10/31/13

Tessa Dawn Special Post

Title: BLOOD REDEMPTION by Tessa Dawn
Series: #5 in the Blood Curse Series
Genre: Dark Fantasy Gothic Romance
Release Date: October 31, 2013
Availability: Trade Paperback and eBook
Short Blurb:
Some souls are forged in fire.
Some hearts are packed in ice.
Some elements were never meant to be combined…
BLOOD REDEMPTION ~ a journey of elemental darkness and primordial light.
Cover Art: Attached

Tessa Dawn
Bestselling Amazon Author…





“An intensely gripping and dramatic saga from start to finish…”
Midwest Book Review
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/tags-on-product/B004DNWIQO/ref=tag_dpp_cust_edpp_saSeries eCard email largeBloodRedemption V8 300dpi.jpg

10/29/13

Interview with Thomas Sullivan Tell Tale Event

Let's say a big Welcome to THOMAS SULLIVAN.  Happy to have you with us today.

First why don't you tell us a little about yourself?

 From his first introduction by the Chicago Tribune as “…a John Barth or a
John Irving, with a touch of William Gaddis and maybe a dash of Kurt Vonnegut,
Jr.,” Thomas Sullivan has been eclectic. His over eighty publishing credits across
the spectrum of fiction categories include short stories and novels translated into
more than a dozen languages. The novels include BORN BURNING (optioned
for a major Hollywood film), THE PHASES OF HARRY MOON (a Pulitzer Prize
nominee), THE MARTYRING (a World Fantasy Award finalist for Best Novel),
and DUST OF EDEN (a Borders national selection). Numerous short story honors
are as diverse as inclusion in Best of Omni #2 to a Hemingway Literary Days
Festival cash award to a Catholic Press Association award.
His personal history is also broadly based. A former All-American athlete in two
sports, he has lived in a dozen countries and been a gambler, a “Rube Goldberg”
innovator, a coach, a teacher and a city commissioner. Currently he writes full-
time in Minnesota and is a frequent international speaker.

Newest release?

 In e-book, BORN BURNING, Tell-Tale Publishing Group, 2012.

Born Burning


What can we expect from your stories, action, drama, romance,sex, blood and guts?

I write people stories. They may be presented in pulse-pounding scenarios or adrenaline rushes, but their fears and desires will be searched out, especially in relationships.

Do you have a favorite character in your stories? Who? and Why?

 Probably Harry Moon from my first hardcover, THE PHASES OF HARRY MOON. Harry is flawed but redemptive, and he wanders and eccentric world of fun house mirrors.

How about your least favorite character? What makes them less appealing to you?

I love ‘em all, warts inclusive.

Give us an interesting fun fact or a few about your book or series:

My books are more like Bump-o cars in a demolition derby than tandem cars in a single freight train.

Has there been any other authors who have inspired your work or helped you out with your stories?

I’m a stylist, and I enjoy any author who makes language/life jangle. One of the first to do that for me was Vladimir Nabokov.

What can readers who enjoy your book do to help make it successful?

Spread the word. That’s always the way to encourage more of what you like. Writing great reviews,
blogging, posting, emailing and direct word-of-mouth are key to making it possible for your favorite
authors to continue writing.

Do you have any tips for readers or advice for other writers trying to get published?

Two things. Thing 1: Work relentlessly at your craft. Do it NOT for the money or the fame, but
because you are words and ideas. They are your catharsis each day. Thing 2: Market relentlessly as
well, but do that automatically and don’t let the results interfere with Thing 1.

Do you have a favorite author? If yes, what draws you to that person’s work?

Currently enjoy fiction by Mark Helprin – the Helprin who wrote A SOLDIER OF THE GREAT WAR and WINTER’S TALE.

Can you remember one of the first things you wrote? What makes it memorable?

A complaint list about my older sister when I was about nine. Memorable for its detail and
psychological nuance, if not for anything very classy about me – my sister was a wonderful person…even then.

Where do you gather most of the inspiration for your works?

The world auditions every day. A writer just has to open their senses and THINK.

Do you have any other interesting hobbies, pets or stories you would like to share?

CC skiing is my religion, but I like any recreation that puts me in nature’s living room.

Favorite places to travel or visit?

Western coast of Norway.

And now, before you go, how about a snippet from your book that is meant to intrigue and tantalize us:(

Include links to were we can find your work)

All my links and novels are available here at my author’s website, including a sample chapter: http://
www.thomassullivanauthor.com/


Thank you for visiting with us.  We wish you much continued success.
Julie Ramsey
ADM, JBR

10/27/13

Interview for Wayne Tripp Tell Tale Event (6)

Welcome to JBR.  We are happy to have Wayne Tripp visit today.  

First why don't you tell us about yourself?

I'm a retired graphic artist who designed class rings for many of the high schools and colleges
throughout the United States. I've created winning designs for the Military Academy, Naval Academy and Air Force Academy as well as the Coast Guard and Merchant Marine. A world-traveling SCUBA diver, I've created and painted hundreds of award-winning military and fantasy miniatures as well as enjoying a full family life. Since childhood, I've always liked to read and write my own short stories.

Allure of Siren's Song
Newest release?

My newest release is Allure of Siren's Song, available through Amazon, Kobo and all the usual vendors.  It's a multi-era, historical romance centering around the adventures aboard a tramp steamer. Please give it a look.

What can we expect from your stories, action, drama, romance, sex, blood and guts?

My stories will always feature a romantic couple, striving to overcome some form of evil or strife while their love deepens. It's hard to pigeonhole into one genre. My writing generally has main elements of romance and the supernatural, but that's flavored by a keen sense of historical events, hopefully hot sex, and a love of adventure.

Do you have a favorite in your stories?  Who?  Why?

As for favorite characters, I'd have to say whatever hero and heroine I'm writing about. People I'd like to be, or be in love with. I present a lot of dark evil and really vile villains in my books, but in the end, love always wins. Just not to quickly.

How about your least favorite character?  What makes them less appealinf to you?

The villains are my least favorite type people; though of course, they're some of the most fun to write
about. They get away with such nasty stuff. Probably Principal Gerald Sweetling in the upcoming Grim Island series.

Give us an interesting fun fact or a few about your book or series?

A fun fact. Like Clockwork was written while my husky puppy made herself comfortable at my feet.
More than once, her paws managed to find the keyboard.

Have there been any other authors who have inspired your work or helped you out with your stories?

Inspiration would be from a squadron of the best horror and steampunk authors out there today.
If you enjoy Like Clockwork, please spread the word, write a review, or visit my Facebook page. Also, if
you like this book, give Allure of Siren's Song a look and keep an eye out for Grim Island, the first book in
a new series.

Where do you gather most of your inspiration for your work?

To anyone wanting to write, keep at it! Never ever give up. Read everything you can in your genre. Ask yourself what's good, what's bad, and how you would change it. Most of all, have fun.

Can you remember one of the first things you wrote?  What makes it memorable?

I remember writing things as a high school student. I'm sure it was terrible, but it was a beginning. What was it? Undoubtedly a horror story.

Where do you gather most of the inspiration for your works?

I get most of my inspiration from reading, horror movies and those dark, shadowy corners of my mind.

Do you have any other interesting hobbies,  pets or stories you would like to share?

Hobbies with me involve passion. Besides writing, I love my husky, my marine aquarium and almost
anything to do with the ocean.

Favorite places to travel or visit?

Favorite places: underwater in Fiji and Hawaii

Where can we find your work? 

Like Clockwork will be available from Tell-tale Publishing. 

Image of Wayne Tripp

Thank you for visiting with us today.  We wish you much continued success.

Julie Ramsey
ADM,  JBR

Review of Haunting Lia by Shannon Eckrich

Haunting Lia

Shannon Eckrich

Rating of 5

Age group 12 and up

Lia has a gift of seeing people who have died, unfortunately they blame her for their deaths, even people she never knew in her life. As people she loves continue to die, one at a time, she fears for her sanity. She has no one to talk to about this. She is afraid of getting close to anyone. Her father is on death row for attacking and trying to kill her as a child. She gets an unexpected ally to help her battle the dead.

This was a good book. Every time I thought I knew the outcome in advance, it spun in a different direction to hold my interest. I thought the main character was a little dramatic, but overall I enjoyed her spunk. I will certainly read this one again. I highly recommend it.

M. Nelson

10/26/13

Review of The Fouth Bride by Carole Gill

The Fourth Bride (Blackstone Vampire series) 
author: Carole Gill

WOWZERS  :) :) :)

Dia was cursed at birth by not just any vampire but by Dracula himself ! Dracula killed Dia's mother, Nadya. Nadya has given Dia to Rose in hopes of keeping her safe. She is a new addition to Rose and Louise's family, but she has been touched by evil, evil so dark nothing can help her. Dracula called to Dia has a young child, she would one day be his bride.

Dia was raised in a quiet life where she grew to fall in love with Edward, knowing she could never have a church wedding they elope on a ship to Italy. When Edward falls ill and dies, Dia finds herself being called by Dracula . . . this is where her journey begins. 

Count Dracula has waited many years for this very moment, the time when he could turn Dia and make her his fourth wife. She joins his coven along with three other wives, who hated Dia. She must learn to survive in this coven for this is her life and she loved Dracula. It was no secret she was his favorite.

When a group of vampire comes in and changes Dia's life, she is soon found trying to survive in a freak show for vampires. Captured and tormented she is at her lowest, when she is saved. 

This is by far my favorite of the Blackstone Vampire series ! I feel in love with Dia's character. SO young and experienced so much. Count Dracula's character was portrayed just has he should be. Dark and Creepy full of evil! Carole is by far the master story teller of vampire gothic horror. I hope to read more of the Blackstone Vampire Series. I don't feel Dia's story can end here, there must be more ! Once you pick this novel up there will be nothing more important than getting to the last page ! There are more dark twist and turns than a roller coaster!   

Wende :)
5 gothic dark stars ! ! ! !

Review of Wyk's Surrender by Dakota Trace


Wyk's Surrender - Dakota Trace


Madame Eve is matchmaking again! This is another of the wonderfully addicting 1NS books. This time Venus has dreams of dominating her boss Wyk Havas but he has already ridiculed the BDSM lifestyle so instead she gets in touch with Madame Eve who is already responsible for her cousin's happiness ...

These 1NS books are just great, short and sexy and cover every genre, this one is BDSM (mild) but with Venus as the Domme, I have to say I don't usually read female Domme books but this one was great, she wasn't so overly dominant I couldn't relate and yes it was hot and sexy. The tiny snippets of story that you get are good, the characters are set up well and you don't feel robbed or rushed by the ending.

I would give this 5 stars :-)

Petra

Review of Dark God Descending by Toni-Paul de Vissage

Dark God Descending
by
Toni-Paul de Vissage

This is the story of two men...separated by thousands of years, cultures, and customs...and how their love for the same woman changes their lives forever. James Tucker Upchurch III is a graduate student, earning summer credit on an archaeological dig to Central America. All he wants is to graduate and marry his fiancée, Shannon. Semris II is a demon, son of the Mayan God of Death, and he's bored with the monotony of a millennia-old life. He wonders what lies beyond the Jungle surrounding his kingdom but has been forbidden to learn the answer. For five thousand years, demons trapped in this world have ruled the Mayan city of Nikte-Uaxac. While elsewhere civilizations rise and fall, they and their subjects remain unchanged, until Twenty-first Century intruders appear and take from them their most precious possession, the Emperor himself...and these two men are thrown together in a lie-and-death struggle. Tuck never expected to lose his girl to a demon and Semris never thought he'd experience mortal love, but when the current world meets a more ancient one, everything they know will be changed. Forever

This is a really enjoyable book.  I usually don't read books this long but it's worth the time it took to read it...I really enjoyed it a lot. Once I started it I was sucked right into
the story.  The plot was fast paced with lots of surprises in store.  The characters were easy to like even though they were supernatural beings...& I couldn't wait to see how it all played out.
This is the first book I've read by this author & I can't wait to read more.

I rate this book 5 stars

Jennifer W

Review of Maitre'd to the Damned by M E Brines

Maitre'd to the Damned
by
M E Brines

Bankrupt barkeep Ed O’Brien wants his tavern back. All he has to do is a “little” hacking job for some Gothic gangsters. Ed’s no hacker but it’s not what you know but who, and one of his former patrons is a reformed hacker. All Ed has to do is un-reform him, break into a corrupt pharmaceutical corporation’s computers and get his payoff from the gangsters – a piece of cake!
But what do you do when you sell your soul and find out you’ve been swindled? Can Ed and his drinkin’ buddies best a Gothic gang led by a 400-year old lawyer… and keep Ed’s wife from finding out?

An old fashioned vampire story where the hero isn't the one with fangs.

This is a good quick read with a story that keep you
turning pages until the very end. It's not often I enjoy a vampire book but this one's well worth reading.  It's full of everything you need to keep the story interesting...drama, mystery, paranormal,...it's all there.  I really enjoyed this book & look forward to reading more by this author.

I rate this book 3 1\2 stars

Jennifer W

10/25/13

Interview with Joseph J Christiano Tell Tale Event

JOSEPH J. CHRISTIANO

First why don't you tell us a little about yourself?

I grew up in Connecticut’s Naugatuck Valley. I’ve been a voracious reader from a very young age. I was always captivated by scary stuff. My parents told me I watched the Spielberg movie “Duel” cross-legged about two feet from the television. I was either four or five years-old at the time. Since then, if it’s horror done right, it’s for me.

Newest release?

Product Details

Dark Annie, published by the fine (and intelligent) folks at Tell-Tale Publishing.

What can we expect from your stories, action, drama, romance, sex, blood and guts?

There’s very little in the way of blood-and-guts. That’s not scary. I try for a more subtle form of horror. I go more for gothic horror than the indestructible killer wiping out carloads of stoned teens.

Do you have a favorite character in your stories? Who? and Why?

I do but I’ll never choose among my children in public.

How about your least favorite character? What makes them less appealing to you?

I don’t know if I have a least favorite character in my novels. There are some I can’t wait 
to kill, and it’s very satisfying to me when I get to do it. But since I created them all, I can’t 
honestly say I dislike any of them.

Give us an interesting fun fact or a few about your book or series:

I based the fictional town of Deacon’s Landing, Connecticut on the city where I grew up (Waterbury)
and the town in which I now reside (Watertown). Anyone from the area might recognize some of the
landmarks mentioned in the novel.

Has there been any other authors who have inspired your work or helped you out with your stories?

Inspired? God, yes. Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Neil Gaiman, Alan Moore, Michael Jan Friedman. Not a one of them helped me out, though. I hope one of these days they might return my calls.

What can readers who enjoy your book do to help make it successful?

Spread the word! Get your friends interested in picking up a copy. Post reviews online so others who
are on the fence about it might give it a go. Every single reader has the potential to affect many other
readers. Smaller press authors like me depend on that.

Do you have any tips for readers or advice for other writers trying to get published?

For readers, I’d say read the cover blurb so you know what the novel is about. Nothing is worse for an author than to have someone flame him in a review because the reader thought he was picking up a historical novel only to find it is speculative fiction. The cover blurb tells you all you need to know about the novel’s plot. Read it!
For writers, it’s simple: Write! Every day, if possible. And read. Reading is very important. If you want to write horror, read works from other horror authors. See what they did and how they did it. And research every possible publisher. Some of them are wonderful and some are considerably less so.  Know what you’re getting into.

Do you have a favorite author? If yes, what draws you to that person’s work?

I’d say Agatha Christie. I can’t remember the first novel of hers I read. It was either Death on the Nile or maybe Ten Little Indians. Whichever it was, it made me a lifelong fan. Nobody writes like her. Nobody.

Can you remember one of the first things you wrote? What makes it memorable?

I was eleven years-old and I wrote a horror story that was maybe five or six pages and it was terrible. Its altogether crumminess is why I remember it so well today. I’m cringing just thinking about it now.

Where do you gather most of the inspiration for your works?

From life. It sounds like a cop-out but it’s true. I wish I had a more specific answer but, alas, I do not.

Do you have any other interesting hobbies, pets or stories you would like to share?

I’ve been a reader/collector of comic books since the age of five. It’s a hobby/addiction I still indulge
weekly.

Favorite places to travel or visit?

I’d like to see the great cities of Europe before I shuffle loose the mortal coil. Beyond that, I can spend an entire vacation browsing through old book stores.

And now, before you go, how about a snippet from your book that is meant to intrigue and tantalize us:(Include links to where we can find your work)

From the first chapter of Dark Annie:
Anderson regarded the front entrance of DLMS and could not believe he had allowed himself to get this
close. The set of glass doors with their gleaming silver handles seemed to beckon to him and warn him
away at the same time. It should have been an improvement. The old front entrance had consisted
of double doors which had always made Anderson think of oblong eyes that seemed to watch him as
he approached. It was ridiculous, of course, and he had realized it even then. But there seemed to
be some credence to the adage, What scares you as a child scares you as an adult. He nodded in the
direction of the entrance. “Looks different, doesn’t it?”
“Not nearly different enough.”
“Can’t argue with that.”
Murphy pointed to the right of the new doors, a corner of the building obscured by shrubs sitting in a
bed of red mulch. “Right over there is where Kenny Atkins ripped Holly’s sweater and I clocked him in
the mouth. Remember that?”
Anderson grinned in spite of himself and nodded. “Like it was yesterday. The little shit had it coming
for any number of reasons, believe me. You know, I saw him a few days ago. In town to see his father
would be my guess. I don’t think he recognized me.”
“Some people change,” Murphy offered.
“He didn’t,” Anderson said. “Long, greasy hair, fingernails blacker than black. Looked like he hadn’t had
a bath or done laundry in months.”
“Typical Atkins.”
They stood in silence for a few more moments. Anderson’s eyes moved slowly around the front of
the building. He did not know what he was looking for, if anything; nor did he know if he would be
able to spot something out of the ordinary if he did see it. It had been years, decades since he had
allowed himself this close to the school, let alone seen it. It all looked new, but he knew from one of
the newspaper articles that much of the existing structure had been left in place. Some cleaning crew
earned their pay, he thought. Although they should have asked for double time just for having to go
inside that fucking building.
“I’d offer you a beer,” Murphy said, “but you’re on duty.”
“And you’re driving,” Anderson replied. “You’ve already defied expectations and not run this beast into
the reservoir.” He patted the Chevelle’s hood. “Don’t blow it now.”
“Yeah, yeah, yeah,” Murphy said. He sighed loudly and put one hand on the door handle. “They never
should have renovated this place. Should have knocked it down when they had the chance. You know
I’m right.”
“You hear me arguing?”

Image of Joseph J. Christiano

Thanks for visiting us here on JBR! We wish you great success!

Thanks.
Julie Ramsey
ADM, JBR

10/24/13

Review of Born of Blood (Palmetto Moon book 1) By Diana Collins

Title - Born of Blood (Palmetto Moon book 1)
Author - Diana Collins
Reviewer - Wende Sheets
Stars - 5

This is the age where vampires are of out their "coffins". They are not legal citizens, but somewhat accepted into society.

Sophie D'Angelo runs her fathers three generation private investigation company, Palmetto Private Investigation. Caleb her ex-fiance is her partner in crime, and lives in the attic. Caleb was once a history teacher, and was engaged to Sophie, until the night of his bachelor party. Caleb was attacked by a vampire, Irana, who turns her victims and then runs, leaving them to fend for themselves. Caleb was never accepted into the vampire society, thus why he lives in Sophie's attic. 


Sophie and Caleb are soon hired to find missing, Lisa Welch. While trying to put pieces together dead bodies start showing up on Sophie's door step. Someone is leaving them there as a "gift", like a cat with a mouse. Sophie's head is spinning with all the arrows that pointing to this one and that. Sophie soon stumbles unto a prostitution ring. One that is connected to the vampire world. 

Rayne Blackwood is the head of the vampire food chain, chancellor to the council. He is not letting anyone bring his vampires down. Not only is he helping Sophie but seems to be alittle sweet on her. What they discover together is shocking. What some do to save the life of a love one can be deadly.

I fell in love with Sophie! She is the oldest of four daughters, each having a unique personality. One dating a werewolf, one in college and one being a psychic who is opening her own store! She runs her the family business and helps her mom pay for the youngest college tuition. This  by far was one of my favorite vampire series !  After being almost killed by Caleb's vampire girlfriend, Mercy, Sophie keeps her head up and keeps fighting ! I look forward to reading more in this series ;)

Review of GODS OF THE MACHINES by GARY STARTA

TITLE - GODS OF THE MACHINES
AUTHOR - GARY STARTA
REVIEWER - WENDE SHEETS
STARS - 5

Ceres is the Earth's first colonized planet. A planet that will be home to humans and to androids. After a three year trip, Samuel, along with his fiance Sandra have stepped foot on their new home. New home, new jobs a new life. Samuel is will be a full fledged detective and Sandra will be chief medical examiner.

Samuel's new job started off by jumping right into a murder investigation. Samuel, who is not a fan of the robot non-humans, is sure one of them has committed the murder. Pinning it on one android, in particular was easy, but when the evidence starts stacking up, something is just isn't fitting together. When more murders start popping up, Samuel seems busier than ever, with the help of his new partner they will find who is doing the crime.

Sandra seems to like her new job as medical examiner. When Samuel turns against the androids, Sandra has a change of heart for Samuel. Maybe they are not meant to be together. Sandra believes the androids have a place with the humans, not just to be slaves but to be treated as a human is. Have the same rights, walk down the street or sit in a bar like they do. This is a new planet where things are different. Will Samuel find the killer and make amends with Sandra? Will one android bring everyone together ??

This was a great sci-fi book! Not a genre that I normally pick up BUT I was hooked right away with androids. The characters were easy to visualize and understand. I love the roboo bees and the halocat! Great read ! ! !

Review of One Blood by Qwantu Amaru

One Blood
author: Qwantu Amaru

Randy Lafaitle is the 53rd governor of Louisiana, he is highly respected and wealthy man, but not everyone knows his past. No one knows of his secrets, until now . . . .

In 1963, Randy was ready to turn 18, recently graduating from French boarding schools, he was back in New Orleans, seeking not only to visit his father but to put a curse on him. He wanted his father, Joseph to die. Randy had always blamed his father for the death of his mother, she was killed in a car accident that his father was driving. Randy only 12 at the time, was sent  to a french boarding school and to have distant relatives to look after him. Joseph did not want him getting into his way or life. Now back and full of revenge he seeks the help of Madame Deveaux, who did put a curse on Joseph, who died 3 days after Randy turned 18. Young and very angry for his bad decision, Randy runs the Madame and all other fortune tellers out of New Orleans.

Now its 2002 and the curse is still continuing. His son Kris was killed 3 days after his 18th birthday, and now his daughter Karen is getting ready to 18. When he learns she has been kidnapped, Randy seeks the help of Madame Deveaux, only to find she has been dead for 10 years. This is just not any kidnapping this is revenge and punishment ! One being sought out by a voodoo priest, Malcolm Wright. What Randy does not know is that he will have to sacrifice himself or find a substitute that the spirits will accept in order to save Karen. The question is will Randy sacrifice himself to save his daughter ? ? ?

This is a wonderful read full of dark voodoo and old dark family secrets! I was hooked from the first word till the last word. I started this one late at night so I carried into my dreams! I gained some voodoo knowledge that was very interesting ! Just when you think you have it figured out, another skeleton falls out of the closet !  ! !  Lots of betrayal and heartache. . . . . you may want to leave the lights on when reading this one :)

Wende :)
5 stars ! !  ! !

Review of The Vril Codex by Ben Manning

The Vril Codex
author - Ben Manning

Jane and Ben are not just husband and wife, but soul partners. They have a special connection that nothing can break not even death. Jane is a well known journalist and photographer. She goes to Berlin to start a book on the wonderful sites and architecture.

Jane has become fascinated with an old mansion, dark Gothic looking with Gothic towers and a English style giant gate. Jane is soon caught up with the mystery of what goes on behind the dark walls. What secrets does it hold ?? What happens when Jane is intrigued and wants photo's  ?? Getting inside the house is not as easy as one would think and once Jane opens a door it unlocks a series of events that changes everything . . . . .

The Vril Codex is a wonderful read ! I was caught up with the history of Germany. Secret societies, cults and a little voodoo is all any reader needs and this one has it! Also can not forget the romance and the thrill rides it will take you on.

Wende :)
4 stars

10/23/13

Interview from Elizabrth Alsobrooks Tell Tale event


Welcome to JBR.  We are happy to have ELIZABETH ALSOBROOK with us today.

First why don't you tell us a little about yourself?

I’m a bit of an oddball. I love history, mythology and all things mystical or theorized. I love to both research facts and suspend my disbelief to engage in what-ifs. That’s probably a trait most fiction writers share. I have seen ghosts, so I do believe in them. 

Newest release?

Product Details


Illuminati: The Book of Life

What can we expect from your stories, action, drama, romance, sex, blood and guts?

Yes to all of the above. Although I don’t know that I’d call the violence blood and guts. At least not the type Freddie Kruger likes.

Do you have a favorite character in your stories? Who? and Why?

Nalini. No question. She’s victimized, but refuses to be a victim. She gets knocked down and jumps right back out. I also like that she has a vulnerable side, that she’s able to care about people even though so many of them have been more than disappointing, including her parents.

How about your least favorite character? What makes them less appealing to you?

Probably Typhon. Villains are so much fun to write and so much fun to hate.

Give us an interesting fun fact or a few about your book or series.

It’s based on ancient cave pictographs and the famous theories you may have heard about in Chariots of the Gods. 

Have there been any other authors who have inspired your work or helped you out with your stories?

My tastes are so eclectic. I love ancient and medieval literature and I love Shakespeare and Dante and Chaucer and Poe and the Bronte’s and Gaimen and Koontz and Rollins. I also love and forget fairy tales
and world myths and fables. I am lucky enough to have a group of wonderful writers who inspire me, critique me and support me emotionally through all my writing and personal life dramas. 

What can readers who enjoy your book do to help make it successful?

Tweet about it, post it on their FB page, and write reviews. 

Do you have any tips for readers or advice for other writers trying to get published?

Read. Read. Read. Read like a writer. How did the author make it interesting, describe it, show instead of tell, make the character come to life, ect.? Join a writer’s guild and find a critique partner who is also a writer. 

Do you have a favorite author? If yes, what draws you to that person’s work?

Too many to name. I love almost anything from Dean Koontz. I love how lyrical and intelligent Thomas Sullivan’s work is. I love how well Nancy Gideon brings her characters to life, and I love how she tortures them…LOL! 

Can you remember one of the first things you wrote? What makes it memorable?

It was actually a prayer/poem published in the Wide Awake Club in our local newspaper. I was in elementary school at the time.

Where do you gather most of the inspiration for your works?

Mythology. 

Do you have any other interesting hobbies, pets or stories you would like to share?

I have an adorably annoying Maltese and a Bichon/Maltese rescue doggie who loves everyone, especially her mommy. Hobbies? I love to hike. I read Tarot cards, and I love a good ghost tour in the dead of night. If you visit Charleston, SC, be sure to take one!

Favorite places to travel or visit?

I live on the side of a mountain in sunny Arizona, so I love to be home. But, I love to travel in Europe, too. London is my favorite International city, but I also love the cathedrals and antiquity in France, a week-long hike on the West Highland Way in Scotland where you are bound to see random abandoned ruins from the same period as the remnants of the old Roman roads you will be walking on, and come
upon giant long-haired highland cattle that haven’t changed in centuries. And what can one say about the Emerald Isle? The gardens, music, brew and food are fabulous, and the people are friendly and funny and all know a tale or two about the wee ones and those pesky leprechauns.

And now, before you go, how can we get your books: ( Include links to where we can find your work)
http://www.amazon.com/Elizabeth-Alsobrooks/e/B00BTRP7ZG/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1382366394&sr=8-1
http://www.elizabethalsobrooks.com/
https://www.facebook.com/authorelizabeth.alsobrook

Thanks for visiting us here on JBR! We wish you great success! 
Julie Ramsey
ADM, JBR

10/22/13

Review of Wanted Ghost Bustin' Bride by MARGARET BREASHEARS AND DONNA HELMEDAG Tell-Tale Event

TITLE - WANTED GHOST BUSTIN' BRIDE
AUTHOR - MARGARET BREASHEARS
               AND DONNA HELMEDAG
STARS - 5
REVIEWER - WENDE SHEETS

RYNE CASTLE NEEDS A NEW COUNTESS, SPENCER MARKHAM NEEDS A BRIDE, NOT JUST ANY BRIDE BUT A GHOST BUSTING BRIDE. A BRIDE THAT HE WON'T BE PICKING UP OUT BUT A GHOST! THIS GHOST IS LADY ANNE, SHE WAS THE FIRST COUNTESS OF RYNE CASTLE. IT IS WRITTEN THAT SHE COMMITTED SUICIDE AT THE CASTLE.  LADY ANNE IS LOOKING FOR A LADY THAT IS DEEMED WORTHY OF THE RYNE INHERITANCE. IF IT COULD ONLY BE THAT EASY, BUT NO. THERE IS A SECOND GHOST THAT WALKS THE HALLS OF RYNE CASTLE. DESDEMONA IS HER NAME. DESDEMONA AND LADY ANNE HAVE BEEN IN A WAR FOR 500 YEARS, HER MAIN GOAL IS THAT SPENCER DOES NOT FIND A BRIDE. NOT FOLLOWING LADY ANNE'S DEMANDS COULD END UP IN BANKRUPTCY OR EVEN DEATH.

SPENCER IS PART OWNER OF ARCHITECTURAL FIRM IN LONDON AND IN DALLAS. KAILYN BAKER CAME TO RYNE CASTLE FOR WHAT SHE THOUGHT WAS A JOB INTERVIEW. WHAT SHE IS REALLY COMING THERE FOR IS TO BE SPENCER'S BRIDE. SHE DOES NOT BELIEVE IN GHOST, YET. . . . SPENCER ASK HER TO STAY FOR THE WEEK'S ACTIVITIES AT THE CASTLE AND PUT TO A CHALLENGE, FALL IN LOVE WITH RYNE CASTLE AND PROVE THERE IS NO GHOST. KAILYN'S CHOICE TO STAY COULD CHANGE THINGS AT THE CASTLE FOREVER .. . . . SHE IS THE KEY TO SAVING RYNE CASTLE BUT WILL SHE REALIZE IT BEFORE ITS TO LATE ?

THIS IS A WONDERFUL FUN FILLED STORY ! I LAUGHED AND CRIED WHILE READING IT :) I COULDN'T HELP BUT TO THINK OF THE BACHELOR TV SHOWS. I LOVED THE HIDDEN STORIES AND SECRETS THE CASTLE HOLDS. 

10/21/13

Interview Sherry Ficklin Tell Tale Event

Welcome SHERRY FICKLIN to JBR.

First why don't you tell us a little about yourself?

Well, I'm Sherry Ficklin, writing as Dianna Collins. I write primarily YA novels, hence the pen name. This is my first adult paranormal series.

Newest release?

I'm really excited for the re-release of my Palmetto Moon series. It was previously published under my real name, which caused a bit of confusion for my younger readers, so my publisher and I decided a re-brand was in order. It gave us the chance to get all new covers (aren't they fantastic, by the way?) and do a few minor tweaks to the books themselves. Nothing major, just little things.

What can we expect from your stories, action, drama, romance,sex, blood and guts?

Palmetto Moon has a lot of humor, a lot of heart, a bit of romance, and copious amounts of Sophie landing herself up shit creek without a paddle.

Do you have a favorite character in your stories? Who? and Why?

I have to say I love Sophie. All the characters in these books are loosly based on my real family, which makes them both fun and honest. I got to take this group of people (who, let's face it, is already completely nuts) and really draw them out and make their personalities even bigger and crazier. And my family still talks to me. Even my poor aunt Lisa who ended up being a dead hooker. (Sorry Auntie!)

How about your least favorite character? What makes them less appealing to you?

I think I actually like Caleb the least, which I know sounds odd since he's one of my male heroes. But he's one of those people, who we all have in our lives, who just knows exactly how to push our buttons. He's the one person is Sophie's life she actually lets kind of run over her--not because she isn't strong enough to handle him--but because he knows exactly where her soft spots are and how to get to them.

Give us an interesting fun fact or a few about your book or series:

So, the mystery in Born of Blood is loosely based on a real crime that happed in my small town. Obviously I've changed the names and details, but it's very similar. Except for the vampires. At least I hope there wasn't any real vampires involved. But that's sort of how my mind works. Woman goes missing? Most people think husband or co-worker. I go straight to vampire. What can I say? I'm "special".

Has there been any other authors who have inspired your work or helped you out with your stories?

I think every book I read, if I enjoy it at all, inspires me and in some small way, becomes part of my genetic makeup. Things I read stay with me forever. I'm spongy like that.

What can readers who enjoy your book do to help make it successful?

I think the best thing a reader can do is offer feedback. Leave a review, shoot me an email. Whether the feedback is good or bad, it's important. We need to know what we are doing right, and by the same token, what we are doing wrong.

Do you have any tips for readers or advice for other writers trying to get published?

Read on, Mo'fos. Seriously. Readers make the best writers because they instinctually understand things like pacing and flow, things that can't really be taught. 

Do you have a favorite author? If yes, what draws you to that person’s work?

My favorite author is always whoever I'm reading at the time. I actually took a writing break this weekend to read the new novel by Konstance Silverbow, Only Half Alive. It was really good.

Can you remember one of the first things you wrote? What makes it memorable?

I wrote this amazingly terrible poem about a dragon. It was like, total crap. I read it at an open mic poetry night and some guy after came up to tell me how much he liked it. Turns out he worked for some tiny magazine and he wanted to buy it to use. It was the worst thing I ever sold. (ha ha, I was trying to type FIRST thing I ever sold, but it came out worst thing I ever sold. Since both are true, I'm leaving it as worst.)

Where do you gather most of the inspiration for your works?

Everywhere. Characters first usually. They sort of start chatting in my head, telling me stories. It really is like a form of schizophrenia. I even read an article that says it is the same part of the brain.

Do you have any other interesting hobbies, pets or stories you would like to share?

So...I collect rubber ducks. The weirder the better. I'm also a confirmed nerd hoarder.

Favorite places to travel or visit?

Europe, but not France (sorry France). I love road trips (not with my kids) and seeing new places. I went to NYC for the first time this year and at first I was like, eeew. It's so loud and dirty and my feet hurt. haha. But now I can't wait to go back. I love it.

And now, before you go, how about a snippet from your book that is meant to intrigue and tantalize us:( Include links to were we can find your work)

After cursing my way through five red lights and three stop signs I saw the red and blue
lights before I even turned onto my street. I pulled up to the curb in front of my house. The first thing
I noticed was the yellow crime scene tape strung across my porch. The second thing I noticed was
Caleb and Mercy standing in the side yard, talking to Reggie. Neither vampire was in handcuffs or
perma-dead, so that was a relief.
Caleb must have heard my door slam because he said something to Mercy and Reggie and
walked toward me. But knowing he was safe, my interest was focused on the black bag lying across
my porch.
“Sophie,” Caleb said, putting his arm around my shoulders.
“What happened?” I asked, shaking my head. “Who’s in the bag?”
At that moment Reggie and Mercy joined us. She slid her head under Caleb’s other arm in a
maneuver that was both possessive and childish. I shook my head again and slid out of Caleb’s grasp.
It was Reggie who answered my question.
“Caleb and Miss Mercy here say they came home from a movie and found the deceased on
your porch. He’s been identified as one Heath Jorgan.”
“Wait. Jorgan, the arsonist?” I asked.
“Looks that way. You tell anyone else that he was bothering you, Sophie?”
I shook my head, staring at the bag, trying to make sense of the situation.
“Just Caleb,” I replied automatically.
On one hand I was weak with relief that it hadn’t been someone I cared about, on the other I
was racking my brain. Who would have done this?
“It looks as if he was killed somewhere else and placed here,” Reggie added.
“How do you know?” I asked.
“The body was drained of blood. But it’s not here,” he said motioning toward the ground.
“So, you’re thinking vampire?” I asked.
“Maybe, but there were no bite marks. It looks like whomever did the deed slit the bastard’s
throat.”
Caleb and I exchanged a glance. It didn’t sound like a vamp kill, but it didn’t exclude them
either. A squeal of tires from behind me made me turn. A Channel 7 news van had just showed up to
the party. Super.
Reggie tucked his notebook in his pocket and nodded. “If ya’ll excuse me, I need to go deal
with this.”
As soon as he was out of earshot Caleb grabbed me by the elbow and led me off to the side,
Mercy still in tow.
“That isn’t all,” he said in hushed tones. “When we found him, there was a big red bow on
his head and a tag stuck to his shirt. Sophie, it had your name on it.”
“My name? Anything else?”
He shook his head.
“We, uh, left the bow, but I took the tag before the cops got here. I was afraid they might
think…”
“That I had something to do with the murder.” I added gently. Caleb’s heart was in the right
place, but if the cops ever found out he’d tampered with the evidence, they could both be screwed.
“Exactly.”
“What kind of deranged person would put a bow and a tag on a dead body?” I asked out loud.
To my surprise, Mercy answered.
“Someone who was leaving you a gift,” she said in her usual over-the-top accent. With a
petulant frown she added quietly, “She gets the best presents.”

Sherry D. Ficklin, Author www.sherryficklin.com http://about.me/sherrydficklin
"Remember to always be yourself. Unless you suck." ~Joss Whedon

Thank you for visiting with us here on JBR!  We wish you great success!!!

thanks,
Julie Ramsey
ADM, JBR



10/18/13

Interview Natalie Calisle Tell-Tale Event (Fri 1)


Image of Natalie Carlisle

NATALIE CARLISLE
Please welcome Natalie Carlise to Julies Book Review! There is a rafflecopter to the right of this post from Tell Tale!
First why don't you tell us a little about yourself?
My name is Natalie Carlisle. I’m a young adult and children’s fiction writer in my spare time. My full time job also consists of me sitting at least 8 hours in front of a computer, so I try to keep active whenever I can. I love to jog, hike, walk, and play catch with my dogs. My husband and I have three dogs. Two four year old American bull dogs and a three month old Belgian Malinois. Obviously we are big animal lovers. I donate a percentage of the royalties on all my children books to charity.
Newest release?

Full Moon on the Rise. The sequel to The Shifted in my Emerson Fox series.
Product Details
What can we expect from your stories, action, drama, romance, sex, blood and guts?
Interview with Natalie Calisle- Tell Tale Event

My book is a paranormal series suitable for tweens, teens and adults. Readers can expect action, drama, mystery, teenage romance and many lovable characters. 

Do you have a favorite character in your stories? Who? And Why?
I love all my characters but if I had to choose it’s a toss-up between Kale and Scout. They are both so different, and have that love/hate relationship brothers tend to have with each other. I love that they have each other’s back, despite all their bickering and disagreements.
How about your least favorite character? What makes them less appealing to you?
Well, I don’t know if writers necessarily have a least favorite character. For me, I love all my characters. They make up the story, and bring it to life. But if I had to pick a character I dislike it would probably be Professor Stilts. I don’t think a teacher should be so harsh on students, and I really wish he’d just leave Kale alone. 

Give us an interesting fun fact or a few about your book or series:
Sure. Here are three little tidbits about the development of my story and my family’s reaction that I find the most interesting or funny.
1) Jilianna Cortez was actually written into the story because my friend wanted to be in my book. So I let her pick the name she wanted, how she wanted her to look, and what she wanted her to shift into. I had no clue she was going to become such a big part in my series.
2) When I first told my grandmother I wrote a book about shape shifters she said. “Oh, that’s nice. What do these three sisters do?”
3) Holland Bentley was actually named after my husband’s cousin though they are nothing alike in personalities, or really looks.
Have there been any other authors who have inspired your work or helped you out with your stories?
Sort of, yes. The inspiration to start writing this book series sparked after reading Rachel Caine’s Morganville Vampire Series. I fell in love with the characters and the action in those books right of the bat, and found myself wanting to write something that would leave readers so wrapped up in my story, like I was of hers. What can readers who enjoy your book do to help make it successful?
Just spread the word about it. Tell family and friends. Tweet about it. Facebook it. Really it’s just word of mouth. But I got to say, it’s such a great feeling knowing so many that have already enjoyed it and are looking forward to this new release. To me, that’s already success. 

Do you have any tips for readers or advice for other writers trying to get published?
Follow your dream. Never give up. The writing world is not the same for everyone. Figure out if you want to go with a traditional publisher or self-publish the work yourself and do all the research you can. If you want to try the traditional route then make up a really good query letter. If you don’t know how to do that, there’s websites online that can assist you.

Do you have a favorite author? If yes, what draws you to that person’s work?
I have a few. Rachel Caine, Brigid Kemmerer, Stephanie Meyer, and Rick Riordan. I love the nonstop action, the plot twists, the story line but mostly the characters. They are so real.

Can you remember one of the first things you wrote? What makes it memorable?
Well, the first published book I wrote was my children’s book, The Girl Whose Heart Was Too Big. It moved a lot of people to tears (In a good way) and I was honored to have the chance to read the story to a class of third graders this year. Also, I take a percentage of my royalties made on the sale of this book, and donate it to the Associated Humane Societies. Where do you gather most of the inspiration for your works?
Mostly dreams. I have a lot of crazy dreams. Then I discuss them with my mom and she helps immensely.

Do you have any other interesting hobbies, pets or stories you would like to share?
My dog, Chance, inspired me to write my children’s book, The Girl Whose Heart Was Too Big, and Scout’s character in my Emerson Fox series. Favorite places to travel or visit?
Though I live in New Jersey, I often travel back to my hometown in Pa. My favorite state so far though, is Vermont. I love the mountains there and how peaceful everything seemed when I went there. And now, before you go, how about a snippet from your book that is meant to intrigue and tantalize us:( Include links to were we can find your work)

On most days the lake looked calm and serene, but today the rain bounced across the surface making it look like a boiling pot. Thunder continued to rumble in the distance, but it was still too far away to concern them.
There was nobody else out this way, not in this weather. As they neared the bridge Kale caught a whiff of decay from what he knew to be the near bottomless layer of tree-debris that weather, water and time had mulched into black muck along the shoreline.
The old bridge creaked under their feet and halfway across Kit slipped on the algae-slicked, wet planks. He caught her before her knees slammed against the wood.
“Whoa, easy.” He pulled her upright. Then reached down, picking up her notebook, handing it back to her. Since they were standing directly under the open sky, the rain felt heavier, harsher. Kit’s platinum hair looked golden brown and raindrops trailed down her cheeks like teardrops.
“Stupid rain boots,” she grumbled, irritated as she glanced down at the bottoms of her boots. “They have no grip on them.” She blew out a breath. “I mean, really what’s the point.” Shaking her head, she looked back up, her expression softening when Kale smiled at her. She blinked against the rain. “Thanks for catching me.” His lips curved more. “And for walking me this far. I really appreciate it.” The rain even darkened her eyelashes, outlining her amazing eyes. “I’ll be fine from here though. You should head back.”
It was really hard not to keep staring down at her, but Kale pulled his gaze away toward the other side of the bridge. She must have sensed his hesitation because she added, “I’ll see you in Professor Stilts’, okay?”
The sound of the buzzer went off behind them signaling the start of his next class, but he still didn’t move. He just kept his focus on the trees.
“You should really go,” she urged.
She was right. He had missed way too many classes already, but he just wasn’t fond of the idea of her walking outside school grounds alone. “Do you even know where he is?”
“Of course,” she said simply. “Imprint, remember?”
Oh, yeah. He remembered that all right. And he was still pissed that the imprint he used to share with Kit had been broken. It would have been a lot easier if he and Kit were still together, together. For starters he wouldn’t have to be standing out in the rain right now so she could go run off to another guy.



Thanks for visiting us here on JBR! We wish you great success!

Thanks.

Julie Ramsey
ADM JBR

Tell Tale Event

http://www.tell-talepublishing.com/

10/17/13

Interview with Karen Kennedy Musa Event (4)

Welcome to Julies Book Review!

Karen Kennedy Samoranos is visiting JBR today!

She is giving away her latest novel, “Small Town, Add Vice” (Musa Publishing,
October 10th, 2013) on the rafflecopter to the right of the page. The giveaway will
last all October long. So lots of GREAT items for an AWESOME giveaway!

Product Details

We are all very glad you came here to JBR. 
Can you tell us a little about yourself?

I collaborate with my husband, Clifford (he’s the teacher, I’m the administrator),
in a music education business in the Bay Area, near San Jose, California. I have
four adult children, and four grandchildren. Aside from writing, which I am
privileged to indulge in about 40% of my waking hours, I enjoy hiking, and riding
my motorcycles. I have a Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 for street, and a zippy little Honda
CRF150 for the dirt. There are miles of urban trails here in Santa Clara County
adjacent to my home, where we ride mountain bikes.

What genres do you write?

Contemporary Adult Fiction, which has also been categorized as Romance, and
Chick Lit. All my books are different—“Road Apples” (Musa-12/2011) featured
a May/December relationship, while “The Curious Number” (Musa-3/2012)
encompassed the racism of the 1950s, and resulting shenanigans of a family
matriarch who suffers from dementia, while owning an arsenal. There’s a lot of
requited/unrequited love, and triumph/tragedy in that book. “Death By Bitter
Waters” (Musa-6/2012) is a collection of short stories about contemporary Red
Power in small-town California, where a certain amount of historical enmity
survives nearly two hundred years of white settlement. “Big Lies in Small Town”
(Musa-9/2012) follows the Sumner Family, and the conservative gun culture in
rural northern California—which is quite the opposite of the gun control lobby in
liberal urban areas of the state. “Small Town, Add Vice” (Musa-6/2013) is a novel
written in interconnected short-story format that highlights good and evil in small
town. It’s a play on the word, “advice,” using “add vice,” due to the events that take
place.

As a reader I love all genres but my followers want to know what to except
from your books. Action, adventure, romance, sex, magic??

My novels through Musa Publishing encompass female empowerment, Native
American culture, various types of romance, and a sex rating of 3 out of 5.

Who is your favorite character(s) from your books?

Katherine McLain Sumner. She shows up in every book except for “The Curious
Number.” In “Big Lies in Small Town,” Kate, husband Paul, and two sons Dakota and
Charlie Kat are attacked by two white supremacists, and she has to use lethal force
to protect her family.

What is your newest release? Can you tell us a little about it?

“Small Town, Add Vice” follows a plethora of characters in a small town in northern
California, who use religion as power, and the political arena to line their pockets.

What about future projects? Any hints?

I’m currently working on four manuscripts, which I can compare to a voyeurteleporting to these various settings. I’m intimately acquainted with each of my
characters. I’m amazed how I can keep the stories apart, and haven’t yet blurred the
line between. They range from a widow who discovers her husband conducted a
secret sexual and financial life for thirty years; a woman in the witness protection
program who turns tables on a hit man; a successful Erotica author who is
romantically inept in her private life; and a forty-eight year old woman who has an
affair with a twenty-six year old man.

Can you give aspiring authors any advice?

Keep writing, keep querying, and don’t ever give up, unless you’re prepared to stop
writing. Perfect your craft.

How about some "fun" personal stuff!

I’m a moderate Democrat married to a liberal Republican, a union of contradiction.

What book have you read that touched you deeply? and why? (yours or
someone elses)

Our Lady of the Forest, by David Guterson. The book can make you into a true
believer if you’re a skeptic, or into a cynic if you’re ultra religious.

Favorite past time activity?

Well, writing, of course. What else is there in life?

a favorite book or author you can recommend (not your own)?and WHY?

For health reasons, I’d recommend The Blood Sugar Solution, by Dr. Mark Hyman. 
It parallels the article in the publication, Indian Country Today, by David Bender
(“Native Family Turns to its Roots,” October 24, 2011), to battle the SAD (Standard
American Diet) and food addiction, and to encourage and teach people about the
consumption of whole foods, and the hidden health dangers of gluten.

Favorite place to travel to?

Susanville, California. The drive encompasses a classic sampling of California
geography and agriculture, plus the four-season destination is outstanding. Our
rural neighborhood is inhabited with gray fox, quail, turkey, and mule deer. Just
don’t go outside after sundown, because I’ve witnessed a very large adult mountain
lion prowling the perimeter of the subdivision. Last sighting of our big cat occurred
in December of 2012, at night, 8 degrees F, with four feet of snow on the ground.

What kind of music do you listen too?

Jazz, Bluegrass, New Age

And finally where can we find your books?(please include any links you want
including buy links)

Musa Buy Link: http://musapublishing.com/index.php?
main_page=advanced_search_result&search_in_description=1&zenid=d23f3709aad
7fdadb1f58e1c8480c589&keyword=karen+kennedy+samoranos
Amazon Books Link Page: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?
url=search-alias%3Ddigital-text&field-keywords=karen+kennedy+samoranos
Author Web Site: http://www.saraville.com/
Author Blog: http://www.karenkennedysamoranos.wordpress.com



Well I know I learned a lot and have added to our TBR list. I hope you all have had
fun as well as well. Thanks you again, Karen, for coming and talking with me here on
JBR. I hope you had fun and I hope to see you again. Good Luck and wishing you lots
of success!

Julie Ramsey
ADM JBR

10/16/13

Review of Beyond The Third Garden by I. J. Sarfeh

Beyond The Third Garden by I. J. Sarfeh

Paree could not even think about leaving Iran to go back to England.  Not even when her husband, Mike’s job in the oil industry transferred him back.  She chose to stay in Iran, even when she knew if she had to live alone, she wouldn’t have any reason not to start drinking first thing in the morning.  The pain was too bad for her to go back.  So she stayed, alone in her misery, and tried to make a life for herself.

Reza hated the orphanage the police brought him to after That Night.  The only happiness he had was when he was with his friend, Fereshteh, because she understood him when he didn’t want to talk, and she knew what he was thinking when he decided he was going to leave the awful place.

On a trip to the mountains, Paree discovered a freezing Reza, sleeping under a tree, crying out in his sleep.  She takes him in and together they figure out how to help each other rid themselves of the pain, guilt and fear that was crippling them both.

But Mike is still very much in love with Paree and really wants her to come visit him in England.  Paree faces her biggest fear of all and she and Reza go, but there are no promises of a future.  Can Mike let go enough to accept Paree and Reza as a family?  Or will the secrets of That Night and the heartache and guilt that Paree feel break the family forever?

I really liked this story.  It’s hard to believe this is the author’s first in this genre because it’s very well written and really tugged on my heart when I read about what happened to the characters. I hope the author writes more like this.  4.8 stars!


Love-N-Stuff,

-Donna Flint-


 Product Details

Interview with Jim Sarfeh Musa Event (3)

Welcome to Julies Book Review!  I. J. aka Jim Sarfeh is visiting JBR today!

They are giving away  E-book in the rafflecopter to the right of the page. The giveaway will last all Oct long. So lots of GREAT items for a AWESOME giveaway!

We are all very glad you came here to JBR. 

Can you tell us a little about your self?

I was born in Tehran, Iran, to a Persian father and Russian mother. At the age of nine, I was sent to school in England because, according to Dad, “that boy needs some good-old British discipline.” I guess I was a bit unruly. Anyway, ten years later, the family moved us all to America. After floundering there for a while, I entered college to study journalism but was sidetracked. Medicine beckoned. Fourteen years later, I was a board-certified surgeon, an assistant professor at Albany (NY) Medical College. After being recruited to the University of California, I moved to Laguna Niguel (CA) and settled into the academic life of a university surgeon. For the next twenty years, I wrote over 200 scientific articles, numerous chapters, and co-edited two medical textbooks. As a tenured professor, I became - he said with unabashed pride - well known in my field of hepatic (liver) surgery. Even had an operation named after me. Okay, so much for the bragging. Then my original passion, writing, took hold. I retired and embarked on my second career.
I have been happily married for thirty years, thanks to my lovely bride, Sharon. We have three children: Jill, Jennifer, and Colin. Oh, and two lovely granddaughters, Peytie and Zoe.

What genres do you write?

My first six novels were in the medical mystery/suspense genre. Then I switched to literary fiction.

As a reader I love all genres but my followers want to know what to except from your books. Action, adventure, romance, sex, magic??

From the first six novels, you can expect mystery, adventure, and romance. From my seventh novel, expect none of the above. Instead, read about the vicissitudes of growing up, the tragic moments and the joyous moments, and all the shades of gray that go in between.

Who is your favorite character(s) from your books?

My favorite is Greg Dostoyov, the shy, plodding surgeon who is wrongfully accused of malpractice. He is the MC in my novel, The Final Victim.

What is your newest release? can you tell us a little about it?


Product Details
Musa will release my newest novel, Beyond the Third Garden, in August. It is the tale of a middle-aged woman and a ten-year-old orphan: both Iranian, both shattered souls running away from horrific events in their past. She chances upon the starving, shivering boy in a rain-drenched forest at the foothills of the Alborz Mountains, and the remarkable, often stormy relationship begins. My 80,000-word, work of literary fiction ends in a stunning climax that reveals the secrets of their repressed memories. The resolution clears the way for the woman and orphan to seal their bond, to help each other mend their devastated lives. Set in 1950s Iran and western England, Beyond the Third Garden explores the devastating effects of post-traumatic stress disorder in an intolerant era when PTSD was variously labeled and dismissed as behavioral disturbance in children, neurosis in adults, and battle fatigue in soldiers.

What about future projects? any hints?

I am currently working on the umpteenth revision of From the Ashes of Strife. It is the tale of a Persian family’s journey from the chaos of revolution in their homeland to the challenges facing them as émigrés in America, at a time when anti-Iranian sentiment is pervasive. Set in both countries, the 70,000-word novel follows the struggles of the family: Rostam Vessali, a former general, now an embittered exile; his spouse Shireen, a woman sickened by the anti-feminism of Iranian culture; their son Sohrab, a confused youth, an outcast seeking his identity in a foreign land. Father and son flounder, Rostam because he feels no longer relevant, Sohrab because he feels like an outcast. And in floundering, they become estranged from one another. Contrary to Rostam and Sohrab, Shireen thrives as she quickly assimilates into the new culture. How the three resolve their personal crises is the theme of the plot, which explores the Iran-America conflict through the eyes of a family caught in the crossfire of the Islamic Revolution.

Can you give aspiring authors any advice?

Read, write, submit, persist. Read, write, submit, persist. Read, write…

How about some "fun" personal stuff!

I play the guitar - actually, it paid my bar bills throughout college. If you want a sample, here’s a link:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dBnpBqrE4C4

What book have they read that touched you deeply? and why? (yours or someone elses)

The most influential book for me was The Citadel by A. J. Cronin. It inspired me to enter medicine.

Favorite past time activity?

Traveling with my wife of thirty years, Sharon, watching my grandchildren grow, and socializing with my two daughters and son.

a favorite book or author you can recommend (not your own)?and WHY?

Dr. Khaled Hosseini’s novel, The Kite Runner, moved me deeply, much more so than any other novel in recent memory. His work inspired me to write From the Ashes of Strife. His writing style, and the complexity of his characters and plot are exceptionally vivid and gripping.

Favorite place to travel to?

London and Cheltenham, England.

What kind of music do you listen too?

Golden Oldies, classical country, and Mozart. Quite eclectic, don’t you think?

And finally where can we find your books?(please include any links you want including buy links)

All of them are listed on Amazon and Barnes and Noble, and half of them are listed on Smashwords. My website describes each novel: www.ijsarfeh.com.

Well I know I learned a lot and have added to our TBR list. I hope you all have had fun as well as well. Thanks you again Jim for coming and talking with me here on JBR. I hope you had fun and I hope to see you again. Good Luck and wishing you lots of success!
Julie Ramsey ADM JBR

Search This Blog

Julie's Book Review

Hello, all my followers, visitors, and guests. Welcome to Julies Book Review. This is a site dedicated to helping authors and readers alike. Readers to find new authors and stories and authors to find new readers. For authors please contact me if you are interested in low cost promotion at juliesbookreview@gmail.com. I accommodate where I can. Readers please go through and search the blog. We have been active here for a while. Hundreds on authors, stories and genres to choose from. We have everything from sci-fi, erotica, romance, contemporary, mystery and horror. And nothing gets on this site without a 3 out 5 star rating minimum. I have several reviewers that read different genres. If you are interested in reviewing for me and the site please contact me at the above email. I hope you enjoy the site. I look forward to meeting and talking with you all.

Julie Ramsey & Theresa Fehse
ADM of JBR
Along with many reviewers (which we could not do this without)

Amazon SearchBox