10/31/12

Halloween Special The Cauldron Tales Review

There are 6 stories and 5 authors in this Halloween special.
Sonia Hightower
Lorraine Nelson
Chacelyn Pierce
Angelina Rain
Nikki Prince

All involove Witches, Magic and Love. I am doing this review a little different than most of my reviews, due to there are 5 stories. I don't want to give away too much because they are short but pretty awesome. All have some pretty sexy scenes. So I will give you some teasers and a couple quotes. I will say it was a really good book. Very sexy, awesome stories, even learned a new tale or too!!

So here are some blurbs or quotes from the book!

*******

 I should be drowned, yet I am breathing. I should be dead, yet I am very much alive.
I never want this kiss to end.
And it didn’t. Her lover, the only lover she’d ever know, caressed her, bit her, nipped her,
seared her flesh. Under the dark recess of the pond, her dress burned away, disintegrating into
the sandy bottom. The water was cold, but her body was engulfed in invisible flames.
Claws scratched her, teeth broke her flesh, but there was no blood and no pain, only ecstasy.
With every touch, nip, scratch, she felt more vital. She’d never felt so alive in her life. Death was
embracing her, welcoming her, encouraging her through touch to leave all her problems behind.

********


“Damn you, Killen! What did you go and do that for? You’re a real dog.” Cindy Carmichael
stared in shock as her longtime friend turned into a shaggy-haired mutt right before her eyes.
Flesh became fur, his hands previously on the table became paws, and within seconds, he was
half his size, on all fours, complete with a tail. The dog gave a good shake, sending the blue
jeans and red T-shirt her human friend had been wearing into the armchair nearby. “Oh, no! Now
look what you made me do.” She stomped her foot and threw her hands in the air, totally
frustrated.
Woof!
“Yeah, yeah, I know, but I haven’t a clue how to reverse it. By the way, in case you haven’t
figured it out, I’m a witch.”

**********

Telling Maleen about her past wasn’t high on her list at the moment, but someone needed to
know why she’d be arrested or spelled to death in the middle of an intersection with no remorse.
“Well, I have an officer from the Department of Magick and Witchcraft after me.”
Maleen gasped and turned to her with magnified-wide eyes. Her glasses always blew them
up ten times their actual size. It had once been comical, but with Maleen looking at her with pity
and wariness, Willow couldn’t find a single thing amusing about her situation. “Child, what did
you do? Did you hex someone?”
“This is so frustrating, Maleen. It was college. I thought the hex didn’t work, and it’s been
six years. How was I to know he’d find my spell on him?” The hexing ordeal was a bittersweet
feeling. She’d actually produced a working complex spell in all her years of trying, but now it
was coming back to bite her in the ass.

*********

 She couldn’t believe her eyes.
What stood before her was perfection in the flesh! Dark brown eyes stared back at her in
what appeared to be amusement. He was taller than her by a few inches. The man had short black
hair cut in a military buzz cut. He wore a silver necklace on his neck with dog tags on it. Besides
that, his chest was naked and covered in hard muscles. He looked like a hero on a romance novel
cover. Cargo pants covered his legs, and for a second—okay, maybe longer than that—she
wished she could see him completely naked.
“Why were you hitting me?”
Yeah, why? Suddenly, she couldn’t feel the pain in her foot anymore, until she glanced
down and noticed the smears of blood on her light grey carpet. “You hurt my foot,” she whined.
“So. You’re a witch. Can’t you just heal it?”
She glanced back up at him, her jaw going slack. “How did you know?” This dimwitted toy
was smarter than she would have thought. But how could that be? He was just a toy. Those
didn’t come packed with hearts and brains.
“I was a human once,” he started to explain, “until one of my soldiers crossed a witch and
she turned us all into toys.”


**********

 Aponi James knew he was watching her. She could feel his gaze on her as she danced by the
light of the moon in her backyard wearing only a lavender veil. She faced what she knew to be
his bedroom. The veil was see-thru in the full moon light, showing every one of her curves. It
was time for him to get home from his job, and his routine was to go to his bedroom, sit on the
deck with a cigar, and drink his beer. Devlin Connor was the man she wanted and the man she
planned to have. She swayed her hips seductively, causing the thin netting to brush against her
hardened nipples. She ran her hands along her sides with every movement, pretending it was his
caress. It was time to move from friends to friends with benefits. Of course, she wanted more
than that even, but baby steps.

***********

Lisette spoke first, “We’d like our fortune told or maybe a two-for deal.” She tugged Danica
toward her. She hadn’t let go of her hand, and Danica was all too aware of their skin-to-skin
contact. She felt her body flush at her friend’s nearness.
“I can read the runes.” Madame Lilith arched a dark brow at them and led them to a table
covered with a silky cloth, a small velvet pouch resting upon it. “Sit.” The woman gestured to the
two chairs across from where she sat.
Danica cast Lisette a questioning glance. Lisette smiled at her sheepishly, excitement
shining in her eyes. Danica felt her own lips curve. What the hell. What was a little hocus-pocus
if it made Lisette happy?
The madam swiftly rolled stones—all brown with symbols on them except for a lone blank
one—onto the cloth and began to murmur, “Holy Goddess, mother of earth, guide my hand as I
cast these runes, guide my mind so I may interpret their meanings.” She frowned and looked at
the women. “What would you like to know? One question each.”

********

These are just little snippets of each story. You will have to read them to get to the nitty gritty of each story! Who wouldn't want to get into the season and  a little sexy time fun (smiles)!!

Happy Halloween!

Julie Ramsey
juliesbookreview.blogspot.com


Don't forget to try for a one of the giveaways. The rafflecpter is up on the right of the page, check it out!





10/30/12

Krystal Brookes

Highland Haven

Erin is running form her past. She was in a relationship were she dealt with, physical, sexual and mental abuse. Getting the courage up to leave she couldn't stay in the city. so when  teaching job opened up on a Scottish island countryside, she jumped at it. When she arrives in the city she is greeted by a man named Finlay. Very cute, charming, sexy as hell and scared the crap out of her. Finlay, a local boy, has to open up the cottage for the new teacher in town. As he gets to know her, he thinks she is cute but knows something is off with her. Erin starts to feel comfortable with Finlay, the more time she spends with him and it is getting harder to resist his charms. She wants to sleep with him but doesn't have good experiences and her self esteem is very low in that department. She opens up to him with what she has gone through. Finlay sees how broken she has been and want to help her an much as he wants her. He shows her what a real man does with a woman and how good sex can be with to people who care for one another. Just when she thinks all is right and going great with Finlay, her past comes back to get her!

This is a story of a broken girl. She has been through her own hell and is running form the past that haunts her. Finlay is the type of guy every woman wants to meet, sexy, kind, loving and good in bed. The two come together and just click. He knows her problems and not only tells her what she needs to hear but shows her as well. The danger toward the end brings everything together. The book was short but good. The little town does become a Haven for Erin. I recommend this book but it does contain some pretty good sex scenes so adults only!

Mark D. Diehl

Vida Nocturna

 
Sara is lost, Sara is alone and Sara is an addict.  Are some addictions too deep, too real to be just addictions.
 
Like any young adult, Sara goes off to college to study and began life as an adult. And like many young adults she feels the pressures of life. At first her drug use is under control.  What’s wrong with a drink to calm pre-class jitters, marijuana to get you through and exhausting study session, or pills to give you that extra dose of energy for finals? Soon Sara begins to spiral, falling from grace as her selfish, controlling, and vindictive parents ways began to become the catalyst to her now over-whelming addiction. What will happen to this girl on the loose?
 
At first glance this book sent me in one direction, but the more I read the more I realized that there was a different message altogether. It’s a view into a personal tragedy like no other. This book will give you a glimpse into a world of sex, drugs, and addiction few get to see.  The descriptions and references are so vivid you can see every hit, every indiscretion, and watch as a girl seals her fate. Read this book to gain more than a fictional story, but to gain the triple threat of fiction, realities, and life for those who are awake at night, need no food to survive, and suck the life out of their victims. 
 
 
 Review by
Akisha Clark
 
 

Halloween Special Promo Bebe Balocca

Welcome Bebe Balocca to Julie’s Book Review.

With this interview Bebe is giving away “A Ghost on Two Wheels”. To win check out the rafflecopter to the right of this interview.

Ok Let find out about Bebe Balocca.

First how about you tell us here at Julies Book Review about a little about yourself?

Hi Julie, and thank you so much for inviting me to visit. I’m delighted to be here! I’ve written in various capacities for years under a different name, but about a year ago, I submitted my first erotic romance piece. Now I’m totally hooked on the genre! I LOVE fiction – it’s such a thrill to create worlds and characters and to try to evoke emotions from the reader. I just had my fifth manuscript accepted by Total-E-Bound. It’s been a wonderfully exciting and busy year for me.

What genres do you write?

Erotica and Erotic Romance


Can you tell us a little about your newest book?

“A Ghost on Two Wheels” tells the emotional and sensual journey that Ivy makes after her boyfriend, Michael, is killed in a motorcycle accident. Ivy learns to reconnect with Michael, even though death separates them. “Ghost” explores the intense pain of grief as well as the tremendous joy of reunion. It also includes two of my favorite things: tattoos and motorcycles.



Did you have any other authors that have helped you or have inspired your work?

For years, my husband has stuffed my Christmas stockings with racy romances. He just peruses the shelves for Harlequin Blaze and Extreme Blaze books and buys several that he thinks I’ll like. I tear right through them, so he also picks them up for occasional surprise treats for me. I have loads of them in my bookshelf and I adore them all. Today I read my fellow erotic romance authors’ blogs and books for inspiration. Writers such as Ranae Rose, Morticia Knight, Jambrea Jo Jones, Cerise DeLand, Carrie Ann Ryan, S. Dora, and Jordan L. Hawk have been extremely supportive and helpful to me.

I love to inject humor and unexpected elements in what I write, and am a big fan of sci-fi and fantasy. I remain a huge admirer of Stephen King. He is fantastic at bringing visceral details into his work – his characters literally come to life in my mind – and I aspire to bring the same level of intensity and unflinching reality to my work.

Do you recall what got you into writing?

I’ve always enjoyed playing with words, learning word origins and connections, and crafting compelling texts. When I graduated from high school, I wanted to write fiction. I enjoy the creativity and self-expression tremendously.

Ok how about some fun stuff


Dogs, cats, or fish?

Dogs (we have a German shepherd and a miniature dachshund) – although we ALSO have cats and fish.

Sci-fi, fantasy, or paranormal, Romance?
(writing and reading)

All three, please!

Favorite Book of all time? Why?

Wow, tough one! Right now I’ll go with “Dune” by Frank Herbert. Herbert creates an amazingly complex and vivid world, with fascinating characters and social structures. But then there’s Tolkien’s “Lord of the Rings” trilogy… hmmm…

Favorite Author of all time? Why?

Douglas Adams. His sci-fi books are so reliably entertaining, hilarious, and thought-provoking. It’s like visiting a spa to sink into one of his books.


Where can we find your books? What sites can we find your work on? (any social media, blogs etc.)







It has been a pleasure meeting you Bebe Balocca. Readers don’t forget to check out the rafflecopter to the right. Thanks again!

Julie Ramsey
juliesbookreview.blogspot.com

10/29/12

Halloween Special Promo 1

 ☆‿↗⁀↘‿WHITE   HEAVEN WOMEN ‿↗⁀↘☆

A gripping tale set in Whitehaven Northern England
Many people believe that we have all been here on earth before, with a different name, different life. Some live their current lives believing they’ll be  reincarnated after death. This past life theme is prevalent in movies,
television ad novels, including the new supernatural suspense White Heaven Women by British author Jessie B. Tyson.White Heaven Women is a gripping tale set in Whitehaven, Cumbria, UK. Flashing between 1899/early 1900s to 2000, readers are introduced to two sisters, Beth and Sarah, and the fate that awaits them.
***
In the year 1899, in Whitehaven, Cumbria, UK, Lady Constance Witherspoon, only 14 years of age, gives birth to twin girls during a tumultuous storm. Lady Elisa (Beth) is born with a diagnosis of demonic possession, while her twin, Lady Sarah, is crushed and killed when the ceiling collapses in the storm.
In the year 2000, Sally Witherspane returns home to Whitehaven and is haunted by relentless nightmares about demons and a baby crushed at birth. To discover the meaning of these dreams, she seeks the help of the local psychic, who instructs Sally to attend a past life meeting. It is there that Sally meets Beth Witherspoon. Persuaded by a ghostly blue apparition, Sally documents a family history filled with deception, abuse and an ancient evil, and she must summon strength and faith to become the woman she is destined to be, one of the last descendants of the White Heaven Women.


978-1-926997-70-4
ISBN: 978-1-926997-79-7
Published by Imajin Books in Edmonton, AB, Canada, White Heaven Women is now available in Kindle edition and paperback at Amazon and CreateSpace.
Amazon US:- http://www.amazon.com/White-Heaven-Women-ebook/dp/B008SDDGV6
Amazon UK:- http://www.amazon.co.uk/White-Heaven-Women-ebook/dp/B008SDDGV6
CreateSpace: https://www.createspace.com/3966486

“A novel of hope and of the multiple chances that re-incarnation provides the soul in search of enlightenment.” —Shane Joseph, author of ‘The Ulysses Man’

“Tyson paints a literary landscape of bygone days so skillfully the main characters leap off the pages into our hearts.” —Betty Dravis, best-selling co-author of ‘Six-Pack of Blood’

“A fast paced book with vivid characters…a great book to get lost in on a rainy day.” —Dionne Lister, author of ‘Shadows of the Realm’

“Horror, suspense, paranormal, life, death, love and hate all woven together with such powerfulness, so real, so fragile yet gripping enough to keep you on the edge.” —Peggy
Grigowski, author of ‘A Glimpse of What If’

“One of the best books I have read in a very long time. Jessie has the talent to reach deep inside the reader and allows the reader to open up their minds to a world that is not
easy to understand or believe. “—Shirley Lessard – Book reader


Amazon Bio:  Jessie B Tyson was born at Scalegill Place near Moor Row - a tiny village between the coast and the mountains in N.W. Cumbria England but lives in British Columbia, Canada.  In what year? She's a senior and will not divulge that - ladies prerogative but she will be collecting a pension in a few years (grin.) She was educated in her natal area and moved to Canada in the year 2000. Jessie wrote children's and fantasy stories as a teenager. When she matured she moved on to writing adult stories. She has a great imagination and enjoys turning her vision-like dreams into enjoyable tales. Jessie considers herself as a Spiritual Christian who believes in the Power of God - but that doesn't stop her writing paranormal
fiction with ghosts and demons!  Jessie has a wonderful sense of humour, and loves to laugh and tease her friends. She has a generous spirit and will help anyone in need. She has an affinity with animals, especially dogs, cats, horses and dolphins. Jessie abhors all forms of cruelty to any living breathing creature. White Heaven Women is her debut novel.



Come see our Halloween specials! We have a Rafflecopter for 2 awesome authors. I will announce what books tomorrow. But with either one you can't go wrong Plus up for grabs a cool SWAG Pack!! 

10/28/12

Carrie Ann Ryan

Enforcer's Redemption

Bay Milton is on the run. She is being followed, by who she is not sure but she knows that she can't stop running. With her mom dead, now 8 months pregnant and being a werewolf, she is terrified of something and running to the only place she thinks that might be safe, the Red Wood Wolf Pack. She knows they are the strongest in the US and may be the only people who can help her. But will the father of her child welcome her or shun her and drive her away. Adam being a werewolf and losing his family years ago, has been grieving. Seeing his brothers find there life mates and starting families of there own, has been torture. 8 months ago he couldn't take it any more. So driving hundreds of miles away, he finds a bar. One that caters to the paranormal community. The waitress brings him his drink. As his inhibitions go and his grief seems less and less, his wolf senses a potential mate in the waitress. After a night neither could have imagined. Adam's grief comes back with a heavy dose of guilt on top. Adam, ignoring his inner wolf, leaves the woman named Bay and goes back home. Bay thinking she is the happiest she can be and has found her mate, wakes to find Adam leaving her. So as Bay arrives in the Red Wood Pack's home, Adam has to now deal with Bay, a baby on the way, and the past comes roaring back!

Carrie Ann Ryan does it again with book 4 of the Red Wood Pack. We have known Adam for a while and have seen him grieving. Now with his past haunting him and a possible future arriving at his door. Adam needs to decide if it is a future he can do and be the man we all want him to be. I will warn you, if you follow the series, it was a tear jerker for me. I cried for Adam's lost family and for Bay and her future she so desperately wants. I even cussed Adam out a time or two. So we get a better look into the Jamenson family, which I loved. I am really looking forward to #5. Thanks Carrie for making me cry but also making me fall even more in love with this family!

10/27/12

Halloween Special starting Monday

So for a Halloween I am featuring a few authors! Bebe Balocca, Lorraine Nelson both have some Halloween specials coming out and both are giving away free e-books this week. Plus Jessie B Tyson has a ghostly tale to share. Her book will be FREE to all for download on Amazon on 29th & 30th! Make sure you come and stop by!

Julie Ramsey

10/26/12

Clinton J Boomer Review The Hole Behind Midnight

The Hole Behind Midnight

Roden Poole, is in hiding. He is dead. At least to the world and with the exception  of one cop. His cop "friend" calls him up and asks him to question a man in custody. He knows everyone thinks he is dead so he is reluctant but the cop is not giving him the option. Roden belongs to a group of people who not only believe in magic, spells, curses, and lost kingdoms but is part of it. In this world he looks average or at least human. But In the hole behind midnight, at the minute of 12:00 am,  you can find  a whole new world of endless monsters, magic, mayhem and power for those who are strong enough to take it. So there are lots of people all searching and scheming for more power. Just like in the normal world, there are good and bad. Roden falls somewhere n the middle, he will screw over someone if it benefits but is loyal to his friends. So he goes to see who his cop friend has. He know it has something to do with magic, it is just before midnight. So when the guy he is interrogating starts to spill what he saw, all hell breaks lose in the form of a killer zombie clown (shudder). The clown busts through the door, stabs the guy being interrogating several times and walks away. Roden, shocked and knows he is in deep crap, follows the clown. Roden knows when the cops see their suspect, they are going to assume he did it. I mean who is going to believe a zombie clown?  So now he has to find out,  why was he just framed for a murder? Follow Roden though a strange new world with endless possibilities.


This is a paranormal murder mystery. You find a world of magic and monsters and some strange characters. If you want a non-stop action book, this is one for you. My only real complaint is I wish I had kept a notebook at my side. It has a lot of twists and turns and rules to a world that is totally strange. But the characters are different, like a killer zombie clown (my new worst fear!lol), goat boys, people who can walk through walls. Roden is a guy who has been out for himself but realises the value of friendship in a world of chaos! Good read but not an easy one, and action packed!


10/25/12

Tarah Scott

Hawk and the Cougar


Elizabeth or Liz, has a genius daughter. She is 17 and in grad school, but still only 17. So when she over hears a conversation about a cute teacher and how he would be perfect for someone, she assumes her daughter has gotten involved with her teacher. Mad as hell, she goes and sits in on the class with the teacher in question. She has to admit he is a hunk. Hawk looks up at his classroom and sees a gorgeous women. He has some people after him to claim a dig site is nothing unusually before they can be sure, to hurry on development of the land(lots of $$). The group wanting the land, has been sending Hawk sexy little girls to try to persuade him. He sees the beautiful woman and if she wasn't working for the enemy, she would totally be his type. After the class, he try's to ignore her. Liz is a mom on a mission. She doesn't care, he is handsome and built. She would get him to leave her little girl alone. Hawk, still assuming she is working for the enemy.  He pushes her up against the car and kisses her for all he is worth. Liz protests and threatens to press charges. Hawk starts to think maybe she isn't who he thinks she is. After Hawk figures out she is a students mom, 1. his interest in her is now renewed and 2. tells her she must have misheard her daughter. Just as Liz is starting to walk away, pissed as hell, a SUV comes barreling at her. Hawk gets her out of the way and the chase begins. Hawk has no idea why the SUV was after Liz but knows his problems have put Liz in danger. After a little clear up with her daughter, Liz now has to apologize to Hawk. At Hawk's archaeological dig site, he sees Liz approaching and the sparks fly between the two.

This is a contemporary romance. Hawk is a American Indian who likes his women a little older and really likes Liz. Liz is a 40's something insecure women and doesn't know Hawk is exactly what she needs. As the danger mounts, the connection builds. This is a short book but one that will curl your toes. The action is both fast in danger and between the two. The sex scenes are hot!  Great short read! My only issue is it leaves it a little open ended and I am not sure if it is for a sequel or just how Ms Scott ended the book! I guess we will have to wait and see! Thanks Tarah Scott for the great read, please keep me in mind for future reads!

Selene Grace Silver

The Swing of Her Hips

Kallie, a teacher at a technology conference, is trying to find the perfect programs for her school. She arrives at the conference and sees a very cute man teaching the lecture. The Scottish accent just makes him sexier. A man right out of her fantasies. When she stays after the lecture to ask a question, the sparks fly. Duncan was sitting in a bar, when he looked up and saw something he liked a lot. In California every one is blond. As he looks up he sees a curvy brunette was a backside that is drawing his attention. The pheasant type skirt just makes it all the better. He wants her and hasn't even seen her face yet. He gets back to work but is unable to get her swinging hips out of his mind. As the lecture starts, he sees a beautiful woman, and notices the pheasant skirt. After  several almost conversations, misunderstandings and mistaken e-mails, they finally make a date. With both of them agreeing this is a temporary thing, a fling but no one told their hearts!

This is a contemporary romance. A man just out of a almost horrible marriage and a woman who doesn't want to get her heart broken. It was a cute short story. Very easy read. But a pleasurable one at that. The sex scenes are not too descriptive but you feel the love blossoming between the two! Good read and I believe only .99$ on Amazon! I would recommend the read!

Clinton J. Boomer Interview

Welcome, Mr. Boomer, to Julie’s Book Review.

With this interview  BROKEN EYE BOOKS  is giving away _DIGITAL COPY OF The Hole Behind Midnight (EPUB, MOBI, OR PDF). To win check out the rafflecopter to the right of this interview.

OK, let's find out about Clinton J. Boomer, and The Hole Behind Midnight.

First, how about you tell us here at Julies Book Review about a little about yourself?

My name is Clinton J. Boomer ... and I'm a very silly, very strange, and very active professional writer. I'm the guy who pops up when you Google the name "Clinton Boomer": this is my website -- http://www.clintonjboomer.com/ -- and this is my Facebook -- http://www.facebook.com/thatboomerkid ... and this here is my first novel -- http://www.amazon.com/The-Hole-behind-Midnight-ebook/dp/B005Z8G08S/ -- and this is my Tumblr, here: http://thatboomerkid.tumblr.com/

I've got some other profiles out there, too. I'm on Fark.com, and Goodreads.com -- http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2925352.Clinton_Boomer -- and a few others that I'm sure I'm forgetting ... and I did a lot of design work for Hellcrashers, which I'm pretty proud of: http://hellcrashers.wikidot.com/

If you click on the word "byboomer" in the cloud there on the right, you'll see everything I created.

I've done work for Pathfinder, Sean K. Reynolds Games, Rite Publishing, Legendary Games, Wolfgang Baur's Kobold Quarterly (like these silly goblin-based stories here: http://www.koboldquarterly.com/k/tag/thppgrg ) and several other companies.

Oh: and I have some truly, DEEPLY goofy videos on YouTube. They're here: http://www.youtube.com/user/CreativeJuices7

Basically, I'm a professional game designer and writer and film-maker and a lot of other stuff. Used to be an amateur stand-up comedian and a janitor and a flunky for an art-fetish-photographer; now I write and do conventions and make stupid comics on the Internet and preform freelance work on short-stories and articles and adventure-stuff for a bunch of different companies. For my "day" job, I'm a full-time bartender and assistant manager at a cool, slightly-hipsterish little blues-bar in a small college town in Illinois.

My life is pretty interesting.

What genres do you write? Can you tell us a little about your newest book?

My most-recently-published-book -- The Hole Behind Midnight -- is a very odd, funny urban-fantasy detective noir novel, full of cursing and nudity and violence, comedy and car-chases and gun-fights. It has been compared -- by Daniel O’Brien, Senior Writer of and Columnist for Cracked.com, contributor to the New York Times bestseller "You Might Be a Zombie and Other Bad News" and author of How To Fight Presidents (here: http://www.forbes.com/sites/ryanholiday/2012/04/16/exclusive-how-comedian-daniel-obrien-turned-one-joke-into-a-major-book-deal/ ) -- to Raymond Chandler meeting Douglas Adams by way of a fantasy nerds fever dream.

Other reviews suggest that it's the "Avenue Q" to Harry Potter & Harry Dresden's "Sesame Street."

If you follow the link to the novel (here: http://www.amazon.com/The-Hole-behind-Midnight-ebook/dp/B005Z8G08S/ ), you can read the first 50-some pages for free. If you don't like them, you won't like the next 500.

Is there a message in your book that you want your readers to grasp?
Nope. It's just good, solid fun.

Did you have any other authors that have helped you or have inspired your work?
I like to think that Warren Ellis, Joss Whedon, and Shane Black are my muses, but I have no proof that they condone my work.

On the other hand, Matt Forbeck and Richard Pett and Colin McComb have been HUGELY supportive of my writing and have gone out of their way to chat with me and to read my stuff and to be incredibly helpful in making me the novelist I am today.

Do you recall what got you into writing?
I've been writing since before I can clearly recall; my ever-patient mother still keeps copies of my earliest work, back when she would pretend that she "needed to learn to type faster" and would have me dictate sprawling tales of fire-monsters and ice-monsters throwing naughty children into garbage cans. I think I was about five at the time. Maybe twenty-five. I'm not sure. The point is that my writing, like my game design, springs from the most elemental, personal need to create: if I could draw, I would. If I could sing or dance or sculpt, I would. Hell: if I could do ANYTHING else to get these ideas out of my head, I would. As it stands, all I have is big dreams and a pen, and a need to write them down before they blow my eyeballs out of my sockets.

OK, how about some fun stuff?

I love fun!

Dogs, cats, or fish?
I love them all!

On the topic of dogs, I used to live with a wonderful little guy named Bfrd (his original name was "Buford," until all the vowels in his name were lost in a flood), who was half-beagle and half nobody-knows (probably mutt). We called him a "bagel," and he never seemed to mind. He was the sweetest, most chill, most wonderful little guy in the world, and I cried a lot at his funeral.

These days, I have two wonderful doggies in my life: my buddy Chaplain, who is a full-blooded English bulldog -- dumber than a box of hammers, but incredibly sweet -- and my adorable girl Ms. Penny, a very smart, very long-haired Dachshund. She likes to sit in my lap while I write, and is SIGNIFICANTLY better at doing tricks than Chappy is. She knows at least three "maneuvers," including one where she get up on her hind legs and pretends to be a bear, and does "rarr-rarr" moves, and another one where she shakes hands and then flops over like she has been shot, so it scares people. These maneuvers earn her treats.

On the topic of cats: I used to know a wonderful little kitty named Mama who hated all living things except me and my roommate (and bar-tending-coworker) Robby; she was a stone-cold killer of all animals ... except us. One day, the two of us came home to find her casually torturing a bat to death; we were very upset, and she was INCREDIBLY disappointed in us that we didn't want to take a few claw-swings at the bat she had caught. Mama loved only murder, belly rubs, kisses from me and Robby, and more murder. I miss her very much.

On the topic of fish: I have never met a fish I didn't like.

Sci-fi, fantasy, or paranormal?
(writing and reading)
All, and more ... and yes!

Favorite Book of all time? Why?
Oh, wow -- there a million good answers! Is it Eyes of the Dragon? Is it Princess Bride? Is it Jhereg? Or maybe on of the Chtorrr books? Or possibly The Scar by China Mieville?

Damn. So many great books!
I suppose that when it comes down to purely "most read," the answer is simply Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson. I've read it -- and re-read it -- pretty much once a year since I was 13. And it just keeps getting better!

There was a time, as a young man, that I identified with Hiro; later, I grokked with Y.T.; later, I clicked with Lagos, and then -- as an adult -- I identified again with Hiro, in a completely different way. I suppose that someday, I'll have the pleasure of understanding Uncle Enzo in a fashion I never have before, uniquely and totally ... and later, I'll comprehend Mr. Lee.

It really is a novel I can come back to again and again. And the joke about Fish-Eye -- the gun called "Reason" -- gets me every time.

Favorite Author of all time? Why?
 None. I don't like writers.

KIDDING!

I read David Wong, Eliezer Yudkowsky and John Tynes obsessively. Every time I click on something they've written, I feel like my brain is temporarily on fire.

It's awesome.

Where can we find your books? What sites can we find your work on? (any social media, blogs etc.)
My writing is available everywhere! The best place to find it, however, is at Broken Eye Books: http://brokeneyebooks.com/


It has been a pleasure meeting you, Mr. Boomer. Readers don’t forget to check out the rafflecopter to the right. Winners will be announces on Saturday! Thanks again!

WOO! It was a pleasure to be interviewed!

10/24/12

Blurbs from Clinton J Boomer The Hole behind Midnight

The Hole Behind Midnight Blurbs!

***Warning Adult content***

Chapter 1
I didn’t want to answer my phone.
That should be clearly understood right up front.
And I certainly didn’t want to do any of the things that answering my phone at this time of night would inevitably and invariably lead to, like leaving my apartment or getting shot in the face.
What I wanted to do, it should be noted, was roll over and go back to sleep. Failing that, I wanted to get onto the Internet and look at pornography, jerk off, and then go back to sleep. Failing that, I wanted to get very drunk, strongly consider calling Tamaka to tell her that I wasn’t dead and that I wanted her to come over, hate myself very much, browse the Internet for porn instead, then jerk off and finally go back to sleep.
All of my plans involved going back to sleep, is my point.


 Chapter 36
Before I got a chance to stand up, the clown rushed over so fast that I heard the oxygen molecules slapping together behind him as he ran, and he punted me in the chest with a bare, red-painted foot that I might have guessed to be in the range of a size 42.
I was immediately grateful that he hadn’t kicked me in the face, although he was probably just worried that my head might actually snap off of my shoulders if he did, and as far as I know he was still under orders to bring me
back alive. I mean, he wasn’t exactly being nice, but twelve sets of broken ribs is a lot easier to survive than a decapitation.
Anyway, he plowed that foot into me like he was kicking a field goal or, you know, whatever sports metaphor would be best, and I heard a whole lot of things go CRUNCH inside his leg. Everything from the middle of the femur on down popped, and his toes turned into what I might politely call bone-&-meat jelly.
With the Aegis wrapped around me, he might as well have stuck his leg out the window of a speeding car and round-housed the side of the Sears Tower. From my end, it felt like somebody had farted very softly through the
fabric. And just then, I came up with a plan for how to deal with the clown.
Well, something kind of like a plan. Let’s not go crazy, here.

Check out the Rafflecopter to the right of this page!! Giveaway going on till Friday night! Can't wait tomorrow a interview with Clinton J Boomer and Friday my review of A Hole Behind Midnight!

Lia Davis Blurb & Bio

Forgotten Visions By Lia Davis

Book Blurb

Kalissa Bradenton isn't your average coffee shop owner. Born to an elite witch bloodline with a rare genetic mutation, she'd a Divinity on a mission. The death of her parents sends her away from her Maxville, Florida, home and into an ancient war between witches and demons. When childhood friend Ayden Daniels comes to her aid after an almost fatal accident, visions of a past she doesn't remember, sparks an old flame and new desires. With the past slowly becoming clearer, she eagerly sets her sights on mending Ayden's heart and gaining his trust-until a ghost from her past returns to claim her as his demonic mate.

Ayden, the new Sheriff of Maxville and grandson of the oldest living Divinity, is investigating a series of divinity killings. When he comes face-to-face with the one woman he hopes to have little to no contact with, old pain rises, quickly followed by anger and resentment. through his rare power of adaptability, he learns actions form the past may not be what they seem. Hope fills his broken heart and determination pushes him to do whatever to win Kalissa's heart once more before he loses her forever.

Together they must find the strength to mend their tormented souls, while fighting an evil out to destroy the world.


Excerpt:

Ayden Daniel had only been in Charlotte an hour before his cousin, Zach, called with a favor.
No. Not quite a favor. A request that sounded more like a plea.

"You're shittin' me?"

"I'm afraid not. Charlotte PD said it was a hit and run."

Right. "Please tell me she's..."

"She's alive. A bump on the head, but she'll be okay." Zach hesitated before continuing. "I know how you feel about her, but you'll have to go get her."

A muttered curse slipped from his lips at the same time his heart lodged in his throat. "Fine." The word came out in an irritated huff. Ayden hung up and wished he had never answered the damn phone. No, that wasn't completely true. He would never forgive himself if something happened to Kalissa that he could have prevented.

She was the one person he'd hoped to avoid as much as possible when he'd taken his place as Sheriff of Maxville. It wasn't that he disliked her, that was the problem. despite his better judgement and glutton for punishment, he still cared too damn much for the woman. The mere mention of her name made his pulse race with excitement. His body hardened at the thought of seeing her again after fifteen years.  But his mind screamed to walk away. To let her be. Kalissa was trouble, and hazard to his heart. She'd broken it once--torn it right out of his chest---at the age of seventeen.

A human friend had laughed at the mention of their young age and Ayden's claim that she was the only one for him. A mistake on his part to confide in a human and expect to understand magickin children developed at a faster rate. At the age of seventeen, he was as mature as most twenty-five year old humans and fully aware that he had meet his eternal companion.

They were life partners--Magical mates__destined to spend their extended lives together. To Find one at such a young age was a gift.

A gift she stole form him.


Author Bio:

Lia Davis is a mother to two young adults and two very special, equally different kitty cats. She's a wife to her soul mate, who drives her crazy durning editing/revisions. She and her family lives in Northeast Florida battling hurricanes and very  humid summers. but it's her home and she loves it!

An accounting major, Lia has always been a dreamer with very active imagination. The wheels in her head never stop. Only recently got serious about publishing her work and loves it more that she imagined. Writing a stress reliever that allows her to go off in her corner of the house and enter into another world that she has created, leaving the day job where it belongs.

Her favorite things are spending time with family, traveling, reading, writing, chocolate, coffee, armature and hanging out with her kitties.


Check out the give away to the right of the page ..the raffle copter!   Winner will be announced on Saturday!

10/23/12

Lia Davis Review

Forgotten Visions

In a world were magic exists and is known. The magickin (people of magic descent) live in there own communities and stay to themselves because although magic is known, they are still feared. Kalissia and her twin are what they call Divinities. They are decent from a magically line and have more powers and are meant to help protect the other magickin. When the twins parents, who are also divinities, die under mysterious circumstances, the girls start there own investigation. The investigation separates the twins and Klassia gets thrown into danger. Ayden, gets sent to pick up Klassia. She is the last one he wants to see. They dated as teens and she broke his heart. As magickin, they know who their  magic mate is and he knew Klassia was the one for him. After a great summer visit as teens, he calls her only to find she is with someone else. They haven't talked in years. Now as adults and thrown in  dangerous circumstances, they face each other. He wants to hate her but can't and doesn't understand her response. Klassia knows Ayden as a cousin of a friend and thinks he is very handsome but has no idea why he is giving her the cold shoulder.  As the two learn more and more about each other, Ayden learns a spell has been cast on Klassia, to make her forget him. He is bound and determined to either get her to remember or to have her fall in love with him again. Together with other magickin friends, they slowly unravel a mystery that surprises them all. Will Ayden and Klassia get back to were they need to be and will the group be enough to beat back the evil pursuing them all?

This was a very interesting story. I loved the story between  Klassia and Ayden. You feel Ayden's heartache and the confusion in Klassia. The mystery evolves to were the series can continue for the battle of good and evil. The only thing thing I didn't like was I felt like I was exposed to too many characters all at once. I wish the story was more of what was going on between Klassia and Ayden. The mystery that I will not give away, will keep you going and is worth fighting for. Klassia really doesn't show her strengths until the end but she shows she can kick ass like the rest. Ayden is one of those characters you want to meant in person, loves to a fault and treats Klassia like a princess and is gorgeous (perfect hero)! Overall I enjoyed the book. I did fall in love with a few of the characters  and look forward to seeing what happens to them.

Don't forget the giveaway is still going on!! Tomorrow Blurbs from Lia Davis  & Clinton J Boomer!!

10/22/12

Lia Davis Interview

Please Welcome Lia Davis to Julie's Book Review. A review of her book Forgotten Visions will be released on the site. Lia is giving away a free E-Copy of Forgotten Visions to one lucky winner. Check out the raffle copter to win! Come and lets meet Lia Davis!


Hello Lia, How are you doing?

I'm doing good. Busy as always and loving it!
 


Welcome to Julie's Book Review. We are thrilled to have you on the site.

Thanks you for having me! It is a pleasure to be here and meet new readers.



As I am an avid reader and I always wonder how did they come up with that story? Did you have any special inspiration for your books?

I don't have a specific inspiration for my stories. They just seem to come with me.  I work in the accounting/finance department of a software company, so when my analytical side of my bran is hard at work, my muse (the creative side of my brain) is off exploring. I'm not sure where she goes, but she'll pop in every once in a while "Hey! Guess what?!"

My ideas come to me like that. Out of the blue. Sometimes they are triggered by picture, TV, music, a word or phase someone said. For me it is limitless.



As writer do you have any authors you look up to or even any that have helped you along? Who do you follow and read when not writing books?

I love and follow JR Ward, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Darynda Jones, and Laura Wright. just to name a few. I'm always finding a new author to add to my list.



Do you have any advice to give to aspiring writers?

Never Give Up!! Write, write, and write. And join a critique group.



Of your published books out, is there a favorite? Favorite scene? favorite character? Would you want to meet that character in real life?

I I only have two out right now and love each of them the same. LOL I would have to say that Zach from my Divinities series is one I look forward to writing. he'd be fun to hang with, but since I know his secret...well let's say he has to come to terms with some things first.



Can you share some interesting bits on any new books coming out? What we expect, sex, violence, murder, mayhem....

There will be all the above! Well except murder. let me think. Hmmm. Nope no one gets killed in the next boo. LOL.  Death's Storm is the second book in the Divinities series and is planned for the November 2012 release. It's Khloe's story so there will be plenty of heat, violence, and mayhem.  She was a lot of fun to write. And that death demon of hers...HOT!!



Where can everyone find your books? What social medias sites are you on besides Julie's Book Review?

Ravished Before Sunrise was published by Decadent Publishing and can be found on their site as well at e-book stores everywhere. 

Forgotten Visions was published by Soul Mate publishing and can be found at publisher's site
http://www.soulmatepublishing.com/forgotten-visions/, Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

I can be found at the following
website: http://www.authorliadavis.com
 Facebook:Author page http://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-Lia-David/134461469629592
Friend me on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/lia.davis.52
Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/113669377336737086387/posts
Twitter: hhtps://twitter.com/#!/novelsbylia



Lets do something fun!!

E-reader or paperback

Both! I love my kindle, but I also will impulse buy when at the book store .

Chocolate or Vanilla or Fruit?

CHOCOLATE!!

Hamburger or pizza?

pizza

Mystery, paranormal or romance?

All of the above. LOL especially when they are intertwined together in one story.

Favorite book of all time.

I have many. I can't pick just one.

Favorite author of all time.

Too many to list.

Dogs or cats or fish?

Cats


Lia Davis is giving away one E-copy of Forgotten Visions and swag pack. To win check out the raffle copter to the right. Good Luck!

Thanks Lia and it has a pleasure talking with you! We hope you have great success in the future.

Julie Ramsey

10/21/12

Sable Hunter

Burning Love
Cajun Spice book 1
   Nada has always known what her name means,  that she was nothing.  People never let her forget it.  Until
she met Beau at the children's home they both lived in.  Even though they were both young, he vowed to himself that he would protect her.  Beau escapes the home to get help for himself, Nada and the other kids.  But when he returns for her he is told that she is dead. Many years later Beau meets an incredibly beautiful woman Harley, who seems bring out all his protective instincts and he doesn't understand it.  Until she confesses that Harley is indeed, his long lost Nada.

   Review:  This was a great book.  The author gave just enough back story to make you feel how strong the
connection between Beau and Nada was, when they were children.The new relationship that develops as adults is also strong and now, it's also sexy.  This book was written so well.  I half expected the story to be that once they found each other again that all went back to perfect and they had total trust in one another but thank goodness the author kept the story real and interesting by adding some intrigue  and real life situations to keep me interested. So, I will say it again, this was a great book and I look forward to the second book in the set.
Theresa F.

10/20/12

Thea Thomas

The People in the Mirror

The People in the Mirror was an enticing book with a bit of mystery. You start to feel for the main character a young girl having to move because of her fathers job and having to start all over at a new school. This book really emphasizes on family and family values. The main character has a complete family, one with a mom and dad who love her unconditionally and are willing to sacrifice anything for her. Even move if their daughter remains unhappy. She does not tell them her biggest secret of seeing people in her bedroom mirror and so begins the mystery when her house is burglarized but no sign of a break in. When our main character meets the tall dark stranger in the hallway the author makes you want to believe his stories but find out what he is truly hiding.

 All in all this was a good read, a little predictable but enjoyable. Ya book good for most everybody.

Catlin K

Winners of Swag PLUS Coming Monday

The winners of the swag giveaway are

Carolyn Brown
Raven Fesik
Akisha Clark
Lashawn
cynthia Roberson Armistead
Calum

I know I said 7 but only these people really said they were interested. So I am not going to do these every other wk, just not enough interest. Maybe every few months I will just do a big one. I will be contacting the people on this list. If you are on the list and I have not contacted you by Monday,  send me an e-mail with your address. I will ship ( i am hoping) Monday.

On Monday starts a new Chew the Fat! Julies Book review will be featuring  Lia Davis and Clinton J Boomer. Both are paranormal. I will have 2 reviews, 2 interviews and Blurb Wednesday!  Plus the 2 authors are giving away (1 E-copy each) of there book! So make sure you come and check them out!

Julie




10/18/12

Lee Ann Sontheimer Murphy

Dust Bowl Dreams

 Henry Mink feels like the weight of the world is on his shoulders.  Between the drought and the depression his family is barely hanging on.  And now the bank is calling in the note on the farm.  He needs to do something to get money and fast. But there are no jobs to be found.  So Henry decides to rob a bank.  His sweetheart school teacher, Mamie, doesn't approve and neither does his kid brother, Eddie.  But Henry feels that he is out of options. Everything goes as planned and Henry's bank robbery is a success.  He and Mamie get engaged and start planning a future together.  He is able to pay off the loan on the house but other troubles seem to pop up every day and the money is running out quickly.  The only thing to do is for him to rob another bank.  His desperate attempt will either secure his families future or destroy it forever.  Now all Henry needs is a miracle

Review:   This book was a bit of a surprise for me, as I usually don't like books based in this era.  But the author was able to pull me into this story and I found myself really enjoying it.  The story is a good one that had me caring about what happened with this family and Henry's relationship with Mamie.  There is a good amount of descriptive writing in here and I am usually not one for that but it wasn't annoying as it can sometimes be, since it was more about how Henry was seeing things than it was about just describing the areas that he visited.  So I feel like it was important to the story.  All in all this was a good read that made me feel uplifted in the strength of love.
Theresa F

10/17/12

Mimi Jean Pamfiloff

Sun God Seeks....Surrogate?

Penelope and her mom have been on her own for as long as she can remember. Her mom is sick. She is very weak and none of the doctors can figure out why. Penelope has found a experimental drug, but how can she pay for it? Working 2 jobs and unable to go to college, do to taking care of her mother, she has to find a way. Cimil, is crazy but knows what is coming. The war between good and evil. So when a crazy lady (Cimil) approaches Penelope about a offer, she may not be able to refuse. 1 million dollars to be a surrogate for her brother. Penelope says no at first, until she see Cimil's brother. He is gorgeous and make her think of dirty thoughts and by the way he looks at her, the same thoughts are in his mind as well. Penelope agrees on one date and takes the $500,000, thinking this is money to help her mom. The date goes really well. She wakes up not remembering what they did but is lying in bed with the sexy man naked. She can only assume. After a misunderstanding of gigantic proportions they leave but neither can forget the other, even though neither remember the night they may have shared. With the money in hand and now her mom getting treatment. He trys to call her to apologize about the way he treated her and knows it is all Cimil's doing. On the Phone he hears Penelope scream and it is a race to get to her in time. With the evil thing at Penelope's doorstep (literaly), she is thrown into a world she never knew existed. One with vampires, good and evil, evil priest bent on killing her, gods and naked leprechauns? As they get to know each other, their love grows but will it matter in the end? When Cimil's plan finally comes to light, it may just be the end of all of us.

I really enjoy this series. Not a serious read, expect to laugh. Cimil, I love you....crazy as you are. The two main characters are meant to be together and you can feel it, but he is stubborn and stuck in his god ways. Over all a great book, thoroughly enjoyed it until it ended. Cliffhangers beware!! Hopefully we will not have to wait to long!

Christine Feehan

Dark Storm

Mitro a Carpathian, strong in his abilities and has found his lifemate. Instead of choosing to live happily with his lifemate, he decides that he is too powerful and he should be worshipped. Mitro tries to kill his lifemate but the bond does not allow him to. Mitro, turned vampire and is now hunted by Dax. A warrior, who has the ability to sense the darkness in a Carpathian males way before they turn. He has known Mitro had a dark streak in him but Dax assumed Mitro would be OK with his lifemate. So the chase begins. With Mitro's lifemate, Dax tracks Mitro to south America. Where he has a entire population living in fear and sacrificing there women and children and Mitro is killing off their strongest warriors. Mitro's lifemate has the ability to control the Earth (heal, grow,trap). Mitro fights back but in the end ends up trapped in a volcano with Dax. Mitro's lifemate traps him there. Now 500 or so years later. Mitro's lifemate's decedents are growing weaker and have been preforming a spell, handed down from generation to generation, to keep the volcano quiet and Mitro contained. Dax knows the spells are getting weaker and is still tracking and trying to kill Mitro. But over the years the two Carpathians have been changed, evolved! Riley and her mom are traveling to South American (Peru), to a mountain. There is a spell that has been handed down generation after generation. Even though her dad's passing was hard and only weeks ago, Riley's mom insists they travel to the mountain. Riley's mom knows who is kept there and what is at stake. But with the spell getting weaker, the vampire Mitro throws all his powers into making animals or people into creatures at his disposal to try to stop the two women. When Riley receives the powers of her mother and learns why the spell has to be done, it is a race to stop a volcanic eruption and Mitro resurfacing once more.

I have been a huge fan of Christine Feehan. I have read everyone of the dark series. I have had my favorites and ones that where just OK. There were parts of this book I really LOVED and parts I thought were done with not enough detail. We have a world created by Ms Feehan. A world that is very detailed. You know where families are and come from. A entire language, with lullaby's and healing chants. Why have I never heard of a Mitro or Dax? Mitro's lifemate was alive when they were entombed in the volcano. Why did she not tell the king or prince so they could have a warrior guarding the volcano and or people to do the spell on time to keep him trapped. Some things just did not add up. I did LOVE DAX. I loved that fact he had a sense of humor. He was not the typical Carpathian. Riley was a good female character. Strong and brave even though she didn't see herself as such With Gary and other Carpathian friends present it could have been so much better. So over all it was a OK book, just wished I knew more about where these characters come from. Ms Feehan, you have us spoiled with back story.

Sharon Hamilton

Accidental  Seal

Newly relocated realtor Christy Nelson has a chance life altering 1st meeting with tough as nails Navy Seal Kyle Lansdowne. Kyle is temporarily staying at a fellow Seal - Armando's house while trying to locate Armando who has gone missing. Trying to make amends for their first meeting, Kyle invites Christy to lunch and they begin a fast paced physical relationship. As their emotions grow toward one another Kyles Seal lifestyle begins to interfere. Not wanting to involve Christy in a dangerous situation Kyle tries to stay away but is unable to keep his Seal life separate. Christy finds herself tangles up in a mess of mystery, murder and intrigue. After a rescue attempt goes awry Kyle becomes the target of a criminal investigation and ends up on the run.

This is a story of Kyles fight to save a friend, save himself from accusations and protect the on woman he swore not to have feeling for. Easy Adult read, action packed with good physical chemistry between characters.

Christine

10/15/12

Giveaway for Followers of Julie's Book Review

OK my followers and friends. The giveaway going on right now is a "Thanks" for all of you. It is a swag giveaway. If you would like some swag from the authors on the site, please do the rafflecopter on the right of the page. This one is for all of you!  If there is an interest in the giveaway (7 prizes), I will start doing giveaways every other wk! At least until I run out of swag. The swag is all from books and authors that have been on Julie's Book Review. The swag I send out will be random and do to it costing me to ship, they will be a envelope size packages. So the swag is for all of you! I would like to add, if you have any suggestions or comments that you have for the site, what you would like to see more of, less of, etc., please leave me a comment! I want to hear from you. So Thanks again. I love doing this and I am glad I have had so many visitors and so many wonderful followers!

Julie Ramsey

10/13/12

Winners Of the Lorraine Nelson Giveaway!

Here are the winners of the Lorraine Nelson giveaway!

1. Paula Whipple
2. Lashawn Williams
3. Carolyn Brown
4. Sherry Bamsey
5. Author Georgina Hannan

I will be sending you an e-mail and giving your info to Lorraine Nelson and she will contact you as well.

Congratulations
Ladies

Julie

10/12/12

Next week! Surprize!

I am holding a special event for my followers! I have some swag and would like to send it out to some followers. Next wk I am going to hold my 1st swag giveaway. This giveaway is a thank you for new and old followers. I really appreciate all of you and I know the authors that I feature appreciate you as well. So I will announce the Lorraine Nelson winners Saturday! Then on Monday a new rafflecopter will be up and any FOLLOWER can put in for the swag! What is swag? Swag is bookmarks, magnets, cards etc. The swag will be from authors who have been on the site. If this goes well and I see an interest in the swag I will start to do these giveaways in between the author interviews (every other wk)! So each person will get a several swag pieces for winning. Thanks again for all my followers.

Love
Julie

Lorraine Nelson review 5

A Cowgirls Pride


Leah, sister to Lucas has been away from home for a long time. The Manning family, has been through hell. With everything settling down from a kidnapping, murder and mayhem that has been ever present on the ranch, a nice break is what they need. Leah, comes home with a new set of issues all together. No one has known where she has been and they have all been upset with her because of the lack of communication. They don't know the hell she has been through in the past 5 yrs. First a witnesses to a gruesome murder, then forced into be a almost slave to the evil man himself, only to find herself pregnant and now on the run. She runs to the only place she knows to go, home to Thunder Creek Ranch. The 1st person she sees is Cal.  Cal and Leah, together as teens, have been apart now for years. Leah trying to make it on her own and Cal wishing for her return. But will Cal be able to handle the life she has had to lead these years or the baby that grows with in already? And will Leah bring even more disaster to the ranch  that she had called home for many years?

Lorraine Nelson, you hit this one out of the park. I loved it! Talk about a page turner. Excitement, mystery, murder, love, heartache, even a lost loved one returned. What more can you ask for in a good story? Loved seeing Zakia and the family again and seeing the twins still causing mischief. Meeting Uncle Cam was unexpected but welcomed. Can't wait to see Michael or Cam's story. Would love to see how Sam and Blake fare.  Hopefully Lorraine will send it to me for the site...would LOVE to follow the story! The series as a whole is excellent and I highly recommend!


See the rafflecopter to the right of the pg to check out the giveaway!

10/11/12

Lorraine Nelson review 4

Trouble Brewing in Thunder Creek

Any who follow this series, know Lucas Senior and Winnie. The story unfolds at 2/3 mark of the last book. Zakia explains what is going on and Winnie not wanting to believe the worst in her oldest son goes on the defense. Any who do not follow, this one gives enough back story to get caught up. The story reaffirms the love between Lucas Sr. and Winne. You get to know there characters very well and you feel the grief of a mother. Winnie being a Manning in marriage and her son accused of doing some awful things, is very torn. As a wife, to support her husband and his family and as a mother to protect her son. Lucas shows his undying love for her and that sex is not just for the young! They have their share of fun in the story. Along the way we see the story again but from a different light. A little slow in parts but you want to see what happens to Roy (Winnie's son) and his true involvement in the kidnapping mystery.

I really like these Thunder Creek Ranch books. This one is a book with a lot of back story. I know some readers hate that, so be for warned. Now if you haven't read the series it is one that gets you caught up to speed. Not my favorite but I loved seeing the relationship between Winnie and Lucas. You understand that they are true mates, in every sense of the word and there undying love for one another. Over 18 lots of really good sex scenes! But a good story too! Thanks for the read Ms. Nelson!

Don't for get to check out the rafflecopter to the right of the pg!

10/10/12

Lorraine Nelson review 3

Covert Mission

As everyone settles sown form the commotion in book one , a stalker, Zakia and Luke coming back together, and everyone being in danger. Things start to resemble a little bit more normal on the Thunder Creek Ranch. The twins thriving, Zakia and Luke are gloriously happy. Sam, Zakia's best friend, war veteran, has loss she has been dealing with on her own. Not even Zakia knows the extent of her headache. So as Blake pushes to get closer and closer, Sam is so drawn to him but holds back. She does not see a future with this man, even with the extreme attraction to both his body and mind. The more time Blake spends with Sam, he knows she is the one. He doesn't understand why she will not give the two a chance. He just knows that he wants her in his life, to raise a family with and never leave his side. As they finally get to the point of talking and getting down to business, danger comes back to the ranch. The stalker, Roy has escaped and the family, Luke and Zakia has created, is in danger. Blake steps up and gets his team in gear to protect the family. Sam, gets a target on her back as well and now Blake has even more at risk. Will they finally be able to put Roy to justice? Will the family ever be safe or will we lose one of the people we have all come to love? And will, a secret Sam has kept, end their budding relationship?

I really enjoyed this book. The romance was building from book 1 and you are at the point you know the characters and the more you learn the more in love you fall for this family. The sex scenes are adult and very steamy. You really are rooting for  Blake and Sam. I also liked how we got to continue to see lots from Luke, Zakia and the boys. My only fault I read was a little bit about the hospital scenes. I personal work in a hospital, so I am more critical of those scenes. Nothing that would ruin a book or plot, just technical issues. The story more than makes up for the slight issues. Am looking forward to reading more on the Thunder Creek Ranch. If you like a good romance, you will love these books! Thanks Lorraine for asking for a review, I thoroughly enjoyed my time.

Lorraine Nelson interview part 2

 Please Welcome back Lorraine Nelson to Julie’s Book Review. Reviews from Lorraine will be posted on the blog this week.  Lorraine Nelson is giving away a free e-book to one lucky winner, any one book of the winner's choice from Lorraine's books. You must follow the Blog to win! Come and let’s meet Lorraine!


Of your published books out, is there a  favorite? Favorite scene? Favorite Character?
Would you want to meet that character in real life?


Favorite Characters: 
I fall a little in love with all my heroes as I’m writing, so it’s difficult to pick a favorite. I think maybe Teddy in Her Unlikely Bodyguard. And for a heroine, I’d pick Sam from Covert Mission: Undercover Cop. She’s feisty and independent, despite a handicap.

Who would you want to meet in real life?
I’d love to meet any one of them if I found an equivalent in real life.


What would that character say to your readers?

Why, they’d tell readers how great I portrayed them in my writing, of course. ;)

LOL, Of Course!

Do you have any new books coming out soon?

Cauldron of Tales is a collection of witch tales (combo of sweet and spicy) written by myself and some awesome author friends. We’re self-publishing this anthology with a scheduled release date of October 1st. Click here to like us and for more info: http://www.facebook.com/CauldronOfTalesAnthology?ref=ts

Bad Boy Blake, a contemporary romantic suspense, is releasing through Evernight in October, no affirmed date yet.



Can you tell us anything about any current projects?

Thunder Creek Ranch series with Evernight…Cameron’s Quest is in the works and I’ve already had requests for Michael’s story. J As long as there are readers interested in my work, I’ll keep writing.
I’ve had requests from Harlequin Intrigue and Harlequin American. Been busy getting those ready to mail. J



Do you have anything specific you would like to tell or share with your future readers and followers?

Follow your heart toward your goals and dreams and you can’t go wrong, whether it be in your personal or professional life. 



Where can everyone find your books?

My books are listed on my website. You’ll find blurbs, excerpts, reviews, and purchase links there. http://lorrainenelson.weebly.com



What social media sites are you on besides Julie’ Book Review?

http://www.lorrainenelson.wordpress.com
http://www.facebook.com/LorraineNelson.Author
http://twitter.com/#!/lornelca
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5254629.Lorraine_Nelson
http://www.amazon.com/Lorraine-Nelson/e/B005XMAYFQ/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1
http://pinterest.com/lorrainefnelson/

http://www.thetalentcave.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=82&itemid=4
http://www.linkedin.com/home?trk=hb_tab_home_top
https://plus.google.com/108888628078471384542#108127929561146640061/posts



Lets do something fun!

Ok.

E-reader or paperback

Both!

Chocolate or Vanilla or Peanut Butter

Vanilla

Hamburger or Hot Dog Or Pizza

Pizza

Reading fiction or non fiction

Fiction

Favorite book of all time

Toss up between Gone with the Wind and The Proud Breed

Favorite author of all time

Danielle Steel

Dogs  or cats

Cats

Tea or Coffee

Tea

Favorite color

Purple

Tall Dark and Handsome or Blonde Buff and cute?

Tall, Dark, and Handsome!

Lorraine Nelson is giving away one of her books, winners choice of which. To win, check out the rafflcopter, you can have several entries a day!  Good luck! Winner’s name will be drawn in two week’s time.

Thanks, Lorraine, and it has been a pleasure talking with you! We hope you have great success in the future.

Julie Ramsey

Thank you so much for having me, Julie, and for the best wishes.

Lorraine

More Blurbs from Lorranie Nelson

His Christmas Wish - Excerpt

    Damn! Someone must have left the road.
    His irritation soon turning to concern, he pulled on his winter gear, grabbed the shovel and opened the door to a blast of blinding wind and snow. Fighting his way to the truck, he was relieved when it started on the first turn of the key. He quickly reversed and drove out to the road, pulled in behind the ditched vehicle and grabbed his flashlight.
    The car, covered in snow, had come to rest halfway up the snow bank. His light shone on a busted window in the driver’s door. Alarmed, he waded through the snow and wrenched the door open. The driver toppled against him as far as the seatbelt allowed. A woman. Her subtle scent tickled his nostrils, reminding him of things long forgotten. He felt for a pulse. It was there, but weak, her skin cool to the touch. Her limbs appeared to be okay. Nothing broken that he could tell. He reached around her to undo the catch, carefully lifted her into his arms and carried her to his truck, his headlights picking out burnished copper streaks in the long wavy hair.
    No! Fate wouldn’t be that cruel. Gently, he laid her prone form on the seat, brushing the hair back off her forehead, and stared upon the face of the woman he’d once loved. So beautiful! So intelligent! So sexy! He felt a stirring in his groin and chastised himself for lusting after her when she was hurt and unconscious.

Mistletoe & Mr. Hoe - Excerpt
   “Would you like a coffee, or a glass of wine?”
    “Wine would be nice.”
    “Would you prefer red or white?”
    “Either one is fine, as long as you choose cold and sweet.”
    “Coming right up.” He kissed her again before he let go to grab a bottle and two glasses, then allowed her to lead the way into the living room. He’d lit a fire in the fireplace and the warmth felt lovely after the cool dampness outside.
    “This is cozy,” she said.
    “I like a fire on stormy nights to keep the dampness at bay.”
    “I’ve never lived anywhere with a fireplace, so to me this is extra cozy.”
    “Then I’m doubly glad I had the foresight to light a fire tonight. I want you to be comfortable here, with me.”
    “Oh, Simon, I am comfortable with you, at least, the you that I’ve come to know. But you have so many layers tucked away inside that, when they surface, I don’t know how to respond.”
    “I’ve lived alone most of my life. I moved too fast for all the wrong reasons and I scared you off. This time, we’ll take things as slow as you need to.”
    “Sometimes slow is not necessarily better.”
    “What are you saying?” he asked, his expression a mix of curiosity and hopefulness.
    “I want to be with you. Do you regret making love to me?”
    “No. How could you even think that?” He sat the bottle and glasses on a side table and wrapped her in his arms.   
    “Making love to you has been the best thing to happen to me in years.”
    He proved his words by kissing her senseless, then he undressed her, slowly and with care, caressing and kissing every inch as the golden expanse of her skin became exposed to his view. She was melting and it had nothing to do with the heat of the fire and everything to do with the man lowering her gently to the fireside rug. He lay down beside her, gliding his hands softly over her skin as he kissed her urgently, with more purpose.
    “The firelight is kind to you, Noelle. It flickers over your skin like a lover’s touch, fleeting yet leaving a burnished glow to captivate and arouse.”
    “Do I captivate you, Simon?”
    “More than any woman has a right to. I need you.”
    “And I need you,” she said as she reached for the buttons on his shirt.
    She undressed him slowly and with care, as he had done for her, and when his manhood sprang loose, she ran her fingers gently up and down the magnificent, silky length.   
    When they came together, it was like a mating of souls, each ministering to the other instinctively, without conscious thought of their own needs. Her rapture knew no bounds as she made love with this special man.
    Afterward, they lay entwined, her back to his front, watching the flickering firelight, not speaking, not moving, but comfortable in the silence. Eventually, he began to smooth his hand down her side and up again, getting closer to but not touching the underside of her breast with every upward movement.
    “Want to go for a dip in the hot tub?”
    “Yes, but can we come back to the fire?”
    “We’d be more comfortable in bed.”
    “Mmmm, a bed has certain advantages.”
    “Whatever you wish. I’ll keep the fire burning all night if you want me to.”
    “You would?”
    “If that makes you happy.”
    “You make me happy, but so does your hot tub.”
    Getting up he held out his hand and helped her to her feet, his gaze never leaving her own as he said, “Having you here with me is all the happiness I need.”   
    The firelight reflected their nude bodies in the patio doors, but instead of becoming embarrassed, she felt renewed. This is where she was meant to be, right here, with this man who’d come to mean so much.

10/9/12

Susan Buchaman

 Sign of the Times


This story wraps and intertwines the lives of twelve very different characters. Holly is an accomplished author, who finds herself in a love tough of war between, Tom, her long-time Beau and Dario, the sexy, dark, and rich Italian. Tom, feeling lonely without Holly considers the unthinkable. Maggie, a courageous philanthropist, giggles when she discovered Jen budding romance with electric Ben, but will Ben tell Jen his secret. Oscar and Gaby hit a bump or should I say a baby bump? Sex craze Lucy causes havoc, does her relationship with Carl survive? Needless to say this books has so many turns, dips, and flips you have to hold on tight to not miss the action.

This book comes with no shortage of indiscretions, scandal and secrets. You really have to hold on to every page not to miss a character. Susan Buchanan does a good job of weaving lives, yet proving to the reader just how interconnected we are as people. With just enough scandal and sexuality without becoming lewd or indecent, this book is a nice read.

Akisha Clark

Lorraine Nelson Review 2

Zakia and the Cowboy

Zakia as a young women, married Luke the love of her life. Both were young but the chemistry is strong. Luke, a cowboy through and through. Owning and running a ranch, kept him busy. If not out working on the farm, he was working with his animals. Except for at night. At night, was for Zakia. Zakia although, in love with Luke was very lonely. All ways by herself and never included in the ranch, started to regret getting married so young. So when she leaves Luke, he really doesn't understand why but gives her the divorce. Just when Zakia, realizes she is still in love with Luke, want to go back and finds out she is pregnant, she gets divorce papers n the mail. She thinks, maybe he didn't love me? So as she raises the twins on her own, mysterious things start to happen. Someone is leaving notes around her home, where no can get to. The messages are getting more and more violent and threatening and she fears for her boys safety. So with Sam, her best friend's help, Zakia runs for her life! She goes to the only person she thinks can help her, Luke.

This was an awesome story. You fall in love with Zakia, Luke and her boys. I loved the characters in this book. All were interesting, real, and you cheer for them and want things to go well for them. Of course, if that were all it would not be an interesting story would it? I really liked how the author sets up the next book by including the characters.  Easy, romantic read with some excitement through in for good measures. Contains adult content so 18 and up.

Check out the giveaway to the right of the page. Winners announced SAT!!

10/8/12

Michelle Gordan

The Earth Angel Training Academy

Velvet is an old soul who runs an academy whose main purpose is to train angels, fairies, aliens, and other beings in the ways of human life. These beings are then born into the human world with the intent of awakening people to be good and to do right, in an attempt to make the earth a better place. When earth begins to spiral downward, an influx of students crowd the academy in an attempt to get to earth to save the human race before it’s too late. This book follows Velvet, the headmaster, as she prepares herself and her students for the possible Golden Age of the earth. Through the process she experiences many ups and downs, enjoys new found love, deals with devastating loss, and begins remembering things about her past that she doesn’t recall ever forgetting.

This book was enjoyable and very well written. Geared towards a younger audience, it can be motivational and enlightening. It is based around the idea of reincarnation and the afterlife, and refers to more than one Supreme Being, a god and a goddess. That being said, if you are at all religious, you may have difficulty with some of the subject matter, as I did in parts. The overall message of the book, however, was a positive one.    
Kristen

Search This Blog

Julie's Book Review

Hello, all my followers, visitors, and guests. Welcome to Julies Book Review. This is a site dedicated to helping authors and readers alike. Readers to find new authors and stories and authors to find new readers. For authors please contact me if you are interested in low cost promotion at juliesbookreview@gmail.com. I accommodate where I can. Readers please go through and search the blog. We have been active here for a while. Hundreds on authors, stories and genres to choose from. We have everything from sci-fi, erotica, romance, contemporary, mystery and horror. And nothing gets on this site without a 3 out 5 star rating minimum. I have several reviewers that read different genres. If you are interested in reviewing for me and the site please contact me at the above email. I hope you enjoy the site. I look forward to meeting and talking with you all.

Julie Ramsey & Theresa Fehse
ADM of JBR
Along with many reviewers (which we could not do this without)

Amazon SearchBox