11/29/13

Interview with Jane Wakley


Welcome to Jane Wakely.  Thank you for visiting us here at JBR.

We are having a giveaway going on for November. What item are you giving away? (Anyone can win the item by going to the rafflecopter on the right hand side of the pg.)

I’m giving away a $20 Amazon Gift Card! 

First why don't you tell us a little about yourself?

Hi Everyone! My name is Jane Wakely and I write paranormal and contemporary romance, but
paranormal is my fave—I love creating worlds around sexy shifters and vamps! I’m a sucker for
a happy ending and think the best thing about any movie or book is when the characters find
someone to love. From my home in PA, I write sensual romance that will warm your heart, and a
happy ever after is guaranteed!

JaneWakely.3.jpg













Newest release?

My newest release is TROY’S FOX (Chestnut Rock Shifters, Book 5).

JaneWakely.2.jpg













What can we expect from your stories, action, drama, romance, sex, blood and guts?

You can expect sweet and sexy heroes, romance, and a little bit of sex! ;)

Do you have a favorite character in your stories? Who? and Why?

My fave couple is Bull and Christina from Chestnut Rock 2, CHRISTINA’S BEAR. They both stand
out because of their height, and along with other obstacles, I love the way they cope. They are a
perfect match and I loved giving them their happy ending!

How about your least favorite character? What makes them less appealing to you?

I love all my heroes and heroines, even if they need a bit of redeeming before they can get
their happy ever after! My least fave character is a secondary character from my contemporary
holiday story, CHRISTMAS HOPE! Simon is a true villain and he gets what he deserves in the
end!

JaneWakely.4.jpg













Give us an interesting fun fact or a few about your book or series:

My Chestnut Rock Shifters Series takes place in the made up town of Chestnut Rock. The
National Park with the same name borders the town, and both provide the setting for all of the
books. The series is made up of seven different, lonely shifters—all who happen to be forest
animals!


What can readers who enjoy your book do to help make it successful?

Spread the word! A quick mention on any social site, along with a link, goes a long way! Tell
your friends and write a review! I know some readers get nervous about writing reviews, but
there’s no reason to be. A simple, “I enjoyed this book because…” will work! These little things
mean a great deal to authors, not only for sales success, but because it’s awesome to know
someone loves our work as much as we do!

Do you have a favorite author? If yes, what draws you to that person’s work?

Two of my fave authors are Dana Marie Bell and Cynthia Eden, but I have others. I love reading
paranormal romance and I’ve found a lot of great new and established authors that I enjoy!
Usually, the author’s unique world is what draws me to my faves—I love reading their “rules” for
shifters, vamps and more!

Where do you gather most of the inspiration for your works?

Most of my inspiration comes from reading! Reading helps me relax and reenergize, giving me a
clear head to tackle my own ideas and stories. When I finish a great book, I often start thinking
“what if…” and I’m off in my own world. I also get ideas from people, conversations, movies—
well, almost everywhere—but usually my inspiration comes from a great book! :)

Do you have any other interesting hobbies, pets or stories you would like to share?

I like doing crafty things, and when I’m not reading or writing, I’m usually doing something
crafty with cardstock (sometimes for giveaways!) Also, I have the cutest dog EVER! Meet my
Miniature Dachshund, Annabelle!

JaneWakely.5.JPG














And now, before you go, how about a snippet from your book that is meant to intrigue
and tantalize us: (Include links to where we can find your work.)

Excerpt from TROY’S FOX:

Troy Richards drove his Harley into the half full parking lot and silenced the engine. He got off
the bike and studied the area. The mid-size town of Chestnut Rock settled his fidgety fox for the
first time in months.
The town had many big-city amenities, but the low population and surrounding National Forest
appealed to his needs of silence and nature. Troy laughed as he thought about his need for
quiet. His Harley was the complete opposite of discreet. When he was out on the open road he 
enjoyed the loud rumble of the engine, but at home he preferred a softer, melodic sound. Or no
sound at all.
His acute hearing, combined with his desire to work without distraction, usually kept him holed
up and hidden away from society. When he put characters on the page, he was never alone.
Each one felt like a long lost family member, and as he wrote their stories, they became more
than just words. They engaged his mind and kept him alive.
Between stories was when he needed to worry. With nothing to keep his mind occupied, it was
easy to focus on the feeling of loneliness that hovered every day, reminding him that he would
probably never find a mate and he would die alone.
A shifter’s life is incredibly lonely until they find a mate to share it with. Sometimes family,
friends, work or hobbies can ease the ache, but until they find the one person meant for them,
there’s always a chance a shifter can sink so far into depression they can never get out. It’s not
unheard of for a shifter to die from loneliness.
That’s why he left home five years ago.
Find TROY’S FOX:
Amazon: http://amzn.to/19TOxcm
Barnes and Noble: http://bit.ly/1fFa9vn
All Romance Ebooks: http://bit.ly/1hYOCe3
BookStrand: http://bit.ly/1ar8kuP
Learn more about me and my books:

JaneWakely.1.jpg













Blog: www.janewakely.blogspot.com
Website: www.janewakely.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/JaneWakelyRomanceAuthor
Twitter: www.twitter.com

Thanks for visiting us here on JBR! We wish you great success!

Julie Ramsey
ADM JBR

11/27/13

Interview for Dominique Eastwick

Welcome Dominique Eastwick to JBR. 

We have a give away going on, What item are you giving away?   (Anyone can win the item by going to the rafflecopter on the right hand side of the pg.)

Ecopy of winners choose from the Sherman Series.

First why don't you tell us a little about yourself?

I live in North Carolina with my Husband, 2 sons, lazy cat and crazy lab.

Newest release? 

Killing Lucas book three in the Sherman Family Series.

Killing Lucas (Sherman Family Series, #3)

What can we expect from your stories, action, drama, romance,sex, blood and guts? 

Sexy romance with a dose of humor. Killing Lucas has a bit of suspense involved as well.

Do you have a favorite character in your stories? Who? and Why? 

I fell in love with Tony Sherman early on, but realized when readers said they didn’t like him in Hunting JC that only I understood him so I really pored the reasons I loved Tony into his book Tony’s Haven. Tony has spent so long trying to be someone he is not that he has forgotten who he really is.

How about your least favorite character? What makes them less appealing to you? 

Oh good question. My least favorite character is probably JC she isn’t as strong as my other heroines.
Give us an interesting fun fact or a few about your book or series: The Sherman’s love two things Boston Red Sox and Jimmy Buffett.

Has there been any other authors who have inspired your work or helped you out with your stories?

There are quite a few who have inspired me, Valarie Mann always pushes me to create more works and she never lets me give up.

What can readers who enjoy your book do to help make it successful? 

Tell their friends about it and leave reviews on Amazon and Barnes and Nobel.

Do you have any tips for readers or advice for other writers trying to get published? 

I suggest getting in a critique group, checking out the Aspiring Romance Writers Blog (not just for Romance writers) http://theaspiringromancewriters.blogspot.com/ and remember the rules of writing
1. Don't get it Right, Get it Written! 2. You cannot fix a blank page! 3. Give yourself permission to write crap, Crap can be fixed...see #2!

Do you have a favorite author? If yes, what draws you to that person’s work?

Depends on my mood who is my favorite but usually it’s the characters. I have to love the characters and relate to them to be drawn to read about them.

Can you remember one of the first things you wrote? What makes it memorable?

The first thing I wrote or finished? Either way yes and what makes it memorable is how truly bad it was LOL.

Do you have any other interesting hobbies, pets or stories you would like to share?

I love to take photographs if I could be anything it would be a photographer.

Favorite places to travel or visit?

I loved Ireland. It was truly one of the more amazing 8 days of my life.

And now, before you go, how about a snippet from your book that is meant to intrigue and tantalize us:( Include links to were we can find your work)

Killing Lucas
By Dominique Eastwick
Published by Musa Publishing
Series Sherman Family Series Book 3

Blurb
What doesn't kill us makes you stronger. But is their love strong enough?

Lucas Sherman wanted one thing in life. Never to set eyes on his ex-fianc√© Kiloran O’Connor again. But no one said life was fair. Now with a stalker hunting both of them Lucas is forced to put his distrust and hatred to the side to keep them both alive.

Kiloran only ever wanted to keep Lucas safe. But no matter how hard she tries danger seems to be a
step behind them. Now creating a public front can she break through the wall Lucas has erected around his heart? Those same walls she helped cement.

Can true love conquer and forgive all or will it kill them both?


Excerpt

Her scream echoed through the large house. Lucas didn’t wait for a second for Kiloran to scream again. He was running full speed nearly tripping over the puppy sleeping in the kitchen door.

He took the stairs two at a time and met Kiloran dressed only in a pair of underwear in the hallway coming straight at him. She was pale— and that said something, as she was always pale. Only the splattering of freckles across her nose and cheeks gave her any color. She wrapped herself around him with a death grip.

“What the hell is wrong?”

She buried her face deep into his shirt shaking her head. Good Lord, she was trembling. He forced her back to look at her—a mistake, as now her perfect breasts were staring at him. Coral-colored nipples that he wanted to take into his mouth were perky and erect. He had been too long without sex. Looking back at her face, Lucas leaned down to force her to look in his eyes.

“Tell me.”

“He was here.”

“Where?” Lucas knew damned well who he was.

“Bathroom.” She pointed a shaking hand in the direction of her room. He halted when she grabbed his shirt. “Please don’t leave me.”

Lucas pulled her to him and headed to the bedroom. Stopping only long enough to grab the blanket off the foot of the bed, he wrapped it around Kiloran and forced her to sit on the bed’s edge. “I will be right here.”

She nodded, enfolding the blanket around her tighter. Moving into the bathroom, his gaze went to the large mirror along the length of the wall over the two sinks. In big red letters was a message:

'Get rid of Lucas or I will.'

Amazon/ Barnes and Noble/ All Romance Ebooks/ Bookstrand/ MUSA PUBLISHING
Where you can Find Dominique Website http://dominique-eastwick.wix.com/dominique-eastwick Blog www.dominiqueEastwick.com FB https://www.facebook.com/dominique.eastwick
Twitter @dominieastwick

Thanks for visiting us here on JBR! We wish you great success!
Julie Ramsey
ADM JBR

11/25/13

Review of The Road Home by Charlotte Buelow

The Road Home
by  Charlotte Buelow



In the heart of Scotland lays the little Village of Killin.   This is where Mary and William have grown up and fallen in love.  But their father's just don't get along since William's father was named the tacksman.  Now William must decide if he will follow in his fathers footsteps and be the hated rent collecting tacksman or do something he loves with his life.  The only problem with his plan is he would have to leave Mary for 2 years to learn his trade.  Mary hated the thought 
of him leaving but understands his need to change his life's path.  When a terrible accident happens it changes the life of these young sweethearts.  How William handles these changes could very well change things in the most dramatic way.


Review:   Ok, I expected this book to be your run of the mill, same old romance.  Good just similar.  I was wrong.  The author changed things up on me fairly early in the book.  This story made me smile, made me sad, made me cringe and even made me want to choke a character or two at times.  It has many twists and turns that kept me interested in where the author would lead me next.  I really enjoyed this book, even if I wanted to jump through my Kindle and smack William in the head a couple times.   Kuddo's to Charlotte Buelow for giving me an original story with love, drama, heartbreak, angst and healing.   


theresa f

4 of 5 stars

Interview Em Taylor

Welcome.  Visiting with us today is Em Taylor.  

We are having a give away going on for $10 Amazon gift certificate. 

First why don't you tell us a little about yourself?

Hi, I’m Em Taylor and I live in Scotland in a little cottage on my own—which suits me
fine because I have sole control over the TV remote. As a child I was told I had too
active an imagination (as if that’s a bad thing). Unfortunately I was put off writing in
school and never saw it as a career option until now. I’ve had a few erotic romances
published under a different name but when I fell in love with the Regency era
courtesy of Mary Balogh and Lynsay Sands, I knew I had to write Regency romance

Newest release?

Saved by a Rake releases on November 22nd
who, at the beginning of the book, has just been raped by a possible suitor. She
chooses to stay in London and face the Ton despite it being easier to flee. Daniel
is Rebecca’s brother’s friend who must marry before his father dies or risk being
disinherited for the most part. He learns of Rebecca’s plight and decides her lack
of purity is not a barrier to their marriage. When the Earl of Newthorpe, Rebecca’s
rapist, dies on the morning of their wedding, those closest to the couple are in the
frame for murder. How did the earl meet his end and after her ordeal, can Rebecca
be a true wife to Daniel.

What can we expect from your stories, action, drama, romance, sex, blood and guts?

A lot of drama and angst. Also some sex. I reckon it is about a two or three out of
five heat rating.

Do you have a favorite character in your stories? Who? and Why?

I think Daniel is because he’s a rake, and everyone loves a rake. But deep down,
he’s an honourable and caring man.

How about your least favorite character? What makes them less appealing to you?

I don’t have one. I set out writing it with the intention of hating Newthorpe but in
the end, he’s really just a tragic figure—a product of his time and the morals of the
society he lived in.

Has there been any other authors who have inspired your work or helped you out with

your stories?

Oh wow, that’s a big question. Mary Balogh and Lynsay Sands books got me into the
sub genre but there are two authors, who are friends who I could not have finished
this book without. Samantha Holt (who writes great medieval romance) read every
word as the book was written. I would write a scene and send it to her and she said 
what I should add or not. And Em Petrova who is my editor (She writes great hot
cowboy books) who regularly does late night brainstorming sessions with me.

What can readers who enjoy your book do to help make it successful?

Tell your friends, leave a review on Amazon or Goodreads, tweet of FB about it

Do you have any tips for readers or advice for other writers trying to get published?

Do not compare yourself to others and do not compare your sales to the sales of
others. Therein lies the road to ruin and obsessive behaviour.

Do you have a favorite author? If yes, what draws you to that person’s work?

It tends to change with the wind. At the moment it’s Mary Balogh because she really
seems to know her stuff when it comes to regency. Her stories are entertaining
which is all I really ask for in a book.

Can you remember one of the first things you wrote? What makes it memorable?

I was in an exam at the age of sixteen and I was told to write the first chapter of a
book. So I did. A few days later I was called into the Deputy Head Teacher’s office
and asked to explain how I cheated in the exam. How did I know the question and
how did I manage to memorise an entire chapter of a book. I told them I didn’t and
that it was all my own work. They told me it was too good for a sixteen year old. In
retrospect, I probably was using someone else’s formula for the characters but the
story was all mine. Alas it put me off writing for over 20 years.

Where do you gather most of the inspiration for your works?

Probably from other books. I see things that have not been addressed and wonder
how I could address it. Also real life and TV are great inspirations.

Do you have any other interesting hobbies, pets or stories you would like to share?

I play Bass Recorder and I crew for a lot of sci-fi conventions. There I have met quite
a few celebrities. It’s amazing though because you think celebs are all going to be
nice and most are but there are a few you come away thinking “I’ll never watch that
show again.”

Favorite places to travel or visit?

The Isle of Skye in Scotland. Though really anywhere up the West coast of Scotland 
is a treat. I also love Scandinavia.

And now, before you go, how about a snippet from your book that is meant to intrigue
and tantalize us:( Include links to were we can find your work)

Where to find me:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/EmTaylorRegency
Twitter: https://twitter.com/EmTaylor_author
Tumblr: http://emtaylorregency.tumblr.com
Website: http://romanticregency.weebly.com
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7326970.Em_Taylor

Blurb
When Lady Rebecca Eversley is left ravished by the Earl of Newthorpe and facing ruination,
she has the choice to point her pretty little nose in the air and face the gossips of the Ton
or scurry off to the country to live out her life as an old maid. When she meets Lord Daniel
Ramsey, a notorious rake, she decides on the former course of action.
Daniel has been given an ultimatum, marry before his father dies or lose the majority of his
inheritance money. Rebecca seems the perfect candidate, especially once rumours about
her start to circulate in the drawing rooms of Mayfair.
When Newthorpe is found dead on the morning of their wedding, the people they care
about find themselves suspects in the case. Who murdered Newthorpe and can Rebecca
ever get over what he did to her?
Excerpt
As his lips briefly touched hers, the carriage jolted, pushing him closer to her. He caught her
around the waist to ensure she did not bounce off the seat, then, without thinking, covered
her mouth with his.
He noted a moment’s hesitation from her before she moved her lips and reached up to
tangle her gloved fingers in his curls. Tentatively she touched her tongue against his,
causing him to stifle a groan. He had been without a woman for over a month and now his
pretty little wife had her arms around him, kissing him as if she had done it a thousand times.
She was a quick learner as she explored his mouth with her tongue, pressing herself closer
to him.
Devil take it. He had been struggling all day to stop himself becoming aroused. Her wedding
gown had been low cut and her stays showed her breasts off perfectly. He had been
distracted throughout the service and the wedding breakfast as images of disrobing her later
had flitted through his mind. He wanted to see those breasts again.
He unfastened the three buttons on her pelisse, peeling the material away to her side, then
pulled out of the kiss and began to pepper light kisses along her jawline. God, he wanted
her, and he was most definitely aroused now.
He kissed her neck and was about to place his hand over that beautiful inviting orb, when he
sensed her tensing. He pulled away slowly, tugging the material of her pelisse back over her.
When he looked into her eyes, they were bright with confusion, passion and fear, all clearly
warring within her. He cursed himself for being too impatient. Then he cursed Newthorpe for
what he had done and could not help thinking that death was too good for the blaggard.
“No. That’s the only word you ever have to say and I will stop,” he said simply.
“I am sorry, my lord. I just expected some time before… well I expected to wait until we were
in the coaching inn tonight.”
“Yes, of course. It was very impatient of me. I beg your forgiveness.”
Rebecca nodded and looked out the window.
The streets of London rushed by as they headed for the Great North Road. He studied the
view out of the other window, and they sat in silence for a long time. Eventually Rebecca
spoke in a small voice which sounded as if she was on the verge of tears.
“I fear I will not make you a very good wife if a mere kiss frightens me.”
He turned and took her hand in his. He wanted her to be comfortable and not think he was
going to pounce on her and ravish her at any given opportunity.
“I have no doubt that you will make a wonderful wife, Rebecca. You just need time and
patience and I have an abundance of both.”
She turned large, tear-filled eyes towards him. “You should take a mistress as soon as we
reach Scotland.”
He could not possibly have heard correctly. She was giving him permission to have a
mistress? Surely not. But her mouth was set in a firm line as if she had made up her mind. A
stab of hurt hit him. She thought of him as a rake who would be unfaithful.
He pursed his lips and considered her. What should he do? He wanted to rail at her and tell
her he had no intention of being unfaithful. He had taken vows only a few hours previously
and yet now she was giving him permission to break them. But maybe the idea of him having
a mistress brought her comfort. She was clearly terrified of intimacy between a husband and
wife.
“We shall discuss it once we reach Scotland, my lady. I have no wish to think beyond our
present journey.”
“Do you not see that I can only ever tolerate the marriage bed for the sake of giving you an
heir,” she wailed, pulling her hand away from his. “He ruined me in more ways than you can
ever know.”
“You are only ruined if you allow him that power. A skilful lover could make you feel very
different about certain aspects of a marriage.”
“Well, I have heard enough tales to know that you are a skilful lover, Lord Ramsey. But I
think you should save it for your mistresses.” Her tone was almost venomous but he ignored
it, knowing that it was fear that drove her.
She turned her head to look out of the window again. He was at a complete loss. She
thought him almost as bad as Newthorpe. Well, not quite but she did not think he would be
faithful. A long silence stretched out between them as he considered what to say to her. Her
back was rigid, and she swiped at her cheek with one gloved hand.
“What he did to you…”
“What he did has destroyed me, and I am not sorry that he is dead. I wish I had been the
one to kill him.”
“Please, Rebecca…”
She burst into tears and fished in her reticule for a handkerchief, he presumed. He held his
out to her and with a large sob she accepted it. He untied her bonnet and threw it onto the
seat opposite before gathering her in his arms.
She tried to move out of his grip but this time he held firm, knowing that she would accept his
comfort, which she did, weeping as she buried her face in his coat.
As her sobs turned into sniffles, which turned into silence then light snuffles of sleep, he
held her and wondered how he was going to help his beautiful young wife over her fear of
physical love.

Saved by a Rake Cover.jpg



Thank you for visiting today.  We wish you much continued success.

Julie Ramsey
ADM, JBR

11/23/13

Review of Silverdream & Bloodfire: Book 1 of the Chronicles of Elydir By Brenda Wynn

Silverdream & Bloodfire:  Book 1 of the Chronicles of Elydir
By Brenda Wynn
Amanda Jennings, a wheelchair-bound college student, moves into an old house to search for clues about the eccentric Dr. James Harcort, she finds journals left behind by the mysterious doctor.
But not all is as it appears, nor are the people in her life. 
As she reads from a book on spell she is transported to another world.
Prince Kelvan of Serras begins the Bloodfire Ritual, in his world and is transported to another world.
The two have changed places.  Amanda can now walk and Kelvan is in a wheelchair.
These 2 must figure out what realy happened and why , also struggle to live in the others world.
Life is about to really get exciting for both.

This book was a fun read. Tho there were times I had to read read a passage thinking I missed something.  This book would do wonders with an Editor.  But still the whole premise was a good read.
4 Stars
Patches

Review of Fields of Elysium by A.B. Whelan

Book Review Fields of Elysium by Whelan, A.B.

Molly Bennett, moves to Los Angeles with her family from New Jersey.  Molly is oh so no happy but what is a teen girl to do.  How about chasing her dog into a cave and finding a Portal to another world. review It is a dream world everything is so pure the air even hurts her lungs.   Everything is so pretty and bright. 5 teen boys come upon her and invite her to swim with them.  They do not know that she is an "Earthling".  They become quick friends and 1 boy Victor Sorren grabs her attention even tho he is standoffish.  Yet he quickly becomes her savoir in many ways. Earth people are prohibited in Arkana and when Victor finds out she is an "Earthling" it knocks him for a loop.   He has reason to hate "Earthlings" more than most.   But he is drawn to her even tho he fights this attraction he has to fight it he is a Sentinel Apprentice, the fighters of this planet.   Others have come to this planet and done horrible things  to the people and the planet.   Can Molly keep the biggest secret of her life?  Telling just 1 person will mean her death. She has to stay away , she has to go back , she has to figure out why  Victor  does 180's with her.  What's a Strong Willed teen girl to do?

This book is AWESOME!!!  Molly is a very smart and strong willed girl, she has very loving parents. What a great book for teen girls to read.   I will be letting my Teen Daughter read this series and recommend this book to those with teen girls.   Heck even grown women.   No wishy washy teen here!! The writer describes in great realistic and vividly this wonderful world.   I could so easily picture every detail. I can easily see this being made into a movie or a few movies!!!
I look forward to reading more in this series and I highly recommend this book!!

5 STARS
Patches

Review of The Bad Wolf by Michelle Clay

The Bad Wolf by Michelle Clay

Chloe is having a melt down. Her parents divorced she moved to a hole in the wall town . Her mom is now the town veterinarian.  Oh and Chloe can read animals emotions and pick up their thoughts. Her first day in school she freaks over a frog in Biology and falls off her stool in front of the whole class. She does not fit it with any of the kids in school. She is treated horribly to the point of serious bullying.  The pack has decided  that her and her mom are not wanted,  they are outsiders and are doing everything they can to make Chloe's life hell.  
Ryan  a wolf  but not of the town pack try's to help Chloe since she is unable to help herself.
Not all is what it it seems nor are the people.

This is a fast read and good book.  Teens will like this book if they liked the Twilight Series.
4 Stars
Patches

Review of Born of lies by Sara Daily & Staci Weber

Born of Lies. By Sara Dailey & Staci Weber

Lillian is 18 and engaged to be married to Marcus future Pack Alpha. They have been dating for 2 years and their love was all that love should be.  Slowly their love heads south. Lillian is the only one who wants to take about it and get things back on track. Marcus tells her to deal with it.
Lillian sneaks out and meets a band member who knocks her socks off!  But can she , will she follow her heart or be forced to marry?

I loved this book!!! Having read the others in this series, this was a great way to see who what and why. I highly recommend this book  you will not be disappointed.
5 STARS
Patches

Review of Identity X by Michelle Muckley

Identity X
Michelle Muckley

Ben Stone was a scientist, not just any scientist but one that has found a cure for a genetic disease. He watched his father struggle with a disease that ended up killing him. Not wanting to see others go thru the same struggle, Ben finds a cure. Nemrec was created by Ben and works ! ! ! 

After a night of celebrating with his team of scientist, Ben wakes up to a whole new discovery. He has been wiped from the world that he knows. Ben is no longer Ben Stone but known as Identity X. OF course Ben wants to know why, what and WHO. He can no longer trust anyone, not even his childhood friend Mark.

Mark, who was Ben's childhood friend and helped with Nemrec is out to get Ben and take all glory for this new drug that will change DNA. Ben wants to cure and Mark wants to build a stronger army and build weapons. Who will win the power struggle ? Who can Ben trust to help him ??

This is a wonderful, power action packed book ! Its a nail bitter that keeps you turning pages till you come to the end ! ! ! The characters are well wrote and of course the ending is always the best  ! ! !

5 stars
Wende

11/22/13

Interview with Sable Hunter

Welcome to JBR.   We are happy to have Sable Hunter with us today.


We are having a giveaway going on for FINDING DANDI.
ebb31d5f7c279c4692f6e8ccfdec010a.jpg













First why don't you tell us a little about yourself?

Sure, I am Sable Hunter and I love to write. I’m proud of being from the south. Louisiana and Texas are my homes, I split my time between them. So, I feel the western and Cajun culture has found its way into every facet of my work. I’m a hopeless romantic, lost in my own head, and that’s where all of my stories come from. I guess that’s all there is to say. I love what I do and I have a lot of projects on the horizon.  Oh yeah, I have a thing for cowboys. 

Newest release?

Ooh, I’m glad you asked. A few very talented authors and I are releasing a compilation on November
fifteenth. It’s called “Santa Wore Spurs” and, as you can probably guess, they are western-themed stories that occur around Christmastime. I’m really excited about it. My novella in it is called “Breath Of Heaven” and it will be the introductory story to a brand new series I am starting called El Camino Real. I’m so excited. The wonderful authors with whom I will be releasing this book are Desiree Holt, Becky McGraw, and Sandy Sullivan. Look for it!

What can we expect from your stories, action, drama, romance, sex, blood and guts?

They are, above all else, romance novels, and everything that comes along with that. There is sex and
drama, definitely. I do sprinkle in action here and there, and there is seldom blood, but sometimes the story necessitates it. I want my readers to feel the simmering glow of falling in love for the first time, of having your heart stolen and letting a man prove his truth to you. Those come first, then they can punch a few people. 

1415826_427290054060218_2130229532_n.jpg













Do you have a favorite character in your stories? Who? and Why?

Aron McCoy was one of my first characters. He was the leading fella in “Cowboy Heat.” I poured
everything I had into him. He really, truly was my perfect man, and it’s easy to tell. I haven’t been able to let him go. He has been mentioned in so many books of mine since then. That book, which was
originally intended to be a solo exposition, became a very long series that is continuing to this day. He has inspired a series-wide mystery and even been mentioned in a few other works of mine. He is my favorite character, and the perfect man, but he is also a symbol of why I do this in the first place: to create something that makes dreams come true.

How about your least favorite character? What makes them less appealing to you?

Hmmm, hard to say. They all play a role, and are therefore necessary. If I had to pick, I would say the
(primary) antagonist of “Badass” was the most despicable character I created. Ajax was a dom in the Texas BDSM community who mistreated women and generally behaved deplorably every way you look at it. He makes me cringe a little bit to this day. But, I’m glad I have him, he plays a part in the story and it has a happy ending, and I LOVE happy endings.

Give us an interesting fun fact or a few about your book or series:

I try to learn things as I research to write, and in turn, I like to teach those things to my readers as they read. Jess makes fun of me because of the way I slip in little factoids and lessons into the books. For example, in “Forget Me Never,” I included a few paragraphs teaching the reader about Spanish moss. It wasn’t necessary to the story, but in my opinion, it helped the reader become more immersed in the world I was creating. If I can do things like that, then the reader will not only enjoy the journey, but they will feel like part of it.
Also, and no one knows this, but all of series are related. From Texas Heat to Moon Magick, to Hill
Country Heart, Hell Yeah and El Camino Real. At some point in the future, I’ll tie all the loose ends
together and maybe sponsor a family reunion!

Has there been any other authors who have inspired your work or helped you out with your stories?

Oh yes. I have been influenced and motivated by so many amazing authors out there. If I have to pick  just a few to be the most influential, then I would have to pick Cherise Sinclair, Maya Banks, Sarah
McCarty and Lora Leigh. I read their work when I want to lose myself in fantasy and that feeds me to have fantasies of my own.

What can readers who enjoy your book do to help make it successful?

Read it! Tell your friends! Communicate with me. Tell me what you like and don’t like so I can continue to improve. Become a part of the process. I LOVE my readers and I do this for them. I want them to be involved. Every bit of success I’ve had so far is due in no small part to each individual reader that purchased my work, enjoyed it or told a friend. So keep doing what you’re doing!

Do you have any tips for readers or advice for other writers trying to get published?

Yes. I do. Don’t stop dreaming. What people want is an escape to somewhere they don’t get to go
every day. Allow your dream to come true on paper in front of you so that someone else can go on that journey also. If it makes you happy to write it, it will make someone happy to read it. I’m confident in that. Also, now is the time. There has never been a more author-friendly period in history – the doors are open to succeed. I encourage you to take a risk and go for it!

Do you have a favorite author? If yes, what draws you to that person’s work?

Lorelei James is my favorite. She writes a cowboy series that I absolutely adore. I never miss one of her works.

Can you remember one of the first things you wrote? What makes it memorable?

One of the first stories I wrote was “Cowboy Heat,” the one with Aron. It’s memorable because it was influential for me. So much of the success I’ve experienced was from a book that was a variation, sequel or spin-off of that book. That story began a universe in which living, breathing characters took over and did the story-telling for me. A lot of times, I don’t need to make decisions for the plot progression, I just allow the characters I have created to behave like themselves and the world just keeps growing and growing.

Where do you gather most of the inspiration for your works?

It could be from anywhere. My books have been inspired by dreams, news stories, pictures, family
memories, stupid things Jess does, and quite a few from fantasies my brain invents just to make me
happy. I tell stories I wish were true about me, and then I add in events and details that really did
happen to me, and then I wrap it up with a bow and share it with the world.

Do you have any other interesting hobbies, pets or stories you would like to share?

Yes. I love to cook and I am fascinated by ghosts and spirits. I’m planning on going ghost-hunting
tonight actually. I have my night-vision goggles, some infra-red stuff and audio recorders, a bunch of
things I love to play with. This is my favorite time of the year because of the weather and other things, but a big part of that is Halloween and Dia de los Muertos and all the spooky lore and goings-on. I’ve put a little bit of the supernatural, hoodoo and mystery into the books as well.

Favorite places to travel or visit?

New Orleans is the best city to visit, bar none. The best food in the world, the best music in the world,
the best people in the world, and all of the superstition and mythology that excites me. It’s been in my family for hundreds of years and I can feel it in my blood today. I wept when Katrina hit and I jumped for joy when the Saints won the Superbowl. Eat at Lagasse’s Nola when you go, take a stroll around Jackson Square, grab a muffalata, cast a few spells and listen to some incredible jazz and zydeco on the busy city streets.

Here’s an excerpt from BREATH OF HEAVEN El Camino Real – The Beginning part of the SANTA WITH SPURS anthology.

“You do realize we’ll kill each other.”
Jase held up his hands in the same defensive posture he’d utilized for their entire
history as siblings. Abby was small, but feisty. As the only sister of five brothers, she’d
learned early on to talk loudly and carry a big stick. “He understands the situation and he
knows you well. I’m sure he’ll arrive in a helmet and body armor.”
 “Cade had best wear a cup if he knows what’s good for him. I’m gonna knee him in
the nuts if he messes with me,” Abby grumbled just as a blast of icy wind swept through the
house.
“Now, is that any way to greet an old friend for Christmas?”
Cade. A thousand emotions hit her like a tsunami. Longing. Lust. Regret.
“Are you glad to see me, Abilene?”
Damn his ornery hide, he knew she hated the name Abilene. “Glad is not the best
word for it, Cade. Irritated would be a more appropriate term.” She didn’t know which was
worse, being rude or lying. As far as Cade was concerned, rudeness was Abby’s mode of
self-defense. Lying to him was preferable. It was better than embarrassing them both with
the truth.
Cade sauntered to the fireplace to warm his hands, inspecting the family
photographs on the mantel. “I told you this wouldn’t work, Jase. Frankly, I’d rather room
with a cranky skunk than put up with your sister’s snarly attitude. Why isn’t my photo up
here? I’m family.”
“Your photo’s on display at the Post Office.” Abby braced herself to face her nemesis.
She steeled her resolve to react in the manner to which they’d become accustomed. Wiping
her hands on a dishtowel, she turned. Slowly.
Wham! There it was.
No matter how often she laid eyes on him, no matter if it was from the rodeo arena
stands, watching him on TV or sitting across from him at the dinner table, the effect was
always the same. Her knees went weak. Her heart pounded. Her nipples hardened and her
pussy creamed.
Cade Tallbull was the sexiest man alive. Bar none.
Also, no one could make her madder faster than this egotistical, arrogant,
sanctimonious Don Juan in spurs. “Skunk? Snarly?” Abby put her hands on her hips, flung
her hair over her shoulder, narrowed her eyes and threw back her shoulders. “I’ll have
you know I’m an absolute living doll. I’m sweet, thoughtful and kind. And if you don’t quit
grinning at me like an idiot, I’m going to brain you with this skillet.” She picked one up off
the stove and weighed it in her hand.
“Ah, that’s my cue to leave. I’m glad to see you two enjoying each other’s company,
just like normal.” Jase began making his way toward the front door, stepping lightly as if
traversing a mine field.
Cade stood behind the leather sofa with arms folded, facing Abby as if he were
contemplating a duel. “Catch you tomorrow, Jase, and thanks for abandoning me in the
enemy camp.”
Abby noticed Cade and Jase exchanging a knowing look. Jase slapped his best friend
on the shoulder. “Be careful. She’s armed.”
Cade snorted. “Your sister is lethal. But I do enjoy a challenge. Taming flighty, feisty
fillies is my specialty.”
Jase put on his coat, easing out as Abby grumbled. Cade ducked and a rosy red
apple bounced off the door. “Tame me?” She picked up another apple and considered her
target. “You don’t have the balls, Tallbull.” Even as she threw down the gauntlet, she knew
she’d made a mistake. Abby had just waved a red cape in the face of the biggest bull Alpha
in Texas. Damn! Why did he have to be so good-looking? Every time she was near him,
her whole body went into sexual shell-shock. Six-foot three, two-hundred forty pounds,
perfectly ripped, wide shoulders, coal black eyes, dark hair and enough scruff to make him
look like an old west desperado. Yea, he was gorgeous and she wanted to run for the hills.
Cade began to move toward her. Slowly. Abby was no fool. She started backing up.
“Au contraire, my dear.” He cupped his oversize package and bucked his hips toward
her. She jumped. “Do I make you nervous, Buttercup?” Cade wanted to lick the fluttering
pulse point at the base of her neck so badly, he could taste it. “I’m hung, Abby. I have a yard
of hard, a battleship full of balls and enough hair—”
“Stop it!” She couldn’t take anymore! Before Abby knew it, he had her backed
against the wall. “You Are Out Of Line,” she growled.
Placing one hand on either side of her head, Cade leaned over and looked her right
in the eye. A scant quarter of an inch separated their bodies. Her breasts were straining
to touch his chest. Lowering his voice, he whispered in her ear. “A moment ago, when you
thrust your shoulders back, did you know it made me want to suck your nipples?”
I hope you’ll read ‘Santa Wore Spurs’ – coming in November.    Sable Hunter

1239550_399793266809897_1165728708_n Christmas story.jpg















Thank you for visiting with us here at JBR.  We wish you much continued success.

Julie Ramsey
ADM, JBR

11/20/13

Interview with Todd Macy

Welcome to JBR and please say hello to Todd Macy.  

First why don't you tell us a little about yourself?

Well, I'm uncomfortably close to forty. I have a wife, Karen, and two sons; Tommy, 15, and Conor, 7. I have a Labrachow named Jasper.

Newest release?

Doorway to Dementia

What can we expect from your stories, action, drama, romance,sex, blood and guts?

Yes. Seriously, though, mostly what you can expect is the unexpected. Or the expected through my weird, somewhat demented lens. I can have a bit of a potty-mouth too.

Do you have a favorite character in your stories? Who? and Why?

I can't play favorites. All of my characters are like all the people I've ever met. Fantastic in some ways and deplorable in others. It would be like picking a favorite son. I can't do that either.

How about your least favorite character? What makes them less appealing to you?

As I said above all my characters are favorites and least favorites. The scene and/or situation usually determines which list they are on at the time.

Give us an interesting fun fact or a few about your book or series:

One of my favorite stories in the collection, Unforgettable, was actually tacked on after I had sent the whole shebang to my editor. I came up with it while on my daily commute and had to write it. I wrote it that night when I got home and it worked out even better than I had pictured.

Has there been any other authors who have inspired your work or helped you out with your stories?

Every author I've ever encountered, through direct contact or just their words, has helped out with all writing I do. They have all inspired me in one way or another even if that way was to get me saying, "I can certainly do better than that hack!"

What can readers who enjoy your book do to help make it successful?

Shout my name from the moutaintops! Extol my writerly virtues to all they come in contact with! Really the most helpful thing for any indie author is readers reviewing on Amazon, B&N, wherever they can. Telling friends about it and getting new readers in is very helpful as well. Anything to put the book and author's name into other people's heads and hands is always appreciated.

Do you have any tips for readers or advice for other writers trying to get published?

Readers just need to read. Read whatever gets your juices flowing. Then show appreciation for the author's hard work by getting more people to enjoy the bliss of the written word. Authors need to decide how much work they're willing to do. If you want to do the least amount of work then follow instructions and get a thick skin because that way lies the gauntlet of big-wig acceptance before reader acceptance. If you're willing to put in the work and a few dollars for quality then pushing it out yourself is a viable option. I'm not kidding about the work, either.

Do you have a favorite author? If yes, what draws you to that person’s work?

I can never pick a favorite anything (if you couldn't tell). I'm wishy-washy that way. Every author I read brings a uniqueness all their own and my mood determines who is my favorite at any time of any given day.

Can you remember one of the first things you wrote? What makes it memorable?

I spent a couple of years in elementary school writing and rewriting a time machine story with a farting caveman. Why's it memorable? It stunk. I mean--dead skunk carcass stench. And not just because of the caveman's flatulence. But it was a start and it showed me that I wanted to tell stories. And that I was weird.

Where do you gather most of the inspiration for your works?

Dreams and twisting real-life situations. My imagination always drifts to the possibilities of any situation. What if a different choice was made? What if what I fear happening actually did happen? What if a different phrase was spoken? That sort of thing.

Favorite places to travel or visit?

I'm a homebody for the most part. I don't go much of anywhere. I like Arizona and I would love to one day travel the world.

And now, before you go, how about a snippet from your book that is meant to intrigue and tantalize us:( Include links to were we can find your work)

This snippet is from the story Zombie Mine:

   It was Vin, framed against a backdrop of glaring summer sun in the doorway. He was my closest friend in the whole wide end of the world. We had quickly gravitated toward one another through our love of technology and our parallel losses. Many were the evenings we whiled away our “off hours” talking and sharing a bottle of whiskey from my stash.
   He had lost his wife as well in that initial onslaught, the same one during which I had captured the zombie, but he’d managed to keep his son and daughter safe. We commiserated with each other over the losses of our life partners, and he sympathized with me as I recounted my own tragic story. It struck me as funny how I was able to deal with the loss of the outside world, but was rocked to the core when my own little corner of it was shattered. We respected each other’s need to keep the actual death details private until we felt emotionally ready to deal with those graphic mental scenes.
   “Yeah,” I said as I dug through the papers littering my small desk. “They’re here somewhere. I got them typed in. I just need to proof them and print up copies.”
   “Cool.” He looked at his feet and drew some kind of random design in the carpet with his toes. He cleared his throat. “Everything okay, Cam?”
   I paused in my search and studied his face. He wore a worried expression which I could tell he was trying to hide. I laughed nervously, “Yeah, why?”
   “It’s just ... ” He hesitated before continuing. “You’ve seemed a little, I don’t know, off the last week or so, and you’ve been spending an awful lot of time just staring at that zombie.”
   “I really feel we’re getting close on the whole cure thing,” I lied. “And I wanted to make sure it was still a good specimen.”
   “Uh huh.” He didn’t sound convinced. No one was around when I captured the zombie. Once the initial horde had been vanquished, people went around and checked for survivors. They had found me and a bloody, restrained member of the undead community on opposite sides of the room. I’d had to threaten living people to keep them from killing the zombie. I’d had to consider actual murder. Luckily they had relented and decided that, if nothing else, keeping it for a while would prevent me from going completely nutso.
   Something in Vin’s demeanor made me think he, alone, might be ready for the whole story. And I kind of was ready to get it off my chest. I sighed, “Okay, Vin, you win. You want some hooch while I talk?”
   “Sure. Is it the kind of story I should be drunk for?”
   “It might help.”
   I wandered into the kitchen to fetch a bottle of Glenlivet from the upper shelf of my pantry. I grabbed a couple of crystal tumblers from the cabinet and rejoined Vin in the living room where I set the bottle and glasses down with audible clinks.
   “The good stuff? Must be one hell of a story.”
   I rubbed my eyes with the back of my hand, trying to banish the tears which began even as I thought of what to say, “You have no idea, man.”
   “So tell me.”
   I paused and mentally started my story a half dozen times. Finally I just started with, “It’s my wife.”
   Vin poured us each a couple of fingers of the scotch, sat in a chair next to me, and put a comforting hand on my knee. “I know it’s hard. I still haven’t come fully to terms with losing Stacy.”
   “No. You don’t understand ... ”
   “Sure I do.”
   Something just short of a blood vessel popped in my head. I didn’t raise my voice, however the quiet tone I did adopt even gave me the chills. “No. You fucking don’t.”
   Vin flinched as if I had struck him, half from my tone and half from his sensitivity to my word choice. “Well, there’s no need to get profane, Cam. Explain it to me.”
   “You really wanna know? You really wanna hear why it’s a damn wonder I’m not bat-shit crazy right now?”
   “Yes. Yes, I think I do.”
   I inhaled deeply, let out the breath, and downed my drink in one swallow. Vin poured me another, probably sensing I was going to need a few to get through this.
   “You remember the first attack, right?”
   He nodded somberly and I continued, “None of us believed it could really be what it seemed. We hadn’t bought into the panic sweeping across the country—hell, the world. Only when that first horde came shuffling into the neighborhood, breaking into houses and eating people, did we finally understand what was happening.”
   Vin downed his drink, also in one big swallow, rather than respond. We all knew the horror of that first defensive stand.
   “Alana was in labor when that mob came through. I can still see her, her blonde hair wet with sweat.” My hand clenched on the glass as that devastating image replayed in my mind. She had been a red-faced, straining testament to burgeoning life within a coursing blood-red river of death and destruction. “She was giving birth right there,” I indicated the biggest stain on the carpet. “She had already lost too much blood, and 911 was glitchy with all the circuits being used. There was no way I could get myself through the horde, let alone myself plus a bleeding, pregnant woman. I was fighting zombies with my decorative swords and my brush-cutting machete while listening to my wife scream. It killed me to leave her there suffering, but I knew we were both doomed if I didn’t fight.”
   I shook my head and swallowed more tears with the help of another couple fingers of single malt.
   “Go on, Cam. It’s good to let it out.”
   I fixed him with a scarily amused stare. “Is it really? Tell me that once I’m done.”
ToddMacyECover.jpg

Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/Doorway-to-Dementia-ebook/dp/B00BVLVQIC/
Nook: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/doorway-to-dementia-todd-macy/1114972278
  Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ToddMacyAuthor

Thanks for visiting us here on JBR! We wish you great success!

Julie Ramsey
ADM JBR

Review of Sins from her Past by Jules Bennett


Sins from her Past by Jules Bennett


Evelyn Banks has moved back to her home town to start her own design business. She is instantly welcomed back by her brother and his 2 best friends, especially Vin who has been in love with Evelyn for years. But Evelyn has a secret, one that stops her from wanting to get close to any one, and one she doesn't want to get out as she believes it will hurt those she loves most. It is up to Vin to convince her that the intimacy will be worth it and that you can not keep the past hidden forever.

I really enjoyed this book, Vin was very sexy but very sweet and I loved that he wasn't totally perfect, him being scared of flying was great, there was also a lot of humour especially where the boys were concerned. Evelyn was also well written, she was confident in all areas except relationships and even there she wasn't annoyingly whiny as some characters can be, more resigned,  I love how they slowly come together as she learns to trust him. And of course her brothers inevitable flip out at his best friend dating his sister. The back drop to all this is is the person who hurt Evelyn when she was younger. As I generally don't read book blurbs before reviewing I didn't know who it was although it does come out and this adds a nice tension to a romance book.

I would give this 4 1/2 stars

Petra

Review of Best Friends Share Everything by Miranda Stowe

Best Friends Share Everything

Jessie wants to make her anniversary the best ever. She dresses up sexy and gets the house ready. She loves Devin and wants to be ready for when he gets home. Getting caught half naked and wet and ready by Connor, her boyfriends roommate, was not what she had planned. Turned on and now horrified, she tries to run out of the apartment. Conner, who had liked Jessie for a while now, tries to convince her to stay and that Davin will be OK with them fooling around. Her attraction to Connor has always been a crush but is Conner telling the truth about Devin and what will it do to the relationship between Devin and her?

This is a fast hot read. Jessie really is a vanilla kind of girl. She had never been interested in menage, or anything other than  what Devin and her did. Now with the opportunity in front of her, it is hard to pass up the chance. When you have two guys who both want you, whats a girls to do? Great read, very hot MFM, with some light MM scenes.

Review of Deep, Hard, and Rough by Jenika Snow

Deep, Hard and Rough

Luna lives on a planet where killing, violence, rape, prostitution is common place. She was the result of a human prostitute and was abandoned. On her own after her adopted parents murder, she had to work and make a living how she can. It is getting harder and harder to push away the advances from patrons and her boss. She knows her time is running out and she has to find a way off the planet before she is raped or killed.

Erak, Genet, and Raimi, warrior princes, have been asked to go out and find their mates. The people of their species only have male children. So the women have to be found else where. Finally deciding to take there fathers advice they go out and search for their mates. Arriving on a violent planet to refuel, they come across a bar maid, who all 3 brothers are attracted to.

This was a cute sexy read. A good sci-fi story, with action in and out of the bed. You can feel the connection between the guys and Luna. Even more you sympathize with Luna and her plight. She does what she has to do to survive. Really enjoyed the story. Great author, one to follow for sure. Thanks for the good read.

Review of “The King’s Jewel” by Sarena and Sasha Nanua

Review for “The King’s Jewel”, by Sarena and Sasha Nanua

Stars: 4 (needs editing for proper word usage)

Synopsis:

Book Two of the series finds our heroes at the end of an epic magical fight with the Sapphires, a group

of magical descendants of the ancient Sorcerer’s Line. Fortunately, rescue comes in the form of

Magestaria, Queen of the Sorcerers’ Underworld, who banishes the Sapphires to the dungeons..

Picking them up and brushing our friends off, she then sends them on a mission: not only to find their

lost gemstones, which regulate their powers, but also to find the stolen King’s Jewel.

Arica, the Prophetic Child (who has little knowledge of her powers), Prince Adam, and Arica’s cousins

Jess, Janine, and Joseph take up the challenge. Using a clue revealed to them by a necklace thrown into

the Blessing River, they set off on an adventure unlike any of them had seen before. Trekking through a

forest inhabited by the dead, riding a Water Train to the Sorcerer’s Palace, and riding dragons (crigoes)

are just a few of the adventures that await them. And always the Sapphires, who had no trouble

escaping, are close behind.

And just when they think their journey is over, a new one begins.

******

Another well-written collaboration from these two sisters. They definitely know how to weave color

and life into their chapters.

I would suggest not waiting too long after you’ve read Book One to get into this one. There are so many

names, and their relationships are so intertwined, that it would be a pity to lose track of the thread.

I especially enjoyed the authors’ treatment of the mermaid creatures. Definitely not nice water

people—but then again, they had a reason, as the reader will find. And the secret held by the boy

Drake, well, that was one that was only very slowly revealed. Very tantalizing.

It’s very apparent that there is a third book in the works, and I hope to see it make its way into print

soon. I have to know how this new bend in the story gets handled!

11/19/13

Review of Saved by a Rake by Em Taylor

Saved By A Rake
 
Beautiful Lady Rebecca Eversley was in her prime of life and engaged to be married to The Earl of Newthorpe. Accompanied by her favorite handmaiden Betty, they arrived at Newthorpe House for a vist but the unthinkable happened and she found herself alone on the streets, fleeing in terror.
 
Rebecca wondered what would happen to her now, no man would want her and she was ostracized from the Ton. Refusing to retreat to the country away from the gossip, as her mother suggested, she summoned her strength and stayed where she was; standing proud against those who would try tarnish her reputation. Unexpectedly she became attracted to her brother Jame's long time friend, Lord Ramsey. Lord Ramsey was well known as a rake; would he bring her happiness or break her heart? Could she trust him?
 
A murder takes place and Rebecca finds herself fleeing London, her heart filled with dread as the men following came ever so much closer day by day.
 
I really enjoyed this book. The story kept my interest and I wasn't sure what was going to happen. The interaction between the characters seemed realistic and although passionate, it had an underlying sweetness to it as well. The historical references brought an authentic reality to the story. I would give this 4 stars.
 
Charlotte

11/18/13

Review of Watchers of The Night Review by Matthew Keith

Watchers of The Night Review by Matthew Keith
Synopsis:
“You don’t even know where you are, do you.” A statement, not a question. Paul Bennett doesn’t realize that his sleep disorder is actually a gift that allows him to travel the night free of his body. That is, not until he is approached by a member of Astralis; an organization funded by the government that uses people with his talent to gather information for the greater good. At Astralis, Paul finds inclusion and friendship on a level that he’d never had the chance to experience and begins to believe that Astralis could provide a new life for him. It isn’t long, however, before he realizes that Astralis is an organization under siege from within. Paul finds himself forced to either choose a side or leave Astralis forever.

Review:
Four Stars
This was such an interesting novel. It has a lot to it that I wasn’t expecting, so once I got into the book ,I was hooked. The main character, Paul can asteral project in a way, he can leave his body. How cool is that? This is the first book I read where this was a plot line, so I really loved the originality of this idea. But the book developed slowly, often times causing me to lose interest in the beginning because of the slow pace. I do think that the ideas you form about characters are interesting, and it was nice to see my opinion change as I continued reading the book. There are a lot of surprises and plot twists that I wasn’t expecting. Overall, this book is well written, detailed and insightful. It’s a pleasant read.

 Cianna
*I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Interview with Lori Dillon

Everyone please welcome Lori Dillion to JBR.

We are having a give away going on for November. What item are you giving away? (Anyone can win the item by going to the rafflecopter on the right hand side of the pg.)

I’ll be giving away a $5 gift card from Amazon or Barnes and Noble. That way, the winner can buy one of my books or use it to support another indie author by buying one of theirs. I’m not selfish. *G*

First why don't you tell us a little about yourself?

I’m a long lost Moldavian princess kidnapped as a child. I was rescued by my werewolf mate, who whisked me off to the wilds of Alaska were we prospect for gold by day and race across the tundra, howling at the moon by night. Just kidding. Actually, I spend my days lounging by the pool of my Malibu mansion, dictating novels to my assistant Stefan while Paolo the cabana boy feeds me peeled grapes and bonbons. Still don’t believe me? Okay, I’m a 40-something wife and mom of two kids who spends her weekdays wrangling words on the page and her weekends chauffeuring said kids around to various activities and sporting events. Romantic, isn’t it?

Newest release?

Fire of the Dragon. It’s the first book in my Bestiary Series. For those who don’t
know, a bestiary is an illuminated medieval manuscript of beasts. Sort of like an illustrated encyclopedia of animals. Some are real…and some not so much. My series focuses on the not so much creatures.

What can we expect from your stories, action, drama, romance, sex, blood and guts?

All of the above? Seriously, DRAGON is not your typical medieval time-travel. There
are no castles, no fancy gowns, and no grand pageantry held in a great hall. Instead, it deals with the grittier side of medieval life: ignorant peasants, the constant dangers of traveling across a violent countryside, archaic superstitions, and an utter lack of modern plumbing and feminine hygiene products. Things a twenty-first century woman is totally unprepared to deal with. Oh, and there’s also dragons. *G*

Do you have a favorite character in your stories? Who? and Why?

Roderick. He’s a dashing dragonslayer who hooks up with Jill and Baelin along the
way. He goes from enemy to friend to enemy and friend again in the course of the book. At first, he was an outrageous flirt, constantly trying to steal Jill away from Baelin. But then he showed a sensitive, honorable side and I fell in love with him. I’ve got a great heroine in store for him in the next book in the series (TREASURE OF THE GRYPHON). She’s going to have his handsome butt running in circles.

How about your least favorite character? What makes them less appealing to you?

Isylte, the Dark Witch. I struggled making her a believable villain. I didn’t want to make her pure evil, but I also didn’t want her to come across as cartoonish or 2-dimensional. Once I channeled a certain real life self-centered socialite, she became easier to deal with. I’m not sure she’ll ever be redeemable and get her own story, but I hope to develop her more as the series goes on.

Give us an interesting fun fact or a few about your book or series:

As barbaric as it seems, the Trial by Iron that Jill goes through was actually used as a method to determine ones innocence or guilt. The ‘lucky’ ones who didn’t die from infection were proven innocent, although likely maimed for life.

Has there been any other authors who have inspired your work or helped you out with your stories?

I’d have to say the early romances by Pamela Morsi and Jill Barnett influenced what I write now. At first, I was reading a lot of the old bodice rippers from the 80s. But when I discovered books like SIMPLE JESS and BEWITCHING, I realized that romances could be humorous, too.

What can readers who enjoy your book do to help make it successful?

Tell their friends! Tell their family! A large billboard in Times Square wouldn’t hurt, either. *G* No, seriously, word of mouth and on-line reviews are an author’s best friend. It not only lets me know how readers feel about my work and that I don’t totally suck as a writer, but it also reassures readers when trying out a new-to-them author.

Do you have any tips for readers or advice for other writers trying to get published?

Now is the best time to be a writer. With self-publishing no longer having the stigma it once had, any writer with talent and determination can see their dreams come true. I’m one of those writers whose work never quite fit into the New York box. It’s not cookie cutter enough for the powers-that-be in the marketing department, so indie publishing is the perfect fit for me. I’m not getting rich off my books (yet!) but my readership is growing steadily day by day. One caveat: if you do decide to go the self- publishing route, have your work professionally edited. No matter how great we think our masterpiece is, it can always use a set of fresh eyes. I always have at least two editors look over my books before I hit that publish button.

Do you have a favorite author? If yes, what draws you to that person’s work?

Oh, I love Kresley Cole, Gena Showalter, Lexi George, and Darinda Jones. If it’s humorous (even if it’s dark), and paranormal, I love it.

Can you remember one of the first things you wrote? What makes it memorable?

Hmm, I was either in middle school or high school. It was a story about a school bus swept over the mountainside by an avalanche, and how the kids who survived made it out alive. I worked on it every night, writing it out by hand in a spiral notebook I kept under my bed. No paranormal elements in that one, but I do believe there was a love triangle involved. I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s still packed away in a box somewhere in my mom’s house.

Where do you gather most of the inspiration for your works?

The strangest places. I got the idea for my first book, OUT OF THE ASHES, while looking through a National Geographic magazine. I can still remember when the idea for DRAGON popped into my head. My daughter was getting ready to turn six, and she was sick and tired of all the princess parties her friends were having. Instead, she decided she wanted to have a dragon birthday party. So after making a pin the flame on the dragon poster, a 3D dragon cake, a dragon cave complete with dragon treasure, and a dozen dragon sock puppets…needless to say, I was in dragon overload. So there I was, washing dishes, when the idea of a dragonslaying knight cursed to be a dragon came to me. Then I wondered what would happen if the sacrificial maiden offered to the dragon was a woman from the 21st finally got Baelin and Jill’s story told.

Do you have any other interesting hobbies, pets or stories you would like to share?

Before trying my hand at writing, I was a graphic designer. As a self-published author, I love having total control over what my covers will look like. What I envision in my head is pretty much what you see on my covers.

Favorite places to travel or visit?

We did an RV trip through Yellowstone National Park a few years ago with my parents. My daughter wanted to see it before the supervolcano erupts and it’s blown off the face of the earth. Gee, sounds like she has a budding writer’s imagination, doesn’t it? Anyway, it was the trip of a lifetime and I’m so glad we did it. We lost my dad two years later and it will be a memory my kids
will have of him for the rest of their lives.

And now, before you go, how about a snippet from your book that is meant to intrigue and tantalize us:( Include links to were we can find your work)

 Her back pressed against the rough wooden stake, Jill jerked at the ropes that bound her hands, hoping she could wiggle
them free. But as the tender skin of her wrists burned in protest, she conceded that escape that way was not going to be possible. Not if she wanted to keep her hands attached to her arms, that is.
 How could this be happening to her?
 "I'm not the crazy one around here!" she shouted. "This is the twenty-first century, people, not the Middle Ages. It's against
the law to make human sacrifices and there are No...Such... Things...As...Dragons!"
 Jill banged her head against the stake. Why was she yelling? There was no one around to hear her. After a bone-jarring
ride out of town on the platform that turned out to be a wooden cart, with the villagers following behind like some warped
medieval parade, they had hog-tied her to a twelve-foot pole planted in the ground. Then they headed for the woods, leaving her alone on a wind-swept hill in the middle of nowhere.
 Those people were delusional. But at least for the moment Jill felt a little safer. Apparently, they weren't going to cut her heart out on an altar, or burn her at the stake, or do something as equally unappealing and life threatening. At least she hoped not.
 Jill breathed deeply, trying to calm herself. She'd just play along with their little game.
 It was a game, right?
 Eventually, they'd come back, let her go, and she'd be fine. After all, what harm could come from standing out in a field for a little while? A few bug bites? Maybe a little sunburn? Nothing she couldn't survive. Right?
 Or maybe not.
 Deciding it probably wouldn't be in her best interest to still be here when they returned, Jill glanced overhead at the top of the stake and wondered if she could shimmy up and flip her bound arms over the top. She squeezed the stake with her arms as best she could and jumped, bracing her feet against the pole in an awkward pli√®. She shoved up with her legs and made it up
the stake for all of six inches before her feet slipped. The rough wood snagged at her clothes, hair
and skin as she skidded back down the pole.
 Great. Now on top of everything else, she was going to have splinters in both butt cheeks. What had she been thinking?
 Sure, Jill, climb a twelve-foot pole with your hands tied behind you. And do it backwards, no less. Like you could even do it frontwards with your hands free and booster rockets tied to your ass. It's not as if you're a prime candidate for the Cirque de Soleil.
 Okay, so scaling the pole like a monkey wasn't an option. What else could she do? One thing was certain, she was not about to sit and wait for . . . what? Those crazy villagers? Or whatever those fanatical loons thought was coming to get her.
 Think, Jill, think. What would MacGyver do in a situation like this?
 Of course, MacGyver would have a piece of gum stuck up his sleeve and a paperclip in his shoe to use. Jill was strapped to a giant fence post wearing little more than a nightgown and a wilting crown of flowers that were threatening to fall in her face at any moment. A lot of good they would do her.
 Damn. Where was Lassie when you needed her?
 Her only hope was either that someone would come along and set her free--slim chance there--or that she manage to untie herself.
 Relax, she told herself. Breathe and relax. Think of a happy place.
 If she could just concentrate, she might be able to untie the knots by feel.
 She closed her eyes, trying to visualize the rope binding her wrists, and wiggled her fingers until they just touched a knot.
Her arms and shoulders burned from just that little bit of effort. How was she ever going to manage to get the knot loose?
 Calm down, Jill. Think positive. You can do this.
 She managed to wedge one fingertip under the knot, feeling her nail tear to the quick as she tried to pry it loose. So much
for her recent French manicure.
 She concentrated harder, ignoring the strain the effort put on her arms and back.
 Yes! Jill was sure she felt some give in the knot. She was making progress. It was slow, but it was still progress. Of course, at
this rate it would be the middle of next week before she was loose.
 Deep in concentration, at first she didn't notice the whoosh-whoosh sound in the distance.
 The wind. It had to be the wind. Wind she could deal with.
 Still, her heart rate sped up as her fingers began a frantic dance with the stubborn knot.
 Concentrate on the knot, Jill. Don't think about anything else but getting yourself untied.
 As she struggled with the ropes, she didn't want to acknowledge the fact that the whoosh-whoosh sounded as if it were coming closer. But as much as she tried to ignore it, she couldn't help imagining the unmistakable beating of wings.
 Don't look up. Whatever you do, do not look up.
 But human nature being what it was, she did, and the sight that met her eyes would have dropped her to her knees if she
wasn't still firmly tied to the stake.
 Calm down, Jill. It's just a bird. Just some tremendously huge black bird making an awful lot of noise.
 But as it drew nearer, she realized it was too big to be any kind of bird she'd ever seen.
 Maybe it's a plane. Yeah, that's it. A plane . . . with flapping, bat-like wings.
 Jill's stomach plummeted as the thing kept coming, circling ever closer. Any hopes that it might be Superman coming to her
rescue were dashed when she saw the long, reptilian tail trailing behind it.
 She couldn't believe what she was seeing. A giant, flying lizard was swooping down through the clouds, heading right at her.
 Her mind screamed in silent denial as reality crashed in with a gut-churning jolt.
 Holy shit! She really was being sacrificed to a dragon.

Amazon: http://amzn.com/B00CGOH3US
Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/fire-of-the-dragon-lori-dillon/1115161336?ean=2940016665665
Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/311304
Apple: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id645198920

Thanks for visiting us here on JBR! We wish you great success!

Lori Dillon

Thanks for having me. 


Julie Ramsey
ADM, JBR

Search This Blog

Julie's Book Review

Hello, all my followers, visitors, and guests. Welcome to Julies Book Review. This is a site dedicated to helping authors and readers alike. Readers to find new authors and stories and authors to find new readers. For authors please contact me if you are interested in low cost promotion at juliesbookreview@gmail.com. I accommodate where I can. Readers please go through and search the blog. We have been active here for a while. Hundreds on authors, stories and genres to choose from. We have everything from sci-fi, erotica, romance, contemporary, mystery and horror. And nothing gets on this site without a 3 out 5 star rating minimum. I have several reviewers that read different genres. If you are interested in reviewing for me and the site please contact me at the above email. I hope you enjoy the site. I look forward to meeting and talking with you all.

Julie Ramsey & Theresa Fehse
ADM of JBR
Along with many reviewers (which we could not do this without)

Amazon SearchBox