truly wanted to take her. Over these years they have been connected and have been talking with each other. Skylar and Dimitri have been learning each other and both know that it is just a matter of time before they are life mates. When Skylar finds out that something is terribly wrong and Dimitri's life may very well be in the balance, she decided to take matters into her own hands. With a legendary fathers (biological and adopted), a family tree including Carpathian,  mage, and physic powers unheard of, and a war brewing between werewolves and Carpathian, Skylar must risk everything to save the man she has grown to know as her life mate.

I have been waiting for this book from Dark Celebration. Any fans of this Dark series have been waiting for this book. I was not disappointed. Skylar, Josef, and Paul are great. Three great friends who literally will do anything to help each other at any cost. Skylar and Dimitri have waited a long time for there story and it was action packed, pulled at heart strings and it will make you sit on the edge of the seat. If you have read the series and the author, if you haven't already, you need to check out the deleted scenes from Dark Celebration. There are 3 scenes, one is Skylar and Dimitri. The scene is so touching and heart felt and when I read it all those years ago, it made me want to read their story. Awesome book 2 to what so far has been a outstanding trilogy.  I am very much looking forward to book 3 and hopefully seeing a little more of these 2 beloved characters.

Julie
5 stars
 Product Details

Benjamin by Lorraine Nelson

Benjamin

Benjamin is one of 3 brothers who were lost to their father. After his father and step mother die in a car crash, Ben and his brothers are finally reuniting. Harsh feelings for a father who was dead and a unpleasant past are brought together when they reunite. They find out they have a little brother and are now his only living relatives. The 3 men now have inherited a ranch and a little boy. Making a go of the ranch will keep the 3 men busy. A nanny would have to be found. Dani running from her own past, finds a ad for a nanny and calls. Dani makes the guys lives easier with there little brother but Benjamin may like her for more than just the nanny. Will the guys be able to run the ranch? Or is there someone willing to hurt people to drive them all away?

This is a great short read. Moves fast and I loved the story. Read the novella, The Inheritance  first. It really does a great job starting the story. This is a series that is well worth the money and time. I have read many books by this author and her books pull at the heart strings and make you want to fall in love all over again.

Julie
5 stars

1/21/14

Review ---Of Christmas Present by Thomm Quackenbush

Of Christmas Present
Thomm Quackenbush

Nick is divorced, an alcoholic who is working ringing the bell for the Salvation Army in front of Walmart in a Santa suit. When Nick wakes up drowning in pickle brine he sure did not expect a visitor in his bathroom. Krampus is not just any visitor but a demon who is on a mission and works for the real man that wears the red suit. He wants Nick to do as he is told and convince children to believe in Santa. IF Nick does his job Krampus will return to hell with no bad children going with him . . . Will Nick get the job done ???

Another great short story ! One that will stick with you long after you are finished with this story! ! Enjoy and don't forget to leave cookies and milk out for Santa  ! !

5 Christmas stars
Wende

Review of Dear Satan by Thomm Quackenbush

Dear Satan
Thomm Quackenbush

Mr. Boyle appears at Veronica's door, to grant a Christmas wish to her son Billy. Veronica believes Billy wrote a letter to Santa, she is puzzled as what Billy would have ask for. After much discussion with Mr. Boyle, she discovered he is a demon and little Billy, well lets just say he soulless. .. . . Now what would a 8 year boy want more than anything for Christmas? Football, toy trucks or maybe a Red Ryder BB gun ?? What Veronica discovers is heart wrenching and what Billy needs to do to earn that gift will leave you speechless.

What a great read ! Yes, it was short, but WOW was it awesome :) Makes you want to check your little ones letters to santa before you mail them ! ! ENJOY and be careful for what you wish for :)

5 shiny stars
Wende :)

review for A Hero's Heart by Amber Daulton

 A Hero's Heart by Amber Daulton

 Ten years ago, Jarrett Brandt left home and abandoned everyone of importance. After a hard reality check, the irresponsible young man matured into a ballsy DEA agent with a kickass Harley Davidson and a million-dollar bounty on his head. Ordered by his superior officer to take refuge at a safe house just days before Christmas, he headed back home to Washington State, instead, to make peace with his deceased brother’s memory. 
Marissa Reinn Brandt never expected to see Jarrett again. Best friends since childhood and lovers as teenagers, immaturity, over-demanding parents and illicit drugs ripped them apart. Now a successful chef at a posh restaurant, the young widow and her son offered Jarrett a place to stay for the holiday. Even though she expected nothing from her former lover—the twin brother of the man she married—fate intervened. 
As Jarrett and Marissa rekindled the flames of love and lust that once bound them together, an enemy from his past and a trusted mentor from his present vied their time in the snowy dark and threatened to destroy everyone he held dear. Needing a Christmas miracle to save his family, Jarrett needed the love of a good woman to save his battered heart. His second chance with Marissa meant the world to him and nothing, no one, would stand in his way of cherishing her for all time               



    What to say about this book ??? It kicked ass loved it..  He does his fair share of mishaps, getting addicted to drugs . He tries to clean up his act, go home, where he sees his first and only love. That's when all hell breaks loose.  This story had it all there was hot sex scenes, fighting scenes, drama, you name it she put it in there. 

5 of 5 stars 
Olivia R....

review for The Dead Live On by Julie Brown

The Dead Live On
 by Julie Brown

 You begin by reading Jillians personal journal of events. Then you will meet Kate, who finds Jillians body and her journal as well as finding Angel; a girl abandoned in the midst of the undead. Finally, join Kate and her friends as they struggle to survive the zombie apocalypse and make it to a shelter in Georgia. 


 
I really enjoyed this book.. I also looked this book up its done in series... so going to be reading them as well when they come out!! this book starts you from then it all started to last book in the series.. there was couple of mishaps in it but over all it great book.. it has 800 pages i read it in 1 day in half. it was that good.. plus i'm into all this stuff.... thank you for great read Julie Brown!!


5 out of 5 stars
Olivia R.

Review---The Brown House by Christy Sloat

The Brown House
Visitor's Series Book 1
by 
Christy Sloat

Some secrets should never be revealed... Brylee Branson begrudgingly made the excruciating move with her family from the warm sandy beaches of California to small town living in New Jersey. As if she wasn't miserable enough, they've moved into a creepy old house that everyone in the area claims is haunted. Brylee dismisses the idea of ghosts and hauntings, until she begins to see and hear things that can't be explained... Brylee has no choice but to seek the help of new friends to unlock the secrets of this place she now calls home. But some secrets should never be revealed. Can the teens find a way to release the spirits imprisoned within the walls? Or will the curse claim them, too?

Absolutely loved this book.  I fell in love with the characters & the story line..I couldn't wait to see what was gonna happen next.  The characters are so real you seemed to really know them.  This is the first book I've read by this author but I can't wait to read more...Waiting very impatiently for the next book in this series.
 
I rate this book 5 stars
Jennifer W

1/18/14

Review of Minutes Before Sunset by Shannon A. Thompson

 Minutes Before Sunset by Shannon A. Thompson

Eric has less than a year left before his fated battle with a light shade.
He meets Jessica who is new to town. She is not what she seems. 
Unknowingly they meet in different forms, not realizing who each other really is in true forms.
Jessica has more powers than she should and Eric is helping her realize her powers and how to weld them.
Neither realize what this chance meeting really is.  Will it be the death of both of them?

I felt lost in this book. Not sure if their is a novella. It felt like I should have known things that I really didn't. I kept reading hoping to understand, more than half way through I was finally getting the picture of what this book was really about.  Over all it was an ok read.
3.5 Stars
Patches

Review of Love,lies and the DA by Rebecca Rohman

Rebecca Rohman          
  Love,lies and the DA                                                                                            
  5 out of 5 stars!!!!!

                 Jada McLean is about to get married in nine days, when she walks in on her fiancĂ© in a little more than a compromising position. Days later, she’s on a trip that she intends to be relaxing and a prelude to her fresh start, when she runs into the rude, obnoxious, but gorgeous Jonathan Kole.
Jonathan Kole is San Francisco’s newest District Attorney. When he finds himself deeply attracted to a stunning beauty, he has no idea that she’s about to get into BIG trouble with the law—and he’ll be the one presiding over her trial. To make matters worse, his father is the lawyer representing her in the high-profile case.
           When a series of events force them together over New Year’s weekend, Jonathan’s feelings and ethics will come into question, while Jada comes to terms with the fact that she is falling for the man that will be responsible for attempting to put her behind bars… Little do they know, they're both about to fall into a whirlwind so deep, it will send both their lives spiraling out of control.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        This is the first novel I’ve read by this author,  do I want to read more of her work.  This is definitely a romance, but it is also a mystery. This novel has everything from   desires, dreams, hopes, concerns, and what they need from each other and how they can help as well and tons of action .. it pulled me right in after first couple of pages.. It keeps you guessing until the end.. awesome book rebecca!! can't wait to read more of your work

Review of Cruel Intentions by Riiva Williams

Cruel Intentions
Riiva Williams

Brie O'Hara is at college, not just any college but YALE :) Its all about boys, parties, sororities and cracking the books. Well that should be what its about ! First day on the campus and she meets Richard Barnes. Richard just happens to be her new roommates, Shawna's, boyfriend. Since when would a boyfriend stand in Brie's way ??
Richard has eyes from the new girl on campus, his girlfriend Shawna notices and is not about to let Richard slip from her fingertips.

Brie has secrets and her best friend Lyric is the other person who knows Brie and those dark secrets. When Brie calls from Lyric's help she is there and ready to play! The game they start turns into a HUGE love KNOT ! !

Cruel Intentions is a well wrote cat and mouse story. Its packed with exciting twist and turns. The story is just one big circle ! Wonderful read !

5 cruel stars
wende

Review of Where the Horses Run, Book I, Mass Extinction By Judith-Victoria Douglas

Where the Horses Run, Book I, Mass Extinction
By Judith-Victoria Douglas

In the blink of an eye, all the horses on the earth were gone.  All of the horses except for Elle’s big black gelding, Goliath, that is.  No one knows where the horses have gone or if they will be returned, or if something else catastrophic will happen next.  There has been enough pain and loss in Elle’s life.  Will she be able to survive this newest loss without losing herself again?  And what happens if Goliath disappears too?

Told in the form of journal entries, the mystery of where the horses went is unearthed by reading about Elle and her friends and family and the visions and dreams they have about a time long gone, when American Indians roamed the area.  There is a lot of science described in the book, and a lot of fantasy as it is set in the near future.  I learned a lot about caring for horses and how much turmoil the earth would be in if, suddenly, all of one species suddenly vanished.

I recommend this book to anyone who likes to read about horses, animals, history or science.  4 stars!  


-Donna Flint-

Review of Beholden to you by Carlie Sexton

Beholden to you
by Carlie Sexton


On the heels of tragic loss, the stunning and innocent Natalie Mason, meets handsome business mogul Mac Carter. As Natalie attempts to pick up the pieces of her shattered life, circumstances beyond her control draw her and Mac into a situation she wants kept secret. The two are a matched set having both experienced immense loss in their lives. Uncertain of what she should do, she decides to give fate a chance, opening her heart to Mac, who just wants to love her.
But the past, who often times takes no prisoners, rears its ugly head in a double dose. Mac’s ex-girlfriend cannot accept that their love affair is over and takes drastic measures through deception and blackmail to ensure that Mac will be hers. 
Natalie, on the other hand, has to face the one responsible for her sister’s death. As her journey begins to bring justice and closure, the past transports to her feet an unexpected surprise—a long lost love desiring to posses her as his once again.
Will Mac and Natalie’s newly blossoming love be able to endure what the past has delivered or will the victors of their hearts be the old flames who are staking their claim?



this book was good... very touching story about Mac and Natalie after all the lose they both had in very short time then find love in each other was very amazing.. did get little lost reading it from what they was talking about..had to look into it found out there's 3 books before this one.. ill have to get them read them as well.. thanks for good read carlie sexton...

Olivia R. 
4.5 out of 5 star's

review of Endangered Hearts by Amanda Lance

Endangered Hearts
by 
Amanda Lance

Emilia Ward is being watched.

And it isn’t just by her mother’s creep of a boyfriend or one of her many employers. Instead, she is certain it something else—someone else. However, in a life with college classes and alcoholic mother to look after, Emilia doesn’t have time to explore her suspicions. She would much rather think about her new job at Iram Manor, and more importantly—its mysterious and alluring owner.

After a lifetime of isolation and trapped in a disfigured body Kasper Zafar thought he knew pain. Confining himself to his work as an architect and the love of his music, he never expects the beautiful Emilia Ward to enter his life. Young and naive, his new housekeeper does not flinch at the sight of him, and is even so bold as to call him her friend.

Determined to teach her in all worldly things, the opposites grow closer and the role of student and teacher and interchange. Yet Emilia’s life outside the manor is not a happy one, and when Kasper’s attempt to watch over her fails, both will discover than love may be the most painful thing of all.

Loved this book.  It's full of everything you need to keep a story interesting.  I fell in love with the characters & the story line...it kept you turning the pages to learn more..I wanted to know what was gonna happen next.  The only thing is it left me wondering what happened with some of the characters...Hopefully there's another book coming.

I rate this book 4 stars
Jennifer W

1/12/14

Review of Waking up Dead Margo by Bond Collins

Waking up Dead
Margo Bond Collins

Callie Taylor was raped and brutally murdered in Dallas. When she woke, she was in a sweet, cozy little town of Abransville, Alabama. Callie was confused, when you die you are to go heaven or hell, not Alabama. 

Callie spent her days in boredom, not being able to leave Alabama, she was never able to see her own funeral. She could not see how her friends were or if someone took in her beloved cat, Phoebe. She soon learned what houses she could hang out in and whose she could not. There are those more sensitive to her ghostly appearance than others. 

As time went on Callie began to spend more and more at the Rick and Molly home. They were the closest to friends Callie had, they were not sensitive to her presence like others. Things were good for Callie she settled into a routine, until one night a stranger entered and killed Mollie. Callie witnessed it all and the police are pointing to Rick. Knowing he did not do it, Callie is now out to find someone to help her! 

Ashara was out shopping for light bulbs at Walmart, when she was approached by Callie. It goes to show you can find anything at Walmart! With the help of Ashara and her maw maw they will get to the bottom of the murder and help spring Rick. It takes alot of hard work and a few bruises along the way but they uncover is ghostly  . . . . . . . 

What a ghostly story full of laughs and gasps. A fun but thrilling read. I laughed, cried and was made while reading Callie's adventure. It tells the story of old money and old murders plus some old skeletons in the closets ! I look forward to reading more of Callie's adventures ! She seems to be a ghostly super sleuth! Well done ! ! ! 

5 ghostly stars ! 
Wende

Review of Rumors of wars by R.L. Craven

Rumors of wars by R.L. Craven                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Bounty hunter Perish Blackburn has an unquenchable need to make money. The world is a dark, dangerous place in 2075, a place where only the strong and the wealthy survive. Perish is strong, but she wants to do more than just survive. And to do that, she needs money. Those without money are little better than slaves, a fate she is determined to avoid. Fortunately for her, in a world where paranormal beings are literally falling at her feet, she has a unique arsenal of skills. Her talents are quite valuable, especially for someone who isn’t squeamish about putting those abilities to use, or particular about whom she uses them for.Things are going quite well and she’s on her way to accumulating another sizable sum of cash when she comes to the attention of the one organization that can totally derail her plans, end her life, and quite possibly, the world in the process. They have need of a talent Perish has just discovered she has, and given that they’re not the kind of people you can just say no to, she has to figure out a way to say yes and live to tell about it. She’s pretty sure she can, even with the unwanted help of a werewolf with the disposition of an Old World gentleman, a housemate who can only be described as eccentric and a couple of relatives who have been dead for centuries.                                                                                                                                                                                                                           I really enjoyed this book.. I also loved how he put all form in it was new to me. tons of plot's and twist in it too and not giving to much away all at once.. thanks for amazing read.. looking forward reading more from this series.. 


I give 4 or 5 stars 
Olivia R

Review of The Perfect Sub By Jayson Locke

The Perfect Sub
By Jayson Locke
***** Stars

Submissive Andrew Prescott has done everything in the past year to try to make Dominant Holt Benedict notice him. When nothing works out of desperation and prodding from his assistant Andrew (or Drew as he prefers to be called) reaches out to Madame Eve for what he thinks will be the answer to his prayers. The perfect Dominant to his Submissive.

What I loved about this story was the chemistry between the two men and how when it came down to it this was a BDSM story (not my normal kind of read) but also a story about being true to yourself and finding your HEA.

Review by: Adriana D'Apolito


Adriana/Ana

1/11/14

Review of Drop Out By Neil D. Ostroff

Drop Out
By Neil D. Ostroff
**** stars

Nathan 36 years old survives 9/11 while losing his entire family including his fiancée (who was 3 & 1/2 months pregnant with his son. He "drops out" of life and flees to the Florida Keys where he survives through yet another near death experience (in the form of a hurricane) and is taken in by a 27 year old woman named Miriam who is dying of pancreatic cancer (with many of her own skeletons in the closet) and is trying to get every last second of her life lived to the fullest she can. There lives connect. Him giving her a wonderful ending and she giving him a new beginning. Each of them helping each other heal and move on to the next phase of there lives.

What I loved about this story was you read so many things now about 9/11 but nothing transported me there like this book did. I felt as though I was there with Nathan fighting to survive. It was just so powerful. I cried from beginning to end. A definite must read!

Adriana D'Apolito


Adriana/Ana

Review of There’s A Tree On My House By Judith Victoria Douglas

There’s A Tree On My House
By Judith Victoria Douglas

A small maple seed is blown by the wind and lands on the corner of the roof of a house and the seed is so protected there that it begins to grow.  Sadie, the little girl who lives in the house is playing with her cousins, Ava and Abby in the yard, running around with their balloons when one of the balloons gets loose and floats up toward the seedling.  So that their cousin isn’t sad, the other two girls let their balloons free too.  They believe the seedling tried to catch the first balloon, and run in to tell their mother that there is a tree on their house.  Their mother and father help to save the tree from growing on their house.  Thus, the story of the tree on the house has started.

I really enjoyed this book and I believe children will enjoy it too.  There are lots of extras included with the book a tree that a child can color and decorate with included clip art, and extra pages to illustrate a child’s own tree story.  5 out of 5 stars.


Donna Flint

Review of Twenty - Five Years Ago Today by Stacy Juba



Kris Langley returns home to a job in a newspaper, wanting to be a journalist she must start at the bottom and work her way up. She starts her new path by writing small articles and obits. A job that is frowned upon by her mother and sister. A broken relationship is how Kris would describe her and her mother. This has not always been true, but after the tragic death of her best friend and cousin Nichole, things have just not been the same.

Kris has carried grief and some guilt around since Nichole was killed. Feeling that maybe she could have saved Nichole and prevented a lot of hurt amongst her family. Kris stumbles upon a an old murder of a 21 year old Diana Ferguson, 25 years ago she was found bludgeoned to death in the woods. The murder was never solved. Kris soon dives in to find out killed Diana. She feels this family needs closure and maybe just maybe she might find closure herself. Kris gets to know the family and even finds love along the way. Does Kris find the murderer ??? Does she find the closure she needs that may stop her nightmares ?? You have to read this to find out !

Twenty Five years ago is a wonderful "Who do it" mystery !  !! It keep me guessing right up to the end ! Sit back and hold on as you turn each page :)

5 who done it stars !
Wende

Review of The Favorite by Franklyn C. Thomas

The Favorite
Franklyn C. Thomas

Michael Dane grew up with an abusive father and rough childhood. After 8 months in prison he is ready to fight. He is currently the number one contender for the Light Weight Championship. He has a beautiful girlfriend and a baby girl on the way. Michael is ready to redeem himself and turn things around. His drug manager, Dante Alexander is running Michaels fighting career. Before he knows it Micheal is set up to fight Quin Cortez, who is undefeated. Dante wants him to throw the fight, Micheal just wants a clean fight, and to keep everyone safe from Dante deadly games. With the help of his old trainer, Dutch, he is ready to do what he can and fight for his life.

This was a good read, I don't know much about the boxing world but felt the author touched on some good aspects. It kept me turning the page till the last one.

4 fighting stars
Wende

Review of Cone Of Uncertainty by David Heilwagen

Cone Of Uncertainty
David Heilwagen

Amanda Brougher has her car packed and leaving Nashville behind her in the dust. After being married to a detective from the the Nashville Police Department. A husband is to love and protect, not be abusive. Raise their hands in love, not in anger. Ten years ago Amanda's husbands, Paul's life changed forever. Paul and his partner, Roberto was involved in a horrific shoot out one that left Roberto dead and Paul to forever be tormented. After 10 years of abuse from her husband Amanda is starting over in sunny, Florida.

Once Amanda arrives in Florida, she soon discovers that her awaiting job has changed. Amanda soon meets Brock Hamilton, Chief Petty officer of the US Coast Guard and the owner of the Coconut Palm Inn. Inherited from his parents, he see's the Inn closing and him concentrating more on his Guard career. Amanda see's potential in the Inn, and is hoping to open Brock's eyes.

Amanda and Brock grow closer by the day and Paul is closer by the day in finding her. Amanda is in danger, but how much she does not know. Will Brock be there to protect her and rescue her from her abusive husband ?

This was a WONDERFUL novel. I read it in one setting, supper had to wait, due to me wanting to know how Amanda's life will turn out. This is a fast paced, thriller from the beginning to the end.

5 breathing taking stars
Wende

1/8/14

Review of The Admirer's Secret by Pamela Crane

The Admirer's Secret
Pamela Crane

Haley Montgomery discovered what it was like to lose those we love at a young age. First her Friend Jake then her father, at the young age of 11. One way she tries to escape from her pain is writing, this is where she escapes and tries to deal with her grief. Her dream is to be a screenwriter someday.

Many years later Haley is 27, still living in her small home town of Westfield, New York. Haley works as a secretary for a law firm and just recently started a writing class. She was over joyed to see her Allen Michaels a Hollywood screenwriter and Producer was teaching her class. Allen was swept off his feet with Haley, but Haley has eyes on one IT guy, Marc Vincetti. Allen, like Haley has a few secrets and a few skeletons in the closet.

Haley soon starts receiving letters from an a admirer, she is caught up in the haunting, passionate writing and soon starts to find the writer of these letters. Is it Marc the IT guy or Allen the Hollywood screenwriter ?  This is where the story starts twisting and turning and one you will not want to put down !

I have so much I want to say about this book BUT it would spoil it for everyone. This was a fascinating read, one that I could not put down. I was caught up in the story line from page one. I loved the forgiveness aspect that was added, without forgiveness we just become bitter. Pamela did a wonderful job writing and I will be looking for more books by her! 

5 forgiving stars !
Wende :)

Still WOWING this Psychological Thriller ! ! !

Pamela Please send us more!!

Review of Wednesday's Child Dystopian by JA Carloton

Wednesday's Child Dystopian
JA Carloton

It all begins with the murder of Darien Rivers in 1997. 

Now we see the world in 2055 . . . where there is a new military and the war against the world. 

Jade is put in charge of investigating a murder, better yet a murder she was accused of committing.  At the same time Jade needs to stay alive, Elija Tyrell wants her gone, like dead gone. What they want Jade has buried deep in her subconscious, clclassified information that they need ! Darien River's, grandson, Stone Rivers is now commander and will go to any length to save Jade, before the government destroys her. 

Good read, lots of twists and packed full of action

4 stars 

Wende

1/6/14

review of The Demarcation of Jack by Dana & Blakely Bennett

Jack and Jenna are having marriage problems.  So Jack books them on a trip to Jamaica and invites another couple to join them.  Jenna is so not happy with this, she wants to work on her marriage with jut the two of them.  Marcus and Summer friends to both of them does not know that Jena had no idea of their coming until it was to late to stop this trip.  She has a lot of anger towards her husband and this just added to it.   As Jenna reconciles that the other couple are coming and with their help she slowly works through her anger at Jack. 

This story has a major twist to it that was great.  It really brings to the front of Love and Lust and Trust.
Tho I did have a problem with the ending,  it did not detract from the over all of this wonderful book.
Lots of great sex scenes written with so much heat! Fans Self!! A Great book to curl up and read as this is not your average romance book.
5 STARS
Patches

Review of ZOMBIES ATE MY NEIGHBORS, FRIENDS AND RELATIVES NOW WHAT by JD Chambliss

Zombies Ate My Neighbors, Friends & Relatives.  Now What (Zombie Apocalypse Z Series)
JD Chambliss

Its a sunny clear day on May 15, 2019 a day like any other, or, SO you think . . . .

Ross is 16 and is being bullied at school, today is the day he will take a gun to school and take matters into his own hands. What he finds when gets there is something out of a horror film. School mates are zombies, teachers are zombies, to avoid not being a zombie himself he must run, but he is not alone.

Sarah Frost is an 11 year old that was born autistic and was bitten by a zombie. Sarah did not turn instead she changed, it seemed to rewrite her DNA. Immune to the effects and has certain abilities that will help others.  Jack Frost is a private in the Army and Sarah's brother. When he realizes that his fellow bunk mates are up to no good, he moves on looking for his family.

Aimee came to the United States looking for something better than what she had. What she came to was a dark, zombie filled country. There is no turning back now and she must do what she can do to survive. When Aimee hooks up with Jonah, maybe just maybe they have a chance. Jonah his not like the other humans, but who or what is he ??

Zombies ate my neighbors tells the story of families trying to survive the zombie apocalypse. They must ban together to survive and make a new world. Its a wonderful read and a very modern to the world today. I look forward to reading the rest in the series.

5 zombie stars
Wende

review of The Good Ones - Lawanda Butler

Mark's parents were part of a bank robbery gang, they all lived together in a big abandoned warehouse. . . .till the day a gang of dirty cops came in and gunned them down. The only adult surviving was Teresa, she was the mother of Sonja, a little girl that Mark looked at like a sister. When Teresa goes bargaining for her life she uses Sonja as a bargain chip. Now Mark is being haunted by his memories and wanting to know where Sonja is.

Mark is uncovering every rock possible to find out where Sonja is, enabling the help of Gina, the records keeper, he soon finds out that he may just have bit off more than he can chew. Chasing down ghost and opening new doors only leads to trouble and maybe death.

Very fast paced and easy to read. The book has many twist a few you don't see coming. The end will leave you with that one word NO !  :) Perfect set up for another book.

5 stars
Wende

1/5/14

Review of One Unicorn Wish by Judith Victoria Douglas


One Unicorn Wish
Judith Victoria Douglas 

Madison Woodruff experienced a tragic fall, that left her suffering from memory loss. She is now being cared for by one Doctor David Montrose, a very handsome man and a caring nurse Allison. One thing that Madison always remembers is her adventures in "Evernow", which is a place between Madison's world and no time. When Madison was 10, she was visiting her grannies, one of her favorite places to be ! Here is where she finds a hollowed out tree where she can see special animals. For good luck, grannie gave her a special necklace with tiny little unicorn. She gave it to Madison for good luck and so she could make one wish on it ! !  She was told to never take it off, unless it is given to the rightful owner.

Madison begins her adventure, by her side stands a beautiful white horse "Spirit". As she travels thru Evernow she discovers grannie and gramps may have traveled to this same magical world. She soon finds herself on a journey one that is magical but becomes dark . . . . she needs to free her elevn grandfather before time runs out.

This story was just so magical! Its full of fairies, elves, wizards, unicorns and yes witches ! My favorite was Nyree, the owl, this was Madisons familiar. The story was well written and very colorful ! It had the perfect fairy tale ending !

5 fairy stars
Wende

Review for Sophie’s Encore by Nicky Wells

Sophie’s Encore by Nicky Wells

This was a very good ending to Nicky Wells’ Rock Star trilogy.  Sophie Penhalligan-Jones finally had everything going right in her life when a tragedy occurred.  Her best friend, rock star Dan stepped up to help Sophie through her grief.  Sophie had been busy raising babies and hadn't worked in a few years, so Dan helped her get back on her feet in a new career.  Can Sophie and Dan's friendship survive maybe taking things to the next step this time, when it didn't survive past friendship in the past?

This last installment in Nicky Wells Rock Star series did not disappoint.  It was sad to the point of bringing me to tears in parts, and exciting to the point of not being able to wait to see what happens next in others and loving and sweet all the way through.  I'm sad to see it end, but happy to be able to share Sophie's life.  I look forward to reading more from Nicky Wells.  5 Stars

-Donna Flint-

1/1/14

Happy New Year!! Winners of Dec Giveaway!





 



First as the administrator of Julies Book Review I would love to thank all who have visited and participated in our blog. I hope everyone had a safe holiday season and I sincerely wish for everyone a great 2014! 
 
 


Authors who want a review click here!We had a HUGE giveaway for December. Lots of winners. All have been displayed on the rafflecopter to the right of the page. I will put a list up below of what everyone won. I will be contacting the winners and the authors/reviewers who are giving away stuff, with in the next 24 hrs. Winners, if you do not recieve a notice from me please contact me @ juliesbookreview@gmail.com  . Authors/reviewers who are giving away stuff you will have 1 wk to respond and contact winners and arrange for your prizes to be delivered. Please contact me winner or giver of a prize if   you are unable to contact your person.  All matters of this giveaway will be concluded and considered done as of the 14th of Jan.

Coming soon!
More reviews are a given. Lots of genres!! Authors if you are looking for reviews please contact me with requests. Features/posts will resume in February. I will be posting information on our authors reviewers page on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/groups/JBRauthorpage/ If you are interested in participating you can contact me via email of Facebook.  I hope to see you all in the New Year! Please bring your friends and spread the word of Julies Book Review!

Thanks Again!
Julie Ramsey
ADM/Reviewer/ hopefully soon to be Author!!


Winners for the December Giveaway
1. RE Butler- Theresa
2. Humeria Kazami- BN100
3. Dixie Lynn Dwyer- Patches
4. Nicky Wells- Amy
5. Tessa Dawn- BN100
6. Karli Rush- Estela (ebook), Amy- (signed book &poster)** 2 winners
7.Mina Moore- Donna
8. Rosanna Leo- Tim
9. Patches- Donna
10. Julie- BN100
11. Kristine Cayne- Edith
12. J.A. Dennam- Patches
13. Suzzanne Wright- Jan Meredith
14. Petra- Theresa
15. Theresa- Aimee
16. Christine Feehan- Patches
17. Felicity Heaton-  Jan
18. Donna- Pat
19.Jamie- Amy
20. Wende- Ellen
21. Akisha- Aimee
!

Search This Blog

Julie's Book Review

Hello, all my followers, visitors, and guests. Welcome to Julies Book Review. This is a site dedicated to helping authors and readers alike. Readers to find new authors and stories and authors to find new readers. For authors please contact me if you are interested in low cost promotion at juliesbookreview@gmail.com. I accommodate where I can. Readers please go through and search the blog. We have been active here for a while. Hundreds on authors, stories and genres to choose from. We have everything from sci-fi, erotica, romance, contemporary, mystery and horror. And nothing gets on this site without a 3 out 5 star rating minimum. I have several reviewers that read different genres. If you are interested in reviewing for me and the site please contact me at the above email. I hope you enjoy the site. I look forward to meeting and talking with you all.

Julie Ramsey & Theresa Fehse
ADM of JBR
Along with many reviewers (which we could not do this without)

Amazon SearchBox